Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2009

Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.

Phone: (952) 314-4662Fax: (952) 767-1900View Additional Phone Numbers2200 Highway 13 W, BurnsvilleMN 55337-6024 Send email to Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2009

BBB has determined that Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

24 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 21
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 24 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
02/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scheduled a free service call, charge $99.00 for the service. Being told there is no warranty on this service call
Service call on 1-15-15
Job# **********
We called for a free service call to look at the toilet. The plumber looked at it, did a few thing and thought it was fixed. The charge for the free call was 99.00.

We called the plumber but did not receive a call back.
Genz-Ryan customer service called as a follow up I asked to gave someone come back out and was told we would be charged a service call. I explained that we had already paid 99.00 for a free service call. She said that



Desired Settlement
Service date 1-15-15
Job# **********
We called and scheduled a free service call. A plumber came to the house and looked at our toilet with my husband. They did some repairs and thought it was fixed. We paid 99.99 for the call.
The toilet was not fixed and we called the plumber back using his card he gave us. No return call. A few days later a customer service representative from Genz-Ryan called.. I asked to have someone come back out to look at the toilet. I was told we had no warranty and would be charged a service call.

Business Response
I called ******* this morning. I have offered to waive our service call charge to go back to the home and diagnosis the work needed. Our plumber would then provide them with options for the repair. The repair would not be for free but the service call charge would be. She is going to speak with her husband and call us back.

09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Genz Ryan performed a routine annual AC tune up on August 1st 2014, by August 5th there was water leaking from a pipe into my living room.


On August 1st 2014 ***** from Genz Ryan was at my home to perform a routine annual tune up of my AC system. by August 8th there was water leaking from a pipe connected to the ac unit and it was dripping down my living room wall and onto the floor. I put a bucket under the pipe to stop the leaking and immediatly called genz ryan and told them the problem and that I had just had it serviced, I was told that the soonest they could get out would be the following wednesday 8/13, I asked for them to come out on Saturday 8-9 and was told that saturday's were for emergencys and they were all full. I hung up.

On Friday evening 8/8/14 I contacted one hour heating and plumbing and they were able to come out on Saturday morning for $159.000. They came and told me the pipe had not been put back together properly causing water to leak. They were able to fix it and stop the leak.

I have tride calling *** **** (owner) twice, most recently 8/29/14 to report and resolve the issue but he has not returned my calls.

Desired Settlement
The $159 I paid for a Saturday service call from another company and the $29 groupon price i paid for the service from Genz Ryan itself. total $188.00

Business Response
We have spoken with ****** and have agreed to give him a refund of $188 as her requested. We will send him a check. We apologize for the inconvenience that was caused by this issue and hope to continue to be a service provider for him in the future.

06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a Carrier AC unit with a known evaporator coil issue that is two months outside the warranty period, and Genz Ryan will not cover repairs.
I purchased a new home March 24th of 2012. At the time of purchase I was given a 2 year warranty from Genz Ryan on my entire HVAC system. As the weather turned nice this spring I went to turn on our A/C unit, manufacturer Carrier/model number CA13NA042-B/serial number 2011E27809, to find it not performing properly. After reaching out to Genz Ryan on May 27th they asked me if I had an service program because my 2 year warranty had not expired two months prior in March. Unaware of any service program I informed them no, and they told me I would be responsible for a servic charge and any additional repairs. Frustrated I turned the unit off for a couple of days and decided to try it again later. When I turned the unit on, May 30th, it appeared to be functioning normally. When I awoke the next morning I noticed the temperature in our home was much higher than the desired setting and came to the realization that the problem still persisted. I then submitted a claim request through the Genz Ryan website requesting a service on our unit utilizing a $59 tune up coupon they had available on their website. They did respond back promptly, however I was told the earliest they could have someone out to our home was 2-3 weeks and I would be responsible for a $199 emergency service charge. They did mention they could schedule me out 3-4 weeks and hold their coupon price of $59 service charge fee. Not able to wait this long, I had to reach out to another service provider. I was able to reach Peak Heating and Cooling on June 2nd, and paid $87 for a diagnostic the next day. Upon their arrival they found the evaporator coil and TXV were faulty and suggested I contact Genz Ryan to see if there is anything they could do being that the unit was till so new and the labor repair would be in the ball park of $800-$1000. I then reached out to Genz Ryan via their website and e-mail on June 3rd. I asked all communication be done via e-mail for documentation. After a series of back and forth e-mails with Autumn Brekke in customer service, Genz Ryan did nothing for me other than offer a diagnostic appoitment for the week of June 9th as opposed to the 2-3 week lead time they had originally given me, plus the charge was now $99 as opposed to the coupon rate I had previously mentioned.

Upon further investigation on the evaporator coil problem I have come to find out that this has become such an issue with the Carrier units that there has been a class action lawsuite investigation against the manufacturer Carrier for this exact topic.

http://www.seegerweiss.com/news/defective_evaporator_coils_in_carrier_corp_air_conditioners_under_investigation

Genz Ryan's mission statement is to "provide the highest quality of services and deliver uncompromising customer satisfaction." Quality of service and customer satisfaction extends beyond a prompt reply, and I do not feel that they have delivred on any of these points. Since the purchase of my home I have had Genz Ryan perform other services for me such as install a whole home humidifier and water softener, but if this is the level of customer satisfaction they promise to deliver I will never do business with them again nor would I recommend them to anyone.

I feel it unfair and unjust to make me responsible for the repair and $800-$1000 cost associated with the repair of a known issue on a unit that is seasonal and two months outside of their warranty period. Being that the issue more than likely was already evident prior to me turning on the AC unit in May. I beleive Genz Ryan should live up to their mission statment, be responsible for the issue, and take care of the matter in a swift appropriate matter.


Desired Settlement
I have already invested $87 in a service charge fee from Peak Heating and Cooling to diagnose the problem because Genz Ryan could not provide a prompt service. However, since this is a known issue with this paricular unit, I would like Genz Ryan to cover the cost of labor to fix the unit with no additional charges to me and do so within a reasonable time table.

Final Consumer Response
The e-mail above states that I have received further communication form Genz Ryan to inform you. I was contacted by Genz Ryan last night via e-mail and asked to call and speak with them this morning. During our conversation they offered to remove the $99 service charge, but still hold us accountable for the $800-$1000 in repairs for our A/C unit. Frankly, I did not find this as a fair compromise as I had already paid $87 with another company to come and perform the diagnostic service because of their lack of availability, so them waiving a fee to tell me what I already know was of no assistance to help remedy this problem.

I understand it is Genz Ryans choice on how to handle this matter, however as an A+ BBB rated organization whose mission statement is devoted to providing a high level of customer service, I would have thought we would have been received much better service.

In recap, I have an A/C unit that the Genz Ryan warranty expired on March 24th of 2014. With the unseasonably cold winter, the first time we turned the unit on was May 27th and experienced problems. This appears to be a known issue with the Carrier model A/C unit we have and there are even investigations into a class action lawsuit against the manufacturer Carrier themselves. The parts for the unit would be covered under the Carrier warranty, and all I am asking for is Genz Ryan to take care of a customer and properly service the equipment. I have e-mail documentation of my conversation between myself and Genz Ryan, if it would be helpful for me to send this to you I certainly can.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

****** *******

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have a serviced plan with genz ryan for my geo theromal heating cooling system which they installed. I get a free summer and fall check up on the plan. they called me in may to set up an appointment for the summer cooling check. The earliest i could get was july 19. So the appointment was set for 12-4. I work two full times jobs and had someone to be at the house for the service appointment. they cancled at the last minute so i had to scramble to get to my house by 11:15 for the noon appointment. I got hom and recieved a phone call stating they cancled the appoinment. When i called i complained that i waited 2 months to get the appntmnet and they canceled it. The girl said they would put me on call. I said difficult i work 2 full time jobs. She said we work saturdays.. I responded so do i. They eneded up canceling the appointment. I sent an email but no response. Soon will have to do fall check upbut have yet to get summer check up. extremely poor customer service.

Desired Settlement
in the email i sent i requested someone to call me, make a follow up appointment and show up. Since this is a service contract that i prepay, i would expect them to follow through with keeping their appointments. Since the summer is half over with and the check up was for pre summer service, a discount or refund would also be logical, since the service that i prepaid for has yet to happen.

Business' Initial Response
I have left a voicemail for **** to give me a call back. I am confident we will be able to resolve this. I will keep you updated on the status of this.

