BBB Accredited Business since

LivINN Hotels

Phone: (651) 738-1600 View Additional Phone Numbers 285 Century Ave N, Maplewood, MN 55119 http://www.livinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LivINN Hotels meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LivINN Hotels include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LivINN Hotels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 2011 Business started: 12/06/2002 Business started locally: 12/06/2002 Business incorporated 12/28/1988 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kiley Lyke, Vice President of Operations Malissa Brockman, General Manager Derrick Korlin, Front Desk Manager Wayne Rixmann, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kiley Lyke, Vice President of Operations
Business Category

Hotels Motels - Reservation Service Executive Suites

Alternate Business Names
LivINN Suites, LLC LivINN Suites, LTD Rixmann Properties, LTD
Products & Services

According to the information provided by LivINN Suites, this company offers guest rooms and suites for overnight or extended stays.


Additional Locations

  • 285 Century Ave N

    Maplewood, MN 55119 (866) 454-8466 (651) 738-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Because of not being informed about age requirement had to stay at more expensive motel WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMUERSED FOR EXTRA OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE. I made reservations with Andrew at the Maplewood LivInn motel for my daughter and her friend on April 15,2015 for August 5 and 6,2015.Nothing was mentioned about guests having to be 21 to stay there when I made the reservation or when I confirmed it later on.Confirmation #******. But when they got there on August 5 were told they couldn't stay there because you had to be 21 to stay at there motel and girls were only 20.They were very upset because they didn't have any place to stay and a long way from home.Clerk told them it was motel policy and could't anything about it.My daughter asked to talk to a manager but none was on duty so they were stuck. Clerk called Hampton Inn in Woodbury and got them a room but they had to pay double the amount what the LivInn reservation was for.If they have a policy about being 21 why don't they tell people when they are making reservations as that would have avoided this problem and people getting upset!!! My daughter called Maplewood LivINN manager Melissa later to see about getting them to pay extra amount but was told it was guests problem to find these things out about age limit and wouldn't do anything about the extra money or anything to solve this problem.When I heard about this I called Melissa,the manager and asked her about this and why Andrew didn't tell me about age requirement and was told he must have and she wouldn't do anything to help us out with this situation. Her attitude toward guests was very rude.I got on their website and got phone number and e-mail for their guest relations person,Kiley ****.I called her number all day August 6 every hour from 9:00 am to 6:00pm and from 9:00am to 2:00pm on August 7 and got nothing but transferred to her voice mail.I also e-mailed her but she never responded.Some employees handle guest problems very badly. I got e-mail address skaiemp@livinn.com and e-mailed him and he contacted Melissa and Kyley and then Kyley contacted me. She denied motel personal did anything wrong. She said guest should ask about age requirements. Appologised about problem but said she wouldn't do anything to help us out. I told her that their motel had a very bad attitude towards guests. All we asked for was to be compensated for extra money we had to pay to stay at Hampton Inn because of rate difference !!! But they insisted it was our problem so wouldn't do anything about it!!Very, very poor motel guest relations!!!

Desired Settlement: Reimburse us extra $170.00 out of our pocket expense because of mix up and motel rate difference !!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/11) */ To whom it may concern - We are sorry for this issue. However, we will not be refunding you for the difference in hotel rates, from our hotel to the hotel your daughter ended up staying in. Most hotels do require that a guest be 21 years old. We feel that our front desk employee was very helpful, by refunding you for our room and then calling around until he found a hotel that would allow a guest under the age of 21 to stay. I am sorry that their rates were higher than ours, but I am glad he was able to help find a place for her to stay. This week we called around to several hotels, as a test, making reservations, and not a single one of the hotels we called, asked us if we were 21 years old. However, when we specifically asked if you had to be 21 years old to stay, then they gave that information and stated what their policy was for age. Again, that policy was only stated, if we specifically asked about it. Also, our customer service rep at corporate was out of the office on the 6th and 7th and returned your call when she returned to the office on Monday, the 10th. On the 10th, 11th and 12th, you called and missed her in the office and she called and left messages and missed you in your office. Finally that week, you two connected and she told you that she was sorry for the inconvenience, but we would not be able to pay for the difference in rate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept their response because they have done nothing to resolve the problem. They have the chance to fix this but won't. They keep saying it was our fault that we didn't check their policies but if they have this policy and knew I was making reservations for my daughter they should have stated the age requirement. They know they were wrong but don't care enough about their guests to admit this and rectify the problem. I have dealt with other motels and businesses and have found out if they are decent places and value customers they will solve the problem as soon as possible but if they are deceitful and don't give a darn they will do everything they can to avoid the problem and it never gets resolved, and the fact that the customer service rep only returned my calls once and the fact that I had to e-mail someone else in the organization to get them to get in contact with me shows what kind of people they are.If we don't get reimbursed for our extra expense I will not be satisfied! We will never stay in their motels or have dealings with them again! They know what the right thing to do is but refuse to do it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/24) */ To whom it may concern - We did resolve this situation the night that it occurred. We cancelled your daughters reservation at our hotel and did not charge her anything. Then we called around to several hotels in the area to help her find a hotel that would allow under 21 to make a reservation. We apologize for the inconvenience, but we will not be paying $170.

6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several concerns to list, I recently completed an extended visit to this hotel.#1-Parking Lot - potholes of all sizes.#2-Heating/Cooling Unit in room: Loud, Filter dirty, Serviced after one week and 2 visits to desk.#3-Tub valve handle and parts kept loosening, making water temperature difficult to adjust - 3 service calls.#4-Room refrigerator froze contents, produce had to be thrown away - 2 service calls, would not exchange for another refrigerator, NEVER fixed.#5-In-house laundry equipment was broken down.#6-After 30 days in Minnesota, hotels apply hotel tax to following week's rent and no tax is charged thereon out for duration of stay. I was told that LivInn's corporate policy does not recognize this refund by staff.#7-Rooms are charged for phone (Phone in room did NOT work, replaced after 4(four) weeks of stay.#8-Rooms are charged for Room safe, did NOT work, repaired after 4(four) weeks.#9-Rooms are charged for daily newspaper(resident not allowed to cancel paper).#10-Newspaper,Phone and Room Safe (items I did not need/want) are what I received instead of getting the tax refund mentioned in #6 -- this was what staff explained to me was corporate policy.#11-After a 48 day stay, on top of room charges, I was also taxed for the stay.#12-Staff was friendly and courteous despite the awkward situation.I will not be returning to stay at LivInn Hotel.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to have the room tax refunded to me as is determined by the state of Minnesota.I would like the hotel to realize that if they are offering these amenities to guests, the equipment needs to be functional and attention should be given in a timely manner when concerns are raised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ Dear Mr. ******* - I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at LivINN Hotels. I do apologize for all the issues with your room. We looked through our records for your guest folio and we show that you reported the issues with the phone and the fridge to our front desk on 5-21-14. We also show that we repaired them both on 5-22-14. I apologize if you continued to have issues with your room, that we were not made aware of. As for the tax refund request, we will not be refunding your MN state tax. At the time of check in at our hotel, you signed our "Weekly Room Agreement". In that form it states the following: "your weekly rate is reduced for the first 30 consecutive days of your stay, by the amount of the sales tax. After 30 days no sales tax is charged, however your total amount paid remains the same." Again I apologize. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LivINN Hotels
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)