BBB Accredited Business since

1st Choice Movers, LLC

Phone: (763) 559-5934 Fax: (763) 541-9088 View Additional Phone Numbers 14209 21st Ave N, Plymouth, MN 55447 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.1stchoicemovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Choice Movers, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Choice Movers, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on 1st Choice Movers, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 1994 Business started: 05/01/1994 in MN Business started locally: 05/01/1994 Business incorporated 05/01/1994 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ronald Kilgore, President Gail Kilgore, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Gail Kilgore, Owner
Principal: Ronald Kilgore, President
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Piano & Organ Moving Moving & Storage Company

Service Area
1st Choice Movers, LLC provides their services in ADA, ADAMS, ADOLPH, ADRIAN, AFTON, AITKIN, AKELEY, ALBANY, ALBERT LEA, ALBERTA, ALBERTVILLE, ALDEN, ALDRICH, ALEXANDRIA, ALPHA, ALTURA, ALVARADO, AMBOY, AMIRET, ANDOVER, ANGUS, ANNANDALE, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, APPLETON, ARCO, ARDEN HILLS, ARGYLE, ARLINGTON, ASHBY, ASKOV, ATWATER, AUDUBON, AUSTIN, AVOCA, AVON, BABBITT, BACKUS, BADGER, BAGLEY, BAKER, BALATON, BARNESVILLE, BARNUM, BARRETT, BARRY, BATTLE LAKE, BAUDETTE, BAXTER, BAYPORT, BEAVER BAY, BEAVER CREEK, BECIDA, BECKER, BEJOU, BELGRADE, BELLE PLAINE, BELLECHESTER, BELLINGHAM, BELTRAMI, BELVIEW, BEMIDJI, BENA, BENSON, BEROUN, BERTHA, BETHEL, BIG FALLS, BIG LAKE, BIGELOW, BIGFORK, BINGHAM LAKE, BIRD ISLAND, BISCAY, BIWABIK, BLACKDUCK, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOMKEST, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BLUE EARTH, BLUFFTON, BOCK, BORUP, BOVEY, BOWLUS, BOY RIVER, BOYD, BRAHAM, BRAINERD, BRANDON, BRECKENRIDGE, BREEZY POINT, BREWSTER, BRICELYN, BROOK PARK, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BROOKS, BROOKSTON, BROOTEN, BROWERVILLE, BROWNS VALLEY, BROWNSDALE, BROWNSVILLE, BROWNTON, BRUNO, BUCKMAN, BUFFALO, BUFFALO LAKE, BUHL, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, BURTRUM, BUTTERFIELD, BUYCK, BYRON, CALEDONIA, CALLAWAY, CAMBRIDGE, CAMPBELL, CANBY, CANNON FALLS, CANTON, CARLISLE, CARLOS, CARLTON, CARVER, CASS LAKE, CENTER CITY, CENTERVILLE, CEYLON, CHAMPLIN, CHANDLER, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHATFIELD, CHISAGO CITY, CHISHOLM, CHOKIO, CIRCLE PINES, CLARA CITY, CLAREMONT, CLARISSA, CLARKFIELD, CLARKS GROVE, CLEAR LAKE, CLEARBROOK, CLEARWATER, CLEMENTS, CLEVELAND, CLIMAX, CLINTON, CLITHERALL, CLONTARF, CLOQUET, COBDEN, COHASSET, COKATO, COLD SPRING, COLERAINE, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COMFREY, COMSTOCK, CONGER, COOK, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, CORRELL, COSMOS, COTTAGE GROVE, COTTONWOOD, COURTLAND, CROMWELL, CROOKSTON, CROSBY, CROSSLAKE, CRYSTAL, CURRIE, CYRUS, DAKOTA, DALTON, DANUBE, DANVERS, DARFUR, DARWIN, DASSEL, DAWSON, DAYTON, DE GRAFF, DEER CREEK, DEER RIVER, DEERWOOD, DELANO, DELAVAN, DELHI, DELLWOOD, DENNISON, DENT, DETROIT LAKES, DEXTER, DILWORTH, DODGE CENTER, DONALDSON, DONNELLY, DORAN, DOVER, DOVRAY, DOWNER, DULUTH, DUMONT, DUNDAS, DUNDEE, DUNNELL, DUQUETTE, E GRAND FORKS, E GULL LAKE, EAGAN, EAGLE BEND, EAGLE LAKE, EAST BETHEL, EAST GRAND FORKS, EAST GULL LAKE, EASTON, ECHO, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDGERTON, EDINA, EFFIE, EITZEN, ELBOW LAKE, ELDRED, ELGIN, ELIZABETH, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, ELKTON, ELLENDALE, ELLSWORTH, ELMDALE, ELMORE, ELROSA, ELY, ELYSIAN, EMILY, EMMONS, ERHARD, ERSKINE, ESSIG, EVAN, EVANSVILLE, EVELETH, EXCELSIOR, EYOTA, FAIRFAX, FAIRMONT, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FARWELL, FEDERAL DAM, FELTON, FERGUS FALLS, FERTILE, FIFTY LAKES, FINLAYSON, FISHER, FLENSBURG, FLOODWOOD, FLORENCE, FOLEY, FORADA, FOREST LAKE, FORESTON, FORT RIPLEY, FOSSTON, FOUNTAIN, FOXHOME, FRANKLIN, FRAZEE, FREEBORN, FREEPORT, FRIDLEY, FROST, FULDA, GARFIELD, GARRISON, GARVIN, GARY, GAYLORD, GENEVA, GEORGETOWN, GHEEN, GHENT, GIBBON, GILBERT, GILMAN, GLENCOE, GLENVILLE, GLENWOOD, GLYNDON, GOLDEN VALLEY, GONVICK, GOOD THUNDER, GOODHUE, GOODRIDGE, GOODVIEW, GRACEVILLE, GRANADA, GRAND MARAIS, GRAND MEADOW, GRANGER, GRANITE FALLS, GRASSTON, GREEN ISLE, GREENBUSH, GREENWALD, GREENWOOD, GREY EAGLE, GROVE CITY, GRYGLA, GULLY, HACKENSACK, HADLEY, HALLOCK, HALMA, HALSTAD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMMOND, HAMPTON, HANCOCK, HANLEY FALLS, HANOVER, HANSKA, HARDING, HARDWICK, HARMONY, HARRIS, HARTLAND, HASTINGS, HATFIELD, HAWICK, HAWLEY, HAYFIELD, HAYWARD, HAZEL RUN, HECTOR, HEIDELBERG, HENDERSON, HENDRICKS, HENDRUM, HENNING, HENRIETTE, HERMAN, HERMANTOWN, HERON LAKE, HEWITT, HIBBING, HILL CITY, HILLMAN, HILLS, HILLTOP, HINCKLEY, HITTERDAL, HOFFMAN, HOKAH, HOLDINGFORD, HOLLAND, HOLLANDALE, HOLLOWAY, HOLT, HOLYOKE, HOPKINS, HOUSTON, HOWARD LAKE, HOYT LAKES, HUGO, HUMBOLDT, HUTCHINSON, IHLEN, INDEPENDENCE, INTERNATIONAL FALLS, INTL FALLS, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, IONA, IRON, IRON JUNCTION, IRONTON, ISANTI, ISLE, IVANHOE, JACKSON, JANESVILLE, JASPER, JEFFERS, JENKINS, JOHNSON, JORDAN, KANDIYOHI, KARLSTAD, KASOTA, KASSON, KEEWATIN, KELLIHER, KELLOGG, KELLY LAKE, KENNEDY, KENNETH, KENSINGTON, KENT, KENYON, KERKHOVEN, KERRICK, KETTLE RIVER, KIESTER, KILKENNY, KIMBALL, KINBRAE, KINGSTON, KLOSSNER, LA CRESCENT, LA SALLE, LAFAYETTE, LAKE BENTON, LAKE BRONSON, LAKE CITY, LAKE CRYSTAL, LAKE ELMO, LAKE HENRY, LAKE HUBERT, LAKE ITASCA, LAKE LILLIAN, LAKE PARK, LAKE SHORE, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKE WILSON, LAKEFIELD, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LAMBERTON, LANCASTER, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LANESBORO, LAPORTE, LASTRUP, LAUDERDALE, LE CENTER, LE ROY, LE SUEUR, LENGBY, LEONARD, LESTER PR, LESTER PRAIRIE, LEWISTON, LEWISVILLE, LINDSTROM, LINO LAKES, LISMORE, LITCHFIELD, LITTLE CANADA, LITTLE FALLS, LITTLE MARAIS, LITTLE SAUK, LITTLEFORK, LOCKHART, LONDON, LONG BEACH, LONG LAKE, LONG PRAIRIE, LONGVILLE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, LOUISBURG, LOWRY, LUCAN, LUVERNE, LYLE, LYND, MABEL, MADELIA, MADISON, MADISON LAKE, MAGNOLIA, MAHNOMEN, MAHTOMEDI, MAHTOWA, MANCHESTER, MANHATTAN BCH, MANHATTAN BEACH, MANKATO, MANTORVILLE, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLETON, MAPLEVIEW, MAPLEWOOD, MARIETTA, MARKVILLE, MARSHALL, MAYER, MAYNARD, MAZEPPA, MCGREGOR, MCINTOSH, MCKINLEY, MEADOWLANDS, MEDFORD, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MEIRE GROVE, MELROSE, MENAHGA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MENTOR, MERIDEN, MIDDLE RIVER, MILACA, MILAN, MILLERVILLE, MILLVILLE, MILROY, MILTONA, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINN CITY, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNEISKA, MINNEOTA, MINNESOTA CITY, MINNESOTA LAKE, MINNESOTA LK, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MIZPAH, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MONTROSE, MOORHEAD, MOOSE LAKE, MORA, MORGAN, MORRIS, MORRISTOWN, MORTON, MOTLEY, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, MOUNTAIN IRON, MOUNTAIN LAKE, MURDOCK, MYRTLE, NASHUA, NASSAU, NELSON, NERSTRAND, NEVIS, NEW AUBURN, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW LONDON, NEW MARKET, NEW MUNICH, NEW PRAGUE, NEW RICHLAND, NEW TRIER, NEW ULM, NEW YORK MILLS, NEW YORK MLS, NEWFOLDEN, NEWPORT, NICOLLET, NICOLVILLE, NIELSVILLE, NIMROD, NISSWA, NO OAKS, NORCROSS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH REDWOOD, NORTHFIELD, NORTHOME, NORTHROP, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, OAKLAND, ODESSA, ODIN, OGEMA, OGILVIE, OKABENA, OKLEE, OLIVIA, ONAMIA, ORLEANS, ORMSBY, ORONO, ORONOCO, ORR, OSAKIS, OSLO, OSSEO, OSTRANDER, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OTTERTAIL, OWATONNA, PALISADE, PARK RAPIDS, PARKERS PR, PARKERS PRAIRIE, PARKVILLE, PAYNESVILLE, PEASE, PEL RAPIDS, PELICAN RAPIDS, PEMBERTON, PENCER, PENNOCK, PEQUOT LAKES, PERHAM, PERLEY, PETERSON, PIERZ, PILLAGER, PINE CITY, PINE ISLAND, PINE RIVER, PINE SPRINGS, PINEWOOD, PIPESTONE, PITT, PLAINVIEW, PLATO, PLUMMER, PLYMOUTH, PORTER, PRESTON, PRINCETON, PRINSBURG, PRIOR LAKE, PROCTOR, RACINE, RADIUM, RAMSEY, RANDALL, RANDOLPH, RANIER, RAYMOND, RED LAKE FALLS, RED WING, REDWOOD FALLS, REGAL, REMER, RENVILLE, REVERE, RICE, RICHFIELD, RICHMOND, RICHVILLE, RIVERTON, RL FALLS, ROBBINSDALE, ROCHESTER, ROCK CREEK, ROCKFORD, ROCKVILLE, ROGERS, ROLLAG, ROLLINGSTONE, RONNEBY, ROOSEVELT, ROSCOE, ROSE CREEK, ROSEAU, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, ROSS, ROTHSAY, ROUND LAKE, ROYALTON, RUSH CITY, RUSHFORD, RUSHFORD VILLAGE, RUSHFORD VLG, RUSHMORE, RUSSELL, RUTHTON, RUTLEDGE, SABIN, SACRED HEART, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT AUGUSTA, SAINT CLOUD, SAINT LEO, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SANBORN, SANDSTONE, SARGEANT, SARTELL, SAUK CENTRE, SAUK RAPIDS, SAUM, SAVAGE, SEAFORTH, SEARLES, SEBEKA, SEDAN, SHAFER, SHAKOPEE, SHELLY, SHERBURN, SHEVLIN, SHOREVIEW, SILVER BAY, SILVER CREEK, SILVER LAKE, SKYLINE, SLAYTON, SLEEPY EYE, SOBIESKI, SOLWAY, SOUTH HAVEN, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPICER, SPRING GROVE, SPRING HILL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, SPRING VALLEY, SPRINGFIELD, SQUAW LAKE, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST ROSA, STACY, STANTON, STAPLES, STARBUCK, STEEN, STEPHEN, STEWART, STEWARTVILLE, STILLWATER, STOCKTON, STORDEN, STRANDQUIST, STRATHCONA, STURGEON LAKE, SUNBURG, SUNFISH LAKE, SVEA, SWANVILLE, TAMARACK, TAOPI, TAUNTON, TAYLORS FALLS, TENNEY, TENSTRIKE, THEILMAN, THIEF RIVER FALLS, THIEF RVR FLS, TINTAH, TOGO, TOIVOLA, TOWER, TRACY, TRAIL, TRIMONT, TROSKY, TRUMAN, TURTLE RIVER, TWIN LAKES, TWIN VALLEY, TWO HARBORS, TYLER, ULEN, UNDERWOOD, UPSALA, UTICA, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERDI, VERGAS, VERMILLION, VERNDALE, VERNON CENTER, VESELI, VESTA, VICTORIA, VIKING, VILLARD, VINING, VIOLA, VIRGINIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WABASHA, WABASSO, WACONIA, WADENA, WAHKON, WAITE PARK, WALDORF, WALKER, WALNUT GROVE, WALTERS, WALTHAM, WANAMINGO, WANDA, WARBA, WARREN, WARROAD, WASECA, WATERTOWN, WATERVILLE, WATKINS, WATSON, WAUBUN, WAVERLY, WAWINA, WAYZATA, WELCOME, WELLS, WENDELL, WEST CONCORD, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WEST UNION, WESTBROOK, WESTPORT, WHALAN, WHEATON, WHIPHOLT, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILDER, WILLERNIE, WILLIAMS, WILLMAR, WILLOW RIVER, WILMONT, WILTON, WINDOM, WINGER, WINNEBAGO, WINONA, WINSTED, WINTHROP, WINTON, WOLF LAKE, WOLVERTON, WOOD LAKE, WOODBURY, WOODSTOCK, WORTHINGTON, WRENSHALL, WRIGHT, WYKOFF, WYOMING, ZIMMERMAN, ZUMBRO FALLS & ZUMBROTA, MN. Entire State of Minnesota
Products & Services

According to the information provided by 1st Choice Movers LLC, this company offers full service household moving services, including piano and organ transportation.

Industry Tips
Estate Sales Moving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

1st Choice Movers, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14209 21st Ave N

    Plymouth, MN 55447 (763) 559-5934

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I felt misled and deceived, and after complaining to the owner, was disregarded and ignored Unfortunately, I hired Ron (owner), who is ARROGANT, talks down to customers, blames the customer IMMEDIATELY when you make him aware of notable problems with his employees and service, and the guy has the audacity to tell me I needed to take my issues up directly with his EMPLOYEE-SUPERVISOR instead of Ron himself - the owner?!?!? I never even dealt with his supervisor until moving day, and was given Ron's name from someone else. A subordinate employee of his who answers to HIM?!?!?! How convenient... I called Ron at lunch time (4+ hrs after starting) to tell him of my displeasure with how SLOW his guys were working at $165 / hour...Ron was told by me IN ADVANCE of his hiring I expected to pay between $600-800 TOTAL for our move which was more-than reasonable. Ron strongly recommended I hire a 3rd guy instead of just two at $115 / hour in order to try and achieve this, and I followed his advice. My end bill was $1,237...enough said. If the employees WORKED consistently and didn't stand around, or were properly supervised, I might have had the job done in this budget. I even made one of the movers aware, who had asked me just before 11 a.m., "when did I plan on them finishing the first half?" I stated by 11:30 a.m. at the latest, but they finished just the FIRST HALF move-out around 1:15 p.m. after much disorganization, wasted time, and a lack of supervision. After making Ron aware at lunchtime of what was occurring, he proceeded to deflect ALL I said - including, the open conversation carried on the job site of how Ron pays them $9 / hour (while I pay Ron $55 / hour for their time). I thought this was inappropriate, told him such, and he proceeded to tell me, "I wasn't packed properly and delayed them..." which is TOTAL B.S. I had a couple of remaining boxes I was still packing after their arrival at 8:45 a.m. as they dove right in, the best work they performed all day until about 10-10:20 a.m., and they NEVER had to wait on me or anything to be packed or lacked boxes and objects to take out to the truck during this move ALL DAY. Fact. At the end, I even questioned the time I was billed $41.25 for the workers to, "drive to and from lunch" which, after checking the limited contract I signed when they first arrived, says NOTHING about this unreasonable charge(s) most would never agree to pay. Ron and his supervisor have you conveniently sign an 'estimate' of charges up front, before the job commences, so that when you're unhappy at the end he can still show an agreement claiming you signed off before he subsequently writes the final figure and therefore doesn't need a final signature or approval. VERY deceiving and misleading tactic... After lodging my lunch-time complaint via phone, MIRACULOUSLY - the back half of the job took only 2 1/2 hours to complete despite damage being done to several of our items and a lost lamp part rendering it unusable (approx. $200 retail cost). I called and spoke to Ron right after they left to make him aware of the missing lamp part his supervisor, in my family's presence as witness, admitted they "dropped in the yard" and never attempted to find or locate. Ron said he'd check with his supervisor and get back....not a word since. Additional cost to us: $200+ for a new Pottery Barn lamp. Damages to the walls from banging, scuffing, and several other items too. I thought about contacting my credit card company to throw the lunch-drive charge and excessive time into question, which would be an easy dispute in lieu of the manner for which the "contract" is handled and signed up front to protect the company. 'What goes around...comes around', and I truly think Ron's approach and chosen methods will be his own demise after meeting him...and, based upon paying guys $9 / hour (hardly minimum wage) and charging them out at 600% mark-up, this greediness will catch up to Ron soon enough

Desired Settlement: I would like back the lunch-time driving time billed ($41.25) plus about 3-4 hours of excessive time utilized for 3 guys @ $165/hr when requested to hire a third guy to minimize time by the owner (Ron)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/24) */ 1st Choice Movers LLC appreciates the opportunity to respond to Mr. ****** complain. I would like to clarify that Mr. ***** did not hire Ron. He hired 1st Choice Movers LLC to perform moving service for him. 1st Choice Movers LLC has been in business for over 21 years and I nor any of the owners would ever mislead or deceive any customer of ours. We do not disregarded or ignore any customer. Our policy and rule at 1st Choice Movers LLC is to have the crew manager on the job site handle any minor complain at the time the job is being performed. Our hourly pricing was clearly stated to Mr.***** prior to reserving a moving appointment with 1st Choice Movers LLC. Again, at the time of scheduling an appointment and on the day of move it is stated on the Bill of Lading contract/invoice. If Mr. ***** wanted to keep the move between $600.00 to $800.00 all he had to do is let the Crew Manager (James) know and he would have loaded for a only a specify time and would not have been able to take everything. This was not a $600 to $800.00 moving job. This was a $1,237.50 moving job and was billed accordingly. 1st Choice Movers LLC DID NOT charge Mr. ***** for the movers lunch break the Bill of Lading clearly show the 30 minute lunch break with N/C (NO CHARGE). The travel or fuel fee of $41.25 at the end of the bill is the flat fuel fee charged for time to get the truck and moving crew from our location to the customers current location to begin the move and to get them back to our location once they complete the move at the customers new location. We did not charge Mr. ***** for their lunch time. However, customers are charged from the time the move is started at the current location until it is completed at the new location, minus any breaks or lunch time. The Bill of Lading Contract is signed at the beginning of the move for the customer to acknowledge the hourly rate for the service and to acknowledge "The carrier shall not make delivery of this shipment without payment of freight and all other lawful charges". When moving large furniture all must be prepared with moving blanket and stretch wrap, tools to disassemble, etc. The preparation, and loading is always more time consuming than the unloading at the new location. If a lamp part is missing my apology, however my manager said it was the lamp element that holds up the shade could not this part be purchased and replaced. We would be glad to pay for the replacement part. If not our liability is $.60 cents per pound. I will credit your MasterCard account for this. I will need to know the weight of the lamp. If walls were damaged and cannot be touch-up with paint, we can send out a maintenance person from Home Maintenance Plus to repair. The hourly pay of our employees is not significant to the moving service we provide. Mr. ***** is stating untruth to belittle our company and is mean spirited and very hateful. It is not Mr. *****'s business but all our employees make at least $15.00 dollars per hour. Most of what Mr. ***** has written is not a valid complain but the writing of someone very angry. He is making very mean spirited and hateful comments that are not true to get us to agree to his demands. Mr. *****'s additional comments on August 24, 2015 are vicious and to say we engage in practices that are a danger to consumers is slanderous and libel. Why is he so angry? We are talking about a lamp element and minor wall damage. I will credit for the missing lamp part and will be glad to repair any damaged walls if paint is not enough. 1st Choice Movers LLC does not feel a refund of time is warranted. Moving is a very labored intense job and must be done very carefully. Our goal is to always provide great service and a damage free move. Again, my apology for the missing lamp element and any damage to your walls. Thank you. Yours, Gail ******* 1st Choice Movers LLC Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/24) */ Ron, the owner of 1st Choice Movers, attempted to call me on Wed. August 19th, 2015 around 5:15-5:30 pm. I returned his call within 20 minutes on the way to an appointment, at which time it was clear Ron was going to agitate the situation further and continued with his characterizations of me, his continued patronizing of me, and an overall dismissal of my complaint and what I had to say or felt about the circumstances. Ron told me, "****, we do 2,000+ moves a year...do you think 4 complaints (including mine) are going to affect me?" I told Ron, "Ron, what are we doing here? I'm doing you a favor and returning your call..." at which point Ron laughed at me and said, "You're doing me a favor?? ****, you remind me of Rush Limbaugh" Despite providing moving services on a supposed 'professional' basis and relationship, Ron attempts to characterize and label me somehow based upon politics or comparison to someone who's an entertainer he doesn't obviously like? Ron then said he'd respond to the BBB himself, and I asked him if he'd refund $400.00 I felt was overpaid and overcharged in wasted hourly time charged to me. He laughed at me and told me to, "get lost" Ron and his company, 1st Choice Movers, is RUDE, unprofessional, engages in practices that are a danger to consumers (in my opinion), and he is dismissing of unhappy customers while bench-marking them to his supposed "2,000+ moves a year"? He has a skeleton-crew of $9 / hr. employees and 1-2 trucks, so I'd wonder how you can do over 2,000+ moves in a 52-week year physically or feasibly without being of the size of a United Van Lines or Mayflower Moving & Storage feasibly?? I also felt Ron threatened me at one point, of which I asked for his clarification of whether he was intended to be threatening or not, and he laughed at me. Ron had NO INTEREST in coming to any understanding or resolve of this matter despite reaching out to me on his own accord; for reason(s) I'm not sure since he had no intention of a resolve or making me (the customer) happy. I made Ron aware we have damages associated with the move, as well as the stated missing part from our $200 Pottery Barn floor lamp, and he offered no resolve nor his insurance or bonding company's contact info to me to attempt to address the damages his employees caused. I now have a further opinion of Ron and 1st Choice Movers that is even more concerning than before I filed the complaint.

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers were almost 3 hours late. Called management they told me I'm lucky they even came. 1st choice movers complaintI will never work with this company again! After going to thumbtack to ask for help they contacted within hours which is the only good thing they did. I called the number and told the manager I would need someone around 2 in the afternoon because I had recently moved to another state and only have my truck and trailer renter for a short time. He said that shouldn't be a problem, he couldn't give me an exact time but, it should be within 30 minutes. He wanted me to call to check in mid morning. After driving for 5 hours I called and his attitude had completely changed. He told me the afternoon is never set in stone they try to get as much as possible done in the morning and he knew they were still several hours out. He said he would call the movers and call back within the hour. 2 hours later I call back talk to someone else explain I was supposed to get a call an hour ago and she told me the same thing as he did! She did say she will call back to let me know soon. She calls back 15 minutes later and says again they are several hours out can't give me a time frame. We get to the trailer and given the fact they were several hours out we started to do it our self. I have bronchitis, my wife has a knee injury, and we are with my 65 year old father in-law. We get most of it done by the time the movers called and again they said they were 45 minutes out. Being sick and injured we slow down and decide to wait. When they got there it was almost 5pm! I asked why so late they said the boss kept calling them with other work. I told them we got most of it done I dont mind paying for gas and what they help us finish but they said they needed 2 hours up front in cash plus gas. It would only take us an hour to finish. They called their boss and handed me the phone. I told him my situation and he could have cared less. He talked down to me, he said they have done nothing wrong and refused to work with me. At the end of the conversation he said I was lucky they even came. I hung up the phone paid the workers FULL PRICE and walked away. Immediately after paying them their boss called back and told them to leave if I didn't pay every penny. I have never been treated so poorly by anyone. I would not recommend them to my worst enemy.

Desired Settlement: An apology in writing and a refund for the time they didn't show up for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/10) */ 1st Choice Movers set-up a move for **** *********** for the afternoon of Friday, April 3, 2015. At that time we encourage him to set the move up for the morning as we could not give an exact time in the afternoon. He stated he could not do the move in the morning as he would not be available until some time after 2:00 p.m. We told him we could set-up the move for the afternoon however we could not give an exact time. 1st Choice Movers employees and office staff start at 7:30 a.m. each day. Movers are given their morning assignments and must complete those moving jobs before any afternoon moves can start. This is why we DO NOT give an exact time of arrival for afternoon moves. We ask each customer in the afternoon to keep their phone on and we will call when the crew is on its way. They are always welcome to check in at any time. 1st Choice Movers was not 3 hours late, we did not give a specific start time for this afternoon move. This is simply not true. It is also not true that we started at 5:00 p.m., we stared at 4:15 p.m. I am sorry for Mr. *********** bronchitis and his wife's knee injury however this should not be blamed on 1st Choice Movers, the truck and crew arrived as soon as humanly possible. 1st Choice Movers management sent the first crew that was available after completing their morning move assignment. It is implied that the crew manager deliberately did not send a crew to Mr. ***********. This is not true. After being yell at and treated rudely by Mr. *********** throughout the afternoon, I lost my cool. For that my apology. A person can only take so much rude and mean spirited comments. The yelling got to me. The move was already discounted by $112.50. We did not charge the full fuel or trip fee. This move was performed in St. Cloud, MN, 60 minute plus away. I have a copy of the Bill of Lading Contract the start time was 4:15 p.m. for the total charge was $225.00. We do not feel a refund is due. We were not late. Again, this is not true. The complaint is mean spirited, unkind and hurtful. We were not late, the crew arrived as soon as they could. This was explained, however I am sorry Mr. ********** is so angry. Our goal is to give the best customer service we can. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is absolutely not true that anything I said was mean spirited. I called and tried to get the issue resolved calmly and respectfully but after the complete lack of customer service and the utter denial of them possibly being responsible for anything I did raise my voice and for that I apologize. I did not yell but did become very disturbed by his comments over the phone especially when he said my family and I were lucky they even came and if it wasn't for them I wouldn't have found anyone to help which is also untrue. That is when I hung up. They had contacted me in regards to the move and knew how far away I was and they did not discount me for anything that was the price they quoted in the email I received from ****. The fact is when I responded to the email they had sent me he was polite, told me not to worry and said my happiness is their number one concern they will be on time. When I called the day of the move, when it would be too late to call anyone else, his attitude changed and said there was nothing he could do there was a complete lack of customer service. Like I said after I called he told me he would return my call with in the hour and he never called back. I had to call again 2 hours later. Even then when I called back the woman on the phone didn't want to speak with me and wanted me to call another number. There have been numerous reviews that state the same thing has happened to other people and after reviewing the reviews it looks like the response has all been the same. I am not worried about a refund, although it would be nice, I am more concerned with them admitting they were at fault, taking responsibility for their attitude and treatment of customers and apologizing. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/05/01) */ It is never our intention to treat any customer disrespectful or to be unkind. If Mr. *********** feels he was disrespected, my sincere apology. As we stated in our previous correspondence, it is and has always been our policy that a customer that books an afternoon moving appointment is not given an exact time of arrival. We ALWAYS explain the start time can vary and we will call when the crew is on its way. Also, the customer is welcome to check in periodically for an update on arrival and we also try to keep the customer updated. Our day starts at 7:30 a.m. and all moving crews are sent to their assigned job. All morning moving assignments must be completed before any afternoon moving assignments can begin. We encouraged Mr. *********** to move in the morning however, he was coming into St. Cloud 5 hours away. so could not move in the morning and was not sure of his arrival time. 1st Choice Movers management team sent the first moving crew available in the afternoon. It is wrong to imply that the crew manager deliberately did not send a crew to Mr. ***********. This is untrue and unkind to imply. We do over a 100 moves a month, over a thousand a year with great results. Any company will have a few unhappy customers they are unable to please. We try to make every customer's move a good experience. We are a proud accredited business of the Better Business Bureau, this is the first concern on our record in over 12 months. We have had 4 complains in the last three years after serving over 3,000 customers. We were not late, however, again, my apology if we were perceived as being disrespectful. That is never our intention. Thank you.

3/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The actual cost and time involved in my move was two to three times the estimate. On 1/30/14 I sought an estimate from 1st Choice Movers. I provided an accocunting of my belongings by email. The initial estimate received via email from Gail was for a three person moving crew at a charge of $155 per hour, for 51/2 hours, for a total cost of $852.00. On 2/11/14 I spoke by phone with ******** to reserve their services. He went over my item list, and suggested a two person crew, which I said was not adequate. He then estimated a three person crew for four hours, plus a travel charge of $38.75, for a total of $658.75. On 2/20/14 the twin cities was hit by a major winter storm. I called 1st choice and spoke with ***, expressing my apprehension about the move in the weather. he said that as long as the crew had clear access to my home they would manage, as they move under various weather conditions. The three person crew was to arrive at my home on 2/21 at 8:30 a.m. On 2/21 I shoveled my walk at 6:00 a.m. At 9:30 I called 1st Choice because no one had arrived. Shortly after this ****, one of the movers, called to say they were pulling up to my house, which they weren't. They had an address of ***********************; I lived at ***********************. I gave them directions, and they called shortly after saying they had been re-routed by the police because of a traffic incident. They arrived at my house at 10:45 a.m. There were two movers. They said the third person was "snowed in to his apartment." After surveying my belongings, **** said "this will take all day," and called the office to ask for a third mover;no one was available. I asked if the move could be changed to 2/22 with three people and he was told they were already booked. I asked why I was provided such a dramatically different estimate and he said he didn't know. I had staged all the boxes, broken down any furniture that needed to be dismantled, and the majority of items were on the main floor. At approximately 2:00 p.m. I called 1st Choice to say I was concerned about how long the loading was taking. *** said he couldn't control the weather but they would "see the job through to completion." Two of my neighbors stopped by at the same time and said they had observed the movers walking from the house to the truck empty handed multiple times. By 5:00 p.m. it was apparent the movers were not going to be able to finish that day. They said they could hold my belongings over night and be at my new house the following morning with three people to unload, which they estimated would take 2-3 hours. They completed the loading process at 7:30 p.m. and the total bill was $892.50. Three movers arrived at my new home at 9:20 a.m. on 2/22. I told them they could put all the boxes in the ground floor office, and they did not need to assemble anything. The unloading process was similarly slow, concluding at 2:00 p.m at a cost of $658.75. Thus far I have found the following items damaged: dining room table, four gouges; bedroom bureau, drawer pull broken off; bedroom dresser, gouge on drawer; bedroom dress, front of drawer pulled off on one side; butchers knife, handle broken off; shovel broken; and a broken serving dish. On 2/24/14 I called 1st Choice and spoke with ***. I told him I was dissatisfied and why. His intial response was to ask if I was seeking a free move. I told him if we could not resolve the issues I would dispute the charges. He said he would need to come to my house to visually inspect the damages, and repair them. I told him he was not welcome in my home. At one point I asked for his name and he responded, "who do you think I am?" and "I'm the same person you spoke to the last time." He identified himself as ***********, company owner. I have offered to accept the initial charge of $892.50. The inaccurate estimate, wrong address, inadequate number of movers, and lack of efficiency caused the overcharge which I dispute.

Desired Settlement: I will accept and have paid the Friday charge of $892.50. The original (highest) estimate of cost was $775.00; the actual cost was $1551.25. The estimate of time necessary was five and one half hours; the actual time involved was 14.5 hours. Because of the delay I lost one day of time, had to sleep on the floor of my new home with no food or hygiene items, and incurred substantial unexpected cost. The company argues that weather was the reason for the additional time. The weather would have explained a travel delay, but the travel charge was standard, and the movers were sent to the wrong address. The move itself was not affected by the weather (it was sunny both days of the move). I was promised a three person crew but was provided a two person crew. I called in advance to ask whether the weather was cause for concern and was assurred it was not. I called mid-loading to express my concern about the slow pace and was told they would finish the job in a timely manner. The company has not acknowledged any responsibility but has only attempted to rebut my concerns. For example, I told Mr. ******* that my neighbors came over during the loading to say they observed the movers walking from the house to the truck with nothing in their hands multiple times, to which his response was "we don't work for your neighbors." Mr. ******* twice stated I was attempting to get a "free move." I hardly think almost $900 is nothing, but it is true that I do not feel I should be accountable for the $658.85 charge from 2/22 given that the problems with the move were within the control of the company, and the time and cost involved was in excess of their quote.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ Thank you for the opportunity to respond. 1st Choice Movers LLC is a licensed moving company through the Minnesota Department of Transportation. We are required to have a hourly tariff on file with the Department of Transportation. In our tariff are our hourly rates. 1st Choice Movers LLC nor any licensed moving company in the State of Minnesota is allowed to give quoted fixed pricing for moving service. We do not give quoted amounts or exact estimate, nor are we allowed to for moving services we perform. Quoted or exact estimated amounts could be set high to take advantage of a customer. **** did not quote or give Ms. ****** an exact estimate. Also, there are to many variable and each move is very different, accessability, traffic, stairs, distant, actual amount of items, number of boxes, etc. Again, we do not give exact quotes or estimates, we are not allowed. The Minnesota Department of Transportation which governs moving companies in the State of Minnesota does not allow price fixing. As stated, on 2/20/14 the Twin cities was hit by a major winter storm. We are in Plymouth, MN and the move was in St. Paul, MN getting all trucks out of our truck yard and on the road to their destinations was a challenge and extremely difficult. This was one of the worse storms we have experienced in many years due to Mother Nature and the dangerous road conditions. The highways were extremely dangerous, with many accidents and stalled vehicles and ramps so slippery cars and trucks could not navigate. The lateness was out of our control. When the movers arrived and surveyed the items and the boxes to move they advised the customer how long they felt it would take. We never previously over the phone or by e-mail gave an exact quote or estimate. The moving crew did start the move at 10:45 a.m. and worked till 2:00 p.m. From 2:00 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. they took a break of course at no charge to the customer. At 2:15 p.m. they started again working until 7:15 p.m. not 7:30 p.m. as stated in the complaint. Due to weather and road conditions out of our control we were not able to complete the unloading process of the move in Savage, MN until the next morning. We arrive at 9:00 a.m. in Savage, MN and unloaded until 1:00 p.m. not 2:00 p.m. as stated in the complaint. I will provide copies of the two day bill. This move took 12.25 hours not the incorrectly stated 14.50 hours in the complaint. Regarding alleged damages, any company would need to review and substantiate before providing remedy or compensation. I offered to discuss remedy after reviewing damage on site or having someone from 1st Choice Movers LLC come out to review damage and her concerns and was immediately told no one from 1st choice Movers LLC was welcome at her home. I do not feel she wants to resolve this complaint but simply pay for only a portion of the work provided. We do acknowledge Ms. ****** concerns and were willing to compensate for her inconvenience and review damages but we were not allow to review the damages and she told us we were not welcome at her home. In her initial call to me she yelled, screamed and berated me throughout the conversation. At some point anyone would become defensive. She gave an ultimatum telling me what she was going to do. Ms. ****** signed the Bill of Lading Contract (invoice) acknowledging the total amount due and provided her credit card information for payment for the total move. We did not quote or give an exact estimate for her moving services. That would be price fixing and is against the law and not allowed by the Minnesota Department of Transportation. We did not tell **** ****** her move would be exactly 5 1/2 hours this is simply not true. Also , the move was 12.25 hours not the stated 14.50 hours. The lateness in starting the move was due to weather and road conditions out of our control, the sun did not make the weather or hazardous road conditions any easier to navigate. I do feel Ms. ****** deserve some compensation but not $658.75 the whole total of the second day of the move. She states she should not be accountable for the entire work the movers performed on 2/22/14 because the weather problems were within our control which they were not. Also, we did not give Ms. ****** an exact quote. This is simple not true. Our pricing is by the hour, not a quoted fixed price. This is not allowed by the Minnesota Department of Transportation. We are willing to give compensation but not $658.75, the entire cost of the unloading portion of the move. We do not feel this is an equitable resolution. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I think they mean it is a "moot" point. I don't hear any proposal for compensation. I am not focused on payment for the damages, but rather the length of time involved in the move and the difference between what I was quoted and what I was charged. I acknowledge that I filed a chargeback after speaking by phone with Mr. ******* on March 24. He did not propose any resolution. The chargeback is my proposed resolution, which still provides 1st Choice with almost $900 in compensation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/03/20) */ I stand by our response. Also, I apologize for my misspelling. We did not give Ms. ****** a quoted amount for moving services. We have and are required to have our hourly rates in our tariff on file with the Department of Transportation in the State of Minnesota. We explained the cost for a 2 person moving crew and explained thereafter each additional movers is at a rate of $50.00 per mover, per hour. I explained and stated actual time will apply for the moving service. She is implying that we overcharged for our moving service. We would not and did not overcharge for the moving services we provided. I can provide a copy of the Bill of Lading (invoice). We are willing to give 25% off the second day total of $658.75 which is $164.69. I must state again, we did not give Ms. ****** a quoted timeframe or price. Her invoice was $1,551.25. I do not feel it is fair to attempt to short us $658.75, the entire cost of the unloading of her goods in Savage, MN. Thank you.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There were damages to my property during the move and the owner was belligerent and uncooperative after 3 attempts of resolving the issue. On

