BBB Accredited Business since

Green Horizons, Inc.

Phone: (952) 939-0155 Fax: (952) 939-4062 6980 Oxford St Ste 220, St. Louis Park, MN 55426 http://www.Green-Horizons.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Horizons, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green Horizons, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Green Horizons, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 09, 1997 Business started: 06/26/1995 Business started locally: 06/26/1995 Business incorporated 06/26/1995 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.mda.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-6000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chris Beutz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Beutz, President
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Weed Control Service Gutter Cleaning Irrigation Systems - Install/Design Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Snow Removal Service - Roof Lawn & Tree Care Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Contractors - Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Green Horizon Landscape
Products & Services

According to information provided by Green Horizons, this company offers outdoor maintenance services. They offer Spring clean-up, Fertilization, Weekly mowing, and Fall clean-up and Snow removal. They also offer a wide range of other services such as shrub trimming, mulching, lawn renovation, dethatching, aeration and much more.

Industry Tips
Before Hiring a Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Green Horizons, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6980 Oxford St Ste 220

    St. Louis Park, MN 55426 (952) 939-0155

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No Services rendered I am under contract with GH and they are repeatedly not showing up within a reasonable timeframe if at all. Most recently they did not show up period. When I called in to inquire after 4 days Josh said he would send someone out. His excuse was they must have done the wrong house. I left on a business trip and returned 4 days later to find the services still had not been performed. At this point I called in and spoke to Kevin. He argued with me that it had not snowed so therefore they had no responsibility. I countered and said either it snowed so much the plows came through and it should trigger your services or you had not performed the services from the last snow fall. He eventually conceded and said he would have someone come by and "clean things up". I asked Kevin what I could expect moving forward and I was told "that wasn't a fair question to ask". I signed up and am paying for this services believing they would honor their contract. So far this has not been my experience so I do think it was a fair question to ask. I have asked to speak to a manager hoping I could get resolution to this matter and I have always been told that a manager is not available. To date, I am still waiting for the requested services to be performed at my house and I really would like some assurances that things moving forward will be smoother ie. They will honor their contract and show up within a decent time frame for snow removal.

Desired Settlement: GH to perform the services mentioned, speak to a manager regarding how services will be provided moving forward.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2016/02/08) */ ******** and I spoke today and unfortunately we did the wrong home in January. She said that the service has been good since then and will continue to use Green Horizons. We apologized to her for any Inconvenience this may have caused. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2016/02/08) */

5/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All services were paid. Services were cancelled. I've sent invoice and paid amounts to billing department.. Lawn services were cancelled in July. I have talked to the billing department 3 times and I have mailed payment amounts and dates. I made payments 5/10/14 transaction 140580 for $52.56, 6/3/14 transaction 140602, 7/13/14 transaction ****** for $52.56 and 8/14/14 I transaction 140813 for $52.56. We had no lawn service in September 2014.. They continue to send me invoices charging $5.00 late fee. The services have been paid in full.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to stop sending me invoices and calling. The services have been paid in full..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ According to our records we received a payment on 06/02/14 for $52.56 and another payment 08/13/14 for $52.56. Service was cancelled on 08/26/14 via email. We performed a total of 4 applications on their property. We explained to the customer that the other 2 payments have not been received by our office. We also double checked the online payment sight and no additional payments were made there. We requested paperwork showing proof of payment for the other 2 applications but that has not been received yet. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I mailed receipts. I can no longer get online payments to come up under their website they have been archived. I will contact my bank to see if I can obtain receipts from them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/26) */ I will again email them a report showing the payments made and the dates of service. I checked again our online server and don't show any additional payments made by them. Per their last response I still have not heard from them after they spoke to the bank.

11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shrub trimming service. I ordered the shrub trimming service for the front of my house. I have ordered this service from Green Horizons previously and was satisfied. I have five bushes in the front of my house. The previous time, they did all five bushes for the stated fee of 69.00 dollars an hour ( a crew of two). According to GH, it took them 31 minutes to do all five bushes the previous time. This time when they came, they only did two bushes. According to GH, it took them 41 minutes for the same two man crew to do three less bushes than the previous time and charge me 98.00 dollars. All the bushes are still the same size, they just needed trimming. I feel I was overcharged for services this time, as they only did two bushes instead of five but charged more this time.

Desired Settlement: I want the billing statement adjusted to reflect the shoddy business practices of over charging for services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/04) */ I regret that Ms. ********* and our office was not able to come to agreement on the disputed bill, but am thankful that she went to BBB to help resolve. I've attached the 2012 and 2014 work reports and timings and see that it did take a little longer in 2014. I agree to reduce the bill to $69+tax for the work, as that is our minimum fee for shrub trimming. Please notify Ms. ********* of this, and let her know I have notified **** in billing to credit her account #XXXXX at **** **** *** N. 10/03/1 Shrub Trim Hourly 1 Rt. XXXXX - shrub trim Felipe Campos 13:37 14:17 1.33 Rated:4 10/04/12Seasonal Shrub Trim Hourly 1 Rt. XXXXX - hedge, edg Felipe Campos 8:42 9:11 0.97 Rated:5

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from Green Horizons and I clicked on unsubscribe. They came to my home, cleaned my gutters and billed me for it. I received an email from Green Horizons in June 2014. I scrolled to the bottom of the email and clicked on unsubscribe. When the new window popped open, I typed in the heading "unsubscribe" and typed in the message "please unsubscribe." Sometime in June I came home to find a mess from my gutters on my sidewalk on one side of my house and a mess in my flower garden on the other side of my house. I initially thought I had psycho squirrels or pigeons playing in my gutters. I then checked with my neighbors to see if someone had contracted with a company to clean their gutters and they came to my house by mistake. None of my neighbors had contracted with anyone for gutter cleaning. On 7/14/2014 I received a bill from Green Horizons for $95.92 for cleaning my gutters. I sent them an email explaining to them that I had not asked them or authorized them to clean my gutters and I didn't appreciate cleaning up the mess their guys had made. I reminded them that I had told their customer service staff in the spring that I was not happy with the poor service I received from their snow removal people and that I would not need their services in the future. I would contract with another company for my lawn and snow removal needs. I didn't receive a reply to my email from Green Horizons, so I called them on 7/15/2014 or 7/16/2014 and explained everything to their customer service staff. I thought this matter was settled. On 9/16/2014 I received another bill from Green Horizons for $100.92 (including a $5.00 fee because the bill was 30 days past due). I have already emailed them and called them to resolve this matter, but obviously I have not been successful. I am outraged that a company comes to my home and performs a service that I have not asked them to perform and have not authorized them to perform and then have the nerve to bill me for the services. My gutters did not need to be cleaned and have never been cleaned by anyone in over 15 years. What little leaves were in my gutters is now on my sidewalk and on my flower garden and I had to clean up their mess. I did everything that I was supposed to do. I clicked on unsubscribe and I typed in unsubscribe. It is an internal error on their part that someone didn't read the email and thought I wanted them to perform a service at my home. I have emailed them explaining the mistake and have called and talked with customer service regarding the mistake. I asked them to correct their mistake in my email, and I thought the matter was taken care of until I received a bill on 9/16/2014 telling me that I still owed them money. I do not owe them any money. I need them to correct their mistake, erase the charges and the late fee on my account, and close out my account.

Desired Settlement: I have not asked or authorized them to perform any services at my home in June 2014 and I do not owe them $100.92. I expect them to remove the charges from my account and close out my account.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last summer they damaged my lawn by using the wrong chemicals on it. They have not yet repaired my lawn to the quality it was prior to the damage. In July of last year one of their employees used the wrong chemical on my front yard and killed my grass. After speaking with the owner of the company he informed me that he wanted to repair the damage by putting new seed down. I objected to this method and after some time he agreed to sod half and seed the other half. Now that almost a year has gone by the area that they used seed on still will not grow grass. The area that was directly killed is still bare dirt. I sent an email to the owner with pictures attached showing the initial damage and the still bare spots and he failed to respond for 2 weeks. I sent another email and he finally responded saying they have done all that they need to do and they would not be doing any more repair work.

Desired Settlement: Put new sod in the areas that were not done previously.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/07/23) */ In early July, 2013 our applicator did inadvertently apply a weed control, that also damaged **** ******'s lawn. Most of the damage was in the front half of the lawn, which we agreed to install sod and did so, complimentary of course. The back half of the front was only partially damaged, as the majority of the existing grass was not affected. **** and I agreed that we would renovate those areas, by prepping, adding black soil, starter fertilizer and seed. The new grass came in good, and I personally drove by and saw that the new grass came in well. In the fall, **** complained the that half of lawn was bumpy when he mowed it and not as good as before. We agreed to work on those areas another time, and I went out with our crew on 9/18. The new grass looked good and full, with the exception of a couple very small areas. We had them top dress the lawn with more soil to make things more even and reseeded again. All in all, we put in over 18 labor hours, 96 yards of sod and seed, and from my two personal visits, the lawn looked good. 09/18/13 Renovate Reseed 1 Rt. 85318 - Seed All Manuel Robles 14:47 16:16 2.97 07/16/13 Renovate Seed 1 Rt. 83235 - Seed/Det/A Guillermo Serna 9:23 10:38 1.25 07/15/13 Renovate Sod 1 Rt. 83180 - Reno Lscap Guillermo Serna 8:48 16:05 14.5 Early this Spring, **** sent pictures of the lawn saying it didn't look good. It was early in Spring and after the harsh winter, most of lawns hadn't greened up around town, and many needed repair from the winter. He contacted me again in a couple weeks and requested we work on the lawn again. I informed him that we had already repaired the damage to his lawn, and we would not do any more complimentary work to his yard, as his and many yards had damage from the harsh winter. Regards, ***** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) None of the work performed is in question. I agree they came out last summer/fall and attempted to repair the lawn. Green Horizons damaged my lawn and has yet to restore it to how it was prior to them damaging it. If a customers car is damaged as the result of an auto accident do we only fix half of it and say we tired out best on the other half? *****' company is responsible for the damage they caused. If the seed did not work then it is time for sod. I also hope that ***** can find time to respond to this complaint a little faster than the 2 months it took for the first response.

5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green Horizons drove a pickup into my garage damaging it when plowing my neighbors' driveway in February. They have refused to fix it or pay for it. Green Horizons plows the snow on my neighbors' driveway. In the second week in February, they slammed a pickup truck into my garage doing 3 feet by 4 feet of damage, including knocking off big chunks of stucco and cracks in the building. The drivers left without leaving a note and weren't going to report it but my neighbors saw the accident and told me about it. I have contacted Green Horizons by e-mail and phone 3-4 different days since February to get them to fix it and they keep saying they will "take care of it" but it still hasn't been fixed three months later and they don't send me any money for the damage. They were supposed to show up tonight to get this resolved but didn't show up. So, this complaint is about damage to property, not reporting the accident and the damage they caused, and refusing to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: Cash payment $500 for the damage they caused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ On May 7 we spoke with Mr. ***** and we agreed to settle this matter for $250. We then mailed a check on May 8. It was just brought to our attention that he never received that payment so we have reissued another check. It was mailed on May 21. We left a message with Mr. ***** that the check was mailed and he should get in the next day or two.

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See previous submission I sent prematurely I was in process when I had not finished prior submitting prematurely. On 2/21 I contacted GH by email of my dissatisfaction of service done and request for carriage walk to be cleared for an extra fee. Responder apologized and schedule work to be done that day. Of course work not done and after another email exchange I was promised completion today 2/22. No service done as of 3:00pm despite my customer account stating work had been done. I rated job as a O out of 5. No further response receive. Not able to leave phone messages. Please know that I pay monthly for my snow removal.

Desired Settlement: I would request for service to be done appropriately and not to be charged extra for carriage walk.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of timely completion of service I purchased three services to be performed by Green Horizons with specific request for order of service and timing of service i.e. with two days of each other and to be completed by 9/20/13. The first two services were completed however the third service is not completed within two business days as requested. When I call the customer service line on 9/13/13 ***** informed me that it would be done Monday. I called on 9/16/13 and ***** informed me that it would be scheduled by 9/20/13. Of course they are going to expect me to pay for the first two services which I requested should not be done without all three being appropriately and timely scheduled. They have the rudest customer service emplployees and I will email the complaint to them. I am not sure how this company is surviving... it must be due to lower prices. The stress and agitation however, I would rather pay double and receive appropriate and timely service and respectful customer service. I do not recommend this company to anyone. I guess the saying of you get what you pay for workes out well with them. It is disappointing as I had planned on working on my lawn once they are completed, now with the lack of completion of service I will have to work on the open item myself! Very disappointed. DO NOT SUE THEM!!!! SPARE YOURSELF THE AGONY!!!

Desired Settlement: They should really not charge me for the two services they performed as they did not complete the fully agreed upon contract. Thanks ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/08) */ I am ordering three services... the detach (which includes mowing the lawn) services should be done first then the aeration then the organic compost. Please schedule the top dressing the same week as the aeration. If you can not guarantee the three services to be done in that order by Friday 9/20/13 I do not wish to purchase any of the services. Thanks ****** Here is the original order from 9/10 we moved her up in our schedule and completed two of the services by 9/12, as you can see her original request was to have everything completed by 9/20 she was slated to have her final order done by 9/20 than suddenly she called on 9/16 and was upset that we had not done her third service we told her it would be done by her 9/20 date and she responded that was not good enough and canceled her third service. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept the response as they are not including the fact that I called and asked and they agreed that they would perform the three services within two business days of each other and they agreed to do that. And I called twice to verify and was once told it was being done on Monday and when I called Monday they told me that it would be done by 9/20/13. Which did not happen which lead to me choosing to cancel the third service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/10/16) */ Again we include the copy of Ms *****'s original order, our original plan was to complete the work by 9/20 she than calls on Monday 9/16 and demands it be done immediately when informed that we have her sceheduled to be completed that week like her original request she became furious and canceled service. here is original order NOTE: I am ordering three services... the detach (which includes mowing the lawn) services should be done first then the aeration then the organic compost. Please schedule the top dressing the same week as the aeration. If you can not guarantee the three services to be done in that order by Friday 9/20/13 I do not wish to purchase any of the services. Thanks ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Green Horizons, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart