BBB Accredited Business since

Northland Connect Broadband, LLC

Phone: (218) 333-3740 Fax: (218) 333-3775 View Additional Phone Numbers 2810 Elida Dr, Grand Rapids, MN 55744

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


According to the information provided by Northland Connect Broadband LLC, this company offers Wildblue high speed Internet for Northern Minnesota for residential sand business users.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northland Connect Broadband, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northland Connect Broadband, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ken Howe, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ken Howe, General Manager
Business Category

Internet Services

Additional Locations

  • 2810 Elida Dr

    Grand Rapids, MN 55744 (866) 567-1919 (218) 333-3740


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: March, 2016 our former satellite server, McLeod Co-op informed their customers effective April 1, 2016 all their customers would receive satellite internet service through Northland Connect, LLC, a consortium of four Minnesota co-ops. In a letter dated March 21, 2016, Northland Connect, our new server sent us correspondence stating the same. April 1, 2016 we received their bill for services 3/31/16 to 4/30/16 in the amount of $58.94, which we promptly paid. The problem was we could never get connected to the internet; and if by a slim chance we did get connected that connection ended abruptly after minutes or seconds. After 21 days of no internet service, which we paid for, we terminated the service we never received. April 21, 2016 Northland Connect informed via e-mail the service was discontinued effective "end of the month April, 2016." We paid for internet service we did not get; then June 20, 2016 we received a bill in the amount of $45.00 for "fee for discontinuation of service". An internet service we never received. Northland Connect owes us $58.94 for breach of contract in not providing us internet service. June 20, 2016 they also requested their modem back which we are willing to return once they cancel the $45.00 discontinuation of "service" fee and refund us the $58.94 for the month of April, 2016. NOTE: April 1, 2016 I contacted Northland Connect technical services. The first tech said I was connected to the internet which I was not. The second tech spent approx. 45 minutes resulting in internet access. The tech's diagnosis of the problem was, "you have a lot of congestion." Translation, Northland couldn't handle the customer load. After three weeks of no internet access and/or being disconnected within minutes of an internet connection I decided the company wasn't qualified to handle the additional customer influx; therefore, since they couldn't deliver a product we paid for we terminated their "service."

Desired Settlement: Refund us $58.94 the amount we paid for the month of April, 2016 internet service we never received and cancel the $45.00 termination of contract fee. We paid for internet services we never received and now are being punished for Northland Connect's inability to provide internet service.

Business Response:

When the customer in question was acquired by our company as one of 300+ customers nothing changed except the billing party.   This is not an individual service where we couldn't handle the "additional load" - it is part of a  generic nationwide service with a number of distributors.  If they move from one distributor to another it makes zero difference from a service delivery perspective.

If a customer has an issue there is a Tech Support center to address issue and if a service call is needed a ticket is issued.  It appears from their narrative they did contact Tech Support which they state resulted in service.   The term congestion has to do with time of day  - ANY internet service has peak load times where speeds can be slower.  At 4:00 PM for example it is congested (like a highway) while at 11:00 PM it is light.   When they called Tech Support the first time and were told they had internet it was because we can read their values (green/red).   If the values are in green they are receiving the service to the modem.  What happens after that could have a lot of causation including but not confined to customer errors, router issues, overuse if devices etc.

If a customer is terminated it is always at the end of the billing cycle month since they have already paid for that month.


Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because:

Northland Connect has consistently refused to accept responsibility  for it's inability or unwillingness to fulfill it's contractual agreement, i.e., provide internet service  the month of April, 2016 for which I paid $58.94; and in turn charged me $45.00  termination fee and threatened to collect $45.00 and $150.00 (for the modem if not returned) on my credit card/and or bank account.  Northland Connect has adamantly demonstrated an unwillingness to resolve the dispute.  All that is required would be to cancel the $45.00 penalty for termination of the contract they did not fulfill. 


Ironically, Northland Connect took two months (June 20, 2016) to notify me of the $45.00 termination fee; the $150.00 charge for the modem (at my expense also).  It appears the company has an inordinate compelling motive to flex it's muscles.

Business Response: We have provided all necessary documentation on this complaint and don't need to comment further.

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Internet has been out for over two weeks , they can not tell me when it will be fixed. Feel they have not provided service so I cancelled. Now they wa They want us to pay early cancelation fee. Their manager will not return my calls. They can not tell us when they will ever get our service back.

Desired Settlement: I want our contract dissolved with out early cancelation fees. I want no charge to our account since lost of services. And I want them to pay postage to send their equipment back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/02) */ This matter has already been addressed. She just called today to cancel. The billing department contact me about two hours ago and I gave them a response that because of her unique issues we would not charge early termination fees. We can't tell her when it will be fixed because we don't know - it is a fix that is out of our hands and has not yet been resolved at a higher level.

11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: No internet service for over two months now. No service repair person has arrived to fix the problem. I call northland connect tech support people. they tried a couple of times to help solve the problem. Said they would contact a service man to come out and fix the problem. No service man has came out to look at it yet. It's been more than 2 MONTHS now, and still no one has showed up. I've made several calls to their company but service man never shows up. I'm being charged monthly for the service on my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund of the last few months of service that I have been paying for, but not receiving.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/06) */ I sent this complaint to our Sales/Service Department and received the message belo0w. I had already responded to this customer telling her we would in fact credit her. ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Northland Connect Broadband, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)