BBB Accredited Business since

Guitar Rodeo Company

Phone: (612) 767-2800 4151 Minnehaha Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55406 http://thepodium.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Guitar seller specializing in premium guitars, amplifiers, and accessories both on the internet and in store.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Guitar Rodeo Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Guitar Rodeo Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Guitar Rodeo Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2010 Business started: 06/10/2004 Business started locally: 06/10/2004 Business incorporated 06/10/2004 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jim Tordoff, President
Contact Information
Principal: Jim Tordoff, President
Business Category

Guitars & Amplifiers Musical Instruments - Dealers Musical Instruments - Repair Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories

Refund and Exchange Policy
Guarantee

All new guitars sold by The Podium have a lifetime warranty. This warranty is provided by the manufacturers, and is valid to the original registering owner. Guitars may be registered by filling out the warranty card supplied with the guitar, telephoning the maker directly, or going online to the maker's site.

Your satisfaction is guaranteed by The Podium too. We take great pride in having a very large and extremely satisfied customer base. We will never knowingly disappoint you. Please contact us if you are unsatisfied in any way so that we may make it right for you. Please read the following information carefully in order to avoid any misunderstanding regarding your rights as a Podium customer:

Returns and refunds

Standard model guitars may be returned for 100% refund or exchange when we are notified within ten days of purchase, and guitars are in original condition with unregistered warranty. Buyer is responsible for all shipping costs associated with the sale and return of any guitar.

Custom and Special Order guitars

Custom or Special Order guitars require a non-refundable 20% down payment due when order is placed, with the balance due upon completion of the order. Buyer is responsible for all shipping costs associated with the sale and return of any guitar.

Early Cancellation of a Custom or Special Order guitar

Down payments become truly non-refundable once the guitar building process has started at the manufacturer and The Podium is therefore committed to buying the Custom or Special Order guitar. If, for any reason, it becomes necessary to cancel a Custom or Special Order guitar, we will contact the manufacturer to determine if the order can be cancelled prior to start of the build. If the Custom or Special Order guitar has not been started at the time of attempted cancellation and the order can be cancelled at the manufacturer level, the customer's down payment will be fully refunded.

Payment Options

Payment may be made by check, money order, credit card, PayPal, wire transfer, cash, or bank draft. We accept Visa, Master Card and Discover. Wire transfer fees charged by the originating bank are the responsibility of the payer. Sales made outside of USA are wire transfer only. The Podium also offers 90 day no interest/no fees financing (layaway) on guitars in stock. A 20% non-refundable down payment will hold your guitar for 90 days and payments may be made as the customer's wishes, with the total amount paid by day 90.

Shipping

Standard shipping is UPS Ground and is insured to your door. A flat fee of $40.00 is added to every guitar to cover shipping and handling costs to the lower 48 states. Shipping to other locations or shipping other than standard ground service is subject to additional charges. Clients will be notified via email by UPS Quantum View Notify of their tracking number and package progress. In stock guitars are shipped same day if purchased by 3:00 p.m. Central Time (GMT-6 hrs). Special order and custom guitars are shipped within 24 business hours of arrival at The Podium.
Service Area
Worldwide
Alternate Business Names
The Podium
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Guitar Rodeo Company, this company is an authorized dealer for several premium guitar brands, as well as accessories and amplifiers.


Additional Locations

  • 4151 Minnehaha Ave

    Minneapolis, MN 55406 (612) 767-2800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: T#1M6DR Sold Kronbauer MJ Guitar#306 as new. Arrived dirty, with scratches and indentations in finish. Guitar is in used condition.. Guitar arrived in used condition. Notified seller immediately. Dirt, scratches could be cleaned, polished. Immediately saw one dent. Then found second similar nearby when professional repair/luthier checked it out. ***** ******* informed all along the way via email. I will gladly send emails. ***** tells me to seek out repair closer to me. Did this for best repair, not cheaper glue drop, along with transit. Guitar will still not be as new but will be repaired. I am only asking for repair reimbursement. Refund for used condition would be several hundred more. ***** refuses. My only option with him is to send guitar back. Since I paid in full by check to avoid credit card merchant fees to send guitar back( check **** cleared my bank. 10/03) I am not comfortable with him having the guitar and my money($2579)particularly because he changes his mind. It seems ***** took over business from father, ***, in 2013. ***** uses *** ******* email, store is the Podium but still goes under guitar rodeo website. *** appears to have been highly praised. Can't find review since 2013 when ***** took over. My gut feeling is that current business is struggling as $300 refund for repair would be similar to best repair and round trip from PA to MN. Every aspect of this transaction is poor. The guitar sounds fabulous so I do not wish to return or to get poor repair work from a shop that sent it out in used,unprepped condition and sold as new. Btw, this guitar was still listed as in stock on the website as of this morning. If you can assist in repair refund I would very much appreciate it.. If not, at least it will be noted that current business is not the same as one of the past. Thank youm

Desired Settlement: Described in previous message box.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/21) */ Ms. ***** has been offered a full refund including shipping costs, or a full repair including shipping costs to us and back again. These offers were made immediately when we heard of her issues and are available to her now. While we respect her right to state her opinion on any topic, we do not agree with her judgement of the condition of the guitar or our responses to her concerns as she states. We agree that we disagree. Our cost to effect this repair, including shipping both ways, is less than $100.00. We staff three luthiers who can effect this repair properly. Thousands of customers have been satisfied with our handling of their repair needs through the years. We do not authorize repairs made by shops we do not know or cannot have verified by the network of businesses we trust. We gave ******** ***** a $150 discount on the price as an incentive to buy the guitar initially. Our reluctance to overpay for a repair done by an unverified shop is not a symptom of a struggling business, but a standard of a healthy one. Her assertions as to the ownership of the company are mystifying as well. I am the owner, and my son, who has the same name as I do, is an employee, and a valued and trusted one at that. Yes, we use the same email but we do not feel this should be a concern to anyone as we operate our business in a consistent manner. For example, Ms. ***** has been communicated with by my son (solely) throughout her transaction, a practice we use regularly. Now that Ms. ***** has escalated her concerns I am responding to her. My name is the same but I am now the voice of our firm for Ms *****. I was an employee at the Podium 40 years ago. I know every owner the store has had through the years. We merged our stores and the Podium retains the reputation earned since 1959 to this day. We are ready to completely handle the concerns of Ms. ***** and wish this could be resolved in everyone's favor, but find her characterizations of our business and practices to be unseemly and unfounded. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Within Google review of business online, *****, the son states he is the New owner in 2013 as well as giving the business 5 stars. I did speak to ***, the father, asking him to capo the guitar as to sounds band he stayed, the guitar "loves the capo." In addition, when asked as to the condition of the guitar He stated it was "clean" in so far as he could see. *** further stated he was sing for his son who was at his birthday lunch. I am amazed the guitar could ship to MN from PA and back for $100 not including repair. I did not realize discount was for anything other than a price breakwhich I essentially returned by paying in full by check,negating merchant fees for credit and paying shipping. Bottom line is I did not get the guitar as advertised and even if repaired it will not be perfect as advertised. In the meantime I am being asked to go without the guitar for which I paid in full as well as now, more shipping costs, for close to a month because they insist on shipping for longest cheapest waywhich only a few might do when weather has even more effect on the guitar. I will forward all email correspondence with ***** and as *** said, we will agree to disagree. I realize they will never submit any refund and because I paid in cash, I do not want to risk any more of my money or time. I will let the email correspondence stand for itself. Product was not as advertised and customer is expected to bear the burden of their remedy. I sought local assistance at ***** request, I paid in cash at his request, I can do no right in their estimation. Enough said. Apparently, I cannot send email through this response. Please advise as to how I can submit.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Guitar Rodeo Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)