BBB Accredited Business since

Insurance Advantage Agency, LLC

Phone: (952) 746-5770 Fax: (952) 897-1817 View Additional Phone Numbers 7600 Parklawn Ave  Ste 350, Edina, MN 55435 http://www.advantageagent.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Insurance Advantage Agency, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Insurance Advantage Agency, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Insurance Advantage Agency, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2008 Business started: 12/29/2004 Business started locally: 12/29/2004 Business incorporated 11/29/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Steven Joos, Owner Teryl S. Koonman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Steven Joos, Owner
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance Agency Insurance Agents Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Auto Insurance - Crop Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists Insurance - Aviation Insurance - Bonding Insurance - Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Marine Insurance - Rental Insurance - Liability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Services Insurance Services - Commercial Insurance - Employee Benefits Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services

Alternate Business Names
Insurance Advantage Agency-Twin Cities LLC
Products & Services

According to information provided by Advantage Agent, this company is a multiple line insurance agency.

Industry Tips
INSURANCE

Additional Locations

  • 7600 Parklawn Ave
    Ste 350

    Edina, MN 55435 (952) 897-1727 (800) 897-1829 (952) 746-5770 (612) 685-2222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to put insurance on my motorcycle. They failed to do so when they said, I was in an accident and did not receive coverage. I attempted to put insurance back on my motorcycle after taking it off for the winter. I e-mailed my broker telling him to put insurance back on the bike at 11:48 AM (I have the e-mail). Around 1 o'clock his receptionist called me clarifying everything that I wanted. After confirming this she stated the broker was out of the office, and would return later that afternoon and insurance would be activated. The broker returned to the office at 3 and saw the message and did not activate insurance. Around 7 o'clock that night my son was in a motorcycle accident putting him in the hospital and totaling the bike. The broker and progressive have denied the claim stating insurance was never activated. In speaking with the broker he admits to seeing the message at 3 that afternoon, and ADMITS that because of his lack of ability to do his job, we are not covered. At what point do you draw the line?

Desired Settlement: I want them to acknowledge coverage with progressive so I can file a claim and receive the coverage I wanted.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/29) */ The agency has carefully reviewed what occurred through our documentation procedures and interviewed the CSR's and agent involved. Neither of the CSR's left the impression that, or said that, the complainant had insurance coverage on his motorcycle. Below is the agent's statement: The only insurance the complainant has ever had with me was a motorcycle policy in force from 8/30/2013 until he canceled it on 11/20/2013. He was certainly not a client of mine when the accident occurred on April 9th, 2014 since he had no coverage in force during the past 5 months prior to the accident. On April 9, 2014, he called my office, leaving a voice mail at 11:47 am saying he needed to talk to me about insurance on his motorcycle. There was no indication in his voicemail that he required coverage immediately or in a specific time frame, only that "he wanted to start it again". During the complainant's call, prior to leaving his 11:47 am voicemail, he heard the following message; "Thank you for calling "Name of Agency"...our office hours are 9am to 5 pm Monday through Friday. Please leave your name, your telephone number and your policy number and we will return your call. Please remember that you cannot change, bind, or cancel coverage without first speaking to a licensed professional." The 11:47 am voice mail that he left was responded to by a CSR at 11:52:47 am who, in turn, left the complainant a voicemail message stating to speak with me to obtain coverage. The reason for that is that his message was specifically directed to me. The 11:47 am voicemail which the complainant left was forwarded to me by the CSR at 11:55 am, however, I was out of the office in meetings until 3:00 pm that day. Later on April 9th, 2014, after 1:00 pm, the complainant called the office again asking specifically for me. He spoke with a different CSR, who took his message and told him that she would leave it on my desk. She left a post-it note on my desk for me to call the complainant saying that he was interested in motorcycle insurance. I saw that note and other notes after 3:00 pm when I returned to the office. On April 9th, I reviewed none of emails or my voicemails, including a brief voicemail on my phone from the complainant indicating he wanted to talk about motorcycle insurance until after 3:00 pm when I arrived at the office. It took me several hours to review and process my voicemails, emails and notes. Since there was no request for immediate coverage in any of the complainant's voicemail messages, I expected to speak with the complainant the next day. The CSR's in our office have decades of experience and never leave the impression with anyone that coverage is provided until the customer has actually purchased a policy. I did not speak with the complainant on April 9th the date his son was involved in the motorcycle accident. The complainant did not complete an application or pay for a new policy. The complainant was very aware that he had no motorcycle insurance in force when he left messages for me on April 9th. His awareness that he had no motorcycle coverage was the basis for his calls to me. The complainant's son drove the motorcycle the evening of April 9th. At what time he first started riding the motorcycle on April 9th is unknown to me and possibly unknown to the complainant, but he had an accident at approximately 8:59 pm on April 9th. The complainant called my cell phone at 9:38 am on April 10th and left me a message. He said in that message that he had called yesterday to ask me to put insurance back on his Suzuki motorcycle, but he didn't receive a return call from me. Also, in that message, he said that my secretary had called, which was true, but then untruthfully stated that she had said it had been taken care of. In this message he also asked me to call him back to talk about the insurance, but did not mention that his son had been in an accident. The only call that was made to him by one of the CSR's on April 9th was a voicemail in response to his 11:47 am voicemail (see above) that was left for him at 11:52:47 am when he was told that he would have to speak with me to purchase a policy from me. It would make no sense for him to call again about coverage after 1:00 pm on April 9th after receiving the 11:52:47 am voicemail if he had been told at that time that the coverage had been taken care of. This a further indication that he was aware that he had no motorcycle insurance coverage. When I called him back on April 10th at 10:03 am I was finally informed by him of his son's motorcycle accident. I told him that because his old motorcycle insurance policy was cancelled at his request on 11/20/2013 it did not provide any coverage for the accident I told him that the major company's underwriting guidelines did not allow me to either reissue or reactivate the policy he canceled on 11/20/2013. Moreover, he had not completed a new application and had not paid a premium to have a new motorcycle insurance policy issued to insure it effective on April 9th. Furthermore, I told him that the messages he had left for me in my voicemail and with the Agency's customer service representatives did not bind new motorcycle insurance coverage through any motorcycle insurance company I represent. I told him to direct additional questions to the agency owner and, if he wished, to file a complaint with the insurance commissioner and to seek legal advice. At 9:16 am on April 11th, the complainant again left a message on my cell phone requesting that I call him back about the motorcycle insurance policy he claims the CSR had told him was issued. Again, the only call made to him by one of our office CSR's was on April 9th at 11:52:47 am - she left him a voicemail stating he needed to speak with me if he wanted to purchase an insurance policy from me. When I returned his call at approximately 10:00 am on April 11th, I repeated to him that the voicemails he left for me on April 9th and the messages he left with the agency customer service representatives on April 9th did not bind motorcycle insurance coverage to be effective on April 9th. I told him his son's accident was not covered because his old policy was cancelled and a new policy had never been purchased. I told him to direct additional questions to the agency owner and, if he wished, to file a complaint with the insurance commissioner and to seek legal advice. The complainant states that I admitted that because of my lack of ability to do my job, that he was not covered. I am totally confounded by how any words I used in my subsequent phone conversations with the complainant gave him the impression that I made to him some sort of an admission of an inability to do my job in a professional manner. I know the principles of sound insurance business practice and follow them in all transactions with my customers and potential customers. In reality, what really happened is that while the complainant left several messages expressing an interest in purchasing motorcycle insurance, he failed to apply for, pay for and verify that he had motorcycle insurance coverage before allowing anyone to ride his motorcycle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Insurance Advantage Agency, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)