BBB Accredited Business since

Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (952) 881-9000 Fax: (952) 881-4491 View Additional Phone Numbers 1408 Northland Dr Ste 310, Mendota Heights, MN 55120 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sedgwickheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1958 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1958
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Jon Simonson, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jon Simonson, General Manager
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Boilers - New & Used Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash, all major credit cards
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, this company offers residential and commercial services. Sedgwick replaces, services, & maintains furnaces and air conditioners. Sedgwick also offers furnace air duct cleaning and many indoor air quality products. We are open 24 hours a day and all 365 days of the year.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1408 Northland Dr Ste 310

    Mendota Heights, MN 55120 (952) 881-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Furnace failed several times in first year but when repair tech arrived it wouldnt do it while here. Now caught it while happening and was charged. Sedgwick put in a furnace in our brand new home. They installed an Aire-flo 92AF1UH, 6 months after we moved in the furnace stopped working. Furnace indicated a pressure switch problem so I turned off the furnace and reset it. I then called Sedgwick and reported it so they sent out a tech named Tou. I told him that the pressure switch code came on and that several of my neighbors had this same problem in the first year they bought their houses as well (We live in a brand new development that Sedgwick installed all the furnaces.) Tou's response was it does not surprise me this part is known to be defective but unless he could see it having the problem at the time he was there they are not allowed to switch the part out under warranty. Of course the part did not give the code while he was there. Couple months later it did the same thing this time on a weekend and they wanted almost $200 to come look because it was after hours. I said I will wait until the work week. Again I reset the furnace so I could get heat in the meantime and because it did not trip again they wouldn't come switch it out. Now it is next heating season and our furnace went out again. It was the pressure switch error code again. This time I called Sedgwick and paid the almost $200 to come out to make sure that it was still showing the error. This time an installer named Tom came out who was the only positive thing this company has going for them. The installer was very friendly and wanted to help. At the end of the install he said his boss Mark told him he had to charge me $300 for the part because the 1 year warranty was up. I was forced to pay a total of $500 to repair a faulty part that was defective within 6 months of it being installed. Going to Aire-Flo's website they state it has a 5 year parts warranty but Sedgwick is only honoring 1 year. These guys are absolute crooks run to another company don't waste time with these guys.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking refund of the cost of the part/install. I'm willing to pay the trip fee but the repair should have been covered under warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2016/02/22) */ See Attached Document. Company sent copy of their response to Attorney General. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2016/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There response is completely inaccurate. The install tech never mentioned they were installing an aftermarket part or offered the option to wait for an OEM part. My furnace is also registered via aire-flo's website. Sedgwick heating are thieves and then lie about it. If they are unwilling to warranty the part directly I have no choice but dispute it either in court or with my credit card. I have already been told If I choose to pay the expense and time of bringing it to court Sedgwick is in violation of Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act, the federal law governing warranties on consumer products. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2016/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will accept the response as a fair resolution once you confirm what amount you are agreeing to reimburse. For the record all necessary maintenance has been completed as stated before it just has not been done by your company. The same people that service my Heating and AC at my commercial building I have do my home as well. I called you for this problem because you are the installer and I figured you would be the one to honor the warranty. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2016/03/04) */ After all bad reviews are taken down and verified with the exception of the BBB dispute. We will credit the $314 part and install to your original credit card. You will have to call in with the information as we do not keep cc numbers on file.

10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedgwick won't refund the money I paid them. They know my furnace is under warranty. On 8/11/2015 I called Sedgwick because the air conditioner stopped working. The technician said he needed a motor module to fit it and a credit card. I gave him my card number so he could proceed. He fixed it that day and said he would mail me the invoice. When I received the invoice I called Sedgwick 8/18/2015 to question why this wasn't covered under warranty. Laura said it was an air conditioning part and she would look into it. I called back three hours later and Mathew said the part number installed 10M08 was a furnace part. I have one year left on the furnace warranty. 8/19/2015 Laura called to say they don't have to honor the warranty because the company changed hands in 2011. It still and was always called Sedgwick. I also called Lennox, the furnace manufacture to confirm the furnace part number, which they did, and they told me the furnace was still under warranty. I have all the warranty documentation and records since it was installed in 6/27/2006. I have an unconditional warranty certificate from Sedgwick stating a ten year warranty. I don't believe I should be paying for anything still under warranty. They will not refund money I should have never paid in the first place. I only did it because the technician said the air conditioner wasn't in warranty and said I owed for the diagnosis and he couldn't continue unless I paid right then. I have work receipts that Sedgwick warrantied after 2011. What is the problem with this one?

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of the $884.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/20) */ This complaint is premature and we are still trying to resolve this internally. Customer part was entered into the manufacturer warranty site and was declined. Customer called manufacturer and they said it was warranty. We have a call into warranty department. If they approve the warranty we will credit customer for his repair excluding diagnostic charge. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Per my Sedgwick 2006 "Supreme Plan" Warranty Certificate: "2006 Warranty Terms" "Supreme Plan customers will receive a 10 Year Parts and Labor Warranty. The warranty covers the costs of any necessary repair in the first 10 years of operation. The warranty does not cover routine maintenance and cleaning. We recommend our Energy Savings Agreement for homeowners interested in keeping the Furnace and Air Conditioner running at maximum efficiency." That is everything on the certificate along with my customer name, furnace model number, installation date, etc. Based on this agreement, why would they exclude diagnostic charges as they would be covered under these 2006 warranty terms? From my last conversation with Sedgwick, they told me they did not need to honor the warranty since the company had changed hands in 2011 and lead me to believe that this issue was closed from their point of view. I appreciate that they are looking into the warranty, but I do still expect to receive a full refund based on Sedgwick's Supreme Plan 2006 Warranty Terms. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/08/21) */ No manufacturer covers diagnostic and trip charge in their warranty. Once Lennox approves the warranty we will be willing to credit customer for warranty part and install but not trip and diagnostic call. The warranty customer references covers cost of part and repair, not trip charge.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I will get rebate from Xcel Energy. October 22, 2013 Sedgwick istalled for my house heating and cooling system. Part of the deal was: They will file for a rebate and I will get some money from Xcel Energy. However, they have to come back and check of cooling efficiency when outside temperature reaches 70 degrees. Company representative came on 6/25/2014 and check the system informing me that I will get my rebate in 1-2 months. I waited until August 28, 2014. Nor arriving rebate check, I called the company about the rebate. To my astonishment I found out that the filing time is expired. Company representative used the argument That they called me 3 times and didn't get contact. I was entire time in town. Besides they could contact me via writing. They should inform me at the beginning that there is a due date. I believe that Sedgwick failed in their obligation to me. I believe that I am entitled to my rebate.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $300

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/10) */ Customer failed to give us his Xcel Energy customer number until after the rebate had expired. We called the customer three times: 7/7/14 - Customer Hung up on us 7/24/14 - Left Message 7/30/14-Left message and told him we needed it by 7/30/14 end of day as this was the last day to file a rebate. After three attempts we sent him the forms so he could fill it out himself and get it in. He was never eligible for a $300 rebate and per his contract it was a $150 rebate from Xcel Energy. This is not a rebate from Sedgwick or any of our manufacturers but from Xcel Energy and their requirements and timeline are out of our control. Because the customer failed to give us his Xcel energy number when requested it is his error in not getting the rebate. We did verify we were calling the right phone number and keep notes on these call attempts as we want our customers to get these rebates. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, Sedgwick representative argues that I hung up on them on 7/7/2014. Why should I do it? I am getting money. It does not make sense. Secondly, I am not aware of any message getting from them. Third, Sedgwick argues sending the document to me on time that I should file. It is not true. Proof for that is the attached envelope with document. Envelope has a date on it (09/03/2014). Yes they sent the document to me on September 3, 2014. I believe that they realized making the mistake. I scanned the envelope to show the date on it and I have the original envelope (with inside rebate form) with me. I am asking the company to honor their deal and send me my rebate. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/11) */ Due to the fact that this rebate is administered by another business and not in our control it is not our liability. However, I will agree to giving customer a one year plus plan to resolve this complaint. The value of the plan is $219 and therefore exceeds his rebate amount. Annual maintenance is required by all equipment manufacturers to maintain warranty so this is a more than fair offer to resolve this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Sedgwick Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart