BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning

Phone: (651) 770-1263 Fax: (651) 789-6633 View Additional Phone Numbers 102 County Road C W, Saint Paul, MN 55117 http://www.aaawicks.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AAA Wicks is a full service residential plumbing, heating, air conditioning, air duct cleaning service company. We install American Standard furnace and air conditioning equipment. We provide maintenance on furnace and boilers and air conditioners.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Wayne Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Wayne Johnson, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnaces - Industrial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair

Refund and Exchange Policy
We will work to make the service right or work with you regarding a refund.
Service Area
AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning provides their services in AFTON, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CRYSTAL, DAYTON, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTHFIELD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WATERTOWN, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE & WOODBURY, MN. Entire Twin Cities Metro Area
Alternate Business Names
AAA Wicks AAA Wicks Furnace & Duct Cleaning Company AAA Wicks Heating & AC
Products & Services

According to the information provided by AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning, this company offer residential, commercial, and industrial heating and air conditioning, duct cleaning and plumbing services, serving the entire Metro area.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 102 County Road C W

    Saint Paul, MN 55117 (651) 770-1263 (651) 419-3878 (651) 237-3737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged $68.00 to be told to replace batteries in thermostat. I called AAA wicks to inform them my furnace was not coming on. They came out and told me to replace batteries in thermostat and it began to work and they charged me $68.00 I asked for a waiver since I spent hundreds on cleaning the ducts the prior year and I was still charged $68.00. The serviceman told me this happens all the time. If it happens all the time why not tell me to try replacing the batteries and if it still does not come on call. The low battery light was on but it had been on for a while and still worked. I just think they should ask the question if it is a common occurrence rather than charge nearly $70 for three minutes. That to me is poor customer service and takes advantage of the consumer.

Desired Settlement: $68.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/04) */ I was unaware that there was an issue with this call. We did not charge for replacing the batteries. The $68 is the standard diagnosis fee that we charge to come out to diagnose a no heat situation. The homeowner informed us that his furnace was not working once he got home. He did not inform us that his thermostat was not displaying. I would welcome the homeowner to call me to discuss. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The thermostat only showed a low battery it was not dead. That is why I did not inform them the thermostat was not displaying because it was. I just would appreciate someone to ask if the low battery light is on before they send someone out to charge $68 to check the thermostat and tell me to replace the batteries. It does not make it any more fun when the service technician laughs and says it happens all the time. that tells me they know what the problem is many times before sending the technician and rather then tell a customer over the phone to check the batteries they would like to take the easy ,knee form the customer. I felt taking advantage of. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2015/11/06) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/06) */ We will refund the money to the customer. Our tech was attempting to help the customer not feel bad about not changing the battery and calling us. It does not happen all the time as homeowners usually know to change the battery. The $68 is to cover the cost of the technician waiting until the homeowner was home and the cost of going to the customers home.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: frozen pipe repair. fixed 1 area. Missed 2nd area. Resulted in further water damage after ceiling was repaired. Need to redo ceiling. On 1/13/14 AAA Wicks came to deal with a frozen pipe in our basement after we discovered a wet leaking basement ceiling and wall. They did a leak search, fixed a burst part of the pipe, and installed a new shut off valve to the outside water. A separate contractor came in to repair the drywall and repair and paint the ceiling. On 4/26/14 (once the weather warmed), I painted the new drywall and entire room. In order to clean the brushes I decided to turn on the outside water to the house which I had not done since the freeze and repair. Upon doing so I heard gushing water and subsequently saw water coming out from under the new drywall. We called AAA Wicks and they came out the next day (Sunday) 4/27/14. two new holes were cut into the ceiling to look for the problem area. The pipe that had been repaired in January was fine. The broken pipe was found just a little past an elbow on the same line. The repairs were made and we were not charged for the service call. But now we have 2 new holes in our ceiling as well as an area of the ceiling stained from where the water pooled. Our brand new ceiling needs to be completely redone. My husband made an initial call to AAA Wicks on 4/27 to let them know we were not pleased that they had not found both areas of the burst pipe. The man on the phone said that they can' t go through every pipe in the house as that would be very costly. but this was the same line after an elbow (probably 18 inches away). My husband expressed our expectations that they need to pay for repair to the pipe and subsequently to the ceiling. The contractor has since been out and provided an estimate to get the ceiling back to where it was before the second leak. We are waiting for them to schedule repairs with us. subsequent calls to AAA Wicks have not been returned.

Desired Settlement: The ceiling was completely redone and repaired after the first repair. total cost to repair and reprint the ceiling is $1850. We submitted a second claim to our insurance company for water damage and they are covering the costs for the repair to the ceiling minus our $500 deductible. We are asking AAA Wicks to cover the cost of our deductible. This has been a major inconvenience and disruption to our home and our life. The least they can do is pay the deductible. The contractor and claims people both say that the second area of broken pipe should have been found the first time around.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/18) */ I agree with the explanation regarding the first visit. We opened the ceiling to identify and repair the leak due to a frozen pipe. The water was off and was not turned on to see if there were more leaks due to time of year. Turning the water on in January would have resulted in damage to outside faucet and possible refreezing of the pipe. There is no way we could identify another leak without removing more areas of the ceiling and or replacing the whole pipe. Neither option would be accepted by the homeowner. Turning on the water was not an option as explained above. The homeowner states in her letter that the other leak was about 1 1/2 feet away from the repair we did. This was not caused by our work. Even so, we did not charge for the return work for customer service purposes. It is unfortunate that the homeowner did not check for further leaks by turning on the water before the ceiling was replaced. Prudence would suggest that this would be done since a test could not be done at the time of the original service. Again, we did not charge for the return visit. The homeowner seemed to be appreciative of this at the time. I do not see any reason that we would be responsible for the deductible of $500.00 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My response to the business's response I never said that the second leak was caused by the plumbers. I am saying the second leak was missed by the plumbers the first time they were there. The company was called to come out to find and fix a leak in our ceiling. One section was found and fixed. Our bill included a charge for a leak search. IThat led me to believe that a search was actually done to find the leak(s). The business response says "The water was off and was not turned on to see if there were more leaks due to time of year. Turning the water on in January would have resulted in damage to outside faucet and possible refreezing of the pipe." My response: So admittedly the business is saying they did not check for more leaks. Isn't that the point of their visit, to check for leaks and repair them? They found the first hole in the pipe without turning the water on, so why would they need to turn it on to find the second area. The guy told my husband they use air pressure to help find the leaks. The business response says "There is no way we could identify another leak without removing more areas of the ceiling and or replacing the whole pipe. Neither option would be accepted by the homeowner." My response: We were never provided those options. The ceiling was already ripped up - we wanted the leaks fixed not just partially fixed. The business response also says "It is unfortunate that the homeowner did not check for further leaks by turning on the water before the ceiling was replaced. Prudence would suggest that this would be done since a test could not be done at the time of the original service." My response: Why would we need to check for further leaks when we had just paid their company for that service? We were never told that there might be other leaks and to check before the ceiling was replaced. Would prudence suggest the repairs all be done at the time of service or clearly explained to the customer? The ceiling was replaced shortly after the plumbers completed their work. If it wasn't prudent for the plumbers to turn the water on at that point, why would it be prudent to turn it on shortly after they left? The business response says, "Again, we did not charge for the return visit. The homeowner seemed to be appreciative of this at the time. I do not see any reason that we would be responsible for the deductible of $500.00" My response: We would not expect to pay for work that we were led to believe was already completed. The result of the error of missing the second leak has led to more costs, a second insurance claim and much inconvenience. The deductible is a low cost for such a mistake. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/08/11) */ I will pay them the $500.00. One check for $250 in August and the other in September. I still believe we did nothing wrong and they are just taking advantage of a small business. I also can not inconvenience honest homeowners by not being available to them for service. Please let me know. **************** ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I accept the offer to meet with a mediator on this, however I am not sure if that's what is being offered.

