This business is not BBB accredited.

The Valspar Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (612) 851-7000 Fax: (612) 375-7370 View Additional Phone Numbers 1101 S 3rd St, Minneapolis, MN 55415 http://www.valspar.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Valspar Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 10
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Valspar Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1806 Business started locally: 01/01/1806 Business incorporated 12/03/1934 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Gary E Hendrickson, President, Chairman & CEO Candice Johanssen, Executive Assistant, Office of CEO Anthony Blaine, Owner/Manager William Mansfield, CEO Janis Mavison, Sales/Marketing Janice Meuwissen, Owner/Manager Tori Regan, Owner/Manager Jane C. Richardson, Customer Service Contact Kristin Samuelsen, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Gary E Hendrickson, President, Chairman & CEO
Principal: Candice Johanssen, Executive Assistant, Office of CEO
Customer Contact: Tori Regan, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Wall Coatings

Alternate Business Names
Valspar
Products & Services

According to the information provided The Valspar Corporation, this company offers products such as: paints, finishers, and primers for interior and exterior jobs.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Valspar Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1101 S 3rd St

    Minneapolis, MN 55415 (612) 851-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 9 gallons of Valspar Reserve Satin Paint. I paid a professional painter $800 to paint the vaulted ceilings in my home which he applied 3 coats. After 24 hours of drying time my walls looked awful! I contacted the painter and he assured me that it was the paint and not his workmanship, I contacted Lowe's where the paint was purchased and they offered an exchange of paint which I chose Sherwin Williams Infinity. I have not had a re-paint yet but will begin on Saturday the 18th of June. I have to pay the painter again and I would like Valspar to refund the first payment I made to the painter in the amount of $800 so that I can pay him again. Also, I checked the reviews on this paint and there were over 1,100 complaints similar to mine.

Desired Settlement: I would like Valspar to refund what I paid the painter so that he will repaint my home with a different product.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********,

 

Please accept this as Valspar’s response to the complaint filed by our customer in the above-referenced matter.

 

Upon receipt of our notice of the customer’s claim with the Better Business Bureau, Valspar initiated contact with our customer and obtained additional information regarding his complaint. We now have a pending resolution that is acceptable to both our customer and Valspar.  

 

 

Tori A. *****

Paralegal

** *** ****

Minneapolis, MN 55440-1461

P ###-###-####
F ###-###-####

t*****@valspar.com

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The semi-transparent concrete stain "mountain lake" that I purchased did not show up as per sample on brochure. It looks like a paint not stain. After applying the semi-transparent concrete stain the results looked like paint not stain. The contractor that applied the stain, read the brochure, can, and watched the video. The finished product looked nothing like the sample of "Mountain Lake" in the brochure.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded on what was spent and also have my porch redone to my satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2016/02/16) */ Dear Ms. *****, Please accept this as Valspar's response to the complaint filed by Ms. *************. Since learning of Ms. ******'s complaint, Valspar worked with our customer to obtain a mutually satisfactory resolution. While the resolution has not yet been fully finalized, we expect to resolve this complaint amicably with our customer in the near future. If you have questions or require additional information, please let me know. Tori A. ***** Paralegal Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2016/02/26) */ The consumer indicated that he/she ACCEPTED the business response.

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to repair furniture as stated in agreement. I purchased furniture from Furnitureland South during the summer of 2015 and was sold a "protection contract" to repair damage to furniture in case furniture was damaged, scratched, stained or needed refinishing due to spills, etc. I paid $135 for coverage. After owning furniture about six months, a plug-in scent diffuser was laid on top of a tall chest of drawers and the liquid leaked on to the top causing the finish to be damaged. The damage was about 4" x 4" which would have required to top of the piece to be sanded and refinished. I contacted Guardsman according to the service contract instructions, sent the pictures of the damage, and they responded that a service person would come out to look at damage and arrange for repair. After several weeks I was contacted and arranged a time for the service person to come out. Service man looked at damage and said he could not repair with the tools he had; apparently a brown magic marker and buffing cloth and that he would contact Guardsman to make other arrangements. Several more weeks passed and I received a call from Guardsman representative stating that they could not make the repair and offered to refund the money I paid for this service. Apparently they would not, not could not, make the repair because it would have cost Guardsman more than the $135 I paid for the coverage. That's like an auto insurance company providing accident insurance and then offering a refund if the repair was more than the premium. Interesting scam being perpetrated by Guardsman and their parent company Valspar Corporation. I want Guardsman to live up to their agreement with me and provide a quality repair to my furniture. If their service is to be limited to the cost of the service agreement, they should state that in the agreement so consumers can determine if they want to purchase this insurance. Valspar Corporation sent me a check as a refund of what I paid but I have not deposited it pending resolution of my claim. Litigation in court is also an option I am considering. Guardsman and Valspar Corporation need to be responsible for this consumer fraud. Furnitureland South needs to be held accountable as an agent of this fraud.

Desired Settlement: Quality repair by skilled furniture craftsman

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/02/02) */ We have reviewed the comments and complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau. Based on the information provided and the coverage of your plan, we have issued a stop payment of the check refund that was sent to you. We will be sending a second technician to repair the damages reported on the chest. You can expect a call from a technician to schedule an appointment. If you have any questions, please refer to your protection plan for coverage and terms that apply. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2016/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Furnitureland South, the company whom I purchased the furniture, has contacted me directly and is picking up the furniture that was damaged today. They are willing to repair the furniture themselves since Guardsman has failed to fulfill their obligation.

9/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We spray painted our kitchen cabinets as directed by Lowes using 2 gallons of Valspa paint. After a few months in certain areas it wore off. As described in the previous section, we spray painted our kitchen cabinets using Valspar Reserve number XXXXXX Base B which states Lifetime Warranty on the can. After a few months the paint wore off in certain areas. We applied the paint as directed by the Lowes employee. It took two gallons to compete the job. When we finished we were very happy with the result until we noticed the deficiencies as described previously. (Correction we only used 1 gallon to equal $52.45, along with 1 gal of Valspar Primer number XXXXX at a cost of $20.98. I would like a total refund of $ 73.43

Desired Settlement: Described above

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/24) */ "After receiving Mr. ******'s complaint, Valspar promptly reached out to our customer. We have now resolved the claim in a manner that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know."

8/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placer County Specified product with stain leaching through finished Cabot full bodied stain. We have been in contact with *******@valspar.com for months trying to resolve a horrible product failure only to have more meeting and no responses on corrective measures and compensation.

Desired Settlement: $10,000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/19) */ Prior to receiving Mr. *******'s complaint, Valspar was engaged in negotiating this claim with Mr. ******* and other involved customers. We have now resolved the claim in a manner that is satisfactory to both our customers and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

6/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your semi transparent "stain" has not stained my floor After following your directions to stain my passive solar home floor, the product advertised to stain is peeling off the concrete revealing it has not penetrated/stained at all.

Desired Settlement: After following your directions to apply your semi transparent stain to my concrete floor, it is peeling off revealing it has not stained the concrete at all. The product is NOT a stain!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/05/18) */ Please accept this as Valspar's response to the above-reference complaint filed by our customer, ****** ******. Upon learning of Mr. ******'s complaint, Valspar contacted our customer. We now have a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Valspar brought out a contractor to consider the work involved to remove the semi- transparent stain from my floor. Valspar then offered to pay me the amount of the contractors quote if I sign a liability release form releasing Valspar of responsibility of this problem. Not only do I not want the responsibility to supervise the contractor but with this arrangement there are no guarantees my floor will be fixed. I'm very upset by the product finish and the way Valspar is handling this problem . Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2015/06/24) */ Dear Ms. *******, Valspar has been working with our customer, ****** ******, since April of 2015 to resolve his complaint regarding the Valspar semi-transparent concrete stain he purchased and utilized on his interior concrete floor. Valspar maintains that the product utilized by Mr. ****** is not defective, but rather was the incorrect product for the surface that it was applied to. The stain utilized by Mr. ****** is intended for exterior porous concrete, such as patios, pool decks, sidewalks and driveways. It is not intended for non-porous interior concrete surfaces, such as garage floors or other interior surfaces, such as where Mr. ****** applied the stain he purchased. Mr. ****** has demanded that Valspar hire a contractor to remove the stain and bring the floor back to its original state prior to him utilizing the Valspar stain on his floor. Valspar is a paint and coatings manufacturer and does not have the required resources to act as a general contractor for Mr. ******'s floor project. Accordingly, Valspar made a reasonable monetary offer to Mr. ****** that would cover product replacement and estimated labor costs, which will be provided upon his execution and return of a signed release, should he choose to do so. If you have questions or require clarification, please let me know.

6/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paint started fading within in a year and now the house is a pinkish color when it was a tan In late 2009 my husband died in a tragic accident. Prior to his death he was prepping the house to paint. In order not to allow my husbands hard work to go to waste I hired a painter to professionally pressure wash, prep, and paint the house in mid 2010. After much reseach and conversations with the paint department at Lowes we decided to go with the Duramax outdoor paint as it was top of the line. I was now a widow and only wanted to have to paint the house 1 time due to the cost and my age so I chose a paint with a lifetime guarantee. We purchased (6) 5 gallon buckets in Cincinattiian Hotel tan. Within a year the back of the house which faces southwest started fading and within the next year the color was nowhere near what the original color was. We called the Valspar rep based on the advice from Lowes and he came out. The rep was shocked to see how much the paint faded. He said it must have been a bad batch and gave us new paint, (1)5 gallon bucket. We had the back reppainted. Now fast forward to the present. The back of the house faded again along with the front. The only parts that are the orignal color are the walls under the patio and the sides of the house which are in the shade. This is very disappointing, I spent my hard earned money paying for labor and the "best paint"on the market only to have it completely fade in less than 5 years. We used Benjamin Moore at my last house and that paint lasted for 20+ years and still looked good when we sold the home. I know your guarantee only covers the paint but due to the circumstances above I feel it is warranted that you all cover the paint and labor to get the house repainted. I am hoping you all will do the right thing here so no further actions are required.

Desired Settlement: House repainted

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/06/09) */ Upon learning of Ms. ******'s complaint, Valspar contacted our customer. We are in the process of bringing this issue to a resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pressure washed and scraped my house (no loose paint was left) and painted it Sep. 2013 with Valspar Duramax paint $ primer in one. As of Dec. 2014 the paint is cracking and peeling off every where. The fascia boards on eves is completely peeled off. There is mold & mildew growing under eves and on side of house. I contacted Valspar on 4-15-15 and they made arrangements for a rep. to come to the house on 4-23-15. The rep showed up with an employee of Lowes ( the store I purchased the paint from ). The Valspar rep. said all the cracking and peeling was from the deterioration of the underlying paint ( the fascia boards still have underlying paint on them)and water damage, he went on to say he doesn't know why the mold & mildew are growing. He stated the proper way to prep a wood surface is to take it down to bare wood(which is ridiculous,no one does that) I ask for a full refund of purchase price ($885.00) and he said that is not going to happen. He said the reason why is because the deterioration of underlying paint. Which is totally ridiculous...

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want total refund of purchase price of $885.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/05/18) */ Upon learning of our customer's complaint, Valspar contacted our customer, ****************. We now have a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

4/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete stain not effective on exterior surfaces and garage floors. My entire home is painted using Valspar products. The concrete stain, however, leaves much to be desired. The product was applied to a smooth etched garage floor. The product was then. Covered with Valspar wet look concrete finish. It dried fo 72 hours prior to label instructions and was given 14 days without a vehicle on that surface. After that, I still parked on cardboard. Then, we had an unexpected snowfall after two weeks of temperatures above 50 degrees. The paint is bubbling and came up completely! In addition the dark garnet color used on my porch comes up a bright cherry red and had to be covered over with Seal-Krete which being fully outside, handled the snow without incident.

