This business is not BBB accredited.

The Cleaning Authority

Phone: (763) 717-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers 7040 143rd Ave NW, Anoka, MN 55303 http://www.minneapolis.thecleaningauthority.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Cleaning Authority include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Cleaning Authority
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2005 Business started: 06/01/2000 Business started locally: 06/01/2000 Business incorporated 06/01/2003 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jim Brethorst, President Kathy Brethorst, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Jim Brethorst, President
Business Category

House Cleaning Janitor Service Venetian Blinds - Repair & Cleaning Wall Cleaning Window Cleaning Carpet & Rug Cleaning Equipment& Supplies Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Alternate Business Names
Authority Enterprises Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by The Cleaning Authority, this company offers residential and commercial house cleaning and full service janitorial needs.

Industry Tips
Carpet Cleaning Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7040 143rd Ave NW

    Anoka, MN 55303 (763) 717-9200 (763) 717-9203

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they debited my account without my authorization. I have a credit card on file with them and I pay on their system. I did NOT sign up for automatic pay. I had a clean done on November 12 and they debited my account on 11/17 without my authorization.

Desired Settlement: I want a letter of apology - acknowledging that they did that without my authorization and $35 overdraft fee I was charged because of their actions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/30) */ If a customer has received our service than they are agreeing to and acknowledging they are responsible for payment of service. It is our policy that payment is due at the time of service. The customer did not provide a form of payment at the time of service, nor did they contact us to make other payment arrangements within a timely manner, therefore the credit card on file was the only form of payment provided to us for services rendered. We have performed over 58 cleans for this customer since September 2013, and so they are very familiar with our policies and payment expectations. They also know we do not have contracts and they are not obligated to continue service and can cancel whenever they want. Instead, they chose to receive our service and, as such, are responsible for payment. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not questioning that I owed them for the clean and I am not asking for reimbursement for the charge. I am objecting to them charging my credit card without my authorization or knowledge. I am not an AUTO PAY client. I never agreed to automatic withdrawals nor did I sign anything that said if I didn't pay in X number of days that they reserved the right to charge my credit card. This is the first time in all the cleans that they charged my credit card. My credit card number should NOT be accessible to them. I wasn't able to pay the same day of the clean. They charged my credit card and caused an overdraft in my account. I am asking to be reimbursed for the OVERDRAFT FEE of $35. They never informed me that they were going to charge my card. In fact here is the late notice email I received. Dear ***********, Account # ******* Current Balance: $157.47 Thank you for allowing The Cleaning Authority to clean your home. Upon completing your home this week, the team was unable to locate your payment. Please forward your payment to our office to avoid the late fee. For your convenience, we also accept debit/credit cards at www.thecleaningauthority.com/minneapolis click on "Access MyTCA Account". As a friendly reminder payment is due at time of each clean. If you have already mailed in your payment please disregard this correspondence. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to call. Again, thank you for your business and have a great day. Sincerely, The Cleaning Authoirty - Minneapolis This was cut and pasted from the email - yes with the misspelling of 'Authority'. I am disputing their right and authority to charge my card without my authorization. I am pretty sure that is against the law!! Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2015/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If you credited my TCA account, it is of no use to me. I want PAYMENT either refunded to my bank or a check sent in the mail. Please advise as to the way you will be repaying me for the charge. Clearly you violated the law by even HAVING my card to charge to. It should be encrypted and your system should not have allowed you to charge it at will. If you want to continue this dance, I am happy to call my attorney. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/12/14) */ To clarify the bank account was credited the $35.00.

8/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Deep cleaning" service was horrible. Voiced concerns x2, client was not heard. They offer to send new team but expect payment on poor service. First visit: (bathroom, kitchen focus visit) Basic cleaning services were not completed. Window sills in main living room not dusted, did not clean an entire bathroom, dirty mop water left in main bath toilet, chip on sons floor, dog hair still on carpet, garbage a not emptied, food still on counter top, water spots on kitchen floor and grout still filthy. I was able to vacuum after they left and fill the container 1/3. Called and complained: they were going send the same team to fix..... Then asked me to give them another chance. Visit two: (bedroom, living room focus) This visit was a little better but still tile floor grout in entry way still dirty-re-cleaned after they left: water was black, blue string and dog hair on main level living room carpet, water spots on floors, food on counter top, shredded cheese from breakfast still next to the microwave, urine still in grout in my sons bathroom. Called and complained: told them I was very unsatisfied and that I do not want to pay for this last service. They said they would send out their "best team" to redo. Received a past due bill today for 203.00. Emailed them about not paying for a poor service without getting a redo. I was told that the previous cleaners "did their best " and that not all cleaners have my "OCD cleaning skills " and that if I do not continue with them I will be starting all over with a new company that I may not be happy about either....

Desired Settlement: I do not believe that my last cleaning was worth 203.00. The service was horrible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/01) */ In good faith we have credit Ms. ***** account for $203.52 and removed her home from our cleaning schedule. We consider this matter closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After receiving a mediocre clean and an insulting email from management, this was the right thing to do and I appreciate their response.

7/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: entered contract with for itemized monthly cleaning services, not all items/tasks performed We paid $160.00 for each of 4 cleanings. Each time there were items that should have been done & were not. Each visit was to include cleaning of tile in lower level bathroom. We notified the office each of 1st 3 times that this was not done. On the 4th cleaning, June 9th, I told the cleaners that I expected the tile cleaned. They said they were told not to do it & did not do it. On Thursday, June 11th, the office called to inform me that they would not be back because I was not to tell the girls what to do. I was to contact the office. I told the girl I had been & asked why the cleaners were told not to clean the tile in the bathroom in question. I was told that they were not told not to do it. They were so threatened by my "inappropriate" behavior that they must have been confused. One of them is lying. They advertise 100% customer satisfaction guarantee and I want to be reimbursed for the value of this task. I would also like an apology for the way the are maligning my character.

Desired Settlement: I've assigned a value of $20.00 to this task multiplied by 4 cleanings equals $80.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/02) */ In good faith we have issued a check for $80 as requested in the complaint. We have removed Mrs. ****** from our active client list and consider this matter closed. See attachments Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Once the check has been cashed I will be quite satisfied.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Cleaning Authority
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)