BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2007

Restwell Mattress Company

Find a Location

Phone: (952) 920-7860Fax: (952) 920-3466View Additional Phone Numbers9901 W 74th St STE 120, Eden PrairieMN 55344-4540 Send email to Restwell Mattress Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/05/2007

BBB has determined that Restwell Mattress Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Restwell Mattress Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Restwell Mattress Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mattress warranty is not being honored as promised by ***** ************** 20 years or replacement at N/C. It held up for only 6 years, best case.

We purchased a first generation Royal Splendor memory foam mattress on 9.4.06. Total paid: $1881.86 ($1799 for mattress & box spring, $69 for required mattress protector, $49 for delivery & sales tax).

We were promised by salesman ***** ** that this mattress would last 20 yrs or it would be replaced, as long as we bought the protective pad - by itself has a 10 yr warranty.

Mattress protector was ALWAYS used, mattress/box spring routinely/religiously turned as per warranty instructions.

However,this protector obviously failed, w/resulting slight staining. But more importantly, after 3+ yrs, mattress began showing sleep depressions (divots).

In yr 5, the divots got significantly worse & by yr 6 (6 yr 4+ months-early May 2013), ****** and wife ***** checked with ***** H who matter of factly told us to call office to schedule evaluation for replacement.

A **** ******* visited with *****, first remarking that the stain issue must be handled by the company who made the protector. He also noted a factory defect in the edge piping on one side of the bed. He told ***** he would call back on this issue in a couple days.

His solution to the divots at that time was to advise us to turn the bed 45 degrees - not the 90 as is indicated in warranty book. Unfortunately, given that the mattress is not square - this is a lame, non-answer to our problem.

But **** didn't call as promised. When ***** finally called him 2 weeks later, **** said he must have called a wrong # (our phone # is clear & accurate on our original receipt) and then said he would call back after checking his paperwork. We should not have had to re-contact him weeks later.

This next time he did call back a couple days later, leaving a voicemail. ***** & **** traded VM messages for about a week. Finally just before Memorial Day, **** left another VM stating that we would have to pay $75 for the new cover plus pickup/return trip charges.

When ****** talked with **** later, this total was estimated at $195.00.

Great - but as a manufactured error on a warranted product, why should we pay anything? This is an acknowledged defect! And for the record, we didn't call to complain about a minor stain, we called because the divot defects were interfering with our sleep. Simply stated: the mattress we purchased failed prematurely.

And in this voicemail, **** made NO mention of that main issue.

I then called **** S and let him know that the proposed solution wasn't what we expected; it wasn't addressing the issue that we called about: the divot defects.

In our conversation, I stated our expectation that since we bought the mattress protector based on Restwell's insistence that this was necessary for the warranty - I expected Restwell to handle any & all warranty issues. **** S then said Restwell would evaluate the mattress divots when it was brought back to factory for new cover.

As far as my restatement that our expectation was we should not have to pay anything because of the warranty & the fact that it was only 6 yrs old, **** S would talk with his supervisor & suggested I talk w/***** about this situation. I told him that ***** & I had already discussed and decided our course of action - but he insisted I bring it up again.

As promised, **** S did call back on June 7. But his supervisor's offer was to pick up our mattress at N/C but not deliver it back w/o a fee. This was not acceptable; we would still be responsible for $135.00 additional out of pocket).

However, **** S stated that his supervisor now wanted to know what WE would be willing to do to resolve this situation.

My answer was simple: WE already had done our part! We bought an expensive mattress largely in part because of its 20 year warranty.

A warranty that now is not being honored. And perhaps there never was any intention of honoring this warranty? From our recent history of conversation w/**** ******** this is a reasonable conclusion.








Desired Settlement
What we wanted when we first called was simple: the replacement of a failed defective mattress --- as was promised by warranty.

And a brand new in kind replacement mattress is still acceptable - if provided at no new charges.

However, if Restwell will not honor the warranty, then it is proof that this customer relationship has also failed and we will have no trust in the Restwell organization.

In this case, what we then want is a fair pro-rated refund:

$1,799 over 20 years is $90.00/yr. Given that we are in sixth year, this means 13.5 yrs at $90/yr - or $1,215.00.

With that money we can and will buy a competitor mattress and get at least 12 years - as we got with our Simmons Beautyrest mattress for a lot less money.

Business' Initial Response

“The following information was provided in hard copy and had been converted to text.”




MRE: Case ********* ****** ******

This letteris in response to a complaint from Mr. ****** sent to you on June 11th, a oopy of which We received from you on June 19th.
Mr. ****** complaint is that Restwell Mattress is not honoring a Warranty on his king size

Our response is that there is no defect in the Construction of the mattress which would cause us to perform under the terms of the Warranty. The ****** are unhappy with the contouring of the foam caused by the natural compression of the material over time where they lay. This common condition is due to the fact that two individuals will naturally sleep in only two positions on a king size mattress; notably 12-16 in from each side and apart from one another in the middle. This causes a wavy appearing "king profile" when Viewed from the end of the bed due to the uneven Wear.

Other portions of our conversations centered on what Restwell could do to make the customer happy, going above and beyond the perameters of the Warranty. Our offer was to recover the materials for the cost of the material only. Charges for transportation were for both trips 'to and from the residence' as provided for in the sales agreement as well as the Warranty.

I would be happy to discuss this further with a representative of the BBB if called upon to
do so.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, let me be clear: *** ********** letter of 6.21.13 did not address the specifics of the complaint (#1), nor was it truthful (#2).

1) Certainly any mattress - given enough time - will somewhat compress based on the sleeping pattern of the individual(s) using it. But these compressions are typically small indentations - not the deep depressions evident on our mattress.

When we bought this expensive mattress it was stipulated that it would not succumb to any dipping for 15-20 years (and 20 years was the timeframe provided by salesperson). But these severe depressions occurred within 5 years of use. This outcome is either an example of product failure -OR- a false presentation of warranty.

2) Mr. ******* himself - when visiting to review our mattress, pointed out that the piping indicated that the cover was defectively manufactured. Now - if the company representative says there is a manufacturing defect and that his company will repair that - but then later in his letter to BBB, claims there is no problem with the mattress, I call that a misrepresentation.

Or, in plain speak, we were likely lied to on two occasions: evidently at the point of sale and then for sure at the point of Mr Schultz's onsite review of our complaint.

Ironically, we didn't call about the misaligned piping which is simply aesthetic; that was and still is a non-issue. In my opinion, this was a bait and switch tactic, used by Mr. Schultz to move us away from discussion of the real issue: our inability to get a good night's rest on a mattress less than 6 years old.

To be clear: we do not care about slight indentations that are normal over time. However, we do care about the deep valleys and the "attempting to sleep on a hill effect" - which is not normal wear and tear for a mattress this young. And once again, for the record: this mattress and box spring were religiously turned as per warranty instructions.

Secondly: We contacted Restwell Mattress in April because this premature depression had been consistently interfering with our ability to sleep for a year, minimum.

* This "premium" Restwell mattress is failing much earlier than expected, compared to the performance of previous and less expensive mattresses from other companies.

* Could the fact that this "premium" mattress was a first generation release have anything to do with this premature failure? At a minimum, this seems a distinct possibility.

Current Status: We had to act upon this situation this spring because my wife was facing major surgery (open heart) and we were told that she would need stay in bed for recovery at least two weeks, with sleep rest the major rehab component for a period up to 10 weeks.

Again - since attempting to sleep on this Restwell mattress is akin to trying to rest on a "hill & valley", this situation needed to be addressed.

Since this surgery is now occurring on 7.2.13, we've been forced to buy a second albeit smaller bed and mattress to provide for this necessary bed rest period. Rest assured, it was significantly less expensive - and will more than likely outperform the "premium" Restwell mattress we currently have.

Finally, I simply restate our expectation: we are entitled to a replacement or a cash rebate of $1,215.00.

Absent that, this claim will be left open and unsatisfied. And if that is the case, then our initial opinion - based on our unfortunately false sense of product quality and company integrity - will have been changed. We will then pursue other options including but not limited to a social media campaign that will start (but not end) with those friends and family previously positively referred to Restwell.

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While Restwell did not replace the mattress as per warranty as stated when we purchased it, Restwell did meet our alternative request for a pro-rated rebate.

It's not a great solution - but acceptable.

But I have to say it is odd that Restwell would rather pay us than simply provide a new/replacement mattress.
I have to think that replacement would have been less expensive - and overall, more beneficial to their business.

07/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issue with Ambassador Mattress & extremely Poor customer service
I purchased Amabassador mattress from RestWell store in St. Louis Park in April 2012. When Purchasing the mattress i was told that the mattress will get a vee bit softer than what it is brand new, once it's adjusted to the body weight. For the first 7-8 months mattress was ok (not the best i would expect for 867 $) but reasonable enough to sleep on. Almost 3 months ago i noted a drastic change in the mattress and i will just start sinking in the mattress (more like a V-Shape). The dynamics of soft went to SOFTEST and the issue i selected this mattress for came back (my back pain). I was also told at the time of purchase that the memory foam on the mattress will shape to your body curvature. I filed a complain almost 2 months ago at the SLP showroom and after few follow up calls finally **** ******* came in for assessment. During the assessment he took multiple pictures and asked me to send it to his boss which i did. Also before leaving **** ******* mentioned that he has barely seen a mattress shaped like that. It feels better on the sides but sinking in the middle, which it shouldn't be). From what we understood he mentioned that he will talk to the owner for replacement and will reach back to us. After not hearing back for almost 25 days i called ***** at the SLP showroom and was told to call ****. When i called **** ******* he told me ***** was suppose to reach back to you telling you that" the decision was made and there nothing they can do about it". I did mentioned to **** that you told us when you were in the appartment about the defect and now you are backing off. **** said it might have been mis-interpretation and my response was no, you did mention to us that " The Matteress should not have footprints in the middle but on the side where we sleep but rather it's sinking in the middle".
**** said that he will talk to the owner and get back to me. After 20 mins **** S. left me a voice mail " ***- It's **** Schultz over at RESTWEll Mattress, we just talked just a few mins ago and as soon as i and you got done talking I called ***** to get some Scoop from him and he has got authorization to have you come into the store to get you into a bed you will be more comfortable in.. so why don't you give me a call back or call ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX.. take care ***"
I did go to the store on 6/16 and talked to *****, where we selected a mattress.He told me it will be an even exchange if i select a cheaper mattress or if an expensive one i will have to pay for the difference. Today on 6/17 when i went in to SLP and talked to *****. I told him since i paid 867 $ and the new mattress i selected is much cheaper i would like 2 Matresses (queen & full size) and i will pay the additional amount. He called **** and not sure what **** told him but he asked me to call **** ******** When i called **** Schultz and told him i want the replacement mattress he said ok, he will talk to ***** and ***** will get back to me. 20 mins later i get a call from ***** saying that he was told that the defect does not fall under warranty and there is nothing he can do.
I had been passed ** like a football between 2 people for the last 2 months now and they just keep on saying different things. They sold me a mattress without disclosing the full details that the the foam will adjust to my body too and it will get a lot softer. I have started going back to the chiropractor because of this back issue again. People at Restwell mattress have poor business ethics and sell mattress without giving all the proper information deemed necessary. When it comes to customer service they keep on directing you from one person to another until the customer gets frustated and either quit calling or report.They are not direct when communicating with the customers but chew words and mis-state the results or don't even bother to call back sometimes.
I would like to report the above issue regarding restwell mattress to BBB

Desired Settlement
I either want full refund or replacement

Business' Initial Response RE: Case 57254622: *** *******
This letter is in response to complaint from Mr. ******* sent to you on June 17th, a copy of Which We received from you on June Zlst.
Mr. ******** complaint is that Restwell Mattress is not honoring a Warranty on his queen size mattress.
response there is no defect in the construction ofthe mattress which would Cause ils to perform under the terms ofthe Warranty. Mr. ******* is unhappy with the oontouring ofthe caused by the natural compression ofthe material over time Where they lay due to uneven Wear. Photos taken by Mr. ******* prior to, and at the time of my visit will bear this out.
Other portions of our conversations centered on What Restweil could do to `make the' customer happy, going above and beyond the parameters ofthe Warranty since We cant guarantee comfort after tWo years. It was at this point that We offered Mr. ******* a new bed at a substantial discount. . _ _I
I Woud be happy to discuss this further with a representative ofthe BBB if Called upon to
The response is attached to the case for review.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** S. mentioned in his response that we cannot guarantee comfort after two years. However i purchased the mattress a year ago (april 2012). **** Schultz did mentioned at the time of inspecting mattress that "It is weird that the wear due to lay is uneven, as it should be on the both side where we lay and not in the middle". He also did agree during our conversation at the time of inspection that it's not normal for mattress to wear out like this and he will talk to the manager/owner and asked me to send photos to the Owner which i did multiple times and i never heard back from anyone over at Restwell mattress. They would have called me at all if it was not me who followed up on the claim after 4 week and they would have let it slip by.
Restwell mattress manager in SLP " *****" did agree at one point to provide me a mattress and it will be an even exchange. However once i decided which mattress i want he called **** and something happened, where he straigh out told me " I Cannot do anything and i am told that the mattress doesn't fall under warranty wear and does not meet the standard". Rest well mattress kept me giving me hopes that they will replace the mattress and after waisting 2 months of my time, tossing me around between the store manager and the factory manager they straight out denied the claim. I am not unhappy with the conturing of the foam. I am unhappy with the poor product sold me without giving me all the needed information that over the passage of time the laying with wear the foam out (Understandable) but within 8 months i can sink in that mattress easily. I am unhappy because i had been tossed back and forth from Store to the factory, My question is that i bought the mattress from the store, so why does the store manager does not want to deal with me but instead asking me to call **** S (who i am still not able to determine, if he is a delivery guy, customer service, finance guy or Manager??).. Ofcourse there is no dedicated staff for any of the above area for a 3+ mil dollars/anum business and that is why the customer service is rating is ZERO. One person **** Shultz, he deliver the mattress, he act as a CUSTOMER SERVICE REP, he is the Account/book holder and he adjust finances, he process the orders...

Also restwell did not offer me a replacement mattress at a substantial discount and that is a straigh out LIE. I was quoted the exact price that if a new customer goes in will have. I have it quoted by *****(store manager)on his card (can do handwriting match) and the same numbers were given to me by **** Shultz over the phone.

Thanks
***

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Beds - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Health & Medical - General, Beds - Retail, Bedding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/08/1990Business started: 01/01/1945
Contact Information
Principal: Charles Carlson (President)Customer Contact: Mike Daum (Manager)
Business Category

Mattresses, Beds - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Health & Medical - General, Beds - Retail, Bedding

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Restwell Mattress Company, this company offers mattresses, box springs, and bedding products.

Alternate Business Names
U S Bedding

If you choose to do business with Restwell Mattress Company, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Restwell Mattress Company

9901 W 74th St STE 120

Eden Prairie, MN 55344-4540

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 7913 Southtown Ctr 

    Bloomington, MN 55431-1323

  • 9901 W 74th St STE 120 

    Eden Prairie, MN 55344-4540(952) 920-7860
    Fax: (952) 920-3466

  • 8229 Highway 7 

    Saint Louis Park, MN 55426-3904

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Restwell Mattress Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (952) 908-3348
  • (952) 881-8871
  • (952) 435-6660
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.