Desired Settlement: Three cans of the product were purchased. I seek a full refund of my out of pocket costs for the product. I will bear the cost of repair and replacement of the used product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ Upon learning of our customer's complaint, Valspar contacted our customer. We now have a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

3/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our deck stained; the contractor used Valspar (Cabot) stain after professionally prepping the deck. After a few months, the stain wore off. After contracting to have our deck stained in the fall of 2012, we discovered that our contractor used Cabot 6306 Neutral Base stain (semi-transparent), which he purchased a our local TrueValue store. We understood that all the hardware stores carried this brand, which was taking over from the old lead based version. It was newer on the market and was more environmentally safe. He applied professionally. After several months, the stain eroded. Moreover, spots began to appear as the stain disappeared. I did some research online concerning this product and discovered that there were many complaints about it not holding up and being defective. I waited until the following summer to see if the problem would continue and it did and expanded over the entire deck (mainly the flat surfaces). This is our second home up north in Central Lake, Michigan, and we don't have a pet or children so the foot traffic is at a minimum. I sent a letter to Valspar, and completed their requisite complaint form including collecting pictures and sample chips from the deck to comply fully with their requirements. After several months, I received a notice that their rep (from MA) was willing to discuss. I asked for renumeration for the entire deck to be redone. She stated that they may be willing to purchase 5 gallons of stain to fix the issue, but I would also have to buy their seal remover and stain acrylic fixer at cost. She also stated that there was a certain procedure to applying this particular Cabot stain. And that if the process wasn't followed specifically, then the stain may not stick. I told her that what she was asking seemed over and above the normal and standard way of professionally staining a deck, as I have been informed by others similarly situated. She suggested that further tests be done as if I were a scientist to determine the porousness and soundness of the wood. She stated that the entire job had to be redone and not patched in order to work. In the end, she blamed everything under the sun but the product. As I was getting confused in all this gobbledegook, she offered to email me these steps and outline what must be done. It has been several weeks now and no follow up from her, which leads me to believe the company doesn't want to put in writing anything to incriminate them or make them further liable for lawsuits. Since this conversation, I have spoken with other flooring experts who say that what she was saying seemed off. And that most contractors follow a standard guideline for repairing or staining a floor or deck with or without a VOC product.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We wish that Valspar send one of their professionally licensed and approved contractors to re-surface, prep, and re-stain the entire deck in the way they say should work using their product. All at their cost. This may be a couple thousand dollars at most. If they are positive this formula will work, then they should not have any problem resolving and clearing their supposedly good name and recommendations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/03/18) */ Upon learning of our customer's complaint, Valspar contacted our customer. We now have a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

3/3/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Cabot stain from a local distributor here, and was told that my purchases would qualify for the rebate. The sales person handed me the rebate form. I completed it, provided my receipt, and sent it along with the request before the prescribed date. I received a reply back that mypurchase didn't have the right purchased date. That is not true. I am due my $50 rebate. Product_Or_Service: Cabot stain

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Honor your advertisement. This smells like bait and switch.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/20) */ Upon learning of our customer's complaint, Valspar initiated contact with our customer. We now have a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to let me know.

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We followed the instructions on the Love Your Color Money Back guarantee as printed on rebate and were denied claim We purchased two cans (2 gallons) of Valspar paint and we are not happy with the color in September 2014. We purchased two new cans (2 gallons) of paint, and realized they had a "love your color guarantee" refund/rebate program afterwards. We submitted the rebate form along with the required receipts, proof of purchase, and photos as well as followed the printed instructions on the rebate form within 30 days. We received a denied notice online for our rebates because the company claimed our original purchase was on two separate receipts and that voided our potential rebate/refund. How would any consumer have known at the time of their initial purchase that the cans of paint all need to be on the same receipt? We did not purchase the paint anticipating that we would not like the color and have to use this post purchase rebate program. We hated having to re-paint our home a second time! We contacted Valspar on several occasions and received one call back that they would make an exception and full refund for both new (two) cans of paint. A week and half later we received a second call from someone else that we should only expect half of our refund. Confused, we emailed them to ask why we were receiving conflicting information and to inquire about the current status of our refund and were told another 3rd party handles this process and we should go back and re-read the terms and conditions of the rebate and refused to help us further. We believe they are false advertising to consumers about the "Love Your Color Guarantee" and contains ambiguous and fine printed language that is misleading to gain a profit from paint sales. Others should know about this bad business practice and we want our $80.00 back.

Desired Settlement: Uphold the love your color guarantee as advertised and give us our $80.00 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/29) */ Upon learning of our customer's complaint, Valspar initiated contact with our customer. We now have a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar.

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Open case for over a year. Purchased full-replacement value warranty, offered less than 1/3 value. I am writing to express frustration. I mailed in my receipt nearly three years ago when the original was required. Now I am being told that I paid 1/3 of what I actually paid. I supplied a web link of the exact chair (except for color - I'm sure they have the color I just don't know what color I have) that is currently in stock at LaZyboy. Apparently they are saying they don't have it? I want a replacement chair. A $499 credit is absolutely worthless and is 1/3 of what I paid. It will not get me a replacement chair. I kept my receipt and was under the impression that when I mailed it in, Valspar would keep it on file. Now I am left without my documentation. I understand you have a BBB rating of A+ and value customer feedback and satisfaction. I paid over $1200 for a chair. The chair has been determined to be in need of replacement and is under warranty. The warranty I paid for was full replacement value. I asked for a replacement chair. LaZyboy says they don't have it in stock, which is not true (see link I sent in last email). The best option would be to send me the chair, I don't care what color it is. If that is not possible, then I would like store credit or a refund for what I actually paid. Never in a million years would this chair be $499. This is ridiculous. Please refer to the receipt I mailed in with the one other service request I submitted 3 years ago. I hope that you can honor one of these options. Thanks, *****

Desired Settlement: Would like a replacement chair, as originally requested. I provided the link to the exact chair. http://www.la-z-boy.com/product/7-8033/Pinnacle-Power-Recliner/ If this is not possible then I would like a refund of the amount I paid. I mailed in the original receipt as required over 2 years ago during a claim. Please refer to this document for the original purchase price. This has been hanging on since I opened this case nearly a year ago. It is very difficult to reach the office. In total I have spent more than a week and a half on the phone and writing emails.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/08) */ We have reviewed your comments and complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau. The sales receipt information we have on file is for a purchase of a reclining chair delivered in January 2010 for $499.98. Our records indicate your account manager attempted to contact you on 12/2/14 to review options to resolve your request for the rocker recliner. Please contact your account manager regarding the resolution of your request at 1(800)******** between the hours of 8:30am to 5:30pm Mon-Fri.

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: paint guarnteed for life, faded so bad house is two different colors, I want house repainted by them or money to do it right. they refuse-offer paint no receipts, I have a 5 gallon partial pail left, paint purchased at Escondido, Ca. Lowe's Store. I must insist on repainting of my house at your cost. It is your lousy paint that failed, I bought it based on the guarantee-and I expect you to honor your warranty. I want a Valspar rep to come ASAP so I can plan my next move if needed. Right now your product failed miserably, thank you for taking care of this promptly. **** -----Original Message----- From: ********** Sent: Monday, October 27, 2014 5:56 AM To: ************@cox.net Subject: Paint Issue ref:_00DE0IKEy._500E0FIr0Q:ref Hi ****, Thank you for the pictures of the affected areas. Do you have any left over paint cans or pales? I would need to see some type of receipts or maybe even some paint pales to get a Valspar Rep to come look at your project. Maybe a My Lowes card? or a credit card receipt? If you could provided a receipts I can certainly work with you on reimbursement for that paint that was purchased. I would not be able to reimburse for any type of labor or materials for labor. What Lowes what the paint purchased from? Thank You, ********** Customer Services, Consumer **********@valspar.com Phone: (603) ******** Fax: (603)********* VoIP: ******** ref:_00DE0IKEy._500E0FIr0Q:ref unable to transfer photo paint advertised as lifetime guarantee superior fade resistance Lowes assured me thsi is the last time I would ever have to paint my house

Desired Settlement: either they repaint the house, or they cover all expenses to have it repainted

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/12/01) */ Upon receipt of our notice of the customer's claim with the Better Business Bureau, Valspar initiated contact with our customer and obtained additional information regarding Mr. ****'s complaint. We now have a pending resolution that is acceptable to both our customer and Valspar.

9/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought 10 gal of Valspar paint, paid someone 1400 dollars to paint living room, dining room, kitchen, whit their paint, primer in one paint from Lowes. After 6 coats and it still bleeding thru the painter said it was useless to continue. I contacted Valspar, Ms.*************, *********@valspar.com, ************ she was going to get back with me, It has been 22 days and I emailed her 3 times with no resolution. I invited her comp. to send someone to look at this mess, and told them I would apply another coat or two to show the results. They advertise this paint to be a one coat primer, paint and after 6 coats it still requires a paint job. Product_Or_Service: valspar primer/paint sold at lowes

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to have them send someone to verify my claim, Then I either want them to paint it to satisfaction, quit false advertising their product, or refund me all my costs, paint, materials, labor at a cost of 2146.00 dollars

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/16) */ Valspar was already engaged in communication with our customer when the complaint was filed with the Better Business Bureau. Valspar continued to work with our customer and we now have a pending resolution that is acceptable to both our customer and Valspar.

9/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valspar cement sealant did not take and caused damages to my patio. They refused to send anyone out to look at damages and will not pay for repairs. On May 25th 2014, I purchased Valspar cement sealant from a local Lowes store. I used the Valspar cement sealant on my backyard patio. The sealant did not take and this caused moisture to get trapped under the sealant, wherever it got wet and dried. The trapped moisture would turn a milky white color. This occurred in areas far away from the swimming pool area. I contacted Valspar, who at first explained the problem with their product to me, which is how I was able to explain it above. However, advised per their warranty, they were not responsible for any damages other than refunding me the price of a single bucket of sealant, which is about $100. They also refused to send anyone out to look at the damages, as I wanted to assure they knew I was not making this up. I did send them everything they asked for such as pictures of the damage, Lowes receipt and Valspar bucket of sealant I used. They were also unable to tell me how I could remove there product from my patio and fix the damage. It cost me $1,500 in supplies and labor to get the Valspar sealant removed and new sealant put on my patio. Valspar refuses to pay for any of the repair work. To make it even worse, after explaining to me the first time I called how their product failed, they are now changing their story and blaming it on me. They are saying I put the sealant in the wrong areas and they also saw the same white coloring on my hose from pictures I sent them. This is incorrect as I followed the directions exactly as printed on the bucket. It is also the reason I asked them to come look at the damage themselves, but a billion dollar company did not have anyone to come look at it. The milky white areas occurred in areas far away from my pool and anywhere it got wet and dried. A billion dollar company should also not get away with a warranty that offers no help to customers when their product fails and causes major damage to a person's home. I tried to work this out with the Valspar Corporation, but they refuse to offer me anything other than $100 for the Valspar product that was defective. I now have no other choice other than turn to other avenues of assistance such as the BBB. Please help!

Desired Settlement: It cost me about $100 for the Valspar 5 gallon bucket of cement sealant and about $1,500 to repair the damages. I am looking for a refund of $1,600 from the Valspar Corporation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/09) */ Upon receipt of our notice of the customer's claim with the Better Business Bureau, Valspar initiated contact with our customer and obtained additional information regarding his complaint. We now have a pending resolution that is acceptable to both our customer and Valspar.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: labeling and advertisement of paint + primer products false and misleading. Paint + Primer products DO NOT contain primer. Primer is a separate product. This is a ploy to sell more paint . This is an everyday issue for me to explain to customers. I have spoken to Valspar reps. and called the company .

Desired Settlement: Valspar needs to re-word/re-label their products or put out a disclaimer .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/01) */ Please accept this as Valspar's response to the complaint filed by J. ****** in the above-referenced matter. In the complaint, Ms. ****** requests that Valspar change its labeling of some products as "Paint + Primer." Ms. ****** complains that the current labeling causes her to have to explain to paint customers that there is no primer in the product. Ms. ******'s complaint does not concern her use of the paint as a consumer, or that she is misled by the paint's labeling. Instead, her complaint relates to her job selling paint. As such, her complaint does not seem appropriate for resolution through the Better Business Bureau. Ms. ****** previously called Valspar's Customer Service department in June 2014 about the same issue, and can address any concerns about marketing to her Valspar representative. Like all major paint manufacturers, Valspar designates certain products as paint + primer because they do not require a separate primer, but are self-priming. Paints formulated with higher solids content do not require the use of a separate primer in ordinary usage. Products with lower solids, such as Valspar's Pro Cover & Go Interior Eggshell paint, are recommended to be applied over a coat of primer and are not designated as paint + primer. Valspar appreciates Ms. ******'s interest in helping consumers but does not believe changing the label is necessary or appropriate and respectfully declines Ms. ******'s request to do so.

7/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applied 2 coats of stain to new treated deck boards after a dryout period and stain has not held up after one year and not sure what to do. Product_Or_Service: Semi-Solid Deck & Siding Stain

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) If Cabot cannot supply a product for me that I can apply and will hold up then I want a refund of the money I spent for their stain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/17) */ Please accept this as Valspar's response to the complaint filed by our customer in the above-referenced matter. Upon receipt of our notice of the customer's claim with the Better Business Bureau, Valspar initiated contact with our customer and obtained additional information regarding her complaint. We now have a pending resolution that is acceptable to both our customer and Valspar. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The pending resolution will take 2 - 4 weeks before it is completely resolved. Due to the fact that they didn't respond to me initially and I had to contact the BBB makes me come to this decision, that it is not closed yet.

7/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AFTER STADY AND WITH THE COMPANY RECOMENDATION I PURCHES THE SPAR VARNISH WITH THE MAXIMUM UV PROTECTION AND USE IT ON MY ENTERY DOOR AND THE BAR DOORS OF MY BACK YARD ,AFTER 7 MONTS THE VARNISH START TO PILL WITH THE STAIN UNDER IT AND DAMAGE THE WOOD VERRY HAVELY AND WILL COST ABOUTH $1,500 TO PROFECIONALY REMOVE THE VARNISH,AND THE STAIN AND REDUE THE ARIA FROM BEAR WOOD , AFTER CONTACTING THE COMPANY AND AFTER 65 DAYS THE REP OF THE COMPANY CAME AND SEE THJE DAMAGE AND TOLD ME IT IS FROM THE MOISTER AND WE CAN NOT DO ANY THING, I HAD SEVERAL DIFERENT COMPANY LOOK AT THE DAMAGES AND IT WAS NOT FROM THE MOISTER AND IT WAS FROM THE SON .I WAS OFFERD TO GET PAID THE PRICE OF THE CAN WITCH IS AROUN $20 , I DO NOT WANT THAT $20 I WANT THE COMPANY PROVIDE ME A CORPENTER TO CLEAN AND DO THE WORK WITH A DIFERENT MATERIAL WITCH IS THE RIGHT MATERIAL Product_Or_Service: MC CLOSKEY

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I WANT THE COMPANY PROVIDE ME A CARPENTER TO CLEAN AND DO THE WORK WITH A DIFERENT MATERIAL WITCH IS THE RIGHT MATERIAL

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/17) */ Upon receipt of our notice of the customer's claim with the Better Business Bureau, Valspar continued contact with Mr. ******** in regard to his complaint about the McCloskey Spar Varnish used at his home. This claim now has a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "love your color" guarantee not honored. I submitted the proper paperwork and photos. Received post card saying that my submission did not meet terms "Valspar love your color" guarantee not honored, I submitted the proper paperwork and photos for the 'love your color' guarantee along with my original receipts. All requirements were met and I have photo copies of sent in receipts. I received a post card saying that my receipts do not show "an eligible product." Again, I made photocopies of my receipts before I sent them in and I can purchased the qualifying items, bought in correct dates, etc. There is no recourse given to dispute their dismissal of my rebate request.

Desired Settlement: none, just what was guaranteed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/24) */ Upon receipt of our notice of the customer's claim with the Better Business Bureau, Valspar initiated contact with our customer. We are awaiting additional documentation from our customer. Once Valspar is in receipt of the requested documents, we anticipate that we will have an amicable resolution with our customer.

10/2/2013 Delivery Issues
9/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We painted the interior walls of our home with Valspar Ultra Paint + Primer, Satin finish. After several months, our walls continued to easily mar. Products: (2) 5 Gallon Buckets (tinted in a light cream color), Satin (interior), Valspar Ultra, Paint + Primer, Base A, Item #391655, Model #007.0391655.008. Lifetime Warranty. Purchased on 12/14/12 & 5/21/13 at the Lowes in Smyrna, TN. Total Amount: $289.74. (3) 1 Gallon Cans (tinted in a darker color), Satin (interior), Valspar Ultra, Paint + Primer, Base A, Item #391646, Model #007.0391646.007. Lifetime Warranty. Purchased on 12/14/12, 1/19/13, & 3/23/13 at the Lowes in Smyrna, TN. Total Amount: $95.38. (1) 5 Gallon Bucket, Valspar High-Hiding Primer (interior), Latex, Item #83182, Model #007.0004830.008. Lifetime Warranty. Purchased on 12/14/12 at the Lowes in Smyrna, TN. Total Amount: $84.51. We, **** & ***** ******, started painting our walls in December 2012, and we finished in May 2013. First, we painted our walls with Valspar High-Hiding Primer. Then we applied 2-3 coats of the Valspar Ultra satin finish, depending on how many coats it took to cover the previous paint job. After several months, we noticed that our walls would still easily mar. We tried washing the walls with water & a sponge, but the paint/sheen would still come off. Paint should not take several months to cure. We have two toddlers in our home, so you can imagine how many marks we have and how many times we need to wash the walls. As a result, every weekend was spent touching-up. On August 12, 2013, we went to the paint department at Lowes to ask about our paint problem. ***** (the gentleman in the paint department) called ***** with Valspar. Phone # (877) ******** Extension ****. Case #********. The next day, *************, a representative with Valspar called. Phone # (615) ********. We explained to him our problem, and on August 14, 2013 he came out to look at our walls. We were informed that our walls did not look like a satin finish and that he would be contacting us soon. He could also see where we had tried to wash the walls and they left bad spots on the walls, as well. A few days later, he called back informing us that all 5 of our satin paint cans had been mixed with an eggshell finish, Although we purchased the paint on several different occasions (December 2012, January 2013, March 2013, and May 2013). ***** presented us with two options: our money back for the paint we purchased or more Valspar paint. Both of which were unacceptable. Rather, we requested a licensed contractor to repaint our home, at Valspar's expense. The company's response was a denial of our remedial request. Several days were spent painting our entire 2,000 sq. ft. home with their defective product. Extensive time from work was lost. Additionally, substantial personal expenses were incurred to include rollers, brushes, drop cloths, trays, painters tape, mineral spirits, etc. As a result, it is our understanding that Valspar's intention is for us to: accept the result achieved with the defective product or purchase and repaint the rooms on our own time at our own expense. Our initial decision to use Valspar paint was based on the company's advertisement of a good quality paint product with a Lifetime Warranty. However, the reality did not substantiate these statements to be valid in our situation.

Desired Settlement: 1. We request our house to be repainted by a professional licensed contractor of our choice: all expenses to be paid by Valspar. 2. The product to be utilized for repainting the rooms is to be a 100% Satin finish. As validated by a Valspar representative. 3. We shall also determine the selection of colors used. 4. We request Valspar's reimbursement of our personal financial loss which occurred as a result of this matter: Total wages lost $650.00, Initial paint purchased $469.63, Painting equipment cost $334.07, Structural reparation: $40.00, & Transportation cost $6.70. 5. Completed project to be inspected and approved by us, the home owners.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/16) */ Upon receipt of Mr. ******'s complaint, Valspar continued contact with Mr. ****** in regard to his complaints regarding the Valspar products he and his wife used in their home. This claim now has a pending resolution that is satisfactory to both our customer and Valspar.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Valspar Corporation
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart