BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 27605 Leah Ln

    Chisago City, MN 55013 (651) 402-6259

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deck wood is very poor quality with knot holes popping out and cracks showing up on all decking.Awning was paid for but never received. I hired Allstate Home services (***********) to remove old deck and build a large 12ft.x 4ft. set of steps with white vinyl railings and a wood walkway leading to a 4ft x 4ft deck with steps on both sides.White railings on this also.I also ordered a 141" awning.The lumber was to be green treated decking.Later we agreed on moving an outside water faucet and agreed on $150.00 an replace a dryer vent for 75.00.The job was supposed to take 2-3 days.I ended up taking 5 days off from work because they only stayed 2-4 hrs at a time and most of it was spent loading up tools or talking.The lumber is the lowest grade wood I have ever seen and is cracking and knots are popping out and some is severely warped and sticking up.The spacing between boards is 1/2 to 1 inches.My small dogs feet go through the spaces.I never received my awning because he said it was made wrong so when I asked for my money back he came up with charges for items that are part of deck supplies and tried to charge more for the job.If this deck had been inspected,it would never have passed.People have said it looks nice from a distance but when they get up closer and can see the ground between the boards they can't believe it!The edges were all to be sanded but never were so they are all rough.Boards aren't cut the same lengths,rail end posts are in front of the shutters so they can't be removed if painting is needed.The walkway moves up and down and some of the screws aren't even pulling up the 2x4 underneath.The steps are supposed to be enclosed and some of the kick boards are under the deck boards and some are in front.It really looks stupid.I can't even repeat what people have said about that.I was expecting a professional job and **** seemed very nice and friendly but has not tried to make good on this after our phone conversation.I never complain about any thing that I pay for and get bad service but this is too much and this job is so bad that I have to.

Desired Settlement: I'm not an unreasonable person and would be happy if they replaced the deck wood and walkway wood with better quality real decking wood as I had requested.No cracks or knots and spaced properly and consistantly.I would also like the awning installed that I paid 1,200.00 for.If the company he got it from made it wrong then they should have to replace it.The main structures can stay but that decking is ridiculous and has shrunk even more since it was installed last fall(2014).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/11) */ I met with ***** this morning we came to a agreement we are going to replace all the bad deck boards i.e.split cracked knots falling out. Also we are going straighten all the ends and install fabric under the walkway to keep weeds from growing through ***** is going to supply the fabric. and instead of a window awning that would not work because the configuration of his windows we are going to install a door awning at no charge. Greetings **** @ Allstate home services inc. ***copied and pasted from email. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I met with **** and will accept his response as long as the deck wood and walkway are replaced with a better quality wood so the same thing doesn't happen.All the top boards are bad with either too many bad knots or cracks. I accept the smaller awning and the replacement of the 2 shutter screws behind the deck rail posts.I will supply the weed fabric for under the walkway.Also as **** stated, the wood will be cut straight and should be sanded with the belt sander as he stated in our first contract.


Customer Review(s)