Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/1994

A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers

Phone: (763) 525-8883Fax: (952) 746-8889View Additional Phone Numbers401 11th Ave S STE 200, HopkinsMN 55343-7815 Send email to A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/1994

BBB has determined that A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The mover damaged the top of my dinning tablet during the moving process and have bad customer service practice during the whole process.
I am writing regarding a poor and unacceptable service I have received from A1 Movers on Oct/25 by the mover **************** and office staff **** during the claim for the damage. I recently purchased a number of furniture from a builder at their warehouse. We have hired A1 Moving Company to move all of our furnitures because they was recommended by the builder/seller.

Both myself, my mother, and a representative from the builder who was also there during our purchases - *** ******* were at the warehouse during the move at the warehouse with the 2 movers, but myself and my mom had left towards the end (the only piece that was left are the dinning table set before we leave).

Among the pieces of furniture I've purchased, one of them was a valuable woodened dining table, and both table top surface and the bottom stand was damaged. The moment the tabletop was install, we noticed a quarter-sized piece of wood was chipped off at the edge of the table top surface. In addition, one of the table legs has a wooden board, on top of which the tabletop is bolted onto, and that was broken also.

While we were at the warehouse, we have specifically looked at the dinning table set carefully and in detail because that is our favorite piece and *** was at there with us while we are walk/inspecting the table too. During the process, we found only minor scratches on the table, but definitely not the chip off in the corner. *** even told us that we can use markers to hide the scratches.

During the claim process with A1 - **** was the one who are handling my claim on the two damages with pictures sent. We have though both parts are caused by the movers and that was were we start off from - claiming that two parts of damages. However, couple days later, I called back **** to follow up, he had told me that he talked with the seller and they told him all damages are original. After that, I called *** (the builder/seller) specifically because I though **** might have talked with someone that are not working on selling the furniture part or may not let them see the pictures I took from the damage.

After contacting with *** and showed her the pictures, I have confirmed that the bottom parts are originally there. BUT not the chip off on the surface of the dinning table.

The next day, I have contacted back to **** from A1 to 1st, apologize for the misunderstanding about the damage of the bottom part of the dinning table becauase that was indeed original & 2nd, re-confirm to them that the surface was not there prior to moving. We understand the misunderstanding on the bottom part may happen because we didn't go underneath the table and look at it, but we are sure that the top damage wasn't there.

**** denied the damage caused by the movers and insisted that the damage on the surface was not their fault and stated the chip off was there for a long time just by looking at the picture. Even we have let him know we have contacted *** directly and show her the picture, while she confirmed that the chip off wasn't there while it was at the warehouse. The only one that touched the table between those time is only the movers. *** even showed ******* who was also in the warehouse to re-confirm. However, he refuse to take the responsibility right away unprofessionally without wanting to talk to the builder again and put all the blame on me because I have made the mistake on the damage from the bottom part and claim I am lying about the claim. How can someone refuse to even follow up after customer have a prove and re-confirmation from the seller?!

I have requested the builder - *** and ******* to write me an official letter to prove the chip off was not there prior moving and purchase. I have sent out the letter along with 2 screen shots and email I sent to **** to to prove I am sending exact same image to *** from the builder side and ****. I would appreciate your assistance in resolving this matter via BBB.

Desired Settlement
I am expecting them get the pieces fixed properly.

Business Response
WE go through this every year with this builder sale. All their staging furniture is sold each year and they replace it. It is all higher end furniture and it all has scratches, gouges etc from a year of being moved around from house to house a couple dozen times. This furniture is used, well used. The scratches in questions were as she correctly states always there, the broken leg that she thought was our fault was always there as she discovered. The gouge was clearly always there, one look at the picture will tell you this, and she wants it fixed because it is the part that shows. I would also, but we didn't damage it. She will have to contact a wood repairman to get this refinished herself.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is an unacceptable response because we have provided a formal written letter from the builder to prove that the chipped of was not there before. The reason that the builder had moved the furniture couple times is not a valid reason for the chip off as it wasn't there when it is still in the warehouse. Also, there is no way someone can tell right from the picture the age of the damage.

I made a mistake on the leg but after talking with the builder, I did admit right away that the legs are not their fault and I am not asking them to do anything with it, but I can't admit something that wasn't true. With the prove from the builder, they had proved to me that the chip off wasn't there. I trust what the builder told me. If the builder also agreed on the chipped off . How can I lie about it? Why will I take all these time to try to find a solution out if the damage is not there?

The mover completely ignoring the fact that the builder also agreed that the chipped was never there prior purchase and moving, which was stated in their official letter.

After the dinning table set were stored in the warehouse, no one had moved the table set. When we went to the warehouse, both when we are purchasing it and moving it (the day the movers are moving the stuff), we did not see that scratch. The builder even looked at that with us prior moving and have confirmed that they also didn't see that chipped off.

The builder kept the furniture in good condition and if there are obvious marks, they would have let us know prior purchase, which they have been doing that for all of our furniture.

Again, we have looked at the dinning table couple times before buying it and before the movers moved it and both me and the builder never aware of the chip off. That is a big chip of that no one will missed out.

With the evidence we have on the letter and conversation provided about the chipped out, I don't see any reason why the mover is denying their responsibility on the damage.

Final Business Response

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On January 30, 2014 I contracted with A-1 moving company/Sorensen's apt movers to move my furniture from a 1st floor condo to a 2nd floor condo, directly above. The bed and a full glass oval shaped curio were my main concerns. Each company I contacted had a 2 hour minimum that I was required to pay, so my agreement was to move everything they could in the 2 hour time frame. I went with A-1 because 2-3 years ago they had moved me into this condo and did an excellent job. I even contacted the company and sent the two men a tip after I found out it was appropriate. On January 30, in the course of moving the curio, one of the glass doors was broken. I was not with the movers when it happened, but the office manager was in the office next to the elevator and is aware of the situation. The curio is about 6 ft, oval shaped with 2 glass doors and 5 glass shelves. When I went to the hallway to see what was taking so long the mover explained he had broken one of the glass doors and he said one of the legs came off. Until these movers moved it this curio was assembled and in the same place the prior movers from A1 placed it. The mover said not to pay the bill after I spoke with the office, even when they told me to pay. He said he would make sure the curio was repaired as good as new or better. Now, the owner tells me that I owe him a $100 dollars because the moving bill was not paid and he is only obligated to pay me .60 cents a pound. He did say he would not pursue the $100 under the circumstances. The curio cost over the amount charged for the move. To replace the curio is $1600 dollars and the lamp is no longer made, but cost me $300 when purchased. I would like to be fairly compensated for the curio, lamp, and my time for vacuuming the elevator and hallways. I do not feel the payment of my moving bill is adequate or fair compensation.

Desired Settlement
Replacement and installation of the glass doors with the same quality glass. Lamp repaired. If that is not possible, then to receive fair monetary compensation for the curio and lamp.Last, I would like legislation for consumers to be informed prior to the move of the .60 cents per pound and to be given the option of additional coverage. Or for the insurance industry to require appropriate insurance to cover these loses. I am contacting the MN Attorney General Office too.

Business Response
Ms. ***** signed for 60 cents per pound for coverage of her belongings. The peice in questions is made of cardboard like materials, not wood. This kind of furniture is unfixable and uninsurable. This was all explained to Ms. *****. I made an offer to give her 300.00 for her lamp, but nothing for the particle board stuff. She refused and also has yet to pay for the move. We have closed the file on this move.

Consumer Response
see attached

On April 4, 2014 I was contacted by Mr. *******. During that conversation Mr. ******* offered me $300.00 in response to my demand of$1040. In my opinion this is not a fair or adequate offer. As previously outlined I did not damage my own belongings and the mover,*************, promised my curio would be returned to me in new or better than new condition. What continues to bother me ?s
the lack of culpability shown for the damage to my personal belongings and the sadness of going from a very positive experience with the first move to this one.
In addition I checked with my homeowners insurance and there is no coverage. I have spent considerable time discussing this situation with many people and only one of those people had any minor knowledge of the liability (lack there of) of moving companies and what options for coverage are or should be available to them. At 63 years old and retired l never expected l would spend time vacuuming a hallway and elevator to remove glass because my curio was broken, needing to lift a heavy lamp to get an estimate for repairs after contracting with what are supposed to be professional movers to move the lamp, trying to resolve a claim for damages that did not cause and lastly, obviously needed to spend time to address or try to legislatively change this consumer protection issue. After A1 Moving Company made no effort to fix, replace, or offer appropriate compensation for my lamp, I decided to see if the lamp could be repaired. The good news is that my lamp that was broken by A1 Moving Company/************* can be repaired. Therefore I feel l have one again mitigated damages caused by A 1 moving company/************ and have went above and beyond what l should do to try and resolve this issue fairly and equitably.
Before l continue to pursue this issue l would like to give AI Moving Company/************ the opportunity to meet my demand of $840.00 which allows some very minor compensation for the vacuuming and the physical labor involved in having to take the lamp to a repair shop. Once it is repaired I will still need to bring it back to my home.
Please respond to me no later than April 30, 2014 with a check in the amount of $840.00. Again, l have copied the Better Business Bureau, the MN Office of the Attorney General and ***************.

April 10, 2014

You had contacted our office to see Whether or not there was coverage under your Homeowners Policy for damages to a few of your furniture pieces that were damaged from a Professional Moving Company.
There is no coverage for this, and it states what are the covered perils in your Homeowners Policy.
Coverage B-Personal Property. We for accidental directphys?tal loss to property described in Coverage B caused by the following perils.
Fire or Lightning
Riot or Civil Commotion
Vandalism & Malicious Mischief
. Falling Objects
. Weight of ice, snow, and sleet
. Sudden and Accidental discharge or overflow
. Sudden and accidental tearing asunder, cracking, burning or bulging
. Freezing
. Sudden & Accidental damage to electrical appliances, fixtures, and wiring . ,
. Breakage of glass, meaning damage to personal property caused by breakage of glass which is a
part of a building on the residence premises, no coverage to the loss or damage of glass.

11/06/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A-1 Moving Co. refusing to provide the level of repair required for an armoire and chair damaged when Co moved my furniture on 9/17/12.
A couple of pieces of furniture (armoire and chair) were damaged when A-1 Moving Co. moved my items on 9/17/12. On 9/18/12 I contacted **** regarding the chair since the movers put an outside ottoman on top of it on the moving truck which it dripped water and stained the white/blue stripped chair. I mentioned this and **** said - no problem, just have any company come out and clean it and send the bill to them to take care of it. No mention of the amount they would cover to clean the chair. A couple of days later I noticed that the movers damaged my armoire. The piece was too heavy for two guys to move it upstairs to my sitting room so they put it in my garage. It is a very heavy piece and weighs between 600-700 lbs. I had originally told **** when I called in for the initial quote that it was a very heavy piece of furniture and I explained at that time it weighs 600-700 lbs. He told me it probably was only 300-400 lbs and two guys would be able to handle it. Since he was in the moving business, I figured that he knew what it would take to move the furniture. Needless to say, the movers who moved me that day were not able to handle it - they barely were able to move it out of the house in Ham Lake and could not move it inside up a flight of stairs at my house in Stillwater because of the weight. The damage on the armoire was a chip on the upper edge on the side and the dust collector plywood on top was dented in and needed to be replaced. I contacted A-1 Moving Co of the damage and I was told to speak with ***** to handle my claims. ***** took my claim and told me that Service Masters would contact me regarding the chair cleaning and that ********* from ****'s Furniture Repair would contact me for the armoire. On 9/25/12 **** contacted me and we set up a time to repair the armoire for 9/27/12. He fixed the chip, but needed to contact A-1 Moving Co. regarding the Dust Collector piece on top before he fixed it to see if they would do it themselves or hire him. I waited for a call from Service Master and A-1 Moving Co and received no response. I contacted ***** again on 9/28/12 for a status - he was going to look into Service Masters again and have the company contact me. No response. I contacted ***** again on 10/9/12 - he explained he was out of the office the 1st week of October and he would look into it and would call me back the same day. No response. I contacted ***** again on 10/11/12 and I was told I needed to talk to ****. I called back in the afternoon on 10/11/12 and talked to ****. He explained that there was a $.60 per weight that I signed off on and he would not cover beyond what the insurance would cover to fix the rest of the armoire since it would cost more than what the insurance would pay out. The conversation got a little heated and he made a comment that there was no way to determine that it was even their company that damaged the armoire since it was in my garage. This is absolutely untrue! Their company did damage the armoire since it was not damaged before it was moved and it would not be in the garage if it was not for the movers not being able to move it into my house. **** mentioned that now he would give me $200 to cover the damages and that was it. This is unacceptable and frankly does not cover their insurance amount of $.60 per pound. They are not standing behind their services or agreement and I would like to receive the correct amount to cover their damages.

Desired Settlement
If they are not willing to have my pieces fixed properly. I expect to receive $.60/lb. in a payment amount - that is what I signed for on the agreement. I would like $270 for the armoire (650lb x $.60 = $390 - $120) and $90 for the chair (150lb x $.60 = $90. For a total payment of $360.

Business' Initial Response
We have already done some repairs and have offered the difference in dollars to equal the 60cents per pound. All she has to do is call and we will send her a check fro 225.00. We have been waiting to hear from her to finalize this. We moved her stuff and one piece was put into the garage and days later she called and says it is damaged. We delivered in good shape and after that we have no idea what she did or had someone else do that may have damaged the piece in question.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/05/1994Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv
Saint Paul, MN 55120-4103
(651) 296-3000

Business Management
Principal: Fred Nichols (Owner)
Contact Information
Joel Mitchell (Owner) Andrew Sorensen (Owner)
Business Category

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Products & Services

According to the information provided by A1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers, this company offers local and national moving and storage facilities.

Alternate Business Names
A-1 Moving Co, Sorensen's Apartment Movers
Industry Tips

If you choose to do business with A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers

401 11th Ave S STE 200

Hopkins, MN 55343-7815

To | From


1 Locations

  • 401 11th Ave S STE 200 

    Hopkins, MN 55343-7815(952) 926-7017
    (763) 525-8883
    (952) 746-5760
    (651) 227-1944
    Fax: (952) 746-8889
    Fax: (952) 746-8889
    Fax: (952) 746-8889
    Fax: (952) 746-8889

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A 1 Moving Co/Sorensen's Apartment Movers is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (952) 926-7017
  • (952) 746-5760
  • (651) 227-1944

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Movers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.