Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/30/2007

JK Landscape Construction, LLC

(320) 980-2710909 Isabella Ave, ClearwaterMN 55320-1643 Send email to JK Landscape Construction, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/30/2007

BBB has determined that JK Landscape Construction, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised JK Landscape Construction, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on JK Landscape Construction, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
JK Landscape provided a service last fall at my residence. They were paid in full. Throughout the year the service they provided failed.
Last fall I contacted ***** from JK Landscape located in Clearwater, MN. His company came out and installed downspout drains into a drainage ditch which they installed at my residence. I paid him 2500.00 in full last fall. Throughout the year I asked him for a diagram, and questions on drainage issues. The pipes were always full and not draining due to his installation. I made two phone calls throughout the summer for inquiries. JK landscape called me back and I told him that I would like him to take a look at the "pop up emitters' he installed. They were not working properly as they held water in. I have a yard sump approximately 30 feet away that has been bone dry since the beginning of July. My concern is that they would freeze up and water could back up into my basement. He agreed that since he had another job in the area he would come out and take a look at the job. He told me that it sounded like he would get rid of the pop up emitters and daylight the ends of the drain pipe out. I work night shift and he told me he would be around in the afternoon. I was not at my residence when he came but did recieve a text message he was on his way around 1230. I did not recieve any phone calls or text messages from him in regards to any work he would provide or ask permission to start any job. His intent was to fix the problem from the first job he completed last year. I came home the next day and my wife did not recieve any information from him as well. I walked out and saw he regraded a section of my lawn and tore out drain pipes. Nothing was reseeded and flattened out. The pipes I paid for were gone and not left anywhere. I recieved a bill in the mail a couple days later for 500.00. I had no estimate to begin this job and no terms were agreed upon prior to this bill being sent. JK landscape has been unprofessional in dealing with me in this matter. I had to ask for an itemized bill after the fact. I am trying to work with the company in resolving the issues. After repeated text messages with JK Landscape he finally called me and told me that I have no right making these complaints and it is only 500.00. He asked what my occupation was and threatened to enter my property to fill in the job he did without me at my residence. JK landscape agreed to do the original job last year at a reduced rate. I originally recieved a grant from the Veterans Affairs to complete this. I believe he saw this opportunity to recoup money back that he thought he missed out on from previous job. I am requesting that JK landscape follows through with there original intent of coming out to my property. They were supposed to come out and figure out a resolution to there first mistake and additionally charge without my written consent. JK landscape provides poor service to its customers and seems to think it is alright to charge additional costs when they do not take responsibility for there actions.

Desired Settlement
I believe the work he provided was work to fix his original installation malfuction. I paid him 2500.00 last year and recieved a poor product. I should not have been billed the additional charges and JK landscape took pipes and equipment I had originally paid for off my property.

Business Response
I talked to ****** this morning to reach an agreement with him.
I think we have this matter resolved. Hopefully by early next week he will get back with you to withdraw this complaint.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Landscape Designers, Landscape Architects

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/30/2007Business started: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Board of Architecture
85 7th Pl E Ste 160
Saint Paul, MN55101-2197
(651) 296-2388
http://www.aelslagid.state.mn.us

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N
Saint Paul, MN55155-2538
(651) 201-6000
http://www.mda.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Jerry Konz (Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Landscape Designers, Landscape Architects

Products & Services

According to the information provided by JK Landscape Construction , this company offers residential homes landscaping services.


If you choose to do business with JK Landscape Construction, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for JK Landscape Construction, LLC

909 Isabella Ave

Clearwater, MN 55320-1643

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 909 Isabella Ave 

    Clearwater, MN 55320-1643(320) 980-2710

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*JK Landscape Construction, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.