BBB Accredited Business since

Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (763) 412-1368 Fax: (763) 323-7595 View Additional Phone Numbers 9431 Alpine Dr NW, Ramsey, MN 55303 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.onehourheat.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kristen Lade, Administrative Manager Kristin Marketing Manager, Owner/Manager Bradley Peet, Pres/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kristen Lade, Administrative Manager
Business Category

Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Heat Exchangers Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heat Sealing Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps

Alternate Business Names
NHAC Northern Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. Northerns One Hour Heating and Air
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. specializes in new construction homes, retro-fit add-on furnace, as well as furnace and air conditioning repair, maintenance, and indoor air quality.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9431 Alpine Dr NW

    Ramsey, MN 55303 (763) 427-1000 (763) 210-4528 (800) 574-1725 (763) 323-1919 (763) 412-1368

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the last 3 years I have recharged my air conditioner twice only to discover the leak was due to loose valve caps...something incredibly basic. In late June of 2014, I called One Hour Heating and A/C in Ramsey to fix my air conditioner. This was the second time in 3 years that it failed to cool my home. The tech brought to my attention that I had zero coolant pressure meaning a leak in my system. The cost to identify the issue would be $325 + the cost of the coolant of $350. Once the cause of the leak was determined they would fix it for an additional fee. So I was looking at potentially $1000+ repair depending on the cause. Since the A/C was pushing 9-10 years old I was concerned I would be pissing money away by fixing it. So I decided to add coolant in the short term, and price out the cost of purchasing a new A/C unit. After receiving bids on comparable equipment from One Hour, Trane, and Lennox, I was aghast to find One Hour bid %25-30% higher than their competitors. So I chose a new vendor to install the new A/C unit. On July 3rd, 2014 the new vendor started the install of the new A/C unit by removing the old equipment. At approximately 8:30 am, we, new tech and I, walked up to the old unit to survey the situation. This was the first time the new tech had seen the old unit. The new tech took one look at the old unit and said "wow... why didn't the old tech put sealant on the all of the coolant valve caps". Then he reached out and discovered that the 2 valve caps that did not have sealant on the treads were loose or barely finger tight. The new tech stated... "Wow... guess we found your coolant leak." As we listened to the coolant hiss as he removed the caps. The new tech also stated it is a standard operating procedure to seal the treads on the coolant charging valve caps upon install. I have been a One Hour "Service Club" member since I purchased my townhome in July 2006 which means I have paid $20 a month for 8 years to receive both furnace and A/C tune ups on a yearly basis. It is unfathomable to me that during these "tune ups", the technician did not check the tightness of the coolant valve caps. Additionally, why didn't the One Hour tech check the tightness of all coolant valve caps when recharging the coolant in late June of 2014? The only thing that comes to mind for me is either incompetency of the service technicians or questionable business practices. Either way... One Hour has lost their integrity with me.

Desired Settlement: Business reputation is a very important thing when your are in the service industry. One Hour Heating and A/C installed all of the furnace and A/C units in my townhome association. The majority of these units will be hitting end of life in the next 3-5 years. One Hour needs to clean up their business practices if they want this future business. What do I want? First, I want the public to have the opportunity to read this honest and truthful complaint. Second, I want refund of the cost of the service call and coolant (~$350)from June 2014 service call. Third, I want a refund of the monthly fee to be a "Club Member" for April, May, June ($60).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ First I would like to say thank you for allowing us to help you with your heating and cooling needs in the past and I am sorry you have lost faith in our comapany. I have pulled your file and reviewed all the services we have provided for you. With doing so I did discover we had a service technician at your home in June of 2012 and on the invoice it reads"Leak locked caps" Not sure why they would have been loose 2 years later. The invoice # is ***** if you wish to look at it, if you cannot find it we would be happy to send you a copy. Looks like you indicated you were a service club member for 8 years I did have our accounting department check this and what they found is you did sign up for that service in November of 2006 and we terminated it in November of 2007 because of non payment, but then in June of 2011 you did resign back up for the service again. We do want to make sure each one of our customers we have the privledge to work for is happy and I hope maybe someday in the future to regain your trust. Our company will be sending you a check for the amount you have requested to be refunded. Thank you.

1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told me my heat exchange was cracked and shut furnace off and tried to sell me a new one. Had two other companies look and found nothing. Had this company out to certify my furnace. The tech opened furnace about an inch to fit a camera in and said he "thought he may see a crack and a hole in the heat exchange and then shut my furnace down and tried to sell me a new one and said my furnace was dangerous. I called excel energy which I have a service plan through to see about replacement and upon inspection by their tech no cracks or holes were found and co2 reading was normal. I then called a third licensed company to get a third opinion just to be safe and he also found no cracks and co2 reading was normal. The one hour heating tech only opened the furnace just enough to look with a camera and was unsure what he thought he saw and still did not bother to take the panel off to get a good look and did not do a co2 test. Both other techs I had out took the panel completely off to reveal the entire heat exchanger and also performed a test that involved spraying a solution on it that would reveal any small cracks that would be hard to find. The end result from both techs ( the one excel sent and the one I hired) is that my furnace had no cracks and was safe to operate. I called and spoke with the manager of one hour heating and air conditioning about this matter and asked for a refund for the improper service and also offered to provide him with the paper work from both other tech to support my claim. He was very unprofessional and rude. He laughed at me many times during the conversation and kept trying to switch my words around and play word games. He then said he would refund my money if he could come to my house and see for him self and that I would have to also hire and bring back the two other techs to look with him. I explained to him that I was not comfortable with him or his company in my home after how unprofessional he was acting and with the lack of experience his tech seamed to have.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $150.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/09) */ ************ did call us to perform a certification on the furnace, she called on December 18th and needed completed because of a showing at noon on 12/19/2013. We sent one of our techs out on the morning of 12/19/2013. The tech we sent out is also an instructor at a local tech college and is licensed. He arrived at 9:14 and completed at 10:27, during this time he inspected the 41 year old furnace and found a cracked heat exchanger he documented on paperwork and took photo's as well. He did red tag the furnace and shut it down because of the cracked heat exchanger.**** **** did call and had a conversation with one of the managers. The manager informed **** that we would come back out and reinspect the furnace and if we are wrong we would return double his investment which would be $300.00. The Manager also drafted a letter to explain this and sent 2 copies out, One copy to ************ and the other to **** ****. We have not had a response on the letter at this point but we will still give them double the money back if they would like us to come back out to reinspect the system.. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I already explained to the manager (Peter Rice) that after the way he acted and treated me on the phone by laughing during the entire conversation as if my concern was a joke and with how rude and unprofessional he was that I would not allow anyone from their company in my home. Had he treated me with a little respect and acted as a manager should then I would have had no problem with them coming back to check but that just was not the case. I have two reports from two separate licensed and certified companies one which excel energy sent out when I was under the impression that I needed a new furnace. When he explained to me that one hour heating was wrong I then hired a third company to check and they also agreed with the company excel hired. I have 2 separate reports saying their is nothing wrong with my furnace vs the 1 from one hour heating and air which I feel lied just to try to sell me a furnace. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/10) */ I'm sorry Mr. **** did not accept my response, I do want to get this resolved for him, if our tech did misdiagnosis the system I have no problem returning double his money back which would be $300.00. I am the owner of this company and I would like to come out myself with a different technician and meet Mr **** to reinspect the system. I will have a $300.00 check with me and if we are wrong I will turn the check over to him.I do have photos that I will share with him while at the home. We do need to make sure the system is safe to operate, that is one of our responsibilities. Customers depend on us to make sure this system will heat and cool so they are comfortable and that it is safe for them and there family.

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: did not finish job correctly. say they did and will not return money paid had to have another company out to finish. We had this company hook up the gas line to meter after it was replaced. they were also suppose to re light any pilot lights the relight the hot water heater and re hooked up the line to the meter. forgot the gravity feed furnace. pilot light. had to come out and lite that when the did we were told there was a high amount of carbon monoxide in the house and he red tagged it. and we need a new furnace. we had to have another company out that night to verify and they said it was in the flue not in the house. and that it just needed to have the fuel pressure adjusted. which we had to pay that company to do. I have called the company and they are telling us that all they were hired to do was to reconnect the line and not the pilot lights. yet the technician asked what pilots needed to be relight. now they refuse to reimburse us the funds we spent for them to do the work.

Desired Settlement: we would like the $450.00 spent to have them do the job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/23) */ On 8/06/2013 we received a call for a home at 2825 Quebec Ave S. St Louis Park, MN. The property owners wanted a price to run a gas line to the gas meter which was being moved by the local gas utility. Our install manager gave them a price of $450.00 to hook up the line to the new meter location, they agreed to this price and the job was set for 8/12/2013. Our technician showed up at 9:14 A.M. to extend the gas line to the new meter location and hook up. He lite the gas water heater and the customer let the technician know they had a gravity furnace that the pilot needed to be lit also. The technician said he remembered having to reach in a long way to get it lit, but was lit when he left.The customer signed the paperwork when we were completed for the $450.00 which we collected on a credit card. It is very possible for the pilot to go out over the next couple months On 10/14/2013 we received a call at 12:09 P.M. that the furnace was not coming on, our dispatcher set the call up for that day between 3:00-7:00. The technician showed up at 3:07 to help the renter, he found the pilot light to be out on the 50 year old gravity furnace; he lit the pilot and turned the system on. While he had it running he started to measure carbon monoxide in the ambient air of the home. (The air you breathe) Concerned about the renter's safety of the system, he shut the gas off and red tagged the system unsafe to operate and contacted the owners of the property. We did not charge the customer for the service call on 10/14/2013 the only thing we did charge for was the original work that was completed on 8/12/2013, which we collected $450.00 at that time. I don't understand why the customer would expect a refund of the $450.00, based off the service call on 10/14/2013 which we did not collect any money. Sincerely **** **** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the problem is the work was not completed as promised. we tried to resolve this with them instead we got nothing but excuses and a very rude and unwilling tech to help us. as far as the furnace goes it was not lite if it was it would of emitted the same amount of carbon monoxide levels as it did on 08/12/2013. yet according to the response it says it was done. how could that be possible??? Did they not use there meter to check for carbon monoxide on 08/12/2013 as they did on 10/14/2013. if they did not then they put everyone at risk by not doing the job correctly.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Northern's One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart