BBB Accredited Business since

Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc.

Phone: (952) 403-1110 Fax: (952) 403-1117 12912 Ventura Ct Ste 21, Shakopee, MN 55379 http://www.Quality-Heating.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 1999 Business started: 10/01/1998 Business started locally: 10/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Robert Rezac, President Mark Guy, Vice President James Hunt, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Robert Rezac, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Radon Testing & Service Radon Mitigation Furnace Sales & Service Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Service Area
Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc. provides their services in APPLE VALLEY, BELLE PLAINE, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, COLOGNE, CROWN COLLEGE, EAGAN, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, EXCELSIOR, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HEIDELBERG, HOPKINS, JORDAN, LAKEVILLE, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, NEW PRAGUE, NORWOOD, PLATO, PRIOR LAKE, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, VICTORIA, WACONIA, WAYZATA & YOUNG AMERICA, MN. South and South West Metro of Minneapolis
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc., this company offers repair and install to furnaces and boilers. Also including humidifiers, air exchangers, air purifiers for residential, commercial and industrial.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Additional Locations

  • 12912 Ventura Ct Ste 21

    Shakopee, MN 55379 (952) 403-1110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quality heating and air is Advertised in the phone book for free estimates. and we are now getting a charge from them for not using them. On Thursday, July 17th was the date of service. Make ****** Model 561CJXXXXXXXADAA, ******* Serial 3498EXXXXX, XXXXXX. the charge was $90.00

Desired Settlement: we would like a full refund for not being able to preform the service until a week after the service estimate.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ Quality Heating was called by ****** because her air conditioner was not cooling properly. When ****** called to set up the appointment, she did not mention that she wanted a quote on diagnosing the cause of her air conditioner not work properly. If she would have stated that fact, the staff at Quality Heating would have advised her that service calls to diagnosis equipment not operating properly are not quotes but are in fact service calls and are chargeable. Our service tech drove to ******'s home and tested her air conditioning system and found it was low on refrigerant and the A-Coil needed to be replaced. To diagnosis her air conditioner was a chargeable service call which should have been collected at the time our tech was at her home. However, ****** told our tech she would proceed with the coil replacement which he quoted while at her home. Quality Heating is quite backed up with jobs currently scheduled and ****** was told we would be a week out to do the replacement, which is approximately a 4 hour job. Quality Heating is not charging ****** for an estimate nor for not using our company, we are charging her for diagnosing what was wrong with her system. That was a service call not a quote. ****** did not pay the $90.00 at the time of the service call, but did order the replacement A-Coil. At that point there would not have been a charge on the original call because the initial service call is included in the A-Coil replacement charge. Quality Heating incurred additional cost because of the short height of the A-Coil. We had a worker drive to New Hope from Shakopee to purchase the replacement coil before ****** called and cancelled the appointment that she had previously made for the installation. This cancellation then required a return of the A-Coil to our vendor - which was another trip. Heating contractors cannot give free quotes on diagnosis of air conditioners and furnaces without knowing what is wrong with the system. ****** did not know what the problem was with her system. After knowing what is needed, any company could quote her a replacement coil from the service call that we provided to ******. If ****** paid another service company to diagnosis and replace the coil on her system after Quality Heating that did not dismiss the bill from our company. This call would still be due to us which is a $90.00 initial service call. If the repair would have been service parts like motor, capacitor, contactor or like service parts the service tech would have repaired and had ******'s system working during that initial call. The A-Coil is half the air conditioning system located inside furnace plenum and requires purchasing the correct match for her system, picking up the coil and scheduling installation to install. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't except their response, I feel this company does bad business. I feel like they made the consumer (me) at their mercy. When I called, there should've been a better understanding of what it was going to cost for them to come to my house for an estimate and how long it was going to be until they could get the job completed. Also I question why they said it was going to be $872 dollars to fix but then we got a bill for $90.00 strongly question that charge?

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took them 4 trips to fix problem and I received a verbal promise that I wouldn't be charged for the last 2 visits. I am being charged for those. I called Quality to fix furnace that wasn't working. The furnace worked briefly and they were called back the first 2 visits were after hours and I was charged "emergency" rates. They kept finding other problems and finally realized on the 4th visit that the cold air return was blocked. I was promised that I would not be charged for the last visit and now I am being charged for those visits. This comes after I made a trip to the emergency room for CO poisoning. I did not know that they were charging me for the last 2 visits until I called them back to fix a gas fireplace. When the tech finished he said the bill was $845.00. For the visit today I was charged $200.00 labor (1.5 hours) and $95.00 for parts. The remainder of the bill was for the two visits I was told I would not be charged for. Both of those visits were during normal business hours.

Desired Settlement: I think I have been taken advantage of and should not have been charged for their incompetence. As professionals they should have been able to identify the problem without making 4 trips and certainly should not have charged me because they could not figure it out. At the hourly rate they are charging I could have purchased a new furnace.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/20) */ To whom it concerns: Business Info: Quality Heating & Air Services XXXXX Ventura Court #21 Shakopee, MN XXXXX Quality Heating's first service call (Invoice # XXXXX copy included) to the home of ***** ******* was on 11/4/13, she called and stated that she had no heat from her Slant Fin boiler_ We told her at this point we would be out that same day to take care of it and if she wished to have a fall tune up that her utility company Center Point Energy would give her a $25.00 rebate which she agreed to do. The service technician (*****) arrived at her home on that same day 11/4/13, the technician found the pilot assembly to be very dirty, so he removed and cleaned the pilot assembly and ignitor. At this point the system was operating properly. He also found the temp/pressure gauge was defective and recommended that it be changed out, but was not given the ok to do so from the home owner. The second service call on 11/14/13 (Invoice # *****) ***** reported there was water on the basement floor near the boiler. When the service technician (***) arrived the door had been left open so he entered, and found water on the floor by the boiler. He tested the water on the floor and found that there was no boiler anti-freeze in it as there was in the boiler water, therefore it was determined it did not come from the boiler. He checked the boiler water and found it to be at proper level and the antifreeze was good to -20 degree Fahrenheit. He explained to ***** that the he believed the water was from the water softener as it regenerates on a basis of need and deposits water at the drain by the boiler. At this time he re-confirmed that the temp/pressure gauge on the boiler was inoperative as found at the previous service call on 1114/13 and recommended to the home owner that it needed to be replaced. ***** agreed to have it replaced, *** explained that the part was not stocked on the truck and it would have to be ordered and replaced on a return trip, which ***** agreed to. *** returned the next day 11/15/13 with the gauge, once again the door was left open and no one was home. Once the gauge was installed *** talked with ***** on the phone and gave her the complete cost of the repair including parts and labor, ***** stated she would either drop off a check or put one in the mail. *** left the customer copy of the invoice on the kitchen counter. Quality Heating did not receive a check from her and sent out a statement on 1/1/14 including services charges, a payment in the form of a personal check was received on 1/30/14, but the service charge of S2.82 was not paid. On 11/22/13 Quality Heating received a call from the ******* residents and told that their boiler was not working and there was water on the floor. The technician (****) found that the draft proving switch was tripped, he reset the draft proving switch and checked the chimney cap which was open. He further checked and found the intake hood on the outside of the house had been removed and the inlet for the combustion air intake was covered by cement steps -- leaving the intake ductwork in place in the basement giving the appearance of the combustion air was functional. **** propped open the window in the basement to allow fresh combustion air into the basement so the wood burning fireplace and boiler would work properly and not put the house in a negative pressure thereby creating the down draft through the chimney flue and possibly burn the oxygen from inside the house. At this time the boiler was drafting properly. **** checked and saw that the water level on the boiler was correct and had not lost any water. **** stated that he thought that the water was coming from the water softener. **** than poured water down the drain finding that it drained very slowly and needed to be cleaned out by a plumber (Quality Heating does not do plumbing), that the water on the floor was more than likely caused by the softener when it cycled, and the water could not drain properly. ***** was with the technician the entire time, and he explained everything to her. At this time she asked **** to take a look at their gas fireplace upstairs. After examining the fireplace it was determined that the power pile was defective and needed to be replaced. She informed **** that she would leave the house open for him 11/26/13 so he could come back and replaced the power pile on the fireplace. **** went to the house on 11/26/13 but the door was locked and there was no one home (Quality Heating did not charge ***** for a no-show). At this point the service technicians became extremely busy as the weather became very cold and service calls for homes with no heat completely filled our schedule. Therefore Quality Heating was unable to return to the ******* home to repair the fireplace due to the heavy work load with priority given to homes with no heat over other jobs. On 11/28/13 Thanksgiving Day the service technician on call (***) received a call from *****, she stated that her boiler was not working, they discussed the fact that **** had just been out to her home (11/22/13) and if the call was related to the work he performed that there would not be an additional charge, but if it didn't pertain then it would be an overtime holiday charge. He arrived to find her open wood fireplace with a very strong fire which was causing a back draft in the furnace chimney, even with the window behind the wash tubs cracked open. *** opened the window further to allow more combustion air to enter the house, and reset the chimney spill switch. *** then discovered the ignition control would send a spark to the pilot but there was no gas reaching the pilot, and no 24 volt to the pilot valve. *** replaced the ignition control, the boiler was now operating normally. *** also spoke with ***** about the fireplace's need for combustion air and the 6" fresh air that was installed for the boiler might not be enough combustion air for the fireplace and furnace that additional fresh air may be needed. Also discussed the facts, that the original combustion air was still blocked by the cement steps, and therefore there was no combustion air entering the house except for the open window. This could be dangerous as it could allow the back drafting (as was found that day) of flue gas through the chimney and also could use up the oxygen in the home. *** also discussed with ***** the fact that the repairs that he had done today (11/28/13) (replacement of the faulty ignition control) were not relates to the work that **** had performed on 11/22/13 and therefore were chargeable and were her responsibility to pay. *** informed her that though it was not related he discounted his time at the house from 1 hour down to 1/2 hour. *** only charged for the time to diagnose and repair the boiler. He did not charge for the time spent explaining the situation or for adjusting of the window. On 3/7114 **** went to the ******* home and replaced the faulty powerpile in the upstairs fireplace and checked its operation, which was now operating properly. When **** presented the invoice to ***** for the work that was performed at her home on 11/22/13, 11/28/13 and that day 3/7/14 (all of which are on invoice XXXXX) for $837.00 she stated she had sent checks for the November service calls and became very upset. **** called *** at the office to check and see which invoices had been paid, *** found no payment for any of the service calls on invoice XXXXX, Copies of all the Invoices are attached. ***** produced two service tickets the first one from 11/4/XX (XXXXX) which was the one covering the Fall check and the first no heat situation, and the one from 11/14&15/XX (XXXXX) which was the call for water on the floor and which we replaced the temp/pressure gauge on the boiler. Both of these were paid for and were not included on the total on invoice XXXXX, as shown on the attached copies. At this time she became agitated and raised her voice stating that she was not going to pay for the service calls on 11/22/13 and 11/28/13 and would only pay for today's services call 3/7/14 of $295.00. She stated that she believed we were trying to gouge her. **** tried to explain to her the situation and what had occurred during the previous service calls that she was refusing to pay for, at that time she cut **** off and using an elevated tone, stated for **** not to talk any more_ At this time **** was sitting at the kitchen table by the living room and she went to the kitchen area and put the check book and receipts from 11/4/13 & 11/15/14 in a file cabinet, the cabinet and kitchen area where **** was seated were about are approximately 15-20 feet apart. As **** was documenting on the Invoice the amount paid ($295.00) with the check number to give ***** her receipt, she stated she felt threatened and **** needed to leave_ **** tried to explain to her that he was just filling out her receipt; ***** abruptly cut him off again and told him not to say another word and to get out of her house. At that time **** picked up the service ticket and the check she had given him and immediately left the house. As **** was leaving in his truck he became stuck in the driveway, (the driveway is a shared driveway and is approximately 45' long) the snow pack in her driveway was 6"-8" deep with ice between the snow levels and the temperature was warming so the snow was becoming very mushy. At this time **** called into the office and requested that someone drive out to assist getting his truck out of the driveway. *** arrived and pulled into the shared section of the driveway and also became stuck in the deep snow pack. *** used a small amount of sand from a bare spot next to the driveway to help free his truck. **** was in his truck finishing the paper work when ***** walked out to ****'s truck and opened his passenger **** and stated in a raised voice she wanted the original part for the fireplace and a copy of the service ticket and for **** to leave them at the front door, she then slammed the door shut. ***** took about four steps turned around and came back to ****'s truck opened the passenger **** again and said she would be sending a bill for the cost of the driveway repairs and once and again slammed the door and walked away. The driveway is made of gravel and Quality Heating does not believe there was any damage to the driveway caused by either truck, as they never reached down to the driveway surface. **** finished filling out the service ticket and placed a copy of the invoice (XXXXX) along with the faulty powerpile under a bag of what was believed to be birdseed at her front door. Once ***'s truck was free he pushed ****'s truck by hand to help free ****'s truck from the driveway. Both service technicians than left. ****'s truck was stuck in the driveway for about 1 hour. Quality Heating has not received any further payments or any direct contact from ***** after the last time we were there, and before we received the complaint form from the Better Business Bureau. ****** ***** President Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc XXXXX Ventura Court Suite 21 Shakopee, MN XXXXX Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXXXXXX Qualityequality-heating.corn www.Quality-heating.corn Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The attached document supports the proof that it took 4 trips to notice the cold air return for a gas furnace was blocked. It is my belief that this shows their incompetence in diagnosing problems. I was unaware that I owed them for the last 2 visits, and was told that I would NOT be charged for the 2nd two, only for parts. The man that was here even joked about not noticing that the return was blocked and joked about carbon monoxide poisoning. That same man was here to fix the gas fireplace and I asked him to leave 4 times before he actually left. On one of the "emergency visits" he was made aware that I was recently widowed and it is my belief that they took advantage of that knowledge to scam me. I certainly will not recommend them to anyone else, and will do my very best to get the word out about how I have been overcharged for their incompetence. It took them months to get here to fix the gas fireplace, but moments to get another truck here when he got stuck in the driveway. I am more than willing to pay for the parts they claim to have replaced (I only saw the gauge), but after the first two trips they should have guaranteed that my furnace would at the very least continue to work. We have owned the house for 13 years and have never had problems with the wood fire disrupting the furnace function and I told him that when he suggested that it was the problem, I also informed him that we had only built the fire to warm the house when the furnace did not function AGAIN. The facts reported in their response are horribly skewed to disguise their incompetence. I paid for the first two visits for the furnace and the last visit to repair the gas fireplace. Apparently overcharging customers is more important to this company than integrity or getting the job done correctly. Perhaps I am just too naive to believe that companies or people like this actually do exist. They are a shining example that I was wrong.I suppose if I had succumbed to carbon monoxide they would only be concerned about collecting and take no responsibility what so ever. I have emergency medical documentation that my carbon monoxide levels were elevated up to 3 days after they finally found the problem. I take that very seriously. It is unfortunate that they do not. I certainly do not blame them for the initial problem, but am astounded by the incompetence at diagnosing it promptly.Even after it was discovered, they did not recommend a CO detector, the plumber did.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Heating & Air Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)