Desired Settlement: We hired them on 7/30/13 to move furniture from 2 diff locations to a storage unit. At this time we weren't aware of damages. On 9/3/13 we hired them again to move to one location which at this time we discovered a scuffed leather couch and love seat that was obv done during the move because the plastic was still on and the hole was through both. There was a chunk of wood missing from the wood leg on our coffee table. They also took a hunk out of the wall when going around a corner which since we are renters has to be repaired and custom painted. In addition to the damage they took apart beds and tables that were never authorized to take apart so I asked them to put them back together and it was never done because after the damage was done they were in a hurry to leave. We took pics and they took pics. We were told by Daniel that we would be hearing from someone soon after he took the payment. We didn't hear from them for 2 days. My boyfriend ***** called again on the morning of 9/5/13 and left a message. I received a call from *** on my way to work approx 1:45pm on 9/5/13 saying he was to return a call. It was the message from my boyfriend ***** that prompted ***'s call, not his workers because they left him the message. He proceeded to tell me he could meet that day which I couldn't because I started work at 2pm and would like to meet the next day. He asked what time we could meet I told him the following day 3/6/13 at his leisure to which he stated 10am. I said ok. I asked why we had not been contacted sooner about this complaint and he started to repeat my name over and over and get noticeably frustrated. I said I wasn't happy about the furniture being taken apart to which he responded of safety and damage issues being the reason to which I responded how it wasn't very effective since we had damage. He started yelling, I had to be on the floor for work so I said see you at 10 tomorrow and hung up. He called at 9:03am I missed his call but he left a message saying he was on his way over. My boyfriend returned his call at 9:11 telling him to come over even though we weren't expecting him till 10 and he said it was too late now. He was headed in another direction. We thought we had an appt which was made by *** at his leisure and he couldn't make it? Now he wanted to send back Daniel which was the initial guy that caused the damage and took pictures and never disclosed it to his boss to reassess everything which I was not accepting since the info never got to him the first time. He started repeating my name over and over. I told him to just refund us 10% of our total moving cost for the damages and inconvenience and we would accept the couch and table damage and do the wall repairs ourself and he told me I wasn't willing to resolve the issue. I could care less about the money however I do appreciate integrity and customer service which are attributes I am required to deliver in my business. I


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on 1st Choice Movers, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart