This business is not BBB accredited.

Best Buy Private Marketplace

Phone: (877) 310-5082 7601 Penn Ave S, Richfield, MN 55423 http://bestbuy.dtdeals.com ! There is an alert on Best Buy Private Marketplace !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Best Buy Private Marketplace
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2011 Business started: 06/04/1993 Business started locally: 06/04/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Lillian Barrett, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Lillian Barrett, Manager
Business Category

Home Electronics Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Liquidators Internet Shopping

Products & Services

According to the information supplied by Best Buy Private Marketplace, this company offers ecommerce liquidation of single buy it now and auction sales for Best Buy employees, affiliates, family, and friends.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7601 Penn Ave S

    Richfield, MN 55423 (877) 310-5082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a notebook computer from bestbuy.com. Incorrect power cord shipped. I Contacted Best Buy to get correct power cord. Was told that I actually purchased from Market Place Sellers a company owned by Best Buy but Best Buy was not responsible for. I could not go to a Best Buy store and exchange the cord. They transferred my call to a rep for Marketplace. They offered me a $35.00 credit. I told her that I found the cord at Fry's for $89.99 plus tax. I was placed on hold for several minutes. She came back and told me she found one on e-bay for $9.95 with free shipping! I refused to get one from e-bay. Then she said $45.00 was the best they could do. I then called Best Buy back to file a complaint. Again I was transferred to Marketplace and this rep said they would send out a new power cord. Later yesterday I received an email from Best Buy that a $41.00 credit was applied to my account. Called today to find out what that was for. I was again transferred to Marketplace. They told me that I had accepted the $45.00 credit and they applied that to my account and did not ship the power cord. Called Best Buy again to find out where the $41.00 came from. They have no idea! I can forward both emails to you. I just want the right cord for the computer and don't think I should pay extra to get it! It would have been, and still could be so easy to take the cord to a Best Buy store and exchange it but that is not an option with Best Buy! I feel that the Best Buy website is a complete scam when you think you are buying from them but you are actually buying from a company I have never heard of!

Desired Settlement: I just want a correct power cord so my Wife can enjoy her Christmas present without paying extra money for it! Their refund can take up to 5 days to be posted in my account and I still don't know how much the refund will be.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/30) */ Can you please provide your order number so we can investigate your concern. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2016/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My order number is BBY01-************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2016/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes I want to return the product! Found the right cord and the computer worked good for one day. tried to go thru ******* for tech support but they say the software is not compatible. I am still unhappy that I thought I was buying from best buy but can't take it back to a best buy store??? I believe the way the website is set up if fraudulent!! The email I received from Marketplace said I was getting $45.00 credit then best buy credited my account $41.00 Would like an explanation for that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2016/01/11) */ A return authorization has been issued and emailed ********@outlook.com. The partial refund was issued based on a call that took place on 12-28-15. During this call the partial refund was accepted and refund confirmation was requested by *** during the call. This call was recorded for quality purposes and the details provided were confirmed on 1-5-16. Once your item is returned the remaining balance will be refunded.

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Best Buy Private Marketplace sent wrong item to me, but refused to refund. Invoice Number: ******* Auction Number: ******* Lot Number: ******** Serial Number (IMEI): *************** Purchase Date: June 21, 2014 Payment amount: $297.15 Product received: ******* galaxy S3 Blue (Model ******* SGH-I747M) Product supposed to be: ******* galaxy S4 Black (Model ******* SGH-I337M)

