Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2011

Best Buy Private Marketplace

(877) 310-50827601 Penn Ave S, RichfieldMN 55423 Send email to Best Buy Private Marketplace

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2011

BBB has determined that Best Buy Private Marketplace meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Best Buy Private Marketplace's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Best Buy Private Marketplace

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
09/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Best Buy Private Marketplace sent wrong item to me, but refused to refund.
Invoice Number: *******
Auction Number: *******
Lot Number: ********
Serial Number (IMEI): ***************
Purchase Date: June 21, 2014
Payment amount: $297.15
Product received: ******* galaxy S3 Blue (Model ******* SGH-I747M)
Product supposed to be: ******* galaxy S4 Black (Model ******* SGH-I337M)

Desired Settlement
I have been a Canadian customer of Best Buy Private Marketplace for almost a year. On June 21 I bought a ******* S4 cellphone from Best Buy Private Marketplace for $297. Then I was on vacation in US for two weeks from June 26. During the time the item was mailed to my home in Calgary, AB, Canada. When I got back I found the item was a ******* galaxy S3 (Model I747M) instead of ******* galaxy S4 (Model I337M). There is big difference in value between these two products (over $120).

I called Best Buy Private Marketplace immediately and asked them to refund or exchange the item. They refused to refund because it had passed the 14 days returning policy. I explained that I was in US (Yellowstone NP) for two weeks so could not check my mail in Canada. Because Best Buy Private Marketplace sent wrong items, and this mistake exists and will not disappear with time. As a big respectable international company, Best Buy Private Marketplace should do something to correct this very clear mistake!

There was no result for my request, and I asked their supervisor to call me. The supervisor is a very aggressive lady. She didn't listen to my explanation, and she never intended to do anything to make up for their mistake. She agreed to ask her manager to call me again, but it never happened. I called Best Buy Private Marketplace another time after a few weeks and have never got a response. Thus I know that they will not consider my request and correct their mistake!

Best Buy Private Marketplace WAS a very good place to shop and I had very good experience before. But recently they have more problems with their products. Very often the condition of products is much worse than described, and some accessories are often missed. Many accessories are out-of-market not original ones as described, and for many cellphones they messed model numbers. For most of the defects above, I just forgave them in order to avoid any argument.

Because there is big difference in value between ******* galaxy s4 and ******* galaxy s3, I lost over $120 for their mistake.

Business Response
I have reviewed your order and we will not be issuing a return. For this order you were informed by our customer service representative, the Canada DSR, as well as a supervisor about our return policy. For this order we were not notified until July 17th which put you outside of our return policy. On numerous occasions you have been informed that our return policy is 14 days. We will no longer be making exceptions to our policy as we have provided you with all of the details of our policy multiple time verbally and you also accepted these terms when you created your account. We apologize for any inconveniences that this may cause you. Please make sure you are reaching out to us within the time frame specified on our site as no further exceptions will be made.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am very disappointed with Best Buy Private Marketplace's response! It is very clear for this case. My fault is, I passed the 14-days return policy because I was not in Canada at the time. On the other hand, Bestbuy sent a wrong product which is $120 value less. It is very easy to prove because the cellphone IMEI is on the invoice.

Fault is the fault, and it will not disappear when time passed by. As the No. 1 successful company in electronics area, Bestbuy promises to guarantee consumers' profits as their first priority but this time they didn't. For the obvious fault they have made, the Best Buy Private Marketplace should have done something to correct it!

08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a laptop from Best Buys private auction to use for college. The computer was advertised as tested however I received an unfixable computer
The computer was advertised as tested and working however when receiving it I noticed the computer lagged. I contacted best buy who told me to call the manufacturer which was *** they fixed the problem telling me that the graphics card had to be updated. This took almost a month to get done but I was happy I could finally use my laptop for school. However, soon after things starting going wrong the computers RAM would max and the computer would crash. I again contacted Best buy again who told me to contact the manufacturer. *** looked at it and after almost two months told me that because the hard drive had been been replaced and as a result *** voided my warranty. I told best buy this who told me they never change the HDD.I was fed up with this mess and asked for a refund. Best buy told me they had a 30 day return policy which had already been met. However, that computer spent my "warranty" period getting repaired. As a result I took it to geek squad who referred me to a local computer specialist because of not being able to diagnose the issue. After taking the laptop to him he was unable to fix it either and told me that it seemed as if the motherboard was bad. Something that he said was probably the result of faulty manufacturing. As a college student money is tight and I'm just looking to get a refund for the computer and was hoping you guys could help.

Don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you might have.

Thank you, ******

Desired Settlement
A refund of the purchase total

Business Response
We apologize for any inconveniences that your concern may have caused. We have reviewed your concern and unfortunately we will be enforcing our 30 day return period. Your item was delivered to you on 1-27-14 and we did not receive any notice of a concern until 6-7-14. Since we were notified far outside of our return policy we will not be issuing a return or refund for your product. Please review our terms of use in regards to returns if you have any further questions in regards to our return policy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted you guys concerning issues with the product to which your answers were to send it to ***. I did not receive the product until after the 30 days. So therefore would've been unable to report a problem because of what I was told to do. Also the product was advertised as "tested and working". Which according to your own company (geek squad) and the local repair shop they referred me to both state that the computer contains many manufacturing errors. This dealtree's website you guys sell with has had many complaints and issues. The only reason I bought this computer was because I honored your guy's name on it. I regret my decision.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Best Buy market place vendor refuses to honor their return policy.
Best Buy market place vendor Imagestore refuses to answer emails and phone calls in which I'm trying to get a refund for a broken item they sent me.Two weeks of emails and phone calls with no response!Called Best Buy tonight and CSR said there is nothing they can do!?!?

Desired Settlement
Seeking refund for item that is not working and is within their 45 day return policy.

Business Response
We are unable to review your order request without more information about your order. We attempted to locate an account with the information you provided and no such accound exists. Please provide your invoice number so we can better assist you. In regards to our return policy, Best Buy Private Store and Auction does not advertise a 45 day return policy. We advertise that our return policy is 30 days. Please review the FAQs for returns on

05/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I was billed $69.99 and $32. The debits were never authorized and services were never rendered. They promised to credit my account and failed to do so
Unauthorized debit to my bank account. Promise to return money and failure to do so.

Desired Settlement
I am writing you so that you can inform consumers of the unscrupulous practices of this company. I will give them another week and I will pursue this in small claims court.

Business' Initial Response
Can you please provide more information in regards to your order so we can better assist you with your concern.

01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Would Not allow a change of shipping address and would not allow me to cancel my order
On 12-26-2012 around 9:00am i placed an on line order with best buy order# ***. I had discovered that the shipping address was in error. Around 1:00pm i talked to a Representative from Best Buy who told me i could not change my shipping address or cancel my order was processed.I can not that Best Buy would deny me my two requests only 4 hours had passed since the original order. The option I was given was at the time of delivery refuse acceptance and have the delivery sent back. I am supposed to receive my order between January 4th 2013 and January 9th 2013

Desired Settlement
A Refund To My Best Buy Credit Card

Business' Initial Response
Was the order placed on or Best Buy private store and auctions? We do not show an order for this customer in our system. If you purchased your item at please contact best buy customer support at ***. We are Best Buy Private Store and Auction and we are unable to assist with any Best Buy retail purchases.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Electronics, Internet Shopping, Liquidators, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/02/2011Business started: 06/04/1993
Contact Information
Principal: Lillian Barrett (Customer Service Supervis) Alan Shinnick (Customer Service Manager)
Business Category

Home Electronics, Internet Shopping, Liquidators, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Best Buy Private Marketplace, this company offers ecommerce liquidation of single buy it now and auction sales for Best Buy employees, affiliates, family, and friends.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

If you choose to do business with Best Buy Private Marketplace, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Best Buy Private Marketplace has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Best Buy Private Marketplace

7601 Penn Ave S

Richfield, MN 55423

To | From


1 Locations

  • 7601 Penn Ave S 

    Richfield, MN 55423(877) 310-5082

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Best Buy Private Marketplace is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Home Electronics


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.