BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/05/2007

Air Mechanical, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (763) 434-7747Fax: (763) 746-3777View Additional Phone Numbers16411 Aberdeen St NE, Ham LakeMN 55304-5427 Send email to Air Mechanical, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/05/2007

BBB has determined that Air Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air Mechanical, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Air Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The wrong water heater was installed and requested the right water heater installed with a credit of 10-15% on the water heater.
On 12/05/13, I had furnace, water heater and air conditioner replaced by Air Mechanical. Everything was fine except the next day I noticed that the water heater was a Rheem 40 gal direct vent water heater. I reviewed by work order and the copy that I was given at the time of work and both read: Rheem 50 gallon water heater 43VP50E2. I called Air Mechanical on 12/06/13, about the situation. I got a call back from the sales rep and he gave me a couple options: A mixer or the initial 50 gallon water that I requested at no additional cost for parts and labor. I chose the Rheem 50 gallon water heater 43VP50E2 and a 10-15% credit on the cost of the water heater. The sales rep referred me to his boss. I got a call back on that day and I returned it on 12/09/13. Air Mechanical told me that they cannot do the refund because it was a simple mistake and that they were giving me the water heater I initial want installed for no additional cost. I had requested at the time an estimate on a water conditioner and/or filtration system and they would work with me on giving a discount on it, if I go with them. I agreed to have 40 gallon water heater replaced on 12/13/13. The appointment time was 7:30 - 8:30 am. During this hour I noticed a Air Mechanical van in the street and next it was gone. When 8:45 am came I call Air Mechanical to find out what was going on. I was informed that they would be here soon. Finally a truck with water heater showed up but it sat until the plumber arrived around 9:15 am. The product I received was a Rheem 50 gallon water heater model: PROG50-42W RH67 PV; Serial #: **************. This isn't quite the same as the initial work order but it is a 50 gallon water heater which is direct vented with a 6 year warranty.

Initial Business Response
This issue is resolved with the homeowner. We worked with *** by extending her water heater warranty to 10 years. We also sent her a gift card for the inconvenience. Lastly, she did get her water test back, and we gave her a very discount on the recommended items.

Thank you,

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: I feel I was unfairly charged for an "after hours" service call.
My 2 year old furnace quit the morning of 12/14/12. I called the company and was told they were booked and couldn't get to me until "after hours" which was at a considerably higher rate.

The company did call me at 4:00 that afternoon to tell me a technician was on his way it should be about an hour. He pulled in my driveway at 5:00 and didn't come to the door until several minutes later. Imagine my surprise when I was charged the higher rate! Upon questioning, I was told the "after hours" service started "around 5:00." When I said that he was here then, his response was that I was scheduled for an "after hours" appt. So just because of my scheduling status, I was charged the higher rate even though he was here within the "regular fee" time frame. ???

The technicians name was Justin H. I paid the bill with my credit card.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Heating Equipment, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors, Contractors - General, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/13/1996Business started: 08/01/1985
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5005
http://www.dli.mn.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Jim Paar (Sales & Service Manager) Ross Erickson (President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Heating Equipment, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbers, Mechanical Contractors, Heating Contractors, Contractors - General, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Air Mechanical, Inc., this company offers heating, air conditioning, cooling, plumbing contracting services, and equipment.

Alternate Business Names
Radiant Concepts
Industry Tips
Remodeling your home
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Home Improvements
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

If you choose to do business with Air Mechanical, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Mechanical, Inc.

16411 Aberdeen St NE

Ham Lake, MN 55304-5427

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 16411 Aberdeen St NE 

    Ham Lake, MN 55304-5427(763) 434-7747
    (888) 898-0398
    (763) 746-3758
    (952) 294-8143
    (763) 516-9163

  • 2795 Highway 55 Ste B 

    Saint Paul, MN 55121-1434

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Mechanical, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 898-0398
  • (763) 746-3758
  • (952) 294-8143
  • (651) 452-2025
  • (952) 452-2025
  • (763) 516-9163
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.