Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2010

Empi, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 328-2536Fax: (800) 400-5022View Additional Phone Numbers599 Cardigan Rd, Saint PaulMN 55126-4099 Send email to Empi, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2010

BBB has determined that Empi, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Empi, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 71 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

71 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues61
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 71

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Empi, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (71)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It says on my credit record I owe $245 for equipment but I returned all that equipment a while ago so I want it removed from my credit report
I want it off my record. I don't owe the money because I returned all I was supposed to return threw the mail. It was sent from the post office in villas New Jersey

Desired Settlement
Take the money it says I owe off my record

Business Response
I have asked that the account be pulled from collections and adjusted to a zero balance.

12/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Empi overcharged for Tens unit and reported my bill to collections after I made a payment.
Received a statement from Empi in August, 2014 for $917.44 for Tens unit. Contacted Empi and was told to submit a letter of explanation with EOB from health insurance. Mailed these documents. Amount of payment received in March, 2014 for Tens unit from Blue Cross Blue Shield was $354.70. requested corrected bill. Received another bill in October for $917.44 - again, requested a corrected bill and submitted documents again. Received a bill in November for around $450.00 and mailed a payment of $100.00 to Empi within a week of receiving the "corrected" statement. Was contacted on 11/25 by a collection agency that Empi contacted regarding the collection of my bill. Reported that I had made a payment to Empi on 11/15 which was posted to my banking account on 11/21. I ended up paying the bill with the collection agency to avoid any further issues. Was told by the pain physician I saw that "gave me" the Tens unit that I would have no out-of-pocket costs and if I was charged, I could return it to his office. As several months went by before I received a payment from Blue Cross Blue Shield and additional months before I received a statement from Empi, I discarded the packing box for the Tens unit so I did not return it to physician's office. My complaints are:
- Concern with my credit status due to a collection agency being contacted by Empi
- After making a payment to Empi within a week of receiving their correct bill, Empi contacted a collections agency, possibly hurting my credit rating
- Incompetent billing practices causing me unneeded stress to obtain a correct statement
- The Tens unit doesn't work - it's useless. I would never have ordered this device - I feel I was duped into taking it.

Desired Settlement
A letter of apology for their incompetence and assurance from them that my credit has not been affected by their referral to a collections agency. They also need to stop promoting/selling a device that does nothing to help people who are in pain. It's useless.

Business Response
I apologize for the inconvenience. I do see the the funds posted on your account on December 8.

11/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received unauthorized or requested TENS Unit from EMPI, that was not medically necessary. Unit was returned as instructed by them. Then I was billed.
Received unauthorized and not medically necessary TENS Unit from EMPI, Unit was returned as instructed by them. Then in July 2013 bills started coming in for Rental of Select 1.5 Invoice #XXXXXXXX,580,581 & 582, @ $125.00 per month for 4 mths.(April-July). I responded to them on two occasions that unit was returned as directed by them, but billing continued. I ran my yearly credit report on October 22, 2014 and found these 4 collection negatives posted on my account. I have always maintained an excellent credit profile and this FRAUD based company has damaged that. I have filed a complaint against EMPI with the Florida Consumer Reporting Agency.
This company has a long history of complaints for the same issues. The TENS unit can only be prescribed by a treating medical doctor. EMPI fails to operate an unethical and does not follow proper business protocol.

Desired Settlement
CLEAR MY CREDIT HISTORY OF THE 4 NEGATIVE POSTINGS ISSUED ON THIS MATTER. ASAP!

Business Response
As a courtesy since we have received our device back. I have asked that the account be adjusted to a zero balance and the account pulled from collections.

10/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
poor billing practices.
i recieved an empi continuum but they have not billed my insurance or sent me a statement. I I've left many messages for them with no reply.
I'd like to get in contact or have someone return my calls.

Desired Settlement
call me back.

Business Response
I see in this complainant's account that he spoke to someone on 10-3-14 and that he was going to return the device. Once we receive the device back we will have the account credited. I have had another return mailbag sent out.

10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company is continuing to send bills for product that was returned. They do not answer the phone or return your call if you leave a message.
Account # XXXXXXX. Product was returned to EMPI in
April. They sent another bill on 5/10/14 and tried to collect additional payment from my insurance company. They are continuing to send monthly bills
stating that I am responsible for payment on something that was already returned. I acknowledge that I MIGHT owe 74.92 at the most. Unfortunately
the company is un-reachable to correct this error.

Desired Settlement
Please REMOVE the 5/10/14 charge and send a corrected statement.

Business Response
As a courtesy we will adjust the last month rental off of your account. We will be sending you a corrected claim.

Page 1 of 10
01/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Continue to recieve billing for an account that has been settled out.
recieved services in June 2013. In 2013 account balances were settled for a payment of $95.00 as services were no longer required. In 2014 recieved a billing ststement for past due of 629.24. Called and spoke with unknown rep at that time and was assured all fees were taken care of and no further billing would occur. Late 2014 early 2015 recieved a bill again for services in 2013 amount of 629.24. left several message for ****** @ XXX-XXX-XXXX ext **** no calls return. left voice message for thir customer service and no calls return. request wrongful billing stop and recieve written confirmation of such. request a detail history of all actions perfomed on my account. djo account # dXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
request wrongful billing stop and recieve written confirmation of such. request a detail history of all actions perfomed on my account. djo account # *******.

Business Response
January 26, 2014


**** *******
** ******* drive
******** ** XXXXX


RE: Patient Account Number DXXXXXX

Dear Patient Name:

This letter confirms receipt of your correspondence. We have carefully reviewed your account and the issues you have raised. We regret any inconvenience you may have experienced.

In response to your concern, our records indicate we submitted a claim to your insurance, in which they covered the purchase of your Cyber Tech Premium Plus Back Brace. The claim processed under your point of service benefits, applying a $300 deductible and a 50% cost share of $329.24, applying a total of $629.24 towards patient responsibility. On September 10, 2013, our records indicate you left a voice message asking about a payment plan and to leave a voice message. Later that day, our billing representative called and left you a voice message offering a payment arrangement of $34.95 for 18 months. On September 17, 2013, we verified with TRICARE that a referral/authorization was issued for your back brace and that the patient would be held responsible for a 20% copayment. As of date, we have not received a payment from you.

We have adjusted your account balance to $191.70, your 20% TRICARE copayment.
Please contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX to make payment or to discuss payment options. We strive to ensure that all of our customers have favorable experiences with our company. We value your input and use all such feedback in our continuous improvement efforts. Thank you for choosing DJO.

We wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

DJO Global Patient Advocate Team

cc: Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sorry but I do not agree with the information provided in your response. I have never spoken to anyone about a payment plan nor was a message ever left on my phone related to a payment plan. I spoke to a gentleman on twice about balance on account. He offered payment of 95.00 to stop all servicing and close account. This decision was based on the fact that your product did not benefit me and was of no further use. January 2014 I received a bill in the mail for which I called your company to discuss. I was assured the account was paid in full and the bill was sent in error from your billing department. I was assured it would not happen again. Now in December 2014 and January 2015 I receive a bill again on an account that was settled in 2013. If this was on a payment plan why only three letters have been sent for payment since 2013? Why do none of these letters reference a payment plan they show a full balance due? Why have no other request been sent for payment or attempts to contact me by phone? Why when I left voice mails for both your customer service line and for the representative listed on this bill has neither called me back? Why when I ask in my BBB complaint for detail account information to be mailed it has not been done? You have too many why questions you have not answered and I have not received the requested documentation

Final Business Response
Dear **** *******:

On January 28, 2015 we sent you a letter notifying you of our final determination on the written complaint we received from you on January 21, 2015.

We regret that we were unable to resolve this matter in your favor and that you remain dissatisfied with our decision. However, the determination stated in our January 28, 2015 letter is our final decision and we will be unable to acknowledge any additional requests for review of this matter. Please contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX to make a payment or to discuss payment options.

Sincerely,


DJO Global Patient Advocate Team

01/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of communication from EMPI resulting in delinquent account and collections.
I was given an Empi machine after I had surgery. The machine was attached to me when I awoke. I used it for two days and packed it away. My husband and I were NEVER told about being able to return the product or any time limit in which we had to return it. I received invoices from Empi but disregarded them because I had been told my insurance covered it. I contacted Empi about the invoices and never received a call back. I then learned that they sent my account to collections. I spoke to one of the people at the credit agency. After speaking with him he suggested I contact Empi. I did so, spoke to one customer service person who then told me that the fee was for the electrodes. Not needing the machine I returned it to Empi, only to have the send it back to me because allegedly the time period had passed for me to be able to send it back. I told the woman that I did not want the machine and tried to send it back but they would not take it. I also told her that she needed to remove me from collections. She then transferred me to one of her supervisors. I left a VERY detailed message for him, to which I received no reply. I just checked my credit report and saw that the collections process has hit my report. So now I have this machine that they will not take back, they will not call me back and have sent me to collections and my credit is now getting ruined.

Desired Settlement
To take back the machine, close my account and MOST IMPORTANTLY clear my credit.

Business Response
The complainants account has been adjusted to a zero balance and pulled from collections.

01/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Re: a/c XXXXXXX. Misrepesentation of the transaction and terms of sale.
On July 22, ****** signed an agreement to try a TENS unit from EMPI. She was assured it would be covered by her insurance. After she returned home we read over the agreement and it called for a $795 purchase price or $125/mo rent which would be under our deductible. This was ridiculously high for this product and we called them the next day. They indicated that was for Medicare or our insurance and it would only cost us $259. We thanked them and waited for it to get processed. In September, after getting numerous explanation of benefits(EOBs) from the insurance company denying the claim we got a call from a sales rep, ****** ******* she indicated, "Good news the insurance company had covered everything and she would assist with supplies." She told ****** she would send her a trial kit and she could decide which ones worked for her. After hearing this and not having an EOB that indicated anything was covered we got concerned and called the insurance company. They said TENS units were specifically not covered unless specially authorized. Relying on this and realizing EMPI had lied in their last communication called them and asked if we could return the pads, which apparently cost over $300 and buy the unit for the $259 initially discussed. They apologized and said it wasn't how they did business. They also said they couldn't sell the unit to us. We could either return it or wait for our insurance company to process the claim. Seeing the exposure of continuing to do business with a company that misrepresents we said we would just return it. We did pay them for the initial supplies included with the device, approx $50. We sent the unit and pad back and figured we were done. In December we received a bill for $292.37 to buy the unit we had already returned and a bill to rent the unit for two months for $125.(after an insurance discount). This company through their deceptive and unscrupulous methods has caused us a lot of stress. We don't think we should have to pay anything since we had to acquire a used unit for $200 after they had refused to sell us the new unit. We entered into this transaction in good faith and had inquired as to their pricing and sales policies in the first day. We even paid them for their supplies at a price that was neither reasonable, as we have bought supplies elsewhere for half the price for 10 times the quantity, nor was it ever disclosed. This is a company that is designed to prey on Medicare without full disclosure. In a private transaction their actions and inconsistencies are not tolerable.

Desired Settlement
We request that any charges be credited back and they accept any payment we have provided as payment in full. they had refused to accept our offer of full payment prior to us returning the unit. To request payment for anything after asking for us to return the unit is preposterous.

Business Response
We have received the complainants device back and as a courtesy we will have the account credited in full. I apologise for any confusion.

11/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was given an EMPI TENS meter by my Doctor, who told me it was covered. It did not work for me, and my insurance did not cover it
I am unable to take pain medication due to a history of rather dramatic addiction results. I have an injured arm, and the injury was exacerbated by my landlord's spraying imidacloprid poison into my heater vent, which made the injury unable to heal and much worse. My doctor told me this meter would also be covered by my dual medicare/Medicaid insurance but it was not at all. After getting a sales call for more electrodes, I had not used it, and tried a second electrode, and it failed to work or relieve pain, and made it worse the second time I tried. I have since been able to resolve my injury. I was told I could return the meter, but neither the info I received nor the 1-800 number gave me a place I could send it to. I had been told if it was not covered I could return it free of charge, but need an address, rma#, and instructions for doing so.

Desired Settlement
Want addy to return meter to, and rma#. Also want my account wiped out. I have not received a bill from EMPI, just want to return free of charges to me as promised.

Business Response
The TENs unit the complainant has is packed with a postage paid return envelope. It is inside the box the device came in. The complainant's account has a zero balance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This business just does not listen. My box was open when I got it, it does not have a postage paid return envelope, or anything in it at all. I need the addy to mail it back. If it had been in there, I never would have posted the complaint. My meter obviously had been used for demonstration previously, and stuff was missing. I still need the addy to send it back!

I have finally received mail from you all, dating back to October 1st, right after I filed this. I called the number, and like the other complaints, there is no way to enter rmm417 into the phone ,and no one was there. I have a cd in the box, the meter, and that is about it. Is the addy/envelope inside the plastic bag with the cd in it? I was told not to open it unless I intended to buy it. If it is not, then I still need the physical addy.

Final Business Response
i have sent another return mailbag to the complainant.

11/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Invoiced for both rental and purchase of TENS unit
I picked up and signed paperwork for a 6mo rental of a TENS unit in 11/2012. I attempted to return unit in 01/13 to the physical therapy place I rented it from, was informed I needed to contact EMPI. I called EMPI in early 04/2013 and was informed I would receive return paperwork and information which I never did. I then started receiving collection calls for both the rental ($110) and actual purchase ($795)of the machine in 05/2014..over a year after I requested return authorization paperwork. EMPI never sent paperwork to me nor did they process any paperwork with my insurance company for reimbursement. My insurance company would have paid for the charges less my portion of coverage. I want to return the machine (original box, paperwork, leads) as I only used it for less than 2 mos and only pay my uncovered insurance portion.

Desired Settlement
I want to return the machine/unit to offset the purchase price and pay only the portion of the rental for the 6 month period due.

Business Response
This was billed to the patient's insurance. It looks like we have an incorrect policynumber sicne her carrier wasn't able to identify her. The $111.30 that the patient is referencing is the electrodes that are kitted with the device. There wasn't any rental billed. Just the purchase. Please return the device in the envelope that is kitted with the device. If you need another. Let me know and I can have one sent. Upon our receipt of the device back I will have the account credited.



Consumer Response
There was not a return envelope with the unit when I originally picked it up. I was informed I would have to call to get authorization. I have requested an authorized return envelope and have not yet received one.


Consumer Response
There was not a return envelope with the unit when I originally picked it up. I was informed I would have to call to get authorization. I have requested an authorized return envelope and have not yet received one


Business Response
i have asked a rep to send you a return label.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Medical - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/03/1989Business started: 10/11/1977New Owner Date: 12/01/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1977, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Michael Billadeau (Patient Care Support)
Business Category

Health & Medical - General

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Empi, Inc., this company supplies and distributes electrical stimulation and other orthopedic pain management products for rehabilitation, physical therapy, fitness, and sports performance needs.

Alternate Business Names
DJO, LLC

If you choose to do business with Empi, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Empi, Inc.

599 Cardigan Rd

Saint Paul, MN 55126-4099

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1430 Decision St 

    Vista, CA 92081-8553

  • 599 Cardigan Rd 

    Saint Paul, MN 55126-4099(651) 415-9000
    (800) 328-2536
    (651) 415-8473

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Empi, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (651) 415-9000
  • (651) 415-8473
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Health & Medical - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.