BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2007

Airtech Heating & Cooling

Phone: (651) 340-5956Fax: (651) 340-2498View Additional Phone Numbers3105 65th St E, Ste 600, Inver Grove HeightsMN 55076-4499 Send email to Airtech Heating & Cooling

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2007

BBB has determined that Airtech Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Airtech Heating & Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Airtech Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Breakdown of customer service at Airtech Heating and Cooling. I feel that i am not being treated like a paying customer.
Three weeks ago (10/1/13), I had Air Tech came to my house to perform a routine furnace tune-up. Rob the service technician performed his inspection and said there were no issues. I also asked Air Tech to provide furnace filters for an upgraded filter system that I purchased from them 1 year ago, and to replace the filter for the humidifier. After he left I checked the filter box that he gave me and it only had 2 of the 4 filters I paid for ($25 each). I called the service technician and explained that he forgot 2 and he said he would ship them out to me next day. 2 weeks later I still had not recieved the filters. I knew that nothing had been done so I found my receipt and notice the technician wrote my credit card number down wrong. It was very strange that I never even got a phone call asking for the correct number.
I called the main office line to find out what was going on, and was told that they tried to call my phone but I didn't pick up so they left a message. I explained my credit card was wrong and asked the person to correct the numbers. I asked the receptionist to find out when the filters would be shipped and gave her my number again to make sure it was correct. I was told that I would get a call back with an update. Once I was off the phone with the receptionist I checked my voicemail to make sure I didn't miss a message but there was nothing. It has been a week now and still have not received an update on the filters and my credit card has still not been charged for some odd reason. I wrote the owner of the company an e-mail asking for him to call me with the course of action he plans to take. I said that if he got back to me today (10/21/13) that I would hold filing a complaint with the BBB. I have received no calls or updates so I feel like this is the only option I have left to get a solid answer.
I have never seen a company with such poor customer service that they need to make up lies to get me off their back for a few days. I feel that I gave this company plenty of time to fix this situation but decided to do nothing.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Improper Service and Response from the company
We had a technician come to our house to fill refrigerant and to do a leak seal. Justin was a friendly young man who did what he came here to do. He also explained to us about the Club membership, which we signed up for because it seems like a great protection for future repairs to our AC/Furnace.
However, I can't say that I am fully satisfied with my experience. To begin with, Justin came around 5:30 for a 4:00 pm appointment. I am aware of the 2 hour time frame that was given so that really wasn't a big deal. I was waiting for a call, however I had to call the company in order to find out why he was late. I got no call stating that he will be late, as I was told when I booked my appointment. Finally Justin calls me at 5:30 telling me he will be at our house in ten minutes. He pulls up to my next-door neighbor's driveway and parks the truck while talking on the phone. I flag him because I was outside and he was on the phone and didn't really pay attention. I then went to his truck a minute or two later and told him to come over to our driveway.
Justin then explains to us the problem after a diagnostic test and does the leak seal and fills 2 pound of Freon and says additional Freon is needed and he quotes us a price of 75 for the additional pound. It was needed so we agree despite knowing that your prices are not the same as your competition. For example, here is a quote I got on email from Burnsville Heating and Air "Refrigerant costs are $70 for the first pound, and $45 for each pound added thereafter." However, our A/C needed an additional 1.5 pounds of Freon after the initial two that was put in and I paid a total of $110 for additional 1.5 pounds.
Justin was on the phone two different times while fixing the problem. First was in our living room standing on our dining room chair with his outside shoes on, when checking our vents, he was talking to his grandma because his mom had surgery. The second occasion was outside near our AC talking to someone again in regards to his mom's surgery. I thought this was very unprofessional that he took personal calls on two different occasions while my husband and I were talking to him. While I understand personal calls sometimes can't wait. I think Justin should have excused himself instead of answering the phone while we were talking to him.
Finally, Justin walked into our house with his shoes on. He walked upstairs and moved around the house with his shoes until my husband asked him if he could take his shoes off or to put foot covers. He then goes to the truck and gets foot covers.
I just wanted a better experience for the amount of money I paid and I am thoroughly disappointed.
I sent the company a detailed email and they responded back saying that in the future I need to go with a different heating and cooling company. I paid almost $500 for a service that had a 2 year warranty and when I complain they say they want me to go with a different company.
The company advertises a 100% satisfaction gaurantee and state that if not satisfied with their service they will give us our money back. Instead they tell me to go with a differnt company without honoring the two year warranty.
( I have emails that I sent and their response as well as proof)
I feel disappointed with their lack of courtesy to their customers and just telling me that its best I use another company.

Business' Initial Response
To Whom it May Concern,

This is a response to case # ********.
I received this complaint via certified mail on August 13th.
I have responded to the customer via email twice with no response.
After reviewing her complaint and speaking with our technician the decision was
made to refund the customer $255. This is half the cost of the service performed along with
deducting the full amount for the service call. We feel this is fair based on the email
correspondence with the customer previously. She stated that the service we provided
was functioning properly but she was not happy with the technician that provided it. This is
evident based on the fact that she signed up for our yearly maintenance program...
if she wasnt satisfied why would she want to continue business with us for the
next year? The service provided comes with a 2 year warranty standard..it is not an
"upcharge". The price of $216 which we are asking to keep is for the materials that
we installed only. This is a fair compromise however I have not gotten a response
from the customer saying whether this is acceptable or not so I cannot proceed with
the refund.


Thanks
***************
Airtech Heating & Cooling

Consumer's Final Response
******,
Please contact me regarding the $255 you are going to refund me. You mentioned that I stated that everything was working properly. It
did only for a few weeks. I now need to find someone else to fix my ac.
If you could send me the refund check to my home address or refund it back to my american express account that would be great!


Thanks,
******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/17/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Tech said ac unit couldn't be fixed and charged us $200.00 at discount rate. Discovered later tech had left cap off of unit that holds all the coolent
Tech came out to take a look at our central air unit- after he checked it out he came and told me the compressor is corroded and that the unit can't be fixed. He charged $200.00 after a discount and didn't fix the unit. A couple days later I had a master electrician that I know that has been in the business for 30 years come out and take a look at out unit and right away he noticed that the cap was left off of our unit that hold the coolent (which most of the coolent was drained out cuz the cap was off). He was able to fix our unit by charging it and adding coolent to it and it works just as good as it used to now. I am complaining about this tech/company because the tech either was unexperienced or was trying to rip us off when he told us that our unit could not be fixed and that we need a new one which was false since I had someone else come out and was able to fix it under 30 minutes by charging the unit and adding coolent, and the tech had left the cap off and let most of our coolent out of the unit- thats what leads us to think he either is unexperienced or was trying to rip us off. I called the company/management 3 days in a row to complain about the tech and wanted to get some kind of a refund since the tech charged $200.00 for nothing and let most of out coolent drain out of the unit by leaving the cap off but every time I called I was told they were reviewing what had happened and that someone would be calling me back about it but I still have not gotten a phone call and I started calling last Tuesday July 3rd. I just don't think we should be obligated to pay for service when the tech didn't fix the unit and only made it worse so we had to have someone else fix it. I am fine with paying around $50 for having him come out but he did not fix our unit and I feel ripped off paying $200 for nothing.

Business' Initial Response
In response to claim# ********, I received this complaint via certified
letter on August 10th.
This is the first letter I have received because the first two were mailed
to the wrong address.
On August 13th I refunded this customers credit card a total of $201. Which
is the total amount
she paid. Hopefully this will resolve this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Heating Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/03/2007Business started: 01/01/2003
Business Management
Michael Bollum (Marketing Director)
Contact Information
Principal: Jeren Hamlin (Owner)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Heating Equipment, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Quality Service, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Airtech Heating & Cooling, this company offers heating & air conditioning contracting for residential & light commercial properties.

Alternate Business Names
Hamlin Mechanical
Industry Tips
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

If you choose to do business with Airtech Heating & Cooling, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Airtech Heating & Cooling

3105 65th St E

Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076-4499

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3105 65th St E
    Ste 600 

    Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076-4499(651) 340-5956

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Airtech Heating & Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (218) 287-0130
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.