This business is not BBB accredited.

Lee's Landscaping & Design, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (763) 782-7777 Fax: (763) 782-7792 View Additional Phone Numbers 11401 County Road 3 Ste 2, Hopkins, MN 55343 http://www.leeslandscapes.com

! There is an alert on Lee's Landscaping & Design, Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lee's Landscaping and Design is a custom design-build firm specializing in dramatic outdoor living spaces.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lee's Landscaping & Design, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1999 Business started locally: 03/01/1999 Business incorporated 09/14/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.mda.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-6000

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Lee Otto, President Robin Otto, Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Lee Otto, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Concrete Contractors Drainage Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Snow Removal Service Irrigation Systems & Equipment

Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Lee's Landscaping & Design, Inc., offers residential and light commercial landscaping and design services, including snow removal, pave driveways, patios, and pathways, retaining walls,


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11401 County Road 3 Ste 2

    Hopkins, MN 55343 (651) 248-6076

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13570 Grove Dr # 236

    Maple Grove, MN 55311

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 367

    Big Lake, MN 55309 (763) 263-8746

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 465

    Rockford, MN 55373

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/3/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A little over 5 years ago we had extensive work done to our patio. Removal of old broken concrete, removal of clay underneath, replacement of 5 footings under existing outdoor and 3 season porch, water management and new paver system. One of the reasons we went with Lee's was because of the 5 year warranty. Every year since the installation we've had issues particularly with heaving causing significant settling, undulations and lack of water management. Last July (7/15) we followed Lee's warranty process to inform them of the issues we were having. They did come out to the house to inspect the issues and agreed that there were significant problems that needed to be repaired. We then had to send repeated emails to find out when the work would get done. They responded in late Septeber/early October that they were very busy and they would like to wait until after the winter and start first thing in the spring. We complied with this request after they agreed to extend the warranty one more year in case they still did not get things fixed. We tried contacting them at the beginning of April and the company has gone out of business leaving us with significant issues and very costly repairs. We do not believe this was an inadvertent outcome.

Desired Settlement: Fulfillment of the warranty claim or reimbursement for repairs by other contractor/company.

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Lee's Landscaping in October 2015 for landscaping work. We met with Ryan ******** to discuss landscaping work that we wanted to have done on our residence in Buffalo, MN. It was to be done in the fall of 2015. We paid an initial payment of $500.00 dollars then a down payment of $4259.00 for the job to be done. Mr. ******** called us in November to say that the work could not be done until spring of 2016 (probably beginning in April) due to weather constraints . I have not received any communication from Lee's Landscaping regarding the work that was to be done this spring. Calls to Lee's Landscaping office and to Ryan ******** have not been possible due to disconnected phone lines. The Rockford business office is closed with a For Sale sign in front of the business. After further investigation I found that Lee's Landscaping has other complaints of taking money as a down payment then not doing the work that was agreed upon .

Desired Settlement: Lee's Landscaping needs to refund us the money we paid for landscaping work that will not be done as agreed upon when papers were signed.

4/11/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lee's Landscape and Design collected a downpayment of $15000.00 to build a deck for our home. Work never started, and down payment was not returned. In October of 2015, Lee's Landscape and Design was contracted to build a deck for our home. Following design review, a check in the amount of $15000.00 was provided for downpayment of work. Following the variance and permit process, Lee's could not be contacted to begin work. Finding multiple issues with customer service, and a closed business in January of 2016.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $15,000.00 downpayment.

2/19/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A contractor we paid to build a deck failed to pay the supplier, then went out of business. We have a lien against our house. A contractor we paid to build a deck failed to pay the supplier. The supplier has filed a mechanics lien against our home. Work is not complete on the deck per the contract and the deck failed inspection by the local city inspector. Additionally, the project manager informed us the contractor went bankrupt. We have paid the contractor $31,382.75 Amount owed to supplier is (includes lien filing fees) 7/8/2015, Contract signed with Lee's.Paid $13,772.50 7/29/15 Paid for change request.Paid $5,215.00 9/4/15 Supplier sent pre-lien notice. 10/21/15 Paid for start of work.Paid $6,886.25 11/3/15 Paid for substantial work complete.Paid $5,509.00 Early Nov Supplier confirmed they were not paid for supplies, but bill was not due until 11/20/15. 12/29/15 Lee's project manager (Clayton) coordinates with us when final payment can be made. 12/30/15 Supplier confirmed they were still not paid but was expecting Lee to make payment that day. 12/31/15 Supplier confirmed he was not paid by Lee. 1/1/16 Lee's project manager (Clayton) informed me the company declared bankruptcy and no additional payments are required nor will additional work be performed. 1/4/16 Supplier initiated mechanical lien on our property with Carver County. 1/8/16 Failed city inspection 1/13/16 Supplier inquired about payment to remove the lien. Indicated he would seek a judgement very soon to begin a foreclosure process if payment is not received. 1/24/16 MN Dept of Labor and Industry received our formal complaint

Desired Settlement: Repayment for what we paid the supplier (approx $11,600). Repayment for us having to pay again to get the deck painted (approx $1,400). Repayment for having to get the deck repaired and pass inspection (no estimate yet). Repayment for legal fees since we are consulting with an attorney (no final bill yet).

2/19/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a contract to finish our basement and have paid them $25,500. They never started the work and do not reply to voice or emails. We have a signed contract with Lee's to finish our basement, signed by John *********** on 10/29/2015. We wrote three checks to them, for a total of $25,500. After the final and largest check was written on 12/15/2015, they have not answered any emails or phone calls from us. Work was to begin in early January, and it never did. I have a police report filed with the City of Maple Grove (Case #*******), and I have also made fraud complaints to the state attorney general's office and the Department of Industry and Labor.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $25,500

2/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lee's new deck & screened porch for our home is not code compliant per the city of Plymouth. Also, they've not completed punch-list items. My wife and I contracted Lee's to do a deck and screen porch design and build for our home at 11715 ************ Plymouth, MN 55441. Demo work of an existing screen porch began in late July 2015. The total price for the project was $64,797.14. My wife and I have paid Lee's the entirety of the project price with the exception of $3,582.24, which is the withhold for project completion, per contract. As of December 2015, we were made aware that Lee's had not paid at least one of their subcontractors (Pro-Build), which in turn filed a Mechanic's Lien against our property. The project has multiple punch-list items yet to complete (from a cosmetic standpoint) and multiple items required to be corrected (from a code compliance standpoint, per the City of Plymouth inspection department).

Desired Settlement: Completion of the project; addressing those items noted from the City of Plymouth inspector's office, as well as the multiple functional & cosmetic punch-list items.

2/4/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lee's Landscaping did not pay their suppliers after completing our deck. The supplier had a pre-lien on our home and we are now forced to pay them. Lee's Landscaping was hired to build a new deck as well as some landscaping for us (proposal 15036). After the work was completed in late fall 2015 we had paid Lee's in full (December 18th, 2015 we made the final payment by check number 3518). About a week later we received a call from ********************* saying that they had not been paid for the materials used for our deck and would be filing a lien on our home if we did not pay the $8728.78 plus fees totaling $8903.81 that Lee's owed them. Lee's representative that we worked with is named John ***********. We also had contact with Ken ****** and Andrew *******. If this company does not pay their suppliers and subcontractors in a timely manner, they should be stripped of their contractors license.

Desired Settlement: $8903.81


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lee's Landscaping & Design, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)