BBB Accredited Business since

Como Oil & Propane

Phone: (218) 722-6666 Fax: (218) 628-7301 4330 W 1st St Ste 1, Duluth, MN 55807 http://www.comooilandpropane.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Como Oil & Propane meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Como Oil & Propane include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Como Oil & Propane
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Transportation
1110 Centre Pointe Curv, Saint Paul MN 55120
http://www.dot.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-3000
customerservice@mnpass.net

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Joel Berg, General Manager Will Norman, Vice President of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Joel Berg, General Manager
Business Category

Gas - Propane Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Oils - Fuel Natural Gas Companies Gasoline - Wholesale Wholesalers & Distributors Fuel - Diesel Gas - Industrial & Medical - Cylinder & Bulk

Alternate Business Names
Interstate Energy, LLC
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Como Oil and Propane (Interstate Energy, LLC), this company offers propane, heating oil, diesel fuel and gasoline for residential, commercial, and industrial uses.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased propane for the year,purchased furnace after,wouldn't keep balances separate,ordered propane after paying off furnace, ended up owing money I purchased propane on the prebuy program for the year.I ended up having to purchase a furnace,specifically asked them to keep my propane money separate from the money deposited toward the purchase of the furnace.Periodically I would ask how much is owed on the furnace as I made payments,ensuring numbers were correct as I was keeping track.Making the last payment for the furnace before the deadline, I called and ordered propane. Calling the office, I asked how much money I had on account for propane, the gal gave me the balance, I had plenty of money on account to order propane, so I did. After delivery I see on the ticket that I owe $500.82. I call and ask why I owe money. She has to check and see why, calls me back days later and said the money I had for propane was used toward the furnace. So I ordered propane using money I thought was there in my account for propane and it really wasn't. According to them, their software can't keep money for propane and money for say a furnace separate, it all goes into one account, yet when I call, they could give me a balance for how much money I had "already paid for" on account for propane.They can tell me I paid this much for the furnace, I had this much for propane, but can't keep the two separate enough to tell me whether or not the propane money had been applied to my furnace bill. And then..not tell me that money had been applied to the furnace bill, before I order propane - leaving me NO money for propane, the propane I had already purchased.

Desired Settlement: Im not looking for anything other than Como get their business together. I have had my own business and currently manage another. If I ever did this to a customer, I would do whatever I could to make it right. I would never ever mess with a customers money in their account without telling the customer specifically what was going on. In my situation, I asked numerous times for balances, never once was I told my in account propane money was actually applied toward the purchase of my furnace. When I asked for my propane money to be separated,the response was the software doesn't allow for that. That when the furnace is paid for the credit (for my paid in full propane) would be there. Does that not mean I would have had a credit, that my propane balance wouldn't be applied to the furnace? Its pretty hard to budget money when people in the office can't keep my figures straight. So I pay off my furnace, I have no credit like I was told for propane, cuz it was applied to my furnace, no body told me that until after I get propane delivered. That's bad business! I will tell the world.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ In the matter of #******** The first comment made is that propane was purchased for the year, furnace installed, then customer ordered propane and ended up owing money. a. Customer did a pre purchase contract dated 7/1/14. Agreement to pre purchase 675 gallons at a price of $1.599 gallon. Total cost of $1079.33. Less the credit on account on 7/1/14, $27.60. Leaving an amount due of $1051.73 1. Customer made a payment of $815.00 on 7/1/14. The remaining $236.73 for 675 pre purchase contract was due by 7/31/14. This payment was not made. b. In spite of the remaining payment due for the pre buy of fuel--we delivered customer's fuel at the contract rate of $1.599/gallon. In January 2014, Customer's furnace failed. We installed a new furnace for them. As a service to customer we allowed the installation to be paid for on credit. With NO interest. Both the above instances, show that our company went above and beyond to help the customer. Customer comments that they would like nothing other than for us to get its business together. Along with comment that they would do whatever they could to make it right, and they would never "mess" with a customers money in their account. a. First and foremost, we did not, and do not "mess" with a customer's money in their accounts. All payments received are posted directly to the account. Nothing is withheld, nor "messed" with. b. On the comment of doing whatever could be done to make it right. The dispute here is over the fuel delivery made in March of 2014, and the balance due for that delivery. To resolve this unpaid balance for the customer, we offered to pump out the fuel delivered free of charge, and credit customer for the returned fuel. There are a total of 17 transactions from 5/4/12 to date on this customer account. Upon request, we would be happy to supply this transaction report as detailed proof of all activity that took place on the account. Clearly, the customer is unhappy with our company, and struggles with understanding our accounting software. We don't believe that there is anything specifically that can be done to amend this for them. Because of the ongoing confusion, and frustration the customer has with this, and their formal complaint to the BBB, we regretfully suggest that the best option is perhaps for them to choose another fuel supplier to serve their home heating needs. Locally, there are approximately 10 propane providers that they may choose from. Perhaps another provider offers a different in house accounting system that better suits their needs. We would be happy to send any detailed documents, invoices, etc... upon request of the BBB. Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Como Oil & Propane
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)