Business' Final Response
I spoke with **** this morning. We have him scheduled for his regular maintenance next week on Tuesday at 7am. I apologized for the lack of customer service that he received. I asked if there was anything else I could do to right the situation and he said to just have tech out at the time that I promised. I assured him we would be there.

11/15/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A tune up on my furnace turned into me being scared into a new furnace for an issue I couldn't even see or prove was a problem.
I had a tech come to do a furnace tune-up 10 minutes in and he tore the lower part of my furnace apart and inspected the heat exchanger, I was then told there was a crack in it. I was then told that this crack means that I can no longer run my furnace by law and the tech shut the gas off to my furnace. I was also told my family is at risk of dying from CO2 poisoning. I was then told I needed a new furnace and I might as well do the AC portion as well. I was presented a bid for $18,000! I was unable to verify that there was any problem with my furnace and I had to go off what the tech said as if I am just supposed to believe a guy I just met! All I wanted was a simple furnace tune up for this winter and I spend the entire day worried my family would either die or freeze unless I spend tens of thousands of dollars right now to fix the problem.

I wisely got a second opinion. It turns out there is no crack in my heat exchanger and a different tech from a different company with more experience ran tests to prove my family was safe.

This whole experience has been very eye opening and appalling. If there is a real issue, fine lets handle it, but when a nightmare is sold to someone and there is no real issue... That is borderline criminal if you ask me. How do you sleep at night?

Desired Settlement
I paid $29 for the tune up and I would like at least that back. Most people want to be paid for their time if they found out they have been taken for a ride. Me, I just want this tech fired!

Business' Initial Response
Good afternoon. I am writing in regards to the complaint filed by ****** ******.

We found out about ******'s dissatisfaction before we received the letter from you dated November 8, 2012 and we reached out to him to discuss. We listened to his concerns and understand where he is coming from and offered:
1. We will compensate him and his ''different company'' to meet me and our technician onsite to confirm the location of the compromised heat exchanger.
a. If we cannot find the fault, we will provide him a brand new furnace free of any cost.
b. If we find a fault, all we ask is that he drops his complaint with the BBB

The night (November 12th, 2012) that I spoke with him about the above option, he said that he would consider it and get back to me the next day. I called him on November 13th and left a message to follow-up. I also left a message today for him. I did indicate that I don't want to be a nuisance so I won't bother him with any additional messages.

Our offer to him remains open and we would be interested in scheduling a visit from all parties at his convenience.

Looking forward to resolving this issue.

Sincerely,

*********

Business' Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
04/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our furnace would not turn on. Called Genz-Ryan who we have a service contract with. The fee is $19.95/month and twice a year they are suppose to come out and service our furnace & AC unit. Genz-Ryan hasn't been out since Aug 2013. Always too busy doing repairs! On April 15, 2015 we had a service tech, ************ came out to look at our furnace. After 3 hours, his evaluation was that our furnace was shot & taking a look at our AC unit, that was also shot!! We were told our carbon monoxide level was at 130 parts - unsafe to turn back on! It was cold and we have 2 young daughters. ***** estimated approximately $8000.00 for a new unit! Don't worry you can always finance it-use somebody else's money is what ***** told us!! On Thursday April 16, 2015 we had a gentleman from a local heating & pluming come out and give us a second opinion. The only thing wrong with our furnace was a tiny filter was clogged! The reading that ***** from Genz-Ryan took was from the chimney stack, could see where he inserted the tester!! ***** sat in our kitchen that evening and out right lied to us!! My wife called Genz-Ryan on Monday April 20,2015 to file a complaint with *****, the Customer Service Rep. She did nothing but back him up and how Genz-Ryan would never to something like that. Service is their priority. Well it isn't in our book! Asked to get our money back from the service plan that was deducted each month from our account and service calls were not provide. ***** told my wife, no problem we will reimbursement those charges right away. It has now been a week! In our book, Genz-Ryan has voided the service contract for not servicing our furnace & AC unit for over one year. Also, the deceitful business practices that *****, showed that evening along with *****'s comments, show us that this seems to be the norm. ***** also said that they have pictures of the inside of our furnace, they have yet to provide them and how do we know they are from our furnace! ***** never even red tagged it!
Product_Or_Service: Lennox Furnace
Account_Number: Service Partner Opti

Desired Settlement
We would like our money from the service contract refunded.Also, an apology from Genz-Ryan owners.

Business Response
We take this complaint very seriously. When we received word that the homeowner's had another company out and they said we had misdiagnosed their system, we immediately tried to take action. We would never want to leave a customer without heat unless their system may cause harm to anyone in the home. ***** went out because their furnace was not running. He found many faults in their system including a high reading of CO levels. Because of this, he recommended that the homeowner not run their system until it was repaired or replaced. They scheduled him to come back and provide options for replacement. After he left, they called back in to cancel his return to present. Mrs. **** called us back and stated that another company had been out and said we misdiagnosed their system. We offered to send someone back out to verify this. We tried to coordinate a return with us and their other company. The ****s declined these options. We have a policy here at Genz-Ryan. If our technician shuts down a system for safety reasons and it turns out that he has misdiagnosed the faults, we will pay for a new furnace to be installed in the homeowner's home free of charge to them. This offer still stands to the homeowner. The only way to prove that we have misdiagnosed anything would be to have us out at the same time as the company who is stating we made a mistake.

The refund check for the years' worth of maintenance plan was mailed out to the ****'s last Thursday. They should be receiving that check today or tomorrow.

I have included in this email a copy of the invoice and inspection check list from their recent service call. I have also included the photos he took while at their home. If you look at page 4 of the invoice. You can see the photo he took of the Combustion Analysis. This shows that he got a reading of 130 for the CO on their system. This is what caused ***** to believe their system was running unsafely.

The desired solution is the refund of the service contract, this is already in progress as I stated above. As for the apology, we simply can't apologize for something unless we can confirm we have made a mistake. Please allow us back out to the home along with the other company to confirm their diagnosis is the correct one.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nubmer 1 - if the furnace was faulty, by Minnesota Law, ***** should have red tagged it! This was not done, which lead us to believe that something was not quite right. Our hiring a contractor for a 2nd opinion, proved that there was nothing wrong with the furnace. The CO reading that was taken by Genz-Ryan was on the chimmy stack and of course that reading is going to be higher and NOT accurate. And at no time was there EVER a mention of a free funace if Genz-Ryan was wrong!! As far as the apoogly, we would like to hear from the owners of Genz-Ryan, if service is your top priority, there should be NO problem with it! This was a straight to our face lie and that is not how any kind of business should be conducted!

08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product reliability
We had Genz-Ryan out to look at our AC unit that stopped working 2 years 2 months after they installed it. Their service warranty is two years (who turns on their AC in Minnesota in March). The home was closed on March 30th, 2012. We called May 27th for them to come out. They told us they were not going to cover the service warranty as it was expired. It was $1200 to replace an evaporator coil. $1700 if we wanted a 90 day warranty. I thought $1200 was a rip off, so we just went with that and did not get the extended warranty. Air conditioner does not work but they tell us there is nothing they can do for us because we did not spend the extra $500 and get the 90 day warranty. What kind of company charges $500 extra to get a warranty?

Desired Settlement
I do not think I should have to pay for a repair that did not fix the problem...regardless if I purchased the extra warranty or not.

Business Response
The customers 2 year warranty with Genz-Ryan had expired as they explained in their complaint. Upon diagnoses of their AC, a manufacturer defect was found that was causing their unit to not work. The parts were covered under warranty by the manufacturer but the labor was not. The cost quoted to the customer for the labor on the repair needed was $1264 with no warranty. The builder for their new construction home reached out to us and stated they would like to pay a portion of this repair. We gave the customer and builder a $200 discount off the original quoted price of $1264. The builder paid $564 of this repair and the homeowner paid $500. If they wanted to upgrade the repair to include a warranty, the upgrade would have been an additional $369. They chose not to pay for this warranty at the time of the service. I have attached a copy of their invoice and quotes to this email. We replaced the coil in their unit on 6/13. We have tried to reach out to the customer regarding their ac not working since we received this complaint. Their phone will ring but we are unable to leave a voicemail and no one answers. We would love to get a technician back out to the home to confirm what is causing the AC to not work currently. Without having a technician back out to the home there is no one of knowing whether the current issue even has something to do with the original repair. Please have the customer call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX to schedule a service call. We would even be willing to waive our $99 diagnostic fee to have a technician come out and diagnose the current issue.

Please let us know if you have any questions or need anymore info.

Thanks,
****** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off, my husband nor I have received any phone calls or emails from Genz-**** (they have both of our contact information). The offer to waive a fee of $99 to come out and diagnose what your company did incorrectly (again) does not resolve the issue because we have already had someone else come out to make the repairs. Once again, the unit was not working because of errors that Genz-**** made to the unit. They overcharged the coolant again (which is what broke the coil in the first place). The other company we called came out, removed some coolant and it is working perfectly. I would not have wanted your company back out to work on the unit because it is their fault that it has been broken twice now. I would like the $500 refund to myself as well as have you pay back our builder the $564 they paid. You didn't fix anything. Two different companies now have come out and addressed the same exact problem that Genz-**** has caused. The last company that came out offered us a 90 day warranty on their service without any additional charge. Charging someone for a warranty when you know your company makes mistakes is very dishonest.

Final Business Response
"Under the circumstances, we would like to resolve your complaint with offering you a full refund. After further review, we do feel that we may have misdiagnosed your system and would like to take full responsibility for this. Please call us if you have any follow up concerns or questions. "

06/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company lied to me stating my hot water heater was unsafe.
I had a Groupon for $25.00 for Genz-Ryan for a hot water drain/flush and test water. When the salesman/tech came yesterday to do this he stated that my hot water heater was unsafe and shut if off and told me I needed a new hot water heater. I did not qualify for a loan and did not have the money and the salesman stated I showed you how to turn the hot water heater back on and was sorry I did not qualify for the load and left. I also left for the day and returned back late last night still no hot water I woke up this morning and still no hot water. I called Genz-Ryan and told them that My hot water heater was working fine prior to them coming out and they needed to come back to put back to 2 pieces they did not put back and re light the pilot. I was told there were instructions to re light and for me to re light the hot water heater. I told them no they were coming out to do this. I was told the original salesman/tech***** would be out after his appointment in *********. 1 Hour later ****************** came to my door and said***** from Genz-Ryan called and said I was asking them to re light my hot water heater and said it was unsafe and there was a back draft of gas and ****************** was out for a utility check. The ****************** tech re lit the hot water heater check to see if there was a back draft, he was hand me put my hand to feel there was no back draft and there was no gas leakage and my hot water heater was safe. I called the Manager ****** and told him this you lied to me it was never there intention to have there tech come out I do admit I was yelling and ****** stated "you wanted your hot water back on and I said yes he said then what is the problem". I totally believe I was lied to and told my hot water was unsafe just for me to buy a new hot water heater from them. All consumers need to be made aware of this company's practices. I will in every way possible make consumers know to Beware of this Company.

Desired Settlement
the $25.00 refunded for the Groupon purchased since the services not provided.

Business' Initial Response
This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ***** ******* on 5/25/13. Ms. *******'s complaint is slightly inaccurate, as we never stated that there was a backdraft. A copy of the invoice and service record that Ms. ******* signed states that we found the tank leaking, that the water heater is flashing on start-up, and that the gas valve is unsafe. Upon finding unsafe operational conditions, it is company policy to shut down the unsafe appliance, inform the customer of our findings, and that if the customer wishes to re-light/power-up the equipment on their own, that we cannot take liability for any injuries/damages that happen as a result.

We believe we acted 100% correctly in this matter, and my proposed solution is to have our lead service technician ************, the original service technician from 5/25/13 **************, the homeowner, and the technician from the other company on-site at the same time to investigate this matter. I am willing to compensate Ms. ******* $100 for his time, and pay the technician for the other company $100 for his time. When all parties are on site, we will begin an inspection of the water heater. If we are found to be wrong and there is no flame up, the gas valve is determined to be safe, and the water heater is not leaking, I will buy Ms. ******* a new water heater and install that water heater at no expense to her.

Our company has a very clear policy on fraudulent condemnation of water heaters, any technician who falsely condemns a water heater will have their employment terminated immediately. The homeowner is compensated for our mistake by us providing and installing a new water heater at no cost to the homeowner. We require an on-site inspection with representatives of our company, the homeowner, and where applicable the representative from the other company. However, if our company is found to be correct, we will ask that the homeowner remove any record of his complaint from our record, and the matter to be considered closed. Also, we ask that the other company be held responsible for reassembly of the water heater should the homeowner decide that they wish to continue to use the defective unit.

I have attached a copy of the service invoice for your reference.

Also, please note that we did NOT charge Ms. ******* for her service call (see -$25 on the invoice, and the note "Please credit back the $25" clearly stated on the invoice), and we will ensure that her Groupon is refunded to her.

We can make time this week (week of June 3rd) or next week (June 10th) at the homeowner's convenience. We will make ourselves available during the day, or evening. It is absolutely imperative that this matter be settled as quickly as possible.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let me clarify that Genz-Ryan told ****************** there was a backdraft and it was called into ****************** as a utility call. I was advised from their tech **** that it was unsafe and he shut it down. ****************** tech said my hotwater heater needed to be replaced, there was a water leakage but no gas leakage and it was safe. Unlike what Genz-Ryan advised me that it was unsafe. Also Genz-Ryan manager advised me (after I called demanding they come out to relight the pilot lite since the water heater was working fine until their arrival) that there tech would be over to light the pilot lite, when it was never there intention to come over, they called ****************** to report a utility call. If the hotwater heater was unsafe ****************** would not have left it on after relighting the pilot lite and left with it on. After ****************** left I called the Manager of Genz-Ryan again and advised him that it was never their intention to come over to light the pilot lite and he stated "you wanted your pilot light relighted" I said yes and his next comment was "so what is the problem". I totally feel that Genz-Ryan lied saying my hotwater heater was unsafe (just to get me to purchase a new one) when ****************** said it was safe, lying about sending out a tech when it was never their intention to come out. I am also looking into filing a complaint with ****************** that Genz-Ryan called in a false "utility call". I feel all consumers need to be aware of this Company. WITH BEHAVIOR AND TREATMENT THAT I RECEIVED FROM GENZ-RYAN I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH GENZ-RYAN AGAIN AND I AM GOING TO DO EVERYTHING I CAN DO TO MAKE THE CONSUMERS AWARE OF THE UNETHICAL PRACTICES. I will get a written statement from ****************** and forward that to you once I receive it. Why would anyone want a Company to come back out after the deception and lies. I am sorry but I can not trust this Company. I do agree the hotwater heater did need to be replaced but to be told "it was unsafe" in order for me to purchase a new one from them that day is TOTALLY UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES.

Business' Final Response
Ms *******

My desire is to clear our good name. It is our technician's position, and he stands by it, that your water heater has an issue of flaring at start up, creating an unsafe condition, and yes that it also leaks.

We are asking for the opportunity to face our accuser.

If you and the utility are convinced of your position, the you have nothing to lose. I'm willing to compensate you and *********** for your time for the opportunity because we feel 100%, confident out position is ethical and correct. On the chance that you are right, you receive a brand new water heater to replace your leaking unit.

You have nothing to lose from accepting our offer.

If you feel you need to file a complaint with the utility, that of course is your right to do so. Know that we would be asking for access to your home during this course of action too so that we can have the opportunity to clear our name.

It is possible that you do not have an interest in allowing us to provide 100% clarity of resolution to this situation. We are absolutely interested in resolving this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Sales & Service, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Boilers - New & Used, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Propane Gas Plumbing, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Sump Pump Contractors, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1988Business started: 12/28/1949Business started locally: 01/02/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5005
http://www.dli.mn.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1949, MN

Business Management
Principal: Jon Ryan (Co-Owner)
Contact Information
Michael Perri (Marketing) Bob Ryan (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Sales & Service, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Boilers - New & Used, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail, Propane Gas Plumbing, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbing - Contractor, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Sump Pump Contractors, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating, this company offers plumbing, heating, air conditioning, water purification, water softening, geothermal heating & cooling, in-floor heat, boilers, indoor water quality, kitchen & bathroom showroom. All services provided are for new construction, remodeling or replacement.


If you choose to do business with Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc. has received 4.93 out of 5 stars based on 24 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc.

2200 Highway 13 W

Burnsville, MN 55337-6024

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2200 Highway 13 W 

    Burnsville, MN 55337-6024(952) 767-1000
    (952) 767-1897
    (612) 223-6158
    (612) 354-8862
    (952) 314-4662

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Genz-Ryan Plumbing & Heating Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (952) 767-1000
  • (952) 767-1897
  • (612) 223-6158
  • (612) 354-8862
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.