BBB Accredited Business since

Standard Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (612) 824-2656 Fax: (612) 436-2300 View Additional Phone Numbers 130 Plymouth Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55411 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.standardheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Furnaces & Air Conditioners - Repair, Replacement & Maintenance

Emergency Heating Service

Service to All Brands

Indoor Air Quality Products

Boilers - Repair, Replacement & Maintenance

HVAC Parts


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Standard Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Standard Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

20 Customer Reviews on Standard Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 19
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 20

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1930 Business started locally: 01/01/1930
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Troy Gregory, President Todd Ferrara, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Troy Gregory, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Induction Heating Equipment Air Quality Service Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Refrigerators & Freezers - Wholesale & Manufacturers Energy Conservation Products & Services Air Conditioning Repair Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Air Pollution Measuring Equipment & Service Boilers - New & Used Boilers - Supplies & Parts Electric Heating Elements Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Mechanical Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Radiant Heating In-floor Heating

Products & Services

Standard Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Air Exchangers, Air Filters, Boilers, Ductless Air Conditioners, Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Humidifiers, Self-contained heating and cooling units, Space Heaters, Thermostats, UV Air Purifiers, Water Heaters

Refund and Exchange Policy

Lifetime Workmanship Warranty - Installations

No Lemon Warranty

Service Area
Standard Heating & Air Conditioning provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN.
Additional Information

The company provides the following disclosure on its consumer contracts:

"Under the Fair Credit Reporting ACT (FRCA), Standard Heating & Air Conditioning Co has the right to obtain a consumer credit report. All customer information is held in the strictest of confidence and is not shared with any outside party."

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Standard Heating & Air Conditioning, this company offers residential and commercial heating, cooling, and ventilation equipment sales, service, repair, and maintenance.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Standard Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 130 Plymouth Ave N

    Minneapolis, MN 55411 (612) 824-2656

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are being charged above what we were quoted and our discount coupons are being ignored. We called Standard Heating and Air Conditioning to service our furnaces for the winter. We have 3 furnaces. We were quoted a price of $123.00 per furnace. When the technician was done servicing our furnaces he called his place of work and got the price of the 3rd furnace reduced as it was in the same home as the second furnace and therefore didn't involve a trip charge. (The first furnace is located across the street and 2 houses down so all three are on the same block) At the time of service we gave a check in the amount of $86.79 to the technician. When we received a bill (dated October 28) for the remaining amount due it read $342.24. On November 15, we attached three $30 off coupons that had been published in the Star Tribune, one for each furnace (for a total of $90.00 off the bill) and paid the remainder of our bill in the amount of $252.24, which should have led to a balance of $0. We subsequently received a bill for $90 from Standard Heating and Air Conditioning (the amount of our coupons) with a statement that read "only one discount allowed per tune-up". The irony of this is that we had 3 furnaces tuned up. Today, December 15, we received a letter dated December 11 (7 days after the letter dated December 4) demanding payment of $342.24 within five days. We feel that we have paid Standard Heating and Air Conditioning in full and do not feel that we owe Standard Heating and Air Conditioning any more money.

Desired Settlement: We would like Standard Heating and Air Conditioning to stop billing us and to recognize the payments we have made as payment in full. It seems pretty obvious to us that their billing department is messed up as their demand grew from $90.00 on December 4, to $342.24 on December 11, only a matter of 7 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/23) */ On October 13, 2015 Mrs. ***** ****** contacted us via phone requesting that Standard Heating perform 3 furnace tune ups. We quoted her $123 plus tax for each tune up, $148 regular price less $25 for the then current coupon for a total of $369 plus tax, she agreed to the price. On October 28, 2015 we sent Mrs. ****** an invoice for $342.24. We received a partial payment of $252.42 via check on December 3, 2015 along with 3 $30 off coupons, the new advertised coupon. As the original quoted price included a discount and we do not accept multiple discounts as stated in the coupon we did not accept the additional coupons and sent an updated invoice reflecting the $90 balance due. Regrettably we did not receive Mrs. ******'s payment until after a follow-up letter was in process reminding her of the original balance due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not true. Never were we told it was a "discounted price" It was a direct quote and I applied my coupons and paid the balance in full.

