This business is not BBB accredited.

Franklin Outdoor Services, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (952) 985-0909 Fax: (952) 985-4225 View Additional Phone Numbers 2605 160th St W, Rosemount, MN 55068 http://www.fosinc.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Franklin Outdoor Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Franklin Outdoor Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.mda.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 201-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jim Hartwell, Owner Steve Franklin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Jim Hartwell, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Hydroseeding Landscape Designers Sod & Sodding Service Weed Control Service Fertilizers

Products & Services

According to information provided by Franklin Outdoor Services, Inc., this company offers landscape design and installation, irrigation design and installation. Grounds maintenance, fertilization and weed control, aeration. Water features, retaining walls (boulders or concrete block), paver patios and walkways. Snow plowing, snow removal and deicing.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2605 160th St W

    Rosemount, MN 55068

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1621

    Burnsville, MN 55337 (952) 985-0909 (952) 292-3866

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Backyard patio subsiding. In 2011, they acknowledged that this is a warranty issue and that they will fix. They have not yet done so until now. In 2011, FOSInc performed landscaping in our backyard that included a patio. A few months later, we noted subsidence of the patio and tipping of one of the columns. We called *** ************ attention to this and he emailed back saying that they will fix this. Even after numerous communication, they still have not fixed it. And now, he won't even return emails or calls.

Desired Settlement: FOSInc needs to redo the patio to honor their warranty. It can aslo eventuallly become a safety issue if the patio continues to tip.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2015/03/04) */ This is in response to case #XXXXXXXX FOS has had numerous email exchanges with the homeowner and the issues regarding the settling falls under our 3 year warranty. All repairs will be made by 6/1/15.

3/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Franklin was hired to do a large job and was paid in full. Some of the work has never been finished from 2012 and warranty items need attn. We hired Franklin in Summer of 2012 and paid over $90,000 in full for new landscaping. For over 18 months Franklin has promised to return for warranty work and a lot of work was never completed. We have placed dozens of calls and e-mails without response, and when they do respond they schedule to come back, only to find they don't show up and they don't bother calling to tell me they aren't coming. We have been on the calendar numerous times from spring, summer, fall of 2013 and numerous times for 2014 only to have nobody follow through once again. We have dead trees and plants, drainage issues resulting in water coming into my home, unfinished work....the list goes on and on. We have had other landscaping contractors give us bids to fix the work he started and those bids are in excess of $50,000.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund of $50,000 to complete the unfinished work, warranty work and drainage issues. We do not trust Franklin at this point to continue with the project.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/03/04) */ This is in response to case #XXXXXXXX DEAD PLANTS - ***** was involved in every step of this process. The planting portion of the project took several days, of which she was present. During this time, it was extremely warm but she had insisted that it be done to stay on schedule. Each plant was planted using fertilizer and compost material to insure best results. The reason for the plants dying were improper watering. The ******'s decided not to use FOS as it's irrigation installer due to cost. On the urging of FOS, each bed needed drip line to insure the plants initial year of watering. As a result, an abnormally high number of plants dying. Here is portion of contract that states plant specs... "A one (1) year warranty will apply to all plant material. This does not however cover animal damage, watering habits, and damage from homeowners or care takers." DRAINAGE ISSUES - The reason for drainage and settling is due to improper back fill/compaction of material from builder. The home was a new construction project. The client signed the landscape contract with FOS in July of 2012 that stated the following... "NEW HOME WARRANTY - 12 Months or Less - Settling MAY occur around the perimeter of the home, if home is less then 1 year old. This is due to improper back filling by builder after foundation installation. Franklin Outdoor services does not warranty work if this occurs. Franklin Outdoor Services will work with the builder to insure repairs. Repairs will be done at an hourly rate. Franklin Outdoor Services shall commence installation upon notification of the Customer." Settling also occurred where the well was installed, but this to was due to the installer not compacting material after the well had been installed. Another reason for grading issues was removal of retaining wall on the north section of the home. The removal of the wall was due to costs. In doing so, it created a negative slope. This was also discussed prior to the construction process. UNFINISHED WORK - The unfinished work that we are aware of has to do with... 1.) downspouts and connection points which we were told by **** that his gutter people were going to take care of. 2.) Pavers that needed to be installed after the springboard had been installed. This was installed after the landscaping had been done. In closing, FOS had returned to the site several times to address concerns of settling of pavers and plants ding in the spring of 2013. It became apparent that the number of plants dying had in fact not been from improper installation nor product from ********* but rather from poor watering. It had also become apparent that the settling that had taken place was not due to FOS workmanship, but settling from new home construction.

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May11th damage to my vehicle was done by one of the employee and owner has not contact with an situation to my damages. May 11th Franklin Outdoor Services came out to do work on the Irrigation System @ the townhome I live at. He's employee pushed a suitcase that was stored in my personal garage over and it hit my car and made a golf size dent. I contacted the CDA they in turn gave me the owner info. I contacted the owner *** @ XXX-XXX-XXXX left message the same day. He called me back I explained what happen and that he's employee rung my doorbell and told me that he pushed my suitcase and it fall. I noticed the damage once my car was out in the light. I took pictures of my car, the suitcase and the inside of my garage and on May 13th forward them to ***. The last text from *** was 5/19 stating he has been in contact with the CDA hoping for an answer. I sent a text back to him stating I was not sure why he was waiting on a answer from CDA when the damage was done to my vehicle. He responded back that he has been maintaining that site for 9 of last 12 years and the closet has never been used for personal artifacts. Since this I have not heard one word from ***. I texted him 5/27/14 and still nothing. I do plan on taking this farther. I wanted *** **** practices and creditibility for he's employees to be known to the public and my damages paid for. I googled he's and there are two reviews and one that states out is the one from just 8 mos ago. This behave should not be excepted in a business and I'm sure he is licensed and bonded so there is no reason for me to have to can time out my schedule from to get estimates, file this complaint as well as, and go file this in court.

Desired Settlement: My damage to my car paid for ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/17) */ Ms ******* had used an area for storage that was designated as an area for irrigation. During a start up of the irrigation system, a piece of luggage had fallen onto her car. The piece of luggage should have not been stored in that area, and made it very difficult for the FOS technician to do his job. We have been taking care of the site for 9 years, and have never seen any belongings stored by previous tenants. FOS is not responsible for any damages done. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The suitcase was in my own garage I can provide pictures and did provide pictures to the owner. I am allowed to storage items in my garage where I pay rent the techician had no reason to be on my side of the garage and he admitted to doing the damage so FOS is responsible for the damages caused. Thanks Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/07/01) */ ********** You were storing your personal belongings in an area that is for maintenance use only. Again, we have been maintaining the site for 9 of the last 12 years and have never had other residents store personal belongings in that area that would pose a threat during our spring start ups. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/19) */ I forgot to add I did have two witness that was at my home the day that this occurred. That witness the the techician ring my doorbell to let me know that he pushed my suitcase over. The techician knew I was home and could have ask me to move the suitcase that was and still stored in my garage. There is no restrication to where I can stored my personal items regardless of how long FOS has been doing this property. Bottomline the techician should have not touched my personal items especially knowing a tenant was present.

3/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service never happened and I want my $1,000 refund back. In August, 2013, myself and two neighbors hired Franklin Outdoor Service to put drain tiles in our yards. I paid a $1,000 deposit to get our service on the schedule. In November, 2013, the service had not been started and we contacted Franklin Outdoors to cancel. I have left numerous messages, almost daily, and emails asking for my refund. I have not received a return phone call or email, nor have I received the $1,000 refund.

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit back, $1,000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/03/19) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original version is available using the online complaint system). Franklin Outdoor Services entered into an agreement with *** ********* for a back yard drainage project. Several attempts to begin the project were delayed by poor weather conditions, as well as site and soil conditions. Per ***'s request we have issued her a full refund. A copy of the cancelled check is attached. Franklin Outdoor Services considers this matter resolved and closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Franklin Outdoor Services, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)