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Want to be reimbursed for all expenses involved in the Cleaning and Cost to repair subsequent damage done to my damper When AAA Wicks cleaned the air ducts in my townhouse, 5/23/13. The problem I am encountering is that the company I hired to do the cleaning, AAA Wicks Heating and Air Conditioning has had two back to back owners, one when the cleaning was done and a new owner; at the time I contacted the company to report that after the cleaning, I no longer had airflow to the second floor of my townhouse. Neither the former owner, **** *******, also ***************, nor the new owner, ***** *******, is willing to reimburse me for the damage and repair of my damper which caused the air flow problem. Apparently when the ducts were cleaned on 5/23/13, *******, was the owner and my check for $165.45, the cost of the cleaning, was paid to *******. When I called AAA Wicks a day or two later to report the airflow problem,***** ******* had become the new owner. When I called to report the problem, I spoke to *****. He sent out a man from the team (***** and *** 5/23)who had originally cleaned the ducts.I assumed he would run some type of equipment back into the ducts to determine if there Was obstruction, etc. Instead, all he did was put his hand into the floor vents to determine if the dampers in these locations were open. They were, at which point he left. I called ***** to inform him that the problem had not been solved. He said he had a new technician starting Monday and he would send him out, as he was more experienced. The appointment with him was fruitless. He also did not examine the interior of the ducts. At this point I asked ***** if he had an industrial camera that he could run inside the ducts. He didn't. When I continued to press that he was responsible for the problem, he said if it could be determined that nothing else, like a faulty furnace, etc., was causing the problem, he would be Willing to help me. When I asked what he recommended, he said I should have my furnace company come out and examine it. I had purchased a new furnace in 2009, from **************** so I made an appointment with them. The man was who came out examined the furnace and said it was Working fine. He shone a flashlight into the Vent leading to the upstairs bedrooms and determined that the damper was jammed shut. To confirm what he saw, he ran a long fiberglass rod into the vent hoping he could open the damper. It would not budge and he said that in the process of cleaning the air duct the damper had been jammed shut. He said he could open the damper but accessing it would require cutting a Whole in my ceiling. I asked what that would cost and he said he would need to send out another team to before he could answer my question. He said it would involve another trip fee and time and materials. For his trip fee and time on 7/22/13, I spent $162.36. I reported back to ***** what the furnace company had determined, that the AAA Wicks servicemen had jammed the damper While cleaning the air ducts and this was the cause of the air flow problem. I had assumed as per our discussion that since l had proven through the furnace company the source of the problem, ***** would now proceed to help me. In hindsight, I should have gotten in writing what he meant by help I Was surprised by his unexpected posture. ***** informed me that When my air ducts were cleaned 5/23/13, **** ******* was still the owner of AAA Wicks and that my payment/check for $165.45 was deposited into his banking account. ***** stated that **** was responsible to take care of the problem and I should contact him. ***** explained that at the time I called to report the problem, he was the new owner of AAA, but since he had bought the NAME only, and not the entire business, he was not responsible. What struck me as odd is that ***** not only referred me to ****, but apparently had discussed the problem with ****. **** told ***** that I needed to contact the attorney generals office and file a complaint. **** also informed me through *****, that ductwork is not guaranteed. I replied this should have been stated when I made the appointment. ***** also told me to Contact the BBB. I didn't understand Why ***** was putting himself in the position to be ****'s mouthpiece. When I asked ***** for ****'s phone number, ***** said he only had ****'s Cell and Wasn't comfortable giving it to me Without consent. I was totally unhappy with the "about face." I told ***** I hired **************** and incurred another expense based on the assumption he would make good on his word to help given I could prove AAA caused the problem and not a faulty furnace. ***** was unmoved by my argument that who received payment for the cleaning and who owned the Company name or the assets at the time and hereafter,was not problem. His job , I said, Was to service me and that he and **** were responsible to Work out the financial piece since who owned What,when and Who got payment had nothing to do with me. I called ***** a couple days later and continued to express my disappointment with his handling of the problem, that prior to his "about face" I thought he had handled himself Very professionally. I expressed that it was ridiculous for **** to refer me to the attorney general, prior to any attempt to problem solve with me personally. During this same phone call, ***** volunteered ****'s address and phone number, stated that he and his Wife ******* were the owners and mentioned the company ************* Thinking the address was for another business of ****'s, I drove there, hoping to meet him and deal with the issue in person. The address was for his home and I was not comfortable knocking on his door. I called his phone number and left several messages over several days telling him I'd like him to reimburse me for the $320; had spent to date, but he never responded to me. I called ***** to let him know I had gotten no response. Apparently **** had been in conversation with ***** about my calls because ***** knew about them. At this point I asked ***** to reimburse me for the money I had spent on ***************** since my incurring it was based on the terms of his offer to help ( and prior to his new tact that **** was paid for the Work.) I told him I would call him in a week to give him time to think. However, I never called him back; I Was too embarrassed for him at this point.

Desired Settlement: Bottomline. I Want to be reimbursed for the full amount of what I have paid to date, $165.45 and $162.36. I am filing a claim against each company, since each owner contributed to this expense. I am currently awaiting a bid from an independent contractor for the cost of opening the ceiling, accessing the jammed damper and Closing up the ceiling again. I am also sending copies of this letter to the BBB. I behaved myself respectfully to both ***** and **** in all my interactions with them. I had hoped to create Win/Win situations. Iam a Christian and I believe God expects me to treat people respectfully as We are all made in His image. I apologize for the length of this letter. I was concerned that if I did not attempt to detail all the conversations and steps I have taken, I could jeopardize reimbursement@ This is the first time I have had to take this sort of action. I have never encountered people like **** and ***** who Were unwilling to compromise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/11/27) */ I would like to state again that the duct cleaning was done under the previous owner of the AAA Wicks. The purchase did not include any liabilities or right to claims by customers under the previous corporation. Home owner asked me what she should do regarding her lack of air flow. I told her we don't have cameras to check into the ducts to see what may be happening with her ducts and why she does not have air flow. I suggested she contact the company that installed her furnace for assistance. I did not say I would pay for any cost incurred as a result of the inspection. I also am not taking responsibility for any claimed damage or repairs required as a result of the previous owner. I am willing to refund the original cost of the duct cleaning for customer service purposes and a desire to move forward.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on AAA Wicks Plumbing Heating Air Duct Cleaning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart