This business is not BBB accredited.

MWJ Heating & Cooling, LLC

Phone: (651) 438-2665 Fax: (651) 437-2889 View Additional Phone Numbers 1110 Highway 55 # 103, Hastings, MN 55033 http://www.mwjheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

heating & cooling


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MWJ Heating & Cooling, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MWJ Heating & Cooling, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 12/16/2005 in MN Business started locally: 12/16/2005 Business incorporated 12/16/2005 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mark Johnson, Owner Dustin Siller, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Thermostats Fireplaces Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Ventilating Systems - Cleaning Boilers - New & Used Ventilating Equipment Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by MWJ Heating & Cooling, this company offers residential and light commercial heating and air conditioning service and repairing. Serving the Metro area. Also specializes in duct cleaning service.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1110 Highway 55 # 103

    Hastings, MN 55033 (651) 438-2665 (651) 325-6554 (651) 226-6347

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2010, I had MWJ installed a new Carrier Infinity gas furnace in our home. At the beginning January of this year (2015) we began to have a couple of problems with the furnace. I called MWJ several times, left messages, but was not called back. I ended up having another company troubleshoot the problem. As it turns out, it was the Inducer Motor Assembly that was going bad. The other company gave me a quote of $1200 and suggested that I call the installer as it may be under warranty because it had been under 5 years since the install. I took their advice as I certainly couldn't see spending $1200 on top of the $4400 it cost me to install it less than 5 years earlier. I got a hold of **** (MWJ) on a Thurs (Jan 15th I believe) to which he replied that they have been having a lot of problems with that particular part, and yes he would come replace it under warranty the following Monday ( he did mention that it would cost me a service charge, to which I agreed). Monday morning I received a voice mail from **** stating that the part was "on a truck" somewhere and that he would call me later that day to confirm when he would be able to return (He stated he didn't want me waiting around for him all day, which I respected). I never did hear back from ****. I have called numerous times and left several voice mails asking him to simply return my call and let me know what is going on with the part. **** wouldn't answer my calls (blocking them). The following Monday, he did answer a call from my wife (different phone number) and explained to her that the part STILL was not in, but that he expected it by Tues or Wed of that week and that he would call when it came in. He never called again. After several more calls and messages, I finally got him on the phone last Thursday (Feb 13th) and he confirmed that the part did arrive and that it was in Bloomington, MN. He asked if Monday Feb 16th would work for me to install it and I confirmed that I could make that work. He stated that he would be there by 9:30 am and that it would be a quick 10 minute install. My wife re-arranged her schedule and I arranged to be home from work if need be to let him in. Much to our surprise, **** never called and never showed up again! Yesterday, (2/17) the furnace finally stopped working all together and I was forced to have another company come and fix it (because again...I CANNOT get a hold of MWJ) at the tune of over $1000. Surprisingly, this company didn't have the part in stock either, but mentioned that it would only take a few hours to get one. My wife and young children had to sleep in a house with no heat during one of the coldest nights of the year last night, all because we have been lied to, deceived and now left a thousand dollars in the hole, by **** ******* of MWJ. I have never been lied to in such a callous and disrespectful manor by anyone I know...especially a business. If I would have known that he wasn't going to cover the part that was under warranty like he said he would, than I would have had the part replaced much sooner so as not to risk spending a night without heat! Because he confirmed that he had ordered the part...and later confirmed that the part was in, I didn't want to trouble another company with ordering until I heard back from MWJ. I am not sure what his problem is, but it is absolutely uncalled for to treat costumers with so much disrespect that you cannot or will not even warrant them a call back. I feel that for him to arrange actual appointment times to install this warrantied part and then not call or show up is unacceptable and he needs to refund me for the price of the part...which he was going to cover under warranty anyway. Thank you so much for your time. I am willing to provide any other information to help resolve this extremely frustrating scenario.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2015/04/08) */ It did take a awhile to get the part, showed up to house the next monday, no one home, have not heard from him since, now 2 months later I get email from BBB, if he has old part I can still warranty it out at no charge. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2015/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, I find it hard to believe it took weeks to get a part when 2 other companies I contacted had it available the next day (even though they didn't have it in stock). More importantly, my wife rearranged her schedule to be home specifically for **** on Monday at 9:00am. I called our house on the hour to speak with my wife as I assumed he would not show up (again, this is not the first time he hasn't responded). Also, I attempted to contact **** at 9:37am on Monday 2/9 as well as 1:27pm 2/10, and 1:30PM on 2/11. None of my calls where answered (clearly blocking my number), and none of my messages were returned. I called several more times as well, but not enough space here to document every one of them...trust me. I find it quite convenient that he is offering to replace the part now. My complaint clearly states that I had to have another company replace it as my furnace went out on one of the coldest nights in Feb, and I had no choice as **** and MWJ clearly weren't going to do their job. I have plenty of records/witnesses to show how many attempts to reach MWJ prior to the furnace going out...and after it had gone out! Clearly I do not have the old part, as the company who replaced it discarded it, and I ALREADY have a new motor. I am asking that MWJ refund me the cost of having to have it replaced (just under $1100). I was very disappointed with the ordeal to begin with, however, now I am even more frustrated that he would insinuate that he showed up and nobody was home (again...rearranged work to accomodate his arrival!)...keep in mind we were absolutely looking forward to him fixing this because it was under warranty and I didn't want to hire anybody else! Also, is it common for a business to make an appt, show up only to find nobody home, and then not even attempt to contact the customer? That is what MWJ is saying happened because, I have no calls coming from MWJ (phone records to prove it). I assume that this will take another month or so to be responded to as that seems to be status quo for MWJ. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again...I have NO misunderstanding of the warranty, that is the least of my misunderstanding with this case. What I can't understand is why MWJ refused to answer my numerous calls and refused to show up to an appointment they had scheduled on TWO seperate occasions. I cannot understand why MWJ said they would install a part under warranty and then intentionally avoid contact with the customer for WEEKS on end. I cannot understand why it is so complicated for a company to understand that I OBVIOUSLY DO NOT HAVE the old part....as it was replaced after it broke down after weeks of waiting for them to fix it....FORCING me to hire a reputable company to do their work albeit at a huge financial cost to me! I am no longer interested in warranty talk, as MWJ's irresponsible workmanship has forced me to pay out of pocket for the part in question. It is as simple as this...1.)a part you installed and warranty was failing. 2.) I contacted you to fix said part, which you agreed to do. 3.) After not showing up in a timely fashion (2 weeks!?), I made countless attempts to contact you through email, and phone, and going so far as to rearrange work schedules to meet you at our house at a time YOU designated 4.) After weeks of you not showing up to fix it, the part broke on a cold February night (P.S. not fun keeping two young children warm with a broken furnace!). 5.) I was FORCED to hire somebody to fix it at a cost of nearly $1100. (Amazingly, this company was able to get the part the next day, as MWJ struggled for weeks to find one) THAT, is the whole story. I want to be refunded the cost of the part and installation, which through MWJ's neglect, I was forced to pay out of pocket. I certainly am not satisfied with the response, as that is EXACTLY what I was told over the phone 2 months ago...while my furnace was still working! The word of this company has lost all value with me, now all I want is to be compensated for what I have spent due to their absolute neglect, and I have no other intentions. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2015/04/11) */ The only thing we can do from the manufacturer is to give you a new part at no charge, They have stated we would not need the old one, Part cost is $329.87 per manufacturer. They will not pay another companies mark up and labor. If this still does not satisfy ***** there is nothing else we can do. We can ship the part out. It is unfortunate that he paid $1100 but we are in no way responsible for that. Sorry for the inconvenience.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on MWJ Heating & Cooling, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)