BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/17/2006

Stenholm Remodeling, LLC

(952) 891-219917613 Fieldcrest Ave, FarmingtonMN 55024-8979 Send email to Stenholm Remodeling, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Stenholm Remodeling LLC, established in 2003 and owned and operated by Kevin Stenholm, provides affordable custom interior remodeling, specializing in kitchens, bathrooms and professional tile & stone work.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/17/2006

BBB has determined that Stenholm Remodeling, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stenholm Remodeling, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Stenholm Remodeling, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Floor tiles cracked along cement board seam and shower shelves pulled away from wall. Damage done to surrounding shower tiles upon repair of area.
Bathroom floor tile and shower tiles were installed Dec-Jan 2014. In May 2014, I noticed 2 cracked floor tiles along the cement board seam (a total of 4 tiles eventually cracked). Also noticed that shower tiles were pulling away from the wall where the 2 shelves were installed. Contacted the contractor who came out to assess the situation. He had no explanation for either issue, but said he would replace the tiles and shelves. On Sept 8-10, contractor removed floor and shower tiles. Upon removal of floor and shower tiles and grout, contractor damaged and chipped the surrounding tiles (the floor has 4 chips, shower tiles has numerous chips). Contractor's solution was to fill in the damaged tiles w/grout & caulk and hope that the shower shelves would cover the rest (which it doesn't). Repair work is now on-hold.

Desired Settlement
Since existing contractor had no explanation on what caused the cracks in the 1st place AND upon repair did more damage, I'd prefer to have another contractor complete the work (in my contractor's words "I did the repairs the best I could"). Desired solution would be for existing contractor to pay for new contractor to resolve damage to bathroom floor and shower and prevent further issues.

Business Response
Without going into detail I installed the tile floor correctly, so the only thing I can think of why the floor tiles cracked is that the subfloor has too much flex in it for some reason and I explained that to the homeowner and her boyfriend. As far as the repair goes I replaced 4 cracked tiles and yes, I did nick the surrounding tiles in a couple of spots while removing the grout for the repair. Nicks are common in tile repairs and these are minor in my opinion.
The glass tiles for the shower only pulled away where the 2 corner shelves were indicating that there was too much weight put on the shelves. I installed the shelves 8 days after setting the shower tile and grouting, which was plenty of time for the thinset and grout to fully cure. The shelves that the homeowner purchased were very heavy just by themselves. I removed the 2 shelves and the 8 glass tiles that pulled away. In the process of removing the tile and grout I did chip a few surrounding tiles, but that's easy to do with such small glass tiles, and most of the chipped tiles would be covered by the shelves and the caulking around them. I showed the boyfriend (Who the homeowner put in charge) the nicks in the floor tiles and the chipping of the shower tiles and he said that was fine. The shelves were going in the same exact places so I didn't think it was an issue. I never got to finish the repair because the homeowner and her boyfriend went on a vacation and asked me to return to finish after they got back. I left 2 new replacement corner shelves with the homeowner. I did my repairs on 9/8/14 and 9/9/14 and she didn't contact me to complete my repairs until 10/12/14. I gave the homeowner a couple of dates that I could return to finish and she only responded by complaining about the chipping of the glass shower tiles. She never got back to me on the dates I gave her to come back to finish the repair.
I was not given the chance to finish the repair to the shower. The shelves are not installed and there are open gaps in the caulking in the corner where the shelves were, so if they are using the shower water may be getting behind the tile in those areas. I would like to work with the homeowner only (not her boyfriend) to finish the repair. If she prefers to work with another contractor to complete the repair work I started, I guess that's her choice, but then she will have to pay for the other contractor on her own and that also voids my warranty for this project.
I pulled a permit from the city of Woodbury for this project and the rough-in inspection was on 12/18/13 and the final inspection was on 1/15/14.
This is the first time since I've been in business (11 years) that I have had any problems with the quality of my tile work and it's also the first time anybody has filed any kind of complaint against me or my business.

***** ********
******** Remodeling LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to *****'s latest comments:

1. Communication: It was established since day 1 that since I am the only one listed on the contract, all communication (questions, approvals, etc) would be between me and *****. This has not changed and was the expectation with the updates that ***** made in Sept.

2. Floor: "Subfloor has too much flex": This is a possible scenario since the floor is plywood. To accommodate this, it's recommended that 1/4-1/2 inch cement board be used on top of the plywood before placing the tiles (and using thinset between each layer). Cracks should not have occurred if the tile was installed properly.

3. The shower has not been used since ***** completed his work on Sept 10.

4. Shelves: Only common shower items like shampoo bottles were put on the shelves. I contacted the Tileshop who makes the Rush River Stone shelves they said adding additional weight to the shelves isn't the problem (after all, that's what shelves are meant to do hold things). The only reason the shelves would pull tile off the wall is if a cheaper thinset was used to adhere the tiles to the wall. They recommended using a higher grade thinset.

5. To confirm, *****'s solution is to finish the remaining shower work which is to install the 2 shelves? What is the solution to fix the damaged/chipped tiles that will be exposed even when the shelves are re-installed?

Here's the dimensions of the shelves compared to the damaged shower tiles:
Shelf dimension: 8.25 (L) x 8.25 (W) x 2.25 (H)
Damaged shower tile dimension: 12.25 (L)x 3.25 (H)

Finally, regarding *****'s comment that "Nicks are common in tile repairs and these are minor in my opinion." In my opinion, visible chips and nicks in tiles is not acceptable. The only solution I'm willing to accept is a solution that involves completing the shower as it was originally contracted for needs to include fixing the chipped shower tiles and installing the shower shelves (I'm open to using different shelves if ***** is concerned about the quality of thinset he used).


Final Business Response
Yes, I will remove the chipped tiles without chipping other tiles to the best of my ability and install new glass tiles, grout, install the 2 corner shelves I left with you and caulk. This will take 4 days to complete and due to other projects I already have scheduled my availability for this wouldn't be until mid-February.
Thanks, *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let's set the dates for February then. Please LMK when you are free.

Also, FYI: If there are still chipped tiles when you're finished with the 3rd round of updates, we will go to arbitration via the BBB.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Basement - Remodeling, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Contractors - General

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/17/2006Business started: 10/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344
(651) 284-5005

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN 55155-4344
(651) 284-5012

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Stenholm (Owner)
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Tile & Grout Cleaning, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Basement - Remodeling, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Contractors - General

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Stenholm Remodeling, LLC, this company offers residential & light commercial general contracting, serving the south Metro area. This company specializes in most interior services including: kitchen and bathroom remodeling, new tile installations, tile repair and regrouting, carpentry and trim work, basement finishing, painting and other home improvements.

Refund and Exchange Policy

Not a retail business.

Service Area

Minneapolis/St. Paul - south metro area

Alternate Business Names
Stenholm Custom Remodeling
Industry Tips
Remodeling your home

If you choose to do business with Stenholm Remodeling, LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stenholm Remodeling, LLC has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

10 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stenholm Remodeling, LLC

17613 Fieldcrest Ave

Farmington, MN 55024-8979

To | From


1 Locations

  • 17613 Fieldcrest Ave 

    Farmington, MN 55024-8979(952) 891-2199

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stenholm Remodeling, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Remodeling your home

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.