BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C U Mortgage Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C U Mortgage Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C U Mortgage Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 1992 Business started: 07/01/1987 Business started locally: 07/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Business Management
Brad Crandall, President S. Brad Crandall, CEO Ken Curan, Vice President Vanae Waytashek, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Brad Crandall, President
Business Category

Mortgage Brokers Title Companies & Agents Mortgage Bankers Real Estate Financial Planning Consultants

Alternate Business Names
C U Realty Inc C U Title Services Inc CU Companies, Inc.
Products & Services

According to information provided by C U Mortgage Services, Inc., this company specializes in mortgage, lending and service loans.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning

Additional Locations

  • 500 Main St
    Ste 100

    New Brighton, MN 55112 (651) 631-3111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PAID OFF MY MORTGAGE BUT AFTER A NUMBER OF ATTEMPT HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY MORTGAGE SATISFACTION. I PAID OFF MY MORTGAGE ON MARCH 5, 2015. I WAS TOLD THEY WOULD SEND MY MORTGAGE SATISFACTION. TO DATE I HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT. I CALLED AT THE BEGINNING OF APRIL AND WAS TOLD BY *********** THAT I WOULD RECEIVE THE SATISFACTION SOON AND SINCE I CALLED THEY WOULD SEND IT TO ME AND I COULD PAY THE FEE TO THE COUNTY FOR FILING IT. I AGREED AND EXPECTED IT SOON. TO DATE I HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT AND WHEN I CALLED TO TALK TO **** ON THE 14TH OF APRIL HE TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD BE TALKING WITH ***************. HE SAID SHE JUST FILED IT RECENTLY AND I ASKED HIM WHY SINCE I PAID ON MARCH 5. HE TOLD ME HE WAS GOING TO HANG UP ON ME AND I ASKED FOR HIS SUPERVISOR, HE SAID HE WOULD GLADLY SEND ME TO HER. ******** CAME TO THE PHONE AND SAID SHE WOULD SEARCH FOR MY PAPERWORK AND WOULD CALL ME BACK IN HALF AND HOUR BUT NEVER DID.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY MORTGAGE SATISFACTION. IT HAS BEEN 40 DAYS SINCE I PAID OFF MY MORTGAGE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/22) */ We appreciate the opportunity to address Mrs. *****' complaint. Mr. and Mrs. paid their loan in full on March 5th. A satisfaction of mortgage was drafted on March 19th after the original documents were obtained. The satisfaction was forwarded to the loan's investor for signatures. When the customer contacted us on April 2nd regarding the satisfaction, we contacted the investor for an update on the original satisfaction. We were then informed that the satisfaction had been misplaced. A new satisfaction was issued and sent to the investor on April 6th. Mrs. ***** then contacted us in April 14th. The investor of the loan had the satisfaction and was routing it for signatures. Signatures were obtained and the satisfaction was overnighted to Mrs. *****. The satisfaction was issued within days of the payoff, however, signatures from the investor were not obtained timely. We have since resolved the issue and addressed the delay with the investor. This is an isolated incident. We apologize for the delay and appreciate Mrs. *****' cooperation with resolving the matter.

11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received approval for a mortgage for the purchase of a single family home. Before the closing we were told they could not service our loan. We applied for and received approval for a mortgage for the purchase of a single family home on 70 acres of land which included 25 acres of farmland. Our down payment for this loan was to be 25%. The mortgage company took us through the entire process, all paperwork was signed and the rate was locked in. The only step left was the appraisal. At this time we were informed that they could not service our loan due to the farmland. This left us with no lender and our closing date was set and coming up soon. Also this meant that our interest rate was no longer locked and if it should increase it would potentially cost us thousands of dollars over the course of the loan. At no point during the transaction did they mention that the farmland would be an issue until we were nearly complete

Desired Settlement: I believe they should service the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ Thank you for the opportunity to address the Complaint referenced above. We take our service standards very seriously and welcome resolution. The following information describes the events surrounding the case number. The applicants Annie and *********** completed paperwork for a loan pre-approval on August 20, 2013. The loan pre-approval was based on income and credit qualifications only. Initially, all communication during the pre-approval and loan process was with *********** who did state that the possible home purchase had 70 acres, but did not offer that the 70 acres included farmland (tillable acreage). The Purchase Agreement was received on October 24, 2013, which did not indicate the home purchase included property that had tillable acreage. The loan process started on October 25, 2013, and the initial loan disclosures were sent to the borrower on that same date. The loan officer reviewed the purchase contract again on October 29, 2013. As part of the review, the loan officer contacted the realtor to determine which title company would be used for closing and for details as to the type of acreage the purchase included. It was on October 29, 2013, that the realtor responded that 25 to 40 acres would be tillable farmland. Because the loan investor, Fannie Mae, does not accommodate tillable acreage, the loan officer called *********** on October 30, 2013, and informed her that C.U. Mortgage Services, lnc., could not complete the loan due to the home purchase including tillable acreage which is considered to then be income producing property. The loan officer informed the borrower that this guideline was from Fannie Mae which does not allow for exceptions. On October 31, 2013, after this verbal loan denial, *********** spoke with the production manager at C.U. Mortgage Services, lnc., who provided Contact information for two lenders that could possibly complete a loan for property that included tillable acreage while still meeting the closing date set for December 12, 2013. The borrower is moving forward with one of those recommended lenders. The timeline of events described is within accordance of our service standards as well as with mortgage regulations. The borrower was considered to be in the beginning stages of the loan process and received timely notification that the loan could not close with C.U. Mortgage Services, Inc., due to the discovery of the property type. An adverse action (loan denial) was delivered immediately and included a referral option so the borrower could continue to move forward with the property purchase. appreciate your time and consideration regarding this matter. With questions, please Contact me at *********** or at ******@cucompanies.com. Sincerely, *********** Mortgage Production Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***********, in a phone conversation with the loan officer specifically stated that "the farm we are buying includes cropland" The loan officer stated that this acreage could sometimes be an issue but failed to mention that they did not have the ability to process this type of loan at all. I feel that the loan company has a responsibility to find out if there are conditions that will cause the loan process to fail at the beginning of the process and not the end. It's unfortunate that we did not email the conversation about the tillable acreage because now all the loan company has to do is say that we never disclosed this information and there is no way to prove it. In reality we should not have to prove it because they should be asking these questions up front, especially for properties with acreage and rural addresses to avoid this in the future. I will not be using CU Mortgages services in the future and chose not to use the broker that they referred us to fearing that they too might not pay attention to the information that is given and leave us further behind in the process.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C U Mortgage Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)