BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SJF specializes in buying & selling new & used material handling equipment and has been the nation's largest stocking distributor of warehouse and material handling equipment for both businesses and the public since 1979. Products include pallet racks, cantilever racking, conveyors, carousels, forklifts, mezzanines, case & carton flow racks, industrial shelving and storage systems. SJF provides clients with a friendly professional sales staff offering over 20 acres of new & used equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SJF Material Handling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SJF Material Handling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SJF Material Handling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 24, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1979 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Stafford Sterner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Stafford Sterner, President
Business Category

Material Handling Equipment Lifts Racks Conveyors & Conveying Equipment Industrial Equipment & Supplies Loading Dock Equipment

Refund and Exchange Policy
SJF is aware that a number of circumstances exist that may require materials to be returned. Because each situation is unique, a review of every return request will be completed by a qualified SJF employee. Please call us to discuss any returns. The following is a general outline of our return policy.

There will be a minimum 25% restock charge for any type of return, and a 50% restock charge for any "made to order" conveyor or component. Additionally, there are some products that are not returnable under any circumstances. These would include any custom manufactured items and specialty orders.

Items returned after 15 days will not be accepted unless an extended warranty has been purchased and the materials have been determined by SJF to be defective.

All returns must be accompanied by a Returned Goods Approval (RGA) form. The RGA must fully detail the reason for the return request and must also provide a listing of all goods being returned. Once an RGA is approved the goods must be received within 15 days or the authorization to return said goods becomes invalid. Freight arrangements for all returned items should be prepaid unless otherwise specified and approved by SJF and all freight charges incurred are the responsibility of the buyer unless pre-approved by SJF.
TOP
Service Area
United States
Alternate Business Names
SJF Material Handling Inc.
Products & Services

According to information provided by SJF Material Handling, Inc, this company offers solutions and assists clients with engineering, design & layout for pallet racks, conveyors & controls, and dock equipment, for warehouses large & small, nationwide. SJF can also professionally install or relocate warehouse equipment.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SJF hasn't refunded my money for the items that I returned. On January 19th I ordered 16 pallet racking beams that I picked up on Friday January 23rd. Upon returning to my shop I realized that the beams they had sold me were defective (they were welded upside-down). I immediately called my salesman ************ to notify him about the issue. He told me it was too late in the day to deal with it and he would deal with it on Monday. I called him Monday to find out the status and he did not have an answer for me until Wednesday in which he emailed me the new quote for me to sign and fax back. I faxed the quote back that night, however I informed him of the urgency on getting the correct beams as soon as possible as I needed them the previous weekend. I asked if they could ship them Thursday and he said he would try. When I called him Thursday to see if they were able find someone to deliver the beams he said it would probably be Friday. When I called him Friday morning to find out what time they were being delivered he said it would be Monday. I told him that the beams were already a week past when I needed them as I was moving my shop to a new location and that I would have to pick them up. I loaded the incorrect beams and brought them back when I picked up the right ones on Friday January 30th. By then they had already charged my credit card for the correct beams and were supposed to credit my card upon returning the incorrect beams. While recently reconciling my credit card, I realized that they had not refunded my money that they were supposed to. I emailed ************ on February 14th to let him know that I haven't received my credit and I got no response. I called his cell phone on Wednesday February 18th and talked to him about it and he stated he would handle it tomorrow. I waited until Friday and still did not hear from him so I called the main number for SJF around 8A.M.and spoke to a female about the issue and she said she would look into it. I waited until about 11:30 and called again as she said she would call me back. The female that I talked to at this time informed me that the person I spoke to was "in a meeting all-day and would be unavailable, but she would have her call me before she went to lunch". She never called and I sent a vulgar email to************ and to my surprise he responded immediately which was something unusual for my past experience. He told me I would have my refund by Monday. I still have not received my money. After multiple times contacting them to get my money refunded for the beams that THEY made a mistake on, I keep getting the run-around.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that they owe me that should have been refunded 3 weeks ago plus interest, for a total of $302.88.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/12) */ We are sorry for the late reply. In review of case #******** the following is a summary recap: Customer had issue with type of beam ordered: inverted beam vs. step beam SJF waived restock fee based on placing order for replacement beams SJF waived expedite order fee - Normal 3 days vs. next day Customer selected to pick up beams at will call desk vs. having beams shipped for additional fee. A credit was issued for the full amount of the purchase of $298.40 on 2-20-15. This amount equals to the amount of the Authorization for Return to SJF in which the customer signed and agreed to. Credit was issued 3 days prior to customer filing complaint to BBB on 2-23-15 ( Details Attached)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on SJF Material Handling, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)