BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Handi Medical Supply, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Handi Medical Supply, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Handi Medical Supply, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1997 Business started: 05/23/1988 Business started locally: 05/23/1988 Business incorporated 04/02/1990 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Board of Medical Practice
2829 University Ave SE, Ste 400, Minneapolis MN 55414
http://www.bmp.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (612) 617-2130

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Customer Care, Owner Mike Bailey, Chief Executive Officer Mary Benhardus, Founder Laurie Tomaszewski, Chief Marketing Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Customer Care, Owner
Customer Contact: Laurie Tomaszewski, Chief Marketing Officer
Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies Medical Equipment & Supplies Medical Alarms Oxygen Therapy Equipment Physicians & Surgeons Equipment & Supplies Pumps - Supplies & Parts Respirators Surgical Instruments Ventilating Equipment Scooters - Medical Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Lifts/Elevators - In Home Oxygen Prosthetic Devices Beds - Electric & Adjustable Crutches Uniforms - Medical Wheel Chairs Health & Medical - General Canes Chairs - Orthopedic & Lift

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Handi Medical Supply, this company offers medical equipment and supplies.


Additional Locations

  • 2505 University Ave W

    Saint Paul, MN 55114 (651) 644-9770 (800) 514-9979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They delivered a light box to my residence twice without my permission. I did not ask for it, I do not want it, but they refuse to let me return it. Last November Handi Medical Supply sent a Suntouch plus therapy light unit out to my residence. When I opened the box I saw an invoice for more than $200. I did not order this unit. I don't want this unit. This unit was sent to my house without my permission. The day after I received the unit I drove down to Handi Medical Supply and attempted to return the unit. The woman who identified herself as the store manager (Kristin or Kirstin) refused to accept the return. She insisted the cost would be paid by the insurance company and she insisted I keep the product. Some time later I received a second invoice demanding payment for this unit. Again I immediately drove down to the store and attempted to return it. Once again, Kristen/Kirsten refused to accept the return. I thought this was outrageous and I left the unit at the store. Shortly thereafter Handi Supply sent the unit out to my house for a second time. They keep sending this unit to me when I never asked for it in the first place. They refuse to accept the return and then they keep demanding payment. I don't believe businesses are allowed to send unrequested products to people and then demand payment. What are they going to send out to me next - an iron lung? Are they going to dump it on my side walk and send me a bill? Handi Supply has REFUSED my every attempt to resolve this problem. So I am requesting your help in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: I want them to quit demanding payment and leave me alone. I don't want any more annoying phone calls or demands for payment. If they want the unit back I will make arrangements for them to pick it up on my doorstep where they have left it twice now.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/06) */ In November of 2014, Handi received a fax from *******'s physician which states, in part: "I am writing on behalf of Ms. ******* ****... I have advised her to use phototherapy to help with her symptoms." Based on that faxed order, we shipped the light box to the customer. The insurance was verified as active and we billed the item to her insurance. The customer spoke with our billing department after receiving the item and was informed the item is coverable by Blue Cross, however we have no way of know the specifics of her insurance policy and therefore Handi Medical cannot guarantee coverage. In mid-January, the customer came into our showroom asking to return the product. She was informed that it was beyond the return date. Handi Medical's written return policy was printed at the bottom of the receipt she received with the product. She asked the front desk staff to speak to a manager and I then became involved. My notes on file, and my recollection of the conversation, differ widely from the documentation you received from the customer. Firstly, the product came back to Handi in a paper grocery bag, without the original packaging and without even the owner's manual. Our return policy states that items must be returned in "like new condition, in the original packaging". So not only was the item beyond the 14-day return policy, it was also not sellable to another customer. Furthermore, the customer told me during our conversation that she had used the item and was only returning it because her insurance didn't pay for it. I left her briefly to discuss this with the supervisor in our billing department. She was unable to ascertain why the insurance didn't cover the item and told me she would file an appeal with the insurance to see if they would cover. I relayed that information to *******, telling her again that our information shows it should be covered but we could not guarantee payment. The very next day, ******* returned to Handi, put the paper grocery bag on the counter and walked out. Neither the front desk staff nor myself had any conversation with her on this day. Since I had told her, a day previous, that we would not accept a return on the item, I did ship the light box back to her with a note re-stating the reason why the item wasn't returnable and the fact that we were filing an appeal with the insurance. The appeal with the insurance took until mid-June, at which time it was still denied and deemed non-covered for her specific policy. The billing office called and explained this to the customer, letting her know she would be responsible for the charges. Two further phone calls re-iterated her responsibility for payment. Discussions with the billing manager and with the CEO for Handi medical occurred and the charges will not be reversed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The BBB asks that I contact them if Handi Medical Supply contacts me directly. Although they haven't called my personal cell phone in some time I have received another invoice from them where they threaten to add unspecified "service charges" if I do not make payment in 15 days. I feel that this is unfair for them to do while the matter is in mediation with your office. Shouldn't they wait until all the facts, and responses have been put on the table before threatening me with additional charges? Handi Medical Supply has responded to the BBB and their argument is as follows. Handi Medical Supply ... says that ... my doctor ... says that ... "C---- U-- asked for this light box." So now they have gone on record as saying that I did not contact Handi Medical Supply and ask for this product. So, am I wrong in asserting that I never entered in to a contract with Handi Medical Supply in the first place? Anyway, I don't believe their response at all. My doctor would never reveal private conversations and violate doctor/patient confidentiality. Then they go into a lot of nonsense about how I used the product and tried to returned it in a paper bag without the owner's manual. Well, this is a complete fabrication. You have my original complaint, and I stand by every word of it. I still have the product in the original shipping box with everything that was sent to me. The day after I received the product, I drove down to their location and tried to return everything, unused and in the original box. The clerk refused to accept the return, and so asked for the store manager. The store manager also refused to accept the return, insisting that my insurance company would pay the invoice. Their behavior is very unsettling to me and I have been stressing out about this for months now. I would like a prompt resolution to this matter, and I assure you that $240 is a lot of money to me. I wish they would just accept their light box, as it is unused and in it's original package, and leave me alone. Again, thank you so much for your attention to this matter. I need your help. Sincerely. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/08/24) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original document is available using the online complaint system). Please be advised that Handi Medical Supply has agreed to allow ******* **** to return her phototherapy light box for a full refund. Both my staff and I have discussed this with Ms. **** and it is my opinion that she feels that this matter has been fully resolved. She will be bringing the unit back to our office early next week. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I would like to thank the BBB and Mr. ****** of Handi Medical Supply for a mutual resolution to this issue.

10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Handi Medical was negligent in ordering my children's metabolic supplies. The orders are not placed in a timely manner. I have to use Handi Medical for my children's metabolic food precriptions per my insurance Blue Cross Blue Shield. They have a rare disorder called Phenylketonuria where their bodies don't digest protein so medicated food is necessary.I have experienced ordering issues in the past, so I was appointed a person named ***** ******* I have experienced a few problems also with *****, but she is always accommodating, and attempts to fix issues in a timely manner. On August 11 2014, I emailed an order to *****. The message was returned stating that she was on vacation, but gave me a link to order with customer service if needed. I placed my order online, and then sent a follow up email to ***** a few days later upon her return. At that time I was told order had been placed. A few weeks go by still no metabolic food order. I email ***** again, she checks says yes order is placed. On August 25 ,2014 I email her a new order just to prepare for school beginning will need food for lunches, and at that time I follow up again on missing Aug. 11th order. She tells me that there was no email for Aug.25th must have been lost, so I email it again while still being told first order should be on its way. I began to worry because now its Sept. 3 2014 still no food. Over three weeks without prescription foods for my kids. I call the companies separately to see if Handi Medical had even placed an order on my behalf, Cambrooke foods confirms, but state it was just placed on Aug. 28th not on the 11th. No order was placed with Ener G foods, and PKU perspectives was having warehouse issues, so was not even filling orders. I email *****, and tell her that I am upset felt that I was lied to for weeks about status of food delivery, and give her the information that I received from food companies. I then call to speak to a Manager to resolve issue. I get a manager named *****. We talk a few minutes tells me she needs to investigate will call me back with answers and resolution. I get a return call, but it is not to resolve issue, but to make excuses, and blame me for not waiting for ***** to return before placing an order. ***** also refuses to apologize states that food is coming some things are on back order. She doesn't list them , says the wrong food companies, and when I correct her, and tell her that I don't want to hear anymore excuses she hangs up on me! I was left not knowing what became of my situation! Before *****, I would receive rude customer service all the time because people were unsure of how to enter food, would give the wrong information, but I never expected this from a manager! I taped the conversation because she was so hostile, and I didn't think anyone would believe me. I always order from *****, but I feel that if she is not available for a period of time someone should accommodate. There should never be just one person knowing an account. I order at least twice a month with food costing thousands between our payments, and insurance, so I never understand why I am not told when she is going on vacation to check, and see if I need to order. I need help with this manner. I would have emailed upper management, but there were no email addresses available.

Desired Settlement: These orders plus shipping (not us , or our insurance) should be paid for by Handi Medical, and that manager ****** should be demoted, have sensitivity training, or relieved of duty. A plan should be put in place to have more than one representative handling unique accounts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/24) */ Re: Case ********** ******* ************** Handi Medical Supply has received and reviewed the complaint filed with the BBB on September 5th, 2014. The following is our account of what happened and the steps we have taken to ensure this issue has been resolved. Also outlined are the measures taken by Handi Medical Supply to prevent future failures to provide outstanding customer experiences. The customer service representative this customer usually works with was on vacation on the date the customer emailed her order. Since she then placed her order online, it was received and processed by another team member. That team member mistakenly entered the order incorrectly, resulting in the order not forwarding to our purchasing department as needed. When the customer followed up with her usual customer service representative, it appeared the order had been placed and therefore she was told it was on its way. 17 days later, the error was discovered and the order finally placed. At that time the customer asked to speak with a manager and her call was transferred to one of the supervisors in the customer service department. The supervisor asked if she could investigate what transpired and call the customer back with more information. When the supervisor then called the customer back, she explained what had happened and also that the order had been placed. The supervisor, during my investigation, stated that the customer was upset with her answers, believing she was making excuses and not solving the problem. At some point, per the supervisor, the call disconnected and she believed the customer had hung up on her. A few days later our other supervisor, in the customer service department, spoke with the customer detailing the steps being taken to insure this error does not occur again. All of the orders for supplies had been placed at the time of this conversation and were either shipped or were in processes with the manufacturer. The original error made during order entry involved checking a "drop ship" box. If checked orders do not print on the correct report that purchasing uses. I am working with Purchasing to determine a process to regularly check for orders that may have this box shipped. This will guarantee orders do not sit without prompt processing. The supervisor noted in the complaint called and scheduled a training/in-service for all members of the customer service team immediately after her conversation with the customer. That event is scheduled for September 23rd. Further training for all team members will enable any customer service representative to have knowledge about the product line mentioned in the complaint. This is a small product line for us but we understand the importance of having training and good, written documentation so that any representative can provide outstanding customer service. All of the team members involved have been spoken to and provided additional coaching/training on how to eliminate the errors made during the multiple contacts with this client. All of them understand the urgency for this customer to receive product in a timely manner. I have spoken with the customer and she will be sending me the audio recording she made during her conversation with the supervisor. I will be using that for coaching with both of my supervisors to ensure they are providing appropriate problem-solving and resolution techniques. With the corrective measures, outlined above, Handi Medical Supply is confident we will not repeat the mistakes made. Please contact me with any further questions. Sincerely, ******* ****** Manager, Customer Service Handi Medical Supply Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Supervisor ****** lied about our conversation where she clearly hung up on me (remember it is on tape that I sent to them)! I still have to pay along with my insurance for items that were not ordered when they should have been. The moment they rekeyed that order, and didn't tell me makes it a lie, and a cover up! We as the consumer are expected to hold up to our terms, so this is yes a resolution, but not good enough! That manager should have been relieved of duty, or disciplined! I am glad that they finally apologized, but this ordeal has been stressful,medically neglectful to my children, and very time consuming. In order for me to feel satisfied, I would like a free food order that is not charged to my insurance, or myself, that manager disciplined, and a written apology stating that they conspired to lie about this order once the mistake was discovered. This company still continues to make excuses for negligent, rude, and all around poor service. Also remember that this is not the first mistake they have made forgetting orders, wrong orders, so this complaint has been warranted. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/10/07) */ Handi Medical Supply has received and reviewed the rebuttal to the complaint filed with the BBB on September 4th, 2014. As stated previously, Handi Medical Supply has taken the necessary steps to ensure this error does not occur in the future. Handi Medical Supply has a long history of providing outstanding service to its customers and guests. We have an A+ rating with the BBB and in 2012 Handi Medical Supply received the Integrity Award from the BBB for its commitment to its customers. Handi Medical Supply has openly admitted and apologized for the errors that occurred in processing this specific order. Customers and their insurance providers are never charged for items that are not ordered as it would be illegal to do so. In addition, Handi Medical Supply has taken the appropriate action with the team members who were involved in this order. Handi Medical Supply will not disclose to anyone outside of our organization the specific details of corrective action taken with any of our team members. We believe that doing so would be a violation of state statute. Only the executive members of Handi Medical Supply team will decide who will be terminated from our team. Finally, I will not honor the request by ******* that members of the Handi Medical Supply team write a letter to ******* stating that they "conspired to lie" about this order as this is simply not true. As to the request for free product, Handi Medical Supply is unable to honor this request. Federal statute prohibits medical equipment companies from "gifting" a customer product at no charge. See 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7b. Handi Medical Supply will not violate this federal statute for *******. I again, wish to offer to *******, my sincere apologies for the mistakes made by my staff. I believe that the corrective measures that have been taken will ensure better service for her in the future. Should these actions not satisfy *******, it would be my recommendation that ******* find a different vendor for these products and services. I do not make this remark lightly. I have carefully considered this remark but perhaps Handi Medical Supply is in fact the wrong business partner. I have provided my phone number and email below and encourage her to call or email me with any questions going forward. Please let me know should you have any further questions. Sincerely, ******* S. ******, *** Handi Medical Supply

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Handi Medical Supply, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)