BBB Accredited Business since

Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America

Phone: (800) 950-5872 Fax: (763) 582-6495 5701 Golden Hills Dr, Golden Valley, MN 55416 http://www.allianzlife.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1896 Business started locally: 01/01/1896 Business incorporated 01/01/1896 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mike Brennan, VP Compliance Sarah Browne, Legal Administrative Assistant Paul Kelash, VP Corporate Communications Don Ross, Compliance Analyst Walter White, President and CEO
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance Services Financial Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Allianz Life Insurance Co. of North America, this company offers a full line of Financial Services.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning INSURANCE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5701 Golden Hills Dr

    Golden Valley, MN 55416 (800) 950-5872

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approx. 30 years ago we purchased a utilities fund, of the top 10 performing utility stocks; which came with a guaranteed death benefit. The fund preformed very poorly however we kept it because it had a guaranteed death benefit of $50,000 over the years it had switched from Franklin fund to Allianz Life insurance Company of North America. After my husband turned about 70 they kept trying to put it into annuitization we kept declining this. In 2015 we notified them that we wanted the maturity date postponed to the 100 year age limit (which now they conveniently have no record of) since we had already complied; we were not aware that we would need to repeat the process. However on July 12 our broker Steve ********* / Edward Jones received a letter and form to be signed by husband and I, to postpone annuitization. The form was filled out dated and signed and returned however it was a couple days late, as the requested response date was 20 July as we were out of the country. Also in the meantime our broker also received a letter on July 14 stating the annuity had gone into a non-revocable annuitization, which was six days prior to the requested response date, of July 20th. A few days later the first check arrived and was dated August 1; which we have not cashed. We tried many times to reach out and communicate with Allianz and explain that we had indeed filed the paper to postpone the maturity date to the 100 year age limit in 2015; As well as via our broker in 2016. We finally were able to speak with a supervisor (Jamie) who advised us our case would be reviewed by the accommodation committee, after several phone calls; they finally returned a call to us they stated that they would not revoke the decision and return it to annuity status. Because I could not prove we had signed and returned the form which extended the maturity date to the 100 year age limit; as it was sent via regular mail. We were unaware that this type of correspondence needed to be sent via registered mail to be valid. Allianz states they had sent a request prior to the forced annuitization, which we did not receive, we would assume a request of this magnitude, they should have also sent it via registered mail. They did not mention the same form to postpone the annuity to the 100 year age limit which was faxed to them by our investment broker July 2016. Seems to us they had already made their decision, (July 14) as no life Insur. Co. wants to pay out 50,000.00 when they can get by paying only approx. 19,000. 00 by trickery and bullying clients and we have to pay an annual management fee to them, on top of everything else, they use our money, interest free, for ten years. Any assistance you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Seems to us this that since this is our money / investment we should have been the ones to make such a decision. We don’t understand how they can force us to accept a forced annuitazation had we wanted annuity payments we would have told them so. Blessings, ****** *** **** ******

Desired Settlement: Have the forced anuitazation revoked, investment returned to annuity status with the 50,000.00 guaranteed death benefit.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

I am writing today in response to your electronic correspondence dated August 10, 2016, addressed to our office. Thank you for taking the time to share the concerns regarding the contract for ****** ******.

Please be advised that ****** ******'s concerns have been forwarded to our office by the Securities and Exchange Commission as of August 22, 2016. Therefore, we will be providing our response regarding the concerns expressed directly to the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####, ext. ***** if you have any additional questions regarding this information.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

I am writing today in response to your electronic correspondence dated August 22, 2016, addressed to our office. Thank you for taking the time to share the concerns regarding the contract for ****** ******.

Please be advised that ****** ******'s concerns have been forwarded to our office by the Securities and Exchange Commission as of August 22, 2016 and the Wisconsin Dept of Insurance as of August 23, 2016. Therefore, we will be providing our response regarding the concerns expressed directly to the Securities and Exchange Commission and the Wisconsin Dept of Insurance.

We ask that the BBB please close out your file.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

We wish Allianaz to revoke the forced anuitazation. As it was put into forced annuitazion without our written consent.


7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold 2 annuities by Jackson ******** who worked for Allianz . He never explained the annuities to me before having me sign on the dotted line. I was not informed of the caps, and fees because at the time I already had TWO ANNUITIES and could have converted them into an income stream exactly at that time. He was greedy and was only thinking of his profit for selling them to me. He took advantage of a senior who had put her trust in him

Desired Settlement: I demand a total refund of all my money invested in these annuities

Business Response:

Allianz Life has responded to the Illinois Dept of Insurance on June 20, 2016 and the complaint has been closed on their end.

4/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I requested penalty-free withdrawal, amount was immediately deducted from my account but I have never received the check that was supposedly sent I have had a MasterDex X annuity with Allianz for over 4 years. I have annuities with several companies and I understand how they work, including the requirements for withdrawals. On 2/1/16, I requested a penalty-free withdrawal from my Allianz annuity. After more than a week passed, and I hadn't heard anything I checked my account online. It showed the withdrawal had been processed and deducted from my account. BUT I had not received a check. I called and was told that I should allow 10 business days for the check to process through the US mail. I waited and still received no check. After 10 business days, I called again to report the missing check. The phone rep was unconcerned and suggested I could wait a few more days...or she could stop payment and issue a new check. That process would take another 4 days and then the check would again be mailed...regular mail, no tracking, no insurance, no signatures required...taking up to 10 more business days. I stated that a $25,000 check deserved more careful treatment and was told I could pay an extra fee for overnight processing or an even higher fee for a wire transfer. I also asked the phone rep why the amount had already been deducted from my account when I had not received the money, and asked for it to be credited back until the check arrived. She said they wouldn't do that. By the time I receive the money (assuming that it will come), Allianz will have had the benefit of my $25,000 AND a month's worth of interest on it ...while I have received nothing. I have viewed other people's complaints online and this appears to be a pattern with Allianz. They "process" a transaction and then the check gets "lost" in the mail. I wonder how much money their worldwide organization is scamming from this ruse.

Desired Settlement: 1) I want to receive the money I requested (and that I am eligible to withdraw without penalty) 2) I do not want to pay any extra fees for special processing since the first check was "lost in the mail" 3) I want the amount of the withdrawal credited back to my account and interest credited on that amount until the date I actually receive & deposit the check 4) I want Allianz to stop the fraudulent practice of "mis handling" payments to customers

Business Response: I have received the consumer concerns regarding the above mentioned case #.
Unfortunately I am unable to locate a contract with the information provided.
In order to look further into the concerns I will need a contract number or social security number.

That information can be sent via fax to ###-###-#### if it is coming directly from the client.


***copied and pasted from email.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i have contacted Mary Lou ************* at Allianz and am awaiting a response. So far Allianz has done nothing but stall.

Business Response:

***corresponding documents attached.

Re: BBB Case Number ********

Dear Ms. *******:

Thank you for your letter dated March 16, 2016 regarding the above referenced annuity contract.

Allianz Life received a withdrawal request from Ms. ****** on February 4, 2016.  The request was processed on the same day and the check was mailed to her address of record.  Ms. ****** did have the option of having the funds wired for a $20.00 fee or having the funds overnighted to her for a $15.00 fee.  Ms. ****** elected to have the check mailed by the United States Postal Service.  We have verified with Ms. ****** the address the funds were mailed to is correct.

Ms. ****** contacted our office on February 23, 2016 advising us that she had not received the check.  The funds were wired to her account on February 24, 2016 without fee as a gesture of good faith on our part.

Ms. ****** provided a copy of the envelope she received the check in from Allianz Life and it was stamped on February 24, 2016.  there appears to be a problem with the United States Postal Service.  We are sorry Ms. ****** experienced a delay in receiving her check.  However, the funds were sent from Allianz Life in a timely manner to the correct address of record.  Ms. ******'s comment in her complaint to the Minnesota Better Bureau about a scam in delaying her funds is without merit.

If you require any additional information, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Mary Lou *************

mlf

Attachment

4/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Allianz to confirm that we could take partial withdrawals from my wife's annuities so we can pay CASH for the home and then repay the partial March 3, 2016 TO: Manager, Accommodations Department - Allianz Life FAX ###-###-#### From: **** **** ****** ***** (Client) and ****** C. ***** (Allianz Rep) RE: Account # ******** Dear Manager: After my conversation with Linda.******@allianzlife.com on March 1 and receiving the information she relayed, I needed to take 2 Nitroglycerin tablets to calm my heart ( I have had several heart attacks in the last 20 months) and neither I nor my wife (**** **** ****** *****) could sleep that night. **** was physically shaken and totally disappointed. I have purposely waited an extra day before writing this, so I could present the issues clearly and without further need of additional Nitroglycerin tablets. Background: My wife and I wanted to buy a new home in the country and away from Homeowners Associations. We placed bids on Foreclosed homes through an auction company called *****. I called Allianz to confirm that we could take partial withdrawals from my wife's annuities so we can pay CASH for the home and then repay the partial withdrawal with funds from an FHA 203K Rehab Loan. Account # ******** is a 403-B TSA, qualified account. Since this account had the highest annuitization balance and highest surrender value, I specifically asked the Allianz customer service rep, in reference to this account, if we still had 60 days to return the qualified funds to the account, thereby returning the balance in the account to its original pre-withdrawal annuitization amount. The ANSWER was YES. I then asked if we would need to wait before requesting annuitization from this account once we returned the Partial Withdrawal. We were told that we would not have a "waiting period" once the funds were returned. My wife **** is totally and permanently disabled and is receiving SS Disability so she is exempt from penalties for early withdrawal from Qualified plans. Regardless, Allianz withheld 20% in taxes for the net $37,500 we were requesting. Even your Allianz paperwork stated that repayment of the amount borrowed would have to include the taxes paid to make the account "whole" again to pre-partial withdrawal balance. The total partial withdrawal, including taxes withheld, was $46,875. We used the Partial withdrawals from ****' Allianz accounts and other funds we had available to purchase our dream home February 25, 2016. Forward to March 1, 2016 and conversation with Allianz Customer Service Reps: I called Allianz to verify the balance we needed to repay and the timetable for us to RETURN the balance to the account. After talking to another customer service rep I asked to speak with a manager. I was connected to Linda ******. She reiterated what the other Customer Service rep told me: "You cannot return the amount of partial withdrawal and taxes!" Linda added that there was a specific IRS form, ending with an "R", that the IRS would need to have showing we repaid the 20% taxes withheld in this transaction and Allianz made a corporate decision to STOP filling out those forms and sending them to the IRS. This information was contrary to what we were told before we completed the transaction for partial withdrawal from this account. Had this information been CORRECTLY relayed to us we would have found another way to provide the cash we needed to purchase our new home. I have been a Rep with your company going back to the early '90's when you were LifeUSA. I have always been impressed with your customer service over the years. I would have been tremendously embarrassed and possibly subject to State Insurance Department review if I had this happen with a client. This issue is doubly WRONG because the client is my wife, **** **** ****** *****. RESOLUTION: We would still like to return the Partial Withdrawal PLUS the 20% Tax for a total of $46,875.00 to make the account WHOLE again. Then we would like to start a 10 year annual annuitization based on the Pre-Partial Withdrawal annuitization value. We would expect Allianz to

Desired Settlement: We would still like to return the Partial Withdrawal PLUS the 20% Tax for a total of $46,875.00 to make the account WHOLE again. Then we would like to start a 10 year annual annuitization based on the Pre-Partial Withdrawal annuitization value. We would expect Allianz to file the form with the IRS that declares we have repaid the 20% tax so we can have that amount refunded to us when we file 2016 taxes.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This boiler-plate response does not address any issue we raised in our complaint. Waiting 30 more days will exceed the time allotted by the IRS to return funds to qualified plans without penalty. As such, we will LOSE over $45,000 of annuitization value from my annuity. That's is a large penalty to pay since it was their representative who did not tell me the truth about how Allianz handles TSA/403 B accounts.

Business Response: Re: Case # ********

Dear ****** *******:

Thank you for your letter dated March 7, 2016. The purpose of this letter is to acknowledge receipt of your concerns and explain the steps we will be taking to handle your complaint.

Allianz Life is committed to the judicious and timely resolution of all customer grievances. We have established a process that relies on a team of professional compliance analysts who are dedicated to reviewing each complaint in an objective manner.

You can rely on our team to review all relevant information and documentation as part of a thorough review process. When needed, this includes requesting a written statement from the agent involved in your complaint. You can expect our decision within 30 days.

Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns in writing. We value your business and regret that you are dissatisfied. We appreciate the opportunity to review your situation and respond to your concerns.

The analyst assigned to your case is Mark ****. You can reach him at Mark.****@allianzlife.com or ###-###-#### if you need assistance in the meantime.

Note: If any portion of the annuity sale(s) took place on a military installation, please let us know now; we will follow additional steps if that's the case. A military installation includes a military base, post, camp, or other facility to which service members are assigned for duty.


Sincerely,


Allianz Life Corporate Compliance


***copied and pasted from email.

Business Response:

***corresponding documents attached.

RE: Your Case Number: ********: **** *****

      Allianz Life Contract Number: ********

Dear Ms. *******:

Tank you again for your letter dated March 7,2016, regarding the concern filed with your office by **** *****.

I am including a copy of the response that was sent directly to the *****'s on this case.

If Ms. ***** is dissatisfied with the outcome of her complaint, she may contact her state's Department of Insurance.  Contact information can be found at www.naic.org.

If you require any additional documents or information for your investigation, please contact me at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Mark ****

Attachment

3/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allianz issued an INCORRECT 1099 Form to me. I have tried contacting Allianz about the error, but they do not answer phone calls or accept emails. Allianz issued an INCORRECT 1099 Form to me. I have tried contacting Allianz about the error, but they do not answer phone calls or accept emails. I have tried logging into their email system, but it does not work - it flashes "System Error" messages on the screen and asks me to try again later.

Desired Settlement: Allianz needs to correct their error and supply a corrected 1099 Form.

Business Response:
Re: Case# ********

Dear ****** *******:

Thank you for your letter dated March 15, 2016. The purpose of this letter is to acknowledge receipt of your concerns and explain the steps we will be taking to handle your complaint.

Allianz Life is committed to the judicious and timely resolution of all customer grievances. We have established a process that relies on a team of professional compliance analysts who are dedicated to reviewing each complaint in an objective manner.

You can rely on our team to review all relevant information and documentation as part of a thorough review process. When needed, this includes requesting a written statement from the agent involved in your complaint. You can expect our decision within 30 days.

Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns in writing. We value your business and regret that you are dissatisfied. We appreciate the opportunity to review your situation and respond to your concerns.

The analyst assigned to your case is Beverly ********. You can reach her at Beverly.********@allianzlife.com or (763) ******** if you need assistance in the meantime.

Note: If any portion of the annuity sale(s) took place on a military installation, please let us know now; we will follow additional steps if that's the case. A military installation includes a military base, post, camp, or other facility to which service members are assigned for duty.


Sincerely,


Allianz Life Corporate Compliance

Consumer Response: I just yesterday received a response from Allianz that should correct the problem. I received a revised 1099 Form, and they promised that all future 1099 Forms will reflect  "Minnesota" (and not Arizona). Thank you for your help. 

3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a formal complaint for refund issues and customer service complaint. Recently (01/15/16) the CDC released an advisory for pregnant woman to not travel to Mexico per the mosquito virus and concerns with the side effects caused to unborn children. I reached out to Allianz as my doctor has recommended I do not go as I am pregnant. I requested options available, as this is the point of insurance, to cover things you cannot control. Allianz is stating the corporate office is categorizing this as an "epidemic" which of course is an exclusion of the policy. In NO WAY is this issue an epidemic, as the definition of an epidemic is "is the rapid spread of infectious disease to a large number of people in a given population within a short period of time, usually two weeks or less. For example, in meningococcal infections, an attack rate in excess of 15 cases per 100,000 people for two consecutive weeks is considered an epidemic." Currently there is only one reported case of this effecting a pregnant woman. This cannot be labeled an epidemic per it does not cause harm or threat to anyone traveling, only Woman who are pregnant. This is a way for Allianz to get out of issuing refunds, and is not fair to the consumer. You cannot look at an apple and call it an orange because it covers you. Allianz has offered me no options as a consumer, and I am requesting a full refund, or an option as I am unable to go due to something outside of my control.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting to see if what they are doing is even legal first of all, and in hopes that they can see from the consumer's point of view that this is not fair practice. I am seeking options available, as it is not fair for the consumer to purchase insurance, and not be able to use it what it is there for. If I was not pregnant, I would be going on my trip, as this would not cause a severe threat to me and my unborn child.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2016/02/29) */ Re: Case #******** ******* ******** Dear Ms. ******* Based on information provided in your letter, it appears that your policy is not held or administered at Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America. The details provided suggest that your complaint was intended for Allianz Global Assistance. Please be advised that Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America does not administer or have any oversight of Allianz Global Assistance. The two companies are separate and are not affiliated. We respectfully request that the complaint be redirected accordingly. You can contact Allianz Global Assistance at the following: * Email: customerservice@allianzassistance.com * Phone: ************** (toll-free) * Mail: Allianz Global Assistance, ******************* - Richmond, VA 23294 Sincerely, Allianz Life Compliance Dept Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 21, 2016/03/10) */

2/8/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Simply bad customer service. I received my annual annuity statement around the first of Nov 2015.I contacted them shortly there after to sort out why annuity made $0 over the past year when stock markets have been going off. I was told that someone would follow via email in 5-6 days to let me know why. No one sent email. I am just now following up outside 30 day window to change my allocation. I wasn't aware of this 30 day window. I just followed up now (this was in early Nov. I run 2 businesses and and there is 5 hour time difference so f/u has been hard. I did today because its my first day off before leaving for the holidays. Despite their not following up with email as promised for me to review policy results, i waited till i could talk again to someone on the phone and they were unwilling to bend at all with allowing me to re-allocate my funds since other funds made money and mine did not. Since they didn't honor their end of sending me email to continue to sort out my policy, one would think they would be a bit more helpful or at the very least apologize for poor customer service. Further, in 2010, the rep who encouraged me to cancel my 401k and move it to this company, has since been indicted for a Ponzie Scheme on Maui. George *******. I feel i was mislead and any time i contact/via email, their customer service is poor. Now i am locked into 5 more years of contract due to this. He also encouraged me to buy life insurance policy he promised was great retirement investment with Penn Mutual that turned out to just suck lots of my money out with up front fees. I since got out of that but not before taking a bath! I know i am screwed and nothing i can do, i just feel this company isn't looking out for its customers' best interest. And being associated with the likes of A George *******, i wonder how many others have been screwed.

Desired Settlement: Re-alocation of my current funds or getting out of contract sooner than the 10 year window. (not expecting anything. Was only wanting to make a complaint, didn't realize i had options like this. But, i am sure contract is binding) thanks

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2016/01/28) */ ***Additional corresponding documents attached. Re: Case Number ******** - ********** Dear Ms. *******, I am responding to your letter dated December 23, 2015, which was received in our office on December 28, 2015. Thank you for forwarding Mr. ******'s concerns to our office for review. In his complaint, Mr. ****** expressed concern with the performance of his annuity contract over the previous year. He stated he contacted our Service Center with questions about his contract and was told someone would contact him in five to six days; however, he did not receive a follow up as promised. He indicated the agent who sold the contract, George *******, misled him on the features of the contract. Mr. ****** requested that Allianz Life allow him to reallocate his contract for the current contract year or to allow him to surrender the contract without penalty. Conclusion of Our Review I have reviewed this contract file in the context of Mr. ******'s concerns. After Mr. ****** contacted our office on November 6, 2015, we sent him the enclosed letter, dated November 10, 2015. The copy I have enclosed is redacted. Although we did respond to him within the stated three business day timeframe, it appears the context of this letter did no adequately address teh request Mr. ****** made. We want to extend our sincere apologies to Mr. ****** for any confusion or inconvenience that may have resulted from that letter. Please be assured that feedback has been provided to the appropriate department management to improve our future service experience. I have provided a summary of the performance of Mr. ******'s contract. ******SEE ATTACHED DOCUMENTS****** Although we are empathetic to Mr. ******'s concerns, we are not able to honor his request to reallocate the contract outside of the 21 day timeframe stipulated in the contract, or to surrender his contract without penalty. The 21 day timeframe is noted on the Statement of Understanding provided at the time of sale, within the annuity contract, and on each annual statement provided to the contract owner. Please note, although the contract stipulates a 21 day timeframe following an anniversary to make an allocation change, Allianz Life allows our customers 30 days to make such a change to account for mailing time. For your reference, I have enclosed copies of the applicable pages of the Statement of Understanding, contract, and the annual statements that reflect the performance of Mr. ******'s contract. Per your request, these documents have been redacted to omit any personally identifiable information. Options Available to Mr. ****** I understand this is not Mr. ******'s requested resolution; however, he will have the opportunity to reallocate his contract within 21 days of November 2nd each year going forward. If Mr. ****** wishes to surrender his contract, we will pay the Cash Surrender Value, which is currently $71,772.41. Mr. ****** also stated George *******, the agent who sold him this contract, has been indicted over a ponzi scheme. We do not disagree with this statement; however, the charges against Mr. ******* were in regards to a mortgage fraud scheme and were unrelated to the sale of this fixed index annuity. If Mr. ****** has additional details of the misrepresentation he alleges, he may place them in writing and send them to our office for further review. For Further Assistance Please note, future correspondence intended for Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America may be sent to us electronically, either via facsimile at ************, or via email at Complaints_In-Box@AllianzLife.com Thank you again for the opportunity to address Mr. ******'s concerns. Allianz Life is committed to the judicious and timely review of all complaints, and our response letters represent the diligent effort of our team to do that. Sincerely, Andrew D. ***** Enclosures

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to get timely Withdrawal from Annuity after requred request submitted. Annuity Contract ********. After submitting required Withdrawal Request Form, it's approaching 2 weeks and currently I still don't know when I'll receive my withdrawal? I've called over 5 times checking on status of my request and have spoken to numerous representatives (I can provide names and details) and heard conflicting reports on status and issues with my request with out any resolution to date.

Desired Settlement: To get my requested Withdrawal ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/28) */ The clients concerns have been resolved as of 12/18/2015. Allianz had originally sent a check, 12/11/2015 that was not received by the client, Allianz then sent a wire 12/17/2015, that was returned from the bank. Allianz then created a manual check and sent it via overnight mail 12/21/2015. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/07) */

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed a "Surrender Request Form" for my policy on June 16, 2015. I was told 10 days. It is now July 27, 2015 and I have not received the check. I would not have surrendered the policy if not for an extreme hardship. I have been told that it was sent to an address that does not match my address, actually an address that does not exist, twice. This is not my fault, it is the Companies fault for typos. Allianz refuses to overnight me the check and is saying it takes 10 days to reissue a check and that I must wait 14 days before they will do anything if I do not recieve it.

Desired Settlement: I just want to receive the check within the next 3 days. I cannot pay my bills and am in dire straits.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/10) */ RE: Your Case Number: ******** Complainant: ************************* Dear Ms. *******: Your letter dated July 28, 2015 regarding the above-referenced matter has been referred to my attention for response. This letter will serve to inform you that keeping policy owner information secure and private is one of our top priorities. In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to policy information to the policy owner. We are allowed to disclose information only as authorized in writing by the policy owner or as otherwise permitted by law. Because we have not received written authorization from the policy owner, we are sorry but we cannot provide you any information on said policy. Thus, your request for assistance will be addressed directly to the policy owner. If a written request is received from the policy owner authorizing our company to release information concerning this policy to you, then the information requested will be provided accordingly. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly at ****************. Sincerely, Debbie ******, FLMI, AIRC, PCS, HIA Customer Relations Representative ***original document attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/08/21) */

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Contract # ********* (IRA Transfer)I started asking questions four months early and setup new IRA accounts with two brokerages three weeks early. I was told I could do either a push or a pull request. After two E-mails and numerous telephone calls to Allianz and after they promised me ten days to process the IRA transfers this is what happened. On the THIRTEEN day when the first transfer request was to happen I received a letter saying only that my request was incomplete. When I telephoned Allianz they told me that they needed a redundant letter of acceptance. Their paperwork also mentions wire transfer of funds but I was told they only do that to banks. It is now three weeks since my contract with Allianz ended and it sure looks like they are trying to hold on to my money as long as they can. Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Complete the two transfers and next time provide better instructions.

4/6/2015 Delivery Issues
4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requested an amount less than the $40,000 withdrawn from Policy #********. Returned received check in that amount. $35,000 issued in 2015. I requested a withdrawal from my annuity policy #******** in December 2014 in the amount of $40,000. I decided to withdraw $35,000 instead and returned the check. A check in the amount of $35,000 was received in January, 2015. I expected to include $40,000 in my 2014 return but when I received my 1099R tax document it reflected a $75,000. I contacted the company on several occasions requesting a 1099R in the amount of $35,000; I receive their stock reply that the issue will be addressed in 'ten business days.' I have trying to resolve this matter for several weeks. My last contact was with ******* on March 3, 2015 and despite the fact that the problem has not been addressed as yet, I got the stock ten business days answers. He refused to help me any further. They have been told that I wanted only $35,000 withdrawn for 2014. I brought to their attention that a check in that amount was received and dated in tax year 2015 and should be taxable in 2015. These people have the worst customer service department I have ever dealt with!!!

Desired Settlement: Receipt of a 1099R tax document reflecting a taxable amount of $40,000 for 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/27) */ Re: Case #********- ****** ********* Dear ****** *******: Thank you for your letter dated March 16, 2015. The purpose of this letter is to acknowledge receipt of your concerns and explain the steps we will be taking to handle your complaint. Allianz Life is committed to the judicious and timely resolution of all customer grievances. We have established a process that relies on a team of professional compliance analysts who are dedicated to reviewing each complaint in an objective manner. You can rely on our team to review all relevant information and documentation as part of a thorough review process. When needed, this includes requesting a written statement from the agent involved in your complaint. You can expect our decision within 30 days. Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns in writing. We value your business and regret that you are dissatisfied. we appreciate the opportunity to review your situation and respond to your concerns. The analyst assigned to your case is *********. You can reach her at *********@allianzlife.com or (763) ******** if you need assistance in the meantime. Note: If any portion of the annuity sale(s) took place on a military installation, please let us know now; we will follow additional steps if that's the case. A military installation includes a military base, post, camp, or other facility to which service members are assigned for duty. Sincerely, Allianz Life Customer Relations ***corresponding document attached. Final Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2015/03/31) */ RE: Case Number ********: ****** ********* Dear Ms. *******, I am writing to you today in response to your letter dated March 16, 2015, regarding the above referenced consumer. Thank you for forwarding Mr. *********'s concerns to our office for review. In his complaint, Mr. ********* expressed frustration regarding the customer service he experienced while contacting the Allianz Life Service Center. He stated that the tax reporting Allianz Life recorded was inaccurate and the matter had yet to be resolved. He requested that the taxable amount on his 2014 IRA Form 1099-R be updated to reflect a taxable amount of $40,000.00. I would like to extend my sincere apologies to Mr. ********* for any frustration he experienced while attempting to get his issue resolved. Providing quality service to our valued customers is a top priority at Allianz Life and we regret that Mr. ********* was not satisfied with his experience. Please allow me to provide some additional detail regarding this situation. On December 2, 2014, Allianz Life received a request for a withdrawal on Mr. *********'s contract in the amount of $40,000.00. On December, 3, 2014, we processed his request for a withdrawal and mailed a check to his address of record. On December 117, 2014, Allianz Life received that check returned in the mail for reinstatement; however, in order to reinstate the withdrawal, we needed to confirm with Mr. ********* that he understood a reinstatement would not reverse the taxable event. During a conversation with him on December 24,2014, we confirmed that he understood that the taxable amount would not be reversed and that he would still like us to proceed with processing his new request for a withdrawal in the amount of $35,000.00. On December 31, 2014, and mailed a check the next business day. Due to the processing of both of the withdrawals detailed above, Mr. *********'s 2014 IRS Form 1099-R originally reflected a taxable amount of $75,000.00; however, as he requested, it has since been corrected to reflect a taxable amount of $40,000.00. A copy of the corrected form was mailed to him on March 17, 2015. We truly value Mr. *********'s business and appreciate the opportunity to address his concerns. If you have any questions regarding the information provided in our response, or if you need to submit any additional information for our review, please do not hesitate to contact me at 763-********. Sincerely, ********* BKM

1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to provide requested information for matured annuity after 5 requests & refused to allow me to speak with a supervisor when requested. I received a letter from Allianz dated 9/9/14 informing me that my annuity contract had "reached its scheduled annuity date and I needed to take action". I returned the completed form on 9/16/14 via email for which they confirmed receipt. I called on 10/1/15 and inquired about the status. I was told it takes 10 to 15 business days and it had been 12 so I told the rep I would be patient for a few more days. I called again 10/8/14 (17 business days later) and was told it would be emailed and may take 48 hours. I called again on 10/22/14 (27 business days after original request) and when I asked for a supervisor I was told "my supervisor will tell you the same thing I am telling you" when I asked what the problem was I was told "there is no problem". While the rep refused to let me speak to a supervisor, she did offer to email it and when I told her that had not worked she said it was because it was not ordered as a rush and that she would request it as such. Today is 11/21/14, 49 business days after my request and the rep I talked with told me it was mailed on 11/12/14 and told me "we are not responsible for what the postal service does with it after that". He did offer to email it and it arrived, however, it is now too late in the year to begin distributions causing me financial implications. I am the court appointed conservator for the 95 year old owner and will have to explain to the accounting commissioner what happened here. I want to speak with someone at Allianz who has the authority to transfer this money without penalty out of their company and control. I wonder if this is how they treat all of their 95 year old clients. Their "customer service" representatives have all been so rude and condescending that I think the answer must be yes.

Desired Settlement: I want to speak with someone at Allianz who has the authority to transfer this money without penalty out of their company and control, this year, prior to Dec. 31, 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/18) */ ***corresponding documents attached. Re:Case # ******** - ***** **** Allianz Life Contract No. ******** - ******************** Dear Ms. *******: I am writing to you today in response to your letter dated December 9, 2014. Our records do not show receipt of the previous referral from November 21, 2014. thank you for forwarding ***** ****'s concerns regarding the above referenced contract to our office for review. Ms. ****'s letter indicated that she requested annuitization quotes on Contract No. ******** on September 16, 2014. Ms. **** stated that our office informed her on October 1, 2015 that processing time for annuitization quotes is 10-15 business days. Ms. **** also indicated that she contacted our office several more times regarding these quotes and was not allowed to speak with a supervisor in our Service Center. Ms. **** has stated that the quotes were received too late to begin distributions for the current year and requested a penalty free-full surrender of the contract due to the service delays she experienced. I have completed my review of the contract file in the context of Ms. ****'s concerns. As referenced in Ms. ****'s complaint, Allianz Life received a request for annuitization quotes on September 16, 2014. Unfortunately, Ms. ****'s request was not processed within our 10-15 business day processing time goal. Additionally, due a typographical error in our office, Ms. ****'s verbal requests to receive quotes via email on October 8, 2014 and October 15, 2014 were also not processed properly. When Ms. **** requested to speak with a supervisor regarding these issues on October 15, 2014, our Service Center representative attempted to resolve the matter herself by submitting a request for expedited quote processing. We sincerely regret any inconvenience that Ms. **** may have experienced related to these service issues. Allianz Life is committed to providing quality service in a timely manner and clearly we failed to deliver on our commitment in these instances. Please be assured that I have notified the appropriate department management regarding this matter as an opportunity to improve our service in the future. According to Ms. ****, the quotes emailed to her on November 21, 2014 were received too late in the year to begin distributions. We are unaware of any external restrictions that may prohibit an annuity election by Ms. **** at this time. However, per the provisions of the contract, an annuity option can be elected any time after the end of the fifth contract year. I have enclosed a Settlement Option Request Form that Ms. **** may use to elect an annuity option if she chooses. Though our processing delays were certainly regrettable, we are not able to honor Ms. ****'s request for a penalty-free surrender of the contract. the service issues that Ms. **** experienced did not impact the terms of ********************'s contract and the full Accumulation Value will not be available as a lump-sum until April 19, 2016. Ms. **** is able to access the Cash Value of the contract at this time however surrender charges would be applied consistent with the withdrawal provisions of the contract. I have enclosed a Withdrawal Request Form that Ms. **** may use to request a full surrender of the contract is she chooses. Thank you again for the opportunity to address Ms. ****'s concerns. Please feel free to contact me at ************, ext. ***** if you have any additional questions regarding this matter. Sincerely, ************** Enclosures - Settlement Option Request Form (S2043), Withdrawal Request Form (S2067)

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was sold a product by a rep that is non contactable. Company took 3 months to update contact information. Company customer service is non-existant. Re Policies ******** and ********. This note was sent without any consideration, "I wish to file a complaint. I have been trying to contact my representative for several months now without success. The phone number you and I have on record is not valid and the email gets no response. I am looking for a new representative or would like to cancel the policies. I should not have to pay a penalty due to the lack of service and support. I want to make sure Michael Jordan receives no payment or commissions." Customer service does not respond to email. Calls are consistently just re-directed to the IVR. Space does not allow for all my complaints. The biggest being I was sold a product beyond my means and was mis-represented.

Desired Settlement: Full refund with no, or little penalty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/09) */ Thank you for your letter dated May 23; 2014, in which you requested a response from Allianz Life on a Complaint submitted by************ (Case# ********). Recently, Allianz Life received a request for information regarding these Lite Insurance policies from the Illinois Department of insurance. As a result, the concerns you have raised Will be addressed directly through the Illinois Department of Insurance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will accept it when the matter has been resolved. At this point it has not and more issues have been added.

5/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delinquent timing for requested distribution. Given misinformation and constant changes on progress and procedures inquiries. Policy #******* Distribution requested on 3/25/14 by fax, the company stated the check was mailed 4/1/14. Policy owner informed company the check had not been received and was told the post office could take 15 days for delivery. It has been a month since requesting the funds. Called again on 4/24/14 requested a stop payment on the first check and prefer overnight mail for a replacement check since there should be no delays. Called 4/29/14 agent ****** said stop payment was issued 4/28/14 and said, guess it goes out tomorrow 4/29/14 should be received by Thursday 4/30/14, but 10 days from 4/24/14 is 5/8/14. Asked the different options for distribution and was told regular mail, overnight for $15.00 or direct into a bank account for $20.00 or transferred to another company for free. Asking which is faster ****** said the bank account, but at this point a check for $20 would have to be mailed with a voided check, before they could do anything. Stated that they have received funds from the same bank account why not just transfer it there? Also asked why not just take the $20.00 out of the distribution funds, she said since it's already processed it can not be done. Asked what about overnight how is that being paid? She said oh, the last agent noted as a courtesy, the fee was waived. But why couldn't they wave the $20.00 also? Asked what address is the check being mailed to she said the address on the account, then she said the part of the computer that shows the mailing address where to send the check was shut down! Asking how long would it take for the system to come back up? She said who know's, asking how long does it usually take, she said it never has done this before! Never? Are they trying to get a negative reaction? The day before the agent said she changed the address and was thrilled at her suggestion to change the form of distribution, transferring funds into an account. Well,of course it would take an additional four days! They must be trained to delay distribution. Are the funds available? Why the procrastination? Do they actually pay? They will not even discuss your account or answer any questions until your history notes are before them, for each call. Calling several times, the same day, was told each time the part of the system that was down, was the part that shows the mailing address for distribution! How convenient! Asked how late they are open and will continue calling for the answer! Continued calling until the computers came up again being switched to different departments: Life and Annuity Each call saying they can't help me, this account is with the other department, back and forth buying time between departments, trying to figure what to tell me! Finally when they said that the computers were up and the distribution was sent to the same address. They also said that the check was sent this am 4/29/14! So all these games when their policy is only to mail checks to the address on the policy! Well of course, makes sense so why all the games and the delay's? Coincidental that the check was also mailed this am? Information unknown to this department because the computer was down? Called again 4/30/14 ****** answered the phone she transferred the call, after the account was pulled up, to the Service Center Representative, *****. ***** said the stop payment was done today and the check will be mailed tomorrow 5/1/14 UPS overnight. Replied that's what they said yesterday, he said there's no name in the notes. So asked who's name is on the note for today? ***** spelled out ***************, asking if that is one name he said no two, asking which letter starts the last name, he replied the "R" asked him what's his last name, answered "********". And by the way he is unaware of an employee called ******! The first check they claim to have mailed never arrived! All of the above unprofessional dealings, statements and confusion has caused anxiety and stress resulting in major doubts as to ever receiving the distributio

Desired Settlement: Amount of $50,000 distribution for full surrender immediately with no fees!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/12) */ Thank you for your letter dated May 1, 2014. The purpose of this letter is to acknowledge receipt 0T' your Concerns and explain the steps we will be taking to handle your complaint. Allianz Life is committed to the judicious and timely resolution of all customer grievances. We have established a process that relies on a team of professional compliance analysts who are dedicated to reviewing each complaint in an objective manner. You can rely on our team to review all relevant information and documentation as part of a thorough review process. When needed, this includes requesting a written statement from the agent involved in your complaint. You can expect our decision within 30 days. Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns in Writing. We value your business and regret that you are dissatisfied. We appreciate the opportunity to review your situation and respond to your concerns. The analyst assigned to your case is ************. You can reach him at ************@allianzlife.com or (763) ******** if you need assistance in the meantime. Note: If any portion of the annuity sale(s) took place on a military installation, please let us know now; We Will follow additional steps if that's the case. A military installation includes a military base, post, camp, or other facility to which service members are assigned for duty. Sincerely, Ailianz Life Customer Relations Final Business Response /* (4000, 8, 2014/05/12) */ I am writing to you today in response to your letter dated May 1, 2014 regarding the above referenced consumer. Thank you for forwarding Mr. ****'s Concerns to our office for review. In his correspondence from April 30, 2014, Mr. **** expressed frustration regarding a distribution from his- Allianz Security Planner life insurance policy. He stated that he had difficulty getting information when he contacted our Service Center and was disappointed with the level of customer service that he received. He requested that Allianz Life send him the full surrender check that he requested. I would like to extend my sincere apologies to Mr. **** for both the delay he experienced with receiving his full surrender check, as Well as the frustration he experienced with attempting to get this issue resolved. Providing quality service to our valued customers is a top priority at Allianz Life and We regret that Mr. **** was not satisfied with his experience. Please allow me to provide some additional details regarding this situation. Allianz Life received Mr. ****'s request to fully surrender his life insurance policy on March 25, 2014. The request was reviewed and processed on March 31, 2014, and a check was mailed out the next day on April 1, 2014. As part of our normal procedures, Allianz Life does not stop pay and reissue checks until 10 business days have passed to allow the post office adequate time to deliver the envelope. We received a call from Mr. ****'s power of attorney (POA) ************** on April 15, 2014 (the 10th business day) indicating that they had not yet received the check. At this time, our Customer Service Representative (CSR) incorrectly told them that we needed to wait until the 15th day and advised them to call back. I have provided feedback to the appropriate manager to ensure that accurate information is given in the future. On April 24, 2014 We received a follow up request from the POA asking for the original check to be stopped and to reissue a new one. Allianz Life received confirmation of the stop pay from our bank on April 30, 2014 and a new check was reissued that day. Allianz Life sent the Check via UPS overnight delivery at our expense on May 1, 2014. I confirmed via the UPS website that the check for $46,443.53 was successfully delivered to Mr. ****'s address at 12:16 p.m. Eastern Time on May 2, 2014. Mr. ****'s correspondence also indicated his dissatisfaction with some system issues at Allianz Life and that one of our CSRS did not know another person within the Service Center. Allianz Life strives to maximize the availability of all systems during Service Center hours. However, there may be times when some systems are not available to allow the completion of overnight processing Cycles. Allianz Life's Service Center has a large number of employees that primarily take inbound Calls from our customers and agents. Due to the nature of the job responsibilities, it is very possible that one CSR may not know another employee Within the department. We truly value Mr. ****'s business and appreciate the opportunity to address his Concerns. It you have any questions regarding the information provided in our response, or if you need to submit any additional information for our review, please do not hesitate to Contact me at ************. Sincerely, ************ ADM

4/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On going Problem. every Year on the anniversary of my life ins police of the premium increases do to being a year older I am 76. They send me a payment slip which I pay and then a couple weeks I get a lapse notice. I called and am told I did not pay enough. I paid what I was told to pay. I was told to avoid this to call on my anniversary and they would ell me my increase. I did and was told no increase double check no increase , paid what the payment slip said , I get a lapse notice , called again, was told all fixed got new payment slip for the following month paid the payment, I get a lapse notice with an increase in payment . I called and was told I did not pay enough even though I paid what I was told I don't think the right hand knows what the left is doing. I feel I am being picked on as I get older , which they deny it of course.I am waiting for a supervisor to call me . I am sure she will say the cost in ins goes up, BUT WHY DOES It CHANGE MONTHLY? this just seams to have happened after I reached a certain age. it has been going on for years why can 't they give ma a correct payment from the beginning ? If its their mistake why a grace period notice instead of a simple letter? My latest grace Period was written on the 29th of the month , which was 5 days before the payment was due and post marked in the 8 of the following month four days after the payment was taken from my bank account . Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I just want not to have to go through this every time my police anniversary come around. and to be given the correct payment, and no more lapse or grace period notices it is very aggravating to be told what to pay , and then told it wasen't enough.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ see attached Thank you for your letter dated April 15, 2014. The purpose of this letter is to acknowledge receipt of your concerns and explain the steps we will be taking to handle your complaint. Allianz Life is committed to the judicious and timely resolution of all customer grievances. We have established a process that relies on a team of professional compliance analysts who are dedicated to reviewing each complaint in an objective manner. You can rely on our team to review all relevant information and documentation as part of a thorough review process. When needed, this includes requesting a written statement from the agent involved in your complaint. You can expect our decision Within 30 days. Thank you again for taking the time to express your Concerns in Writing. We value your business and regret that you are dissatisfied. We appreciate the opportunity to review your situation and respond to your concerns. The analyst assigned to your Case is ************. You can reach him at ************@al ianzlife.com or (763) ******** if you need assistance in the meantime. Note: If any portion of the annuity sale(s) took place on a military installation, please let us know now; we will follow additional steps if that's the case. A military installation includes a military base, post, camp, or other facility to which service members are assigned for duty. Sincerely, Allianz Life Customer Relations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i keep getting different payment slips with different payment amounts. 0o do not know what to pay . i pay what the say and still get grace period notices. I also have an e mail that i sent them on 4/14/ 14 and an answer I would get an answer in two days . also spoke to a service rep supervisor on same date. she said to give her a few days still waiting for her to call her mane is ************* tol me 30 days is to long . Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/29) */ see attached I am writing to you today in response to your letter dated April 15, 2014 regarding the above referenced consumer. Thank you for forwarding Mr. ******'s Concerns to our office for review. On April 21, 2014, our office received a letter directly from Mr. ****** addressed to our President and Chief Executive Officer ************. l have enclosed a copy of my response to Mr. ****** regarding the concerns expressed in that letter, as well as those in the letter sent by the Better Business Bureau. Please note that I have omitted personally identifiable information from the response that was sent to Mr. ******. if you have any questions regarding the information provided in our response, or if you need to submit any additional information for our review, please do not hesitate to Contact me at*************. Sincerely, ************ Dear Mr. ******, am Writing to you today in response to a letter from the Better Business Bureau that was received in our office on April 18, 2014, as Well as a letter addressed to our President and Chief Executive Officer ************ received on April 21, 2014. Your letters have been given to me for review and l am responding on behalf of Mr. White. Thank you for taking the time to place your concerns in Writing. In your correspondence, you expressed frustration regarding an ongoing issue with premium payments into this policy. You stated that you always submit the premium amount on the Notice of Premium Due, but then subsequently you receive a Grace Period Notice with a different amount listed on it. You requested resolution to this matter so that you do not continue to receive Grace Period Notices after you have paid your premium going forward. I have completed my review of this policy file in the context of your concerns. The issues you have experienced are the result of this policy maintaining a minimal cash balance and the timing of the premium payments into this policy. Please allow me to provide some additional details regarding this matter, as Well as our proposed resolution. Each month, the Notice of Premium Due you receive is for an amount that covers the Cost of Insurance for that month. Once the cash value of the policy is depleted to a negative balance, the policy enters a Grace Period. The Grace Period Notice will always have the premium amount that is due, plus the current negative balance on the policy. That is the reason that the Notice of Premium Due and the Grace Period Notice have different amounts on them. This Grace Period may start before the due date listed on the Notice of Premium Due, however when the premium is received the policy exits the Grace Period until the cash value is depleted to a negative balance again. This ongoing issue is the result of the timing difference between when we send you the Notice of Premium Due, when the cash value is depleted to a negative value, and when your premium is received in our office. There are two options available to you that would bring resolution to this matter. The first is to switch your billing mode to monthly via Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). If the premium is paid automatically via EFT it will eliminate the time differential between when we send the premium bill and when we receive your premium payment. l have enclosed the appropriate form that you will need to Complete to elect this option. The second option is to switch from monthly to a less frequent premium billing period (quarterly, semi-annually, or annually). By`switching to a less frequent billing period, you would avoid the monthly Grace Period Notice as long as the premium is paid on time. If you have questions regarding these options, please Contact the Allianz Service Center at ************. Our team of representatives can assist you Monday through Thursday, 7 am. to 6 p.m. and Friday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central time. It you do not Wish to pursue one of these options, please be aware that you will Continue to experience this issue going forward. l have also provided a copy of this response to the Better Business Bureau We truly value your business and appreciate the opportunity to address your Concerns. lt you have any questions regarding the information provided in our response, or it you need to submit any additional information for our review, please do not hesitate to Contact me at*************. lf you are not satisfied with this resolution, you may also Contact the Massachusetts Division of Insurance. Sincerely, ************ ADM

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At approximately 8am Honolulu time on Tuesday, February 18, 2014, I called Allianz to speak with ***************, a person I have had an ongoing business relationship for months. ******** answered the phone. I asked to speak with *****. ******** asked for the policy number. I mentioned to ********, "If I give you the policy number, will you transfer me to *****?" ********'s response was, "yes." I gave ******** the policy number, and she then asked me two additional questions. I mentioned that was not our bargain, but I correctly answered her two additional questions in good faith. She still refused to transfer me to ***** and had even more questions for me. I asked to speak with her supervisor, and she was unable to provide a supervisor on the phone. This should not be the conduct of Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America.

Desired Settlement: 1) Allianz should do what they say. If they say they will transfer you after providing a policy number, they should transfer you. 2) In ongoing cases, it should not be such a high security issue to get to the managing case worker. 3) A company of this magnitude should always have a supervisor available. I look forward to the quick resolution of this issue. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/07) */ We received your letter dated February 20, 2014. It is our intent to provide quality Customer service and to address Mr. *******'s concern. In Mr. ******'s correspondence, he expressed dissatisfaction with a call that Was placed to our office on February 18, 2014. He indicated that he asked to speak with a specific Care Coordinator and Was told he would be connected to her, but was not transferred after providing the policy number. Upon asking to speak with a supervisor, he stated that he was told one was not available. He has asked that Allianz Life follow through on a commitment once it has been made and asked that a case manager be more readily available in the future. In circumstances Where one is requested, a caller should always have the option to speak With a supervisor. During Mr. *******'s call, the Customer Service Representative (CSR) attempted to reach a supervisor as he requested. At the time, all members of the management team were on calls or helping other CSRs, and she then offered to connect Mr. ******* with the voicemail of her direct supervisor. When reviewing this call, We found that the CSR was attempting to verify that Mr. ******* was authorized to receive information on the policy prior to transferring him to the Care Coordinator. While the verification process does need to be completed, the CSR should have transferred Mr. *******'s call to the Care Coordinator and allowed the Care Coordinator to complete the verification. Mr. ******'s February 18, 2014 call will be reviewed with the CSR, and appropriate coaching will take place. We express our sincere apologies for the difficulty Mr. ****** experienced when attempting to reach the Care Coordinator. Providing quality service to our valued customers is atop priority at Allianz Life, and clearly We failed to deliver on that commitment. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused and appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. *******'s concerns. He may contact us at ************** or e-mail us at allianzlife@univitahealth.com with any additional questions. Manager, Operations Long Term Care Administration Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Allianz has failed twice to deliver my qualified disbursement from my annuity in a timely manner. Also, procedures for issuance were not in contract. Last year, I completed my qualified disbursement request form and sent it to Allianz, who processed it on 12/18/12. The money was drawn from my retirement annuity account the next day and the check was issued on 12/19/12 and I received the check on 12/21/12. When I tried to cash the check, I was refused payment at 5 banks, INCLUDING WELLS-FARGO on which the check was written. Over the next two days I called Allianz, Wells-Fargo with no success. Just before I turned the check over to the Police and FBI, the Wells-Fargo local branch called me and cashed the check. The extra money I paid for "overnight delivery" was wasted. Also, because of this two day delay, our Christmas vacation was ruined. Previously, I was originally told by my salesman that I could pull money from my annuity once a calandar year..NOT a year from the last time I'd withdrawn some money. A week ago, I called Allianz to coordinate with them when I could send in my Qualified Disbursement Request Form for the free withdrawal for this year. I was told to fax it in a few days before 12/18/13 so that processing to take place on that date, allowing enough time for us to get the check before Christmas and our visit to my 92 year old father and 91 year old mother in Chula Vista, CA. When I called today 12/17/13 to check on the progress of my disbursement, I was told that I couldn't draw it until the 19th, which jeopardized (again) my ability to get the check before 12/23 due to the weekend! Apparently, ANOTHER process I'd never been told of is that Allianz times the "year" between disbursements based on the time THEY write the check! This means that instead of 12/18 each year being the date I can withdraw on, the process starts then and the check is cut the following day! So THIS year I can't begin the process until 12/19 with the check being cut on 12/20! Next year I won't be able to draw funds until 12/20 with the check cut on 12/21. So, as each year passes, my ability to draw the funds BEFORE CHRISTMAS diminishes as Allianz doesn't work on weekends and they close for the Chrismas holiday as well. So, I will continually lose a chance to withdraw my own money from my retirement annuity before Christmas as each year passes! THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE! Also, when I set up this annuity with Allianz, problems or conditions like these were NEVER DISCLOSED TO ME by the Allianz insurance salesman. Is this a case of fraud?

Desired Settlement: This SHOULD be an easy situation to repair. Some simple solutions could be: a) Keep the date for accepting and processing my yearly qualified disbursement THE SAME! I'd prefer 12/18 each year if an earlier date isn't possible for some reason. b) Move the qualifying date for my qualifying disbursement earlier to the beginning of December. If the date was changed after this year's disbursement to Dec.1, there should be ample time for Allianz and I to successfully make any withdrawals and accomplish other business. c) Reimburse the $15 I spent on "overnight delivery" that was NOT "overnight". d) If Allianz can't deliver my check to me BEFORE 12/23/13, they should also reimburse me for the $15 charge for an "overnight delivery" that will have taken four days! e) Although I'd like to stay with Allianz, if the company is so entrenched in their self-initiated procedures as to become inflexible and unable to respond successfully to their customers' needs, a final option would be cashing out my annuity at the TOTAL COMBINED VALUE of around $101,500 so that I can reinvest it into another investment or annuity. When I invested with Allianz, their representative shared with me this would be an option after 5 years.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/20) */ hank you for your letters of December 19, 2013 and January 9, 2014 regarding the concerns expressed by Timothy ******** about an annuity contract issued to him by Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America on September 14, 2007, and for your patience while we conducted our review. As we mentioned in our acknowledgement letter, we perform a judicious and timely review of all information available to us before coming to a conclusion. This letter provides the results of our review and explains our findings. Conclusion of our review Mr. ********'s complaint stated he was not informed of the terms and conditions of the free withdrawal provision on his annuity contract. In addition, Mr. ******** indicated the sales agent did not disclose how the free withdrawal provision worked on the contract and also told him he could move his funds to another annuity or investment after five years. Mr. ******** has requested Allianz Life change the terms and conditions of the contract to allow him to access the penalty-free withdrawal on his contract earlier in the year. Mr. ******** has also asked for a refund of $15 for overnight fees associated with his last free withdrawal taken in December 2013. After thoroughly reviewing all of the information currently available to us, we have concluded that the contract provisions were disclosed to Mr. ******** at the time of sale and were provided to him in accordance with our business solicitation guidelines. We respectfully decline Mr. ********'s request to change the terms and conditions of the annuity contract. Additionally, we are unable to refund him the costs associated with the overnight delivery he requested for his penalty-free withdrawal payment. Explanation of our findings Upon receipt of your correspondence, Allianz Life contacted the sales agent, Mr. **************, and requested he provide us with a written response to the issues raised. Mr. ******** informed us he explained the contract provisions to Mr. ******** at the time of sale and at no point did he state the funds could be moved to another annuity or investment after five years without penalty. Allianz Life has several safeguards in place to ensure that the provisions of our products are disclosed to the applicant at the time of sale. As noted above, we reviewed Mr. ********'s file to confirm that those safeguards were applied during the sale of the annuity. Copies of the documents described below are enclosed for your reference. Statement of Understanding: Our records indicate Mr. ******** signed a MasterDex 10 Annuity Statement of Understanding on August 11, 2007. The Statement of Understanding disclosed the requirements to receive the highest value of the contract, the penalty-free withdrawal provision, and the Cash Surrender and Annuitization values as well as the conditions under which each value is paid to the contract owner. Contract Page 8: Page 8 of the annuity contract stated the terms under which a partial withdrawal would be considered penalty-free. The following conditions must be met in order for the withdrawal to be penalty free: A) The requested partial surrender does not exceed 10% of the total premium paid; B) The partial surrender is taken at least 12 months after the last premium is received; C) No more than one partial surrender is taken within a 12 month period; D) Cumulative partial surrenders do not exceed 50% of the total premium paid. Free-look period: All new contract owners are given a free-look period to review the terms of the product, seek outside advice, ask questions, and return the contract to Aliianz Life for a full refund of premium for any reason. We received no correspondence from Mr. ******** during the free-look period that expressed any dissatisfaction with the contract or a request to return it for a refund. Upon receipt of Mr. ********'s request for a penalty-free withdrawal from the contract on December 13, 2013, Allianz Life processed the request as soon as the penalty-free withdrawal was available on December 19, 2013. A check was generated and sent out to Mr. ******** on Friday, December 20, 2013 using UPS overnight delivery. UPS delivered the check the following business day which was December 23, 2013. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ********, but we do not control when UPS delivers a package. For additional assistance: If Mr. ******** has any questions regarding the investigation or if he has additional documents that may be relevant in reviewing his complaint, he is welcome to submit them to my attention. If Mr. ******** is dissatisfied with the outcome of his complaint, he may contact the California Department of Insurance. Contact information can be found at www.naic.org. We are committed to the judicious and timely review of all complaints, and this letter represents the diligent effort of our team to do that. Sincerely, ************ Enclosures

12/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart