Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2010

Benchmark Landscaping

(612) 964-517527125 Clover Path, ElkoMN 55020-9610 Send email to Benchmark Landscaping

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2010

BBB has determined that Benchmark Landscaping meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Benchmark Landscaping's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Benchmark Landscaping

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to return emails and phone calls in reference to a tree that died under warranty.
**** Heinz, the owner of Benchmark Landscaping did some work around our house last spring, replacing some shrubs, new edging, building a new retaining wall, rock etc. One of the shrubs that **** replaced in the front of our house has died, this shrub should be under warranty for a year. I have emailed **** 3 times and left him two lengthy voice mails stating my problem and asking him to please return my phone call and confirm what he can do to rectify the problem. **** has not called or emailed me back. Customer service was decent before the project, up until I paid the final invoice, now Benchmark Landscaping is nowhere to be found when you need warranty work. Poor follow up after the initial work.

Desired Settlement
I would like the shrub replaced with the same kind of shrub.

Business Response
Response taken over phone:
I replaced the shrub in question and due to the busyness of my season I hadn't gotten back to him, but I did phone him and let him know I was on my way and did replace the shrub.

11/07/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Co. planted 2 trees in our bk yard on 8/1/10. By 5/1/12,both trees were dead.Wrong trees were planted for area.Said they would fix, wont answer calls
Benchmark planted 2 red maple trees in our back yard when we built our house. Approximate date the trees were planted was 8/1/10. By 5/1/12, both trees were dead. Trees were properly watered and taken care of. Benchmark was supposed to plant autumn blaze trees which are better suited for the location of the trees, which is in an area that gets more water. We were not allowed to pick out the specific trees, only the location. Benchmark, being the professionals, should have planted the proper tree for those locations or informed us of the possibility of the trees dying. This was not done. I called **** from Benchmark on approximately 6/1/12 to inquire about options for replacing the trees. He said he would come out and look at them and we could go from there. He has never been out to look at the trees and I have contacted him approximately 40 times to check on status. Since 8/1/12, **** will not answer my calls or call me back.

Desired Settlement
I would like Benchmark to replace the trees for no cost.

Business' Initial Response
On 8/1/2010 I planted two Red Maple trees (A.K.A Autumn Blaze) for this customer. This type of tree is appropriate for the location in which they were planted. The warranty for these trees expired on 8/1/2011 and I did not receive communication from the customer that there were concerns about the trees until 6/2012. Upon receiving concerns from the customer, I went to the property to inspect the trees. My assessment indicated that the trunk of one of the trees had been substantially damaged (there was no bark remaining around the tree) and the other one had substantial scarring in the middle of the tree. I suspect that the damage is due to deer. This type of damage is not covered by warranty further more the warranty had expired long before I was initially contacted with concerns about the trees. I have left the customer several messages to explain the situation however, we have yet to talk in person.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Hardscapes, Patio & Deck Builders, Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/2010Business started: 04/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Agriculture
625 Robert St N
Saint Paul, MN55155-2538
(651) 201-6000
http://www.mda.state.mn.us

North Dakota Dept of Labor
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 406
Bismarck, ND58505-0340
(701) 328-2660
http://www.state.nd.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mark Heinz (Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Hardscapes, Patio & Deck Builders, Tree Service

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Benchmark Landscaping, this company is a full service landscape contractor serving the entire Metro/Elko area. They specialize in hardscapes, patios, trees, shrubs, and more.


If you choose to do business with Benchmark Landscaping, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Benchmark Landscaping

27125 Clover Path

Elko, MN 55020-9610

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 27125 Clover Path 

    Elko, MN 55020-9610(612) 964-5175

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Benchmark Landscaping is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.