7/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came to due a paid air conditioner check and disabled the unit. On July 23 a service tech came to inspect the whole house air conditioner. Sometime afterwards we noticed the unit was not cooling any more. A call to the company and we were told too bad wait until tomorrow.

Desired Settlement: Fix our air conditioner and refund the money we paid for the inspection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/24) */ Prior to receiving this complaint, we had already repaired the air conditioner (at no charge) and proactively refunded the entire inspection charge(s) to the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They did the right thing.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales told us that we pay what we want and do a balance transfer at the end of 25 months to avoid interest. On March 17, 2014 we met with ************* from Standard Heating and Air Conditioning. We were looking at a new furnace, AC and Water Heater with a good finance plan. They were running a promotion of $0 down, 0% interest for 25 months. With a whole home remodel and a stretched budget already, Ben advised us that we could pay what we wanted, but after 25 months we would have the accumulated interest to pay, plus interest going forward. When we received our first bill the payment was a fixed payment of $456 due each month for 25 months. This is not the flexible amount we were promised.

Desired Settlement: $0 down, 0% interest for 25 months with flexible payments

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/06) */ Letter sent to BBB on 6/6/2014

1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Standard Heating and Air Conditioning was called in November of 2013 to services our new home that I have recently purchase. The service wasn't convenient or cheap but they did fixed my furnace. One month after my furnace was fixed, this company decided to call me up and harass me about my credit card, which I have used to make the payment for my furnace to be fixed, has been declined. I did not understand why it was decline and why it took a whole month for them to let me know. I return their call and got the situation and payment taken care of, which I thought and then received another call from Standard Heating and Air Conditioning about my card being decline the second time a week later! I was furious at this time, I called and complain about why it took them so long to clear my card and why it took them this long to pull a payment, and they made me feel like it was my fault. They made me feel like I did not have the money to pay them and they made me feel like an unworthy customer. And at the end of the conversation, come to find out my address they were typing in was incorrect for my credit card. This was the first situation The second situation was that after a few days of speaking with the representative from Standard Heating and Air Conditioning, my furnace broke down! I called them to help me out, mind you the weather was at 19 degrees, and I notify the company at 10am about my furnace and they did not come out to look at it til 4:20 in the evening! When they finally arrived, the part that they have replace last time they were here was what was broken. I told them to take their parts back and I wanted a refund. I told the *****, which was the gentleman that arrived to "claim" to fix my furnace that they can jus take the part back and refund my money and ***** raised his voice at me like I was yelling at him. It was very unnecessarily for ***** to raise his voice. I call customer service and stated that they will not give me my money back and take the part they replace. Product_Or_Service: furnace ignition module Account_Number: 1 year garantie on p

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All I want it for them to take the part they replace my furnace with back and return my money. The services was not satisfying since it's been a little over 30 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/14) */ STANDARD HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING January 2, 2014 Mr. ********* ******** *********************. Brooklyn Park, MN 55429 Re: Better Business Bureau Case # ******** Dear Mr. ********, I received your letter to the Better Business Bureau, dated December 20th, 2013, regarding the service call that occurred on November 7th and the warranty follow up visit on December 19th. We are currently working to resolve your furnace issues and will follow up when there is resolution. Sincerely, ********** Service Manager CC: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota **************, Mediation Coordinator 220 S. River Ridge Cir Burnsville, MN 55337 , Heating, Air Conditioning, Preventive Maintenance, Indoor Air Quality and morel ***************** N., Minneapolis, MN 55411 *****************, Saint Paul, MN 55130 ************ standardheating.com ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

20 Customer Reviews on Standard Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart