BBB Accredited Business since

Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (952) 737-6465 Fax: (952) 767-9110 View Additional Phone Numbers 7415 Cahill Rd, Edina, MN 55439 http://www.prontoheat.com/bbb



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

47 Customer Reviews on Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 46
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 47

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Wade Sedgwick, President
Contact Information
Principal: Wade Sedgwick, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating In-floor Heating Duct & Duct Fittings Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Thermostats Air Quality Service Water Heater - Tankless Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Supplies & Parts Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Humidifying Apparatus Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Balancing Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Mechanical Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing

Service Area
Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLUMBUS, CRYSTAL, EAGAN, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELK RIVER, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HOPKINS, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLEWOOD, MARGIE, MEDICINE LAKE, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, NAVARRE, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NORTH OAKS, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, RAMSEY, RICHFIELD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LK, WOOD LAKE & WOODBURY, MN.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc., this company offers residential server only same day repair/maintenance service of furnaces & air conditioners, installation of furnaces, air conditioners, humidifiers, air cleaners, thermostats, air purifiers, furnaces & air duct cleaning.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7415 Cahill Rd

    Edina, MN 55439 (952) 737-6465

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was called a liar when I complained about furnace installation. When the unit was removed, items belonging to us were taken or left unsafe. When I expressed concerns about the duct work on my new furnace/air conditioning unit (done on Aug.22, 2013), I was accused of lying. The initial effort to do some repair did not actually correct the problem (the leaky joints were simply covered with a large quantity of tape that is easily removed and doesn't last long-term.) Since the company didn't offer to redo the duct work, I requested removal of the unit, as the company's guarantee states. After a couple of unpleasant phone conversations, the company agreed to remove the unit. I thanked them for honoring their guarantee, and assured them I had no intention of giving them bad publicity. A few days later, two technicians came to remove the unit. One of them was pleasant and told my wife we would still have hot water that night. The other seemed angry, and avoided speaking to her for the most part. My wife offered them water before they left and thanked them for honoring their guarantee. After they left, we were surprised to see the situation in our basement. The following day, another company came to install a new furnace/air unit. They had given us an estimate two days prior, when we still had the unit from Pronto. They said that the way Pronto left our house when removing their unit required them to do at least $500 worth of extra work. They observed that many things had been left in a way that deliberately made their job more difficult. Some things were left unsafe, or not up to code. My concerns are as follows: Our out-side electrical box was taken from off the side of the house, and wires were left hanging openly. This area is a courtyard where young children play in our town-home complex. Someone could have been electrocuted. The bird cap required by code was never put on our exhaust pipe by Pronto. The wires to connect the thermostat were stuffed deep into the wall, and the second company had to fish them out. Our water heater exhaust vent had been stolen and our water heater had been turned off in order to prevent us from using the hot water that was left in our tank. When Pronto removed the freon lines to the air conditioner, they left an open hole in the side of our house, where a rodent could have entered. Two uncapped electrical wires were left hanging from the ceiling down to just above the floor. The second company had to call an electrician because of all the unexpected electrical work they needed to redo. One of the main reasons we decided to go with Pronto was their warrantee. My wife was told that it would be 10 years parts and labor. After the installation, we read the fine print of the paperwork and discovered it said only 5 years. My final concern is regarding payment. When Pronto initially came to do an estimate on Aug. 21, they charged $119. They explained that this would go toward the total of $7000 if we chose to go with their company. The tech explained that if we called him that same day, he would simply return or void our check. We did call to commit with them that same evening. Upon installation the following day, we financed the full $7000. So we assumed, of course, that our check had been voided. Later we discovered that it had been cashed. We were never refunded.

Desired Settlement: None requested

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/01) */ “The following information was provided in hard copy and had been converted to text.” Pronto installers,*** ******* ****** Determan, ********* arrived at the ********* home on Thursday 8/22/13 and removed the old heating&air conditioning equipment and installed the new Bryant heating & air conditioning equipment The Pronto installers said the installation went well and informed the .office that the customer was happy. .On Friday 8/23/13the Pronto Office arranged to have technician, Keith Freemark, back to the '********* home'to pick up'the signed *********-stated that he thought 'there too much air leakage coming from the new ductwork in the basement requested that the 'Pronto technician seal the duct work When he stopped by. Keith arrived at the ********* home at 4:20PM on Frday,-S/2-3/13 and used duct scrape to seal the duct joints where Mr. ********* had concerns. These are approve duct seeking methods every mechanical inspector in Minnesota approves of these methods. Keith also picked up the signed consumer financing forms during this visit. On Saturday at PM Pronto owner, **** ********, received a phone call from Mr. *********, Mr. ********* explained that he was not happy with the look of the duct work in the basement and requested that Pronto return equipment and refund the money. ****-explained that Pronto-Would be happy to rework the duct work to his satisfaction and after much baek. Mr. Rodrguez agreed to speaks on Sunday to arrange a return conversations Mr. *********** not want Promo back to his home to perform the requested duct modifications. ********************** Pronto wil! do whatever necessary & Pronto will stay at onwed'nesday workand make all of'lVlr. Rodrlguezkrequested changes. ' **** also suggested that we'schedule'the Brooklyn Park city Mechanical Inspector for the same visit sp wewou'ld Ihave -anndependent ehlrd party'present to provide lnput. On Mr. ********* called Pronto said he had changed 'his mind. 'Mr'. Rodrguez said thatihe only acceptable resolution for Pronto toremove the new Bryant equipment from home and refund the purchase price. (One Note'on .the purchase amount @57,000 Pronto never-submitted the financing papers-toour'fnancnggpartner, GE Money and Mn *********-was never-.charged a penny for'the original instalaton or the subsequent removai ofithe equipment.) Pronto agreed to .send an .nstaiation crew to the ________________ ________________ ********* homeon Wednesday 8/28/13 to remove all of the equipment. This day Was'picked by Mr. '********* and> it was explained that Pronto would remove all ofthe equipment & parts involved in the original installation'. lt was also .explained that the ********* family would obviously be without.airconditioning, heating, waer uniil new equipment was installed' and of the exhaustve'nting was Completed. On Tuesday 8/27/-13v Mr. Rodriguezsenthe following e-mail. (Also Attached). Vm sorry that our phoneconversatons didn-t go so wall. l had *** from Liberty come look, `and he actually complmentedyour system and said the .only thing las-would have done ' ' differently would be to use silver- caulking atihe jonts., l truly/.appreciate you complying with youguarantee 'of vcustomer satisfaction. i wahl: to 'assure you that I wllspeak well of your I'0n Wednesday8/28/13 Pronto .sent `nwoinstallation echncians to remove'the new ****** 10. nothing iess. The Promo technicians were'carefui -to turn 'the electrical .brea kersn'ff'tohe- heatngand cooling circuits,l The Pronto technicians Awere also careful'fo vrum _off the water heater. and vexplain that the water heater notbe 'operational untii the ********* famiiyv hired `another:company'tc properlywent :the water heater. 'The-work are-a was left dean. Pronto not. request that Pronto remove some of the .equipment materials, he request-ed that we remove all .of the nem/equipment, parts, ,and 'materials that WereorignallyEnstailed on'Thursday '8/22/13. With regard tothe. electrcan,'Pronto hires an veectric'ian on every one of our new instalations and company" would havehad to do the same..un!ess they were Aperforming nstailationswthout'the proper city & :state permits. y ________________ ________________ - o Mr. Rodrguez had an old AC that was not working on 'a hot day. 'Pronto sent afservce technician Within 24 hours of the initial call. v Mr. Rodrguez decided to purchase a new system from Pronto. Pronto rearranged the ' ' installation schedule and installed a `new system the next day for'Mr. Mr. *********. complained about air leakage from newrductworlc in the basement. ' Pronto sent a techncan to the ********* home on the-same clay ofthe complaint. e Mr, ********* phoned on 'a Saturday & Sunday to express his-unhappiness. Pronto always answered the phone calls and attempted to work out asolution. 0 lVlr. '********* requested that Pronto remove che new equipment rather than allowing - Ponto to make modicatons io she new system. Pronto removed 'the new ****** equipmenthatwas Working perfecy Mr. ********* was never charged for the' ' work. I l@ Pronto incurred $4,500 of nonrecoverabie expenses by atempngro do business with Mr, *********. ' _ v o l Mc ********* pad'oniy XXXXX trip-cha ige-for the initiai service technician Ivisit @his home. This .$3.19 fee-Was quoted up front. " After all of this Mr. ********* stili writesto the BBB to e if there vexis'ceci a forum for businesses to report shady, unethica, Ei-unreasonabie ' ' consumers- Mr. ********* would make front page headines. over 25'years of business, l have never encnuntered a more unreasonable customer than Mr. Rodrguez. works extremey hard everyday to customer we Work with. We'have a "no ioose ends policy and we fake care of eveh the smallest issues immediately'. 4We areupront and transparent. We foiowail city & state reguiatonsand perform afi work "bythe book" and every city mechanca *inspector in the sings our praise. **** ******** Owner-President Pronto Heating & ________________ ________________ Gv! ******** Prto ating l From: v pabo'*******@gmal.com Sent: Tuesday, 27, XXXX X:XX AM _ To: **********@gmail.com - Subject: ' Pronto Contact Us Request . Pronto Contact Us Request: First Name: ***** Last Name : ********* Address : City : State : Zip: Email.: Phone : Best time to cali : Message 1 sorry that ourphone conversations. go .so weIL had Jim Afrom. Liberty come out to look, and he actually complimented your system and said the only thing he would have done differently would beto use silver. caulklng E truly appreciate-you complying with you guarantee of customersatsfacon. l Want to >assure you that l will spak well of your company\s guarantee, and will not give _you any bad publicity. l considered keeppng your` .sex/ice, butbecause of our conversaion i no longer-feit comfortable doing so. Also, it was atthat po'intthai: my wife saw the :original proposai for the rst'time and she notice that thai warranty imv iabor and parts was much iess than she had been told ,at the nitiai estimate appointment. Keith was a pleasure to work with, and thank you for backing up your service. Fabio ********* A - _ ________________ ________________ To Reorder. Contac'*** Concents at BBB-.XXXXXXXX ________________ ________________ XXXXX ________________ ________________ sf August 21, 201.3 Prepared by **** ******** _ Pmpbsai/Agreemen :Prepared especially for; Fabio ********* V7434 Hampshire Ave N Brooklyn Park, MN XXXXX Promo v7588v Washington Ave Eden Prairie, MN .XXXXX . Vice President t XXX-XXX-XXXX ? -Cell XXX-XXX-XXXX Accepted; The above prices, specifications and conditions are satisfactory and arehereby accepted. Date f Acceptance by AH promotional discounts and give-aways factored into discount ________________ ________________ :City :Ji-Brooklyn Park . 'Permit Number: 2MB-XXXXXXXX Date Issued: HEY/2013 Permit Type: R'E-R Permit Description: :Repiamen't HVAC Res Permit l $69.00 Deszriptinn ofwork: ****************** Perm User-Defined .Fieldsz Site Address: 7634 H


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

47 Customer Reviews on Pronto Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart