BBB Accredited Business since

MindWare Corporation

Phone: (651) 582-0555 Fax: (651) 582-0556 View Additional Phone Numbers 2100 County Road C W, Roseville, MN 55113 http://www.mindwareonline.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MindWare Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MindWare Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MindWare Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 2000 Business started: 05/01/1990 Business started locally: 05/01/1990 Business incorporated 05/11/1990 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Matt Reutiman, Customer Service Manager Michael Majerus, Controller Martin Smith, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Matt Reutiman, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Toys - Retail Games & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
MindWare Holdings, Inc.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by MindWare Corporation, this company offers brainy toys and games for children ages 6-12.


Additional Locations

  • 2100 County Road C W

    Roseville, MN 55113 (651) 582-0555 (800) 999-0398

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company will not cease and desist sending paper catalogs to me through the US post office. I have written to them repeatedly to request/insist that they stop sending the paper catalogs, but they keep sending them. Another one was delivered to me in today's mail!

Desired Settlement: All I want is for the company to stop sending me their paper catalogs. I have explained to them repeatedly that I don't mind getting Email catalogs but these paper catalogs have got to stop. It's just more paper trash for us to have to deal with, and goodness knows our nation's landfills are full to overflowing already. In this day and age of modern technology it's inexcusable for any company to continue to generate more and more paper waste especially when the company has been repeatedly requested/instructed to cease and desist. I want the company to remove my name and/or address from their paper catalog mailing list and never again send me anything especially these paper catalogs through the US mail. They send these catalogs several times through the year, and it's absolutely just adding to the paper waste problem.

Business Response:

We have received your complaint regarding receipt of catalogs from us and understand you have made requests to no longer receive them.  MindWare takes privacy seriously and we scrub our lists before mailing against data for opt-outs we have in our system for customers who contact us.

We are writing to confirm that we have removed your address from our mailing list.  Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance and please feel free to contact us should you need anything additional.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mindware sold me a Brio Deluxe Railway Set (Item *********) during the Christmas Holiday season but never delivered it. On December 13, 2015, I placed an order for a Brio Deluxe Railway Set (Item #********). This was Mindware #********* and my Customer number is #********. I was then called by Mindware and told that this item was backordered but would be delivered in January. Nothing arrived. On February 9, I sent an email to Mindware asking for an updated and they told me "We regret to inform you that your order ********* with the backordered item ******** Brio Deluxe Railway Set has been canceled. We show the item will not be available for 6 to 8 weeks. We apologize for any inconvenience and really appreciate your business and understanding." I did not purchase this set from other retailers who had similar sale prices during the holiday because Mindware told me this would be delivered. This seems very deceptive.

Desired Settlement: Please send me a Brio Deluxe Railway Set.

Business Response: The vendor of the item was unable to provide inventory in an acceptable and reasonable time frame and the decision was made not to re-order the item and to notify customers that we were no longer able to fulfill their requests for this item. This notification was completed by phone and email. Per our terms and conditions we can either ship the merchandise or cancel the order within 180 days of order. We make every effort to receive back-ordered items and ship them to customers and are sorry we were unable to fulfill this item for the customer.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1. Mindware is not telling the truth about their communication

In its response Mindware says "The vendor of the item was unable to provide inventory in an acceptable and reasonable time frame and the decision was made not to re-order the item and to notify customers that we were no longer able to fulfill their requests for this item.   This notification was completed by phone and email."  I did receive a call from Mindware in January 2016 but it was not cancel the order BUT it in fact to confirm I still wanted the item and if it was okay if I wanted a few weeks which I confirmed yes. Mindware DID NOT send my any emails notifying me and in fact, I sent Mindware an email on February 9 to get a status update (see attached) so it was me who had to figure out what was going on.

2.  Mindware is not telling the truth about providing inventory in a reasonable amount of time.  See quote above (""The vendor of the item was unable to provide inventory in an acceptable and reasonable time frame and the decision was made not to re-order the item")

In response to my email on February 9, Mindware sent me an email saying "We regret to inform you that your order ********* with the backordered item ******** Brio Deluxe Railway Set has been canceled. We show the item will not be available for 6 to 8 weeks." (see attached).  Waiting 6-8 is perfectly fine with me and 8 weeks from February 9 would have been April 9 which was less than the 180 days that Mindware claims they have to "Per our terms and conditions we can either ship the merchandise or cancel the order within 180 days of order."


3. Economically damaged

Given that the holiday season is now over, other vendors are no longer offering this item at a sale price which means I have to pay more $80 more to get this ($116.95 vs $189.99 + tax).  At the time of the initial order, there were other vendors (i.e. Amazon.com) who offered the same item for sale and their prices were the same when Mindware called to confirm my order but now have gone back up to pre-Christmas sale prices

4. Misleading

It seems that Mindware is trying to mislead both me and the BBB on the real reason they don't want to honor this sale which is they won't make enough profit on the sale.  The reasons they provided have been proved false by their own emails and response to the BBB.

In conclusion, Mindware should still order a train set for me AND/OR provide me with a significant discount (i.e. $80 worth) on their current inventory.

Sincerely,

****** ********

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mailing list removal request ​I never authorized my name to be on MindWare's mailing list. My information was obtained against my knowledge and permission.

Desired Settlement: Please remove my name and address from your mailing list

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/21) */ We apologize the customer received our catalog that they did not wish to receive. We have removed them from our mailing list. Please understand we select our mailing lists in advance and that they could receive 1-2 more mailings before they are permanently removed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on MindWare Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)