Desired Settlement: I have been a Canadian customer of Best Buy Private Marketplace for almost a year. On June 21 I bought a ******* S4 cellphone from Best Buy Private Marketplace for $297. Then I was on vacation in US for two weeks from June 26. During the time the item was mailed to my home in Calgary, AB, Canada. When I got back I found the item was a ******* galaxy S3 (Model I747M) instead of ******* galaxy S4 (Model I337M). There is big difference in value between these two products (over $120). I called Best Buy Private Marketplace immediately and asked them to refund or exchange the item. They refused to refund because it had passed the 14 days returning policy. I explained that I was in US (Yellowstone NP) for two weeks so could not check my mail in Canada. Because Best Buy Private Marketplace sent wrong items, and this mistake exists and will not disappear with time. As a big respectable international company, Best Buy Private Marketplace should do something to correct this very clear mistake! There was no result for my request, and I asked their supervisor to call me. The supervisor is a very aggressive lady. She didn't listen to my explanation, and she never intended to do anything to make up for their mistake. She agreed to ask her manager to call me again, but it never happened. I called Best Buy Private Marketplace another time after a few weeks and have never got a response. Thus I know that they will not consider my request and correct their mistake! Best Buy Private Marketplace WAS a very good place to shop and I had very good experience before. But recently they have more problems with their products. Very often the condition of products is much worse than described, and some accessories are often missed. Many accessories are out-of-market not original ones as described, and for many cellphones they messed model numbers. For most of the defects above, I just forgave them in order to avoid any argument. Because there is big difference in value between ******* galaxy s4 and ******* galaxy s3, I lost over $120 for their mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/05) */ I have reviewed your order and we will not be issuing a return. For this order you were informed by our customer service representative, the Canada DSR, as well as a supervisor about our return policy. For this order we were not notified until July 17th which put you outside of our return policy. On numerous occasions you have been informed that our return policy is 14 days. We will no longer be making exceptions to our policy as we have provided you with all of the details of our policy multiple time verbally and you also accepted these terms when you created your account. We apologize for any inconveniences that this may cause you. Please make sure you are reaching out to us within the time frame specified on our site as no further exceptions will be made. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am very disappointed with Best Buy Private Marketplace's response! It is very clear for this case. My fault is, I passed the 14-days return policy because I was not in Canada at the time. On the other hand, Bestbuy sent a wrong product which is $120 value less. It is very easy to prove because the cellphone IMEI is on the invoice. Fault is the fault, and it will not disappear when time passed by. As the No. 1 successful company in electronics area, Bestbuy promises to guarantee consumers' profits as their first priority but this time they didn't. For the obvious fault they have made, the Best Buy Private Marketplace should have done something to correct it!

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a laptop from Best Buys private auction to use for college. The computer was advertised as tested however I received an unfixable computer The computer was advertised as tested and working however when receiving it I noticed the computer lagged. I contacted best buy who told me to call the manufacturer which was *** they fixed the problem telling me that the graphics card had to be updated. This took almost a month to get done but I was happy I could finally use my laptop for school. However, soon after things starting going wrong the computers RAM would max and the computer would crash. I again contacted Best buy again who told me to contact the manufacturer. *** looked at it and after almost two months told me that because the hard drive had been been replaced and as a result *** voided my warranty. I told best buy this who told me they never change the HDD.I was fed up with this mess and asked for a refund. Best buy told me they had a 30 day return policy which had already been met. However, that computer spent my "warranty" period getting repaired. As a result I took it to geek squad who referred me to a local computer specialist because of not being able to diagnose the issue. After taking the laptop to him he was unable to fix it either and told me that it seemed as if the motherboard was bad. Something that he said was probably the result of faulty manufacturing. As a college student money is tight and I'm just looking to get a refund for the computer and was hoping you guys could help. Don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you might have. Thank you, ******

Desired Settlement: A refund of the purchase total

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ We apologize for any inconveniences that your concern may have caused. We have reviewed your concern and unfortunately we will be enforcing our 30 day return period. Your item was delivered to you on 1-27-14 and we did not receive any notice of a concern until 6-7-14. Since we were notified far outside of our return policy we will not be issuing a return or refund for your product. Please review our terms of use in regards to returns if you have any further questions in regards to our return policy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I contacted you guys concerning issues with the product to which your answers were to send it to ***. I did not receive the product until after the 30 days. So therefore would've been unable to report a problem because of what I was told to do. Also the product was advertised as "tested and working". Which according to your own company (geek squad) and the local repair shop they referred me to both state that the computer contains many manufacturing errors. This dealtree's website you guys sell with has had many complaints and issues. The only reason I bought this computer was because I honored your guy's name on it. I regret my decision.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Best Buy market place vendor refuses to honor their return policy. Best Buy market place vendor Imagestore refuses to answer emails and phone calls in which I'm trying to get a refund for a broken item they sent me.Two weeks of emails and phone calls with no response!Called Best Buy tonight and CSR said there is nothing they can do!?!?

Desired Settlement: Seeking refund for item that is not working and is within their 45 day return policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/07) */ We are unable to review your order request without more information about your order. We attempted to locate an account with the information you provided and no such accound exists. Please provide your invoice number so we can better assist you. In regards to our return policy, Best Buy Private Store and Auction does not advertise a 45 day return policy. We advertise that our return policy is 30 days. Please review the FAQs for returns on http://bestbuy.dtdeals.com/auction/index.cfm?P=35


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Best Buy Private Marketplace
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart