BBB Accredited Business since

Metro Garage Door Company

Phone: (612) 605-9419 Fax: (952) 854-0472 View Additional Phone Numbers 8175 Lewis Rd Ste A  Showroom, Golden Valley, MN 55427 http://www.metrogaragedoor.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Metro Garage Door Co. has been providing affordable, same-day service to your community for over 35 years. We install and repair all styles of garage doors and openers, offering quality residential and commercial services at a competitive price.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metro Garage Door Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metro Garage Door Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Metro Garage Door Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1985 Business started: 07/01/1978 Business started locally: 07/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Doug Robinson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Doug Robinson, President
Business Category

Garage Door Repair Contractors - General Construction & Remodeling Services Door & Gate Operating Devices Garage Doors & Openers

Hours of Operation
Services are available 24/7 (emergency rates apply during non-business hours). Business hours are Monday - Friday from 7:30AM - 4:30PM and on Saturday from 8:00AM - 4:00PM.
Service Area
Metro Garage Door Company provides their services in AFTON, ALBERTVILLE, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BIG LAKE, BISCAY, BLAINE, BLMNG PRAIRIE, BLOOMING PRAIRIE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BUFFALO, BURNS TOWNSHIP, BURNS TWNSHP, BURNSVILLE, CAMBRIDGE, CANNON FALLS, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CHISAGO CITY, CIRCLE PINES, COLLEGEVILLE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CROWN COLLEGE, CRYSTAL, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDEN VALLEY, EDINA, ELK RIVER, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARIBAULT, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GLENCOE, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HOWARD LAKE, HUGO, HUTCHINSON, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE CITY, LAKE ELMO, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LE SUEUR, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MANKATO, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE LAKE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MARINE ON SAINT CROIX, MARINE ST CRX, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MERIDEN, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MONTEVIDEO, MONTGOMERY, MONTICELLO, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH BRANCH, NORTH MANKATO, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTISCO, OTSEGO, OWATONNA, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RED WING, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT BONIFACIUS, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAINT PETER, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SILVER CREEK, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST ANTHNY VLG, ST ANTHONY, ST ANTHONY VILLAGE, ST BONIFACIUS, ST LOUIS PARK, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VESELI, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WADENA, WASECA, WAYZATA, WEBSTER, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WOODBURY, YOUNG AMERICA & ZIMMERMAN, MN. Proudly serving all Counties in the Greater Twin Cities Metro Area, including Hennepin, Carver, Scott, Anoka, Washington, Dakota, Ramsey and portions of Wright County.
Alternate Business Names
Ace Garage Door Company Ridge Door Sales & Service
Products & Services

According to information provided by Metro Garage Door, they offer 24-hour emergency residential and commercial services * Broken spring and cable replacement * Service on all brands of garage doors and openers * Sale and installation of new garage doors and openers * Preventative maintenance services * Panel repair

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Metro Garage Door Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8175 Lewis Rd Ste A
    Showroom

    Golden Valley, MN 55427 (612) 605-9419 (612) 276-3891

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Metro service rep did not solve problem. I called manager and second rep came out. Second repair not working either. Told manager warranty failed. Our garage door was not working correctly. It only opened some times and stopped mid cycle. I attempted to find the problem but could not. As I was into the opener project, I lubed the rollers and oiled the chain. A few days later Metro sent out Scott to repair intermittant problem with door opener. He said it was a loose plug. He offered to tune-up the unit which included the lube of the rollers and oiling the chain. My wife did not know that I had done this so she OK'd it. She paid Scott and Metro $113. for the service. When I found out I did not say anything as the transaction was over. About five weeks later the garage door started acting up again. Same problem. When I called Metro to come back over, they said it would be a new charge as more that 30 days had past. I spoke to the manager, Bill. He would not send over someone for free but would wave the $47.00 come out fee. So I OK'd that. Kyle, the second rep. thought it was the RPM circuit. He replaced the part with a new one and it seemed to be working. When I got out the checkbook, I asked about the warranty on the new part? Kyle checked with his office and 30 days was the response. So I decided I would wait out the 30 day warranty period before I paid for a second repair. The Metro manager, Bill called me and we agreed to disagree. I would pay the invoice in 30 days if the repair was good. It was not. Two weeks later it occurred again. So I had my wife call and report the problem came back. Then I sent an email to Metro to have Bill call me. He agreed to forget the second charge and I agreed to return the part Kyle put in which is worth $37.00. I thought this was a done deal but today my wife gets a letter from Metro, some gut named Greg, that he would like her to pay the second invoice. Greg will receive a letter from me regarding the situation. I asked Greg if he would return that part of the first service fee that did not need to be done. Think he will do it?

Desired Settlement: I would like to get back that service fee for the "tune-up" that did not need to be done. A letter of apology from Bill would be nice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/11/25) */ I called ****************** and discussed their concerns and reached a solution to their satisfaction. They would return the part and we will remove the charges for the service call on 9/29/15. We will follow up with our staff involved and share their comments and suggestions for improving customer communications. They also agreed to remove the original complaint. So **** should expect to hear from them. If you have any questions, please call me at ************ M-F. Sincerely, Doug ********, President Metro Garage Door Co. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/11/30) */ My wife spoke to the owner of Metro Garage Door Co. and we agreed to resolve the issue. His name is Doug ********. He sent us a letter. I do appreciate having the BBB around to referee disputes. Too many businesses think their "procedures" are the final say in customer relations. The customer's satisfaction is beside the point. Sad but true. Thanks for your help. *************

12/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The repair service provided did not reflect general principles of honesty, interparty and professionalism of doing business. On 04/06/2014, I had a problem with my home garage door. I could not operate the door to open/close electronically. So I had a service call to the Metro Garage Door Co (the service/shop), which has been our sole garage door service for my home since 1997. A service man (technician) was called in on 4/7/14 to check what might go wrong with the garage door. The technician first revealed that there was no power from the power outlet for the door operation. However, he claimed that he did not have an extension power cord to be used to connect to another power outlet in the house in order to verify if the door motor was broken. But he suggested that the motor must be bad because it was an old model. Since there seemed no way the technician could get the old motor tested and I did need the door to be operated normally. So I had no choice to let the technician to replace the old motor with a new one. With new motor installed, the technician would have to demonstrate that the new door motor was working as expected. To my surprise, he told me at this time that he had an extension cord and could be used for the test! I felt instantly that I was fooled by the technician. He had an extension cord and he definitely should use it to determine if the existing motor was still working so that he could pin the problem down and fix the real problem for me. Instead, the technician chose to not really help me out but had me to agree to replace the old motor without knowing what was the real problem. This service charged $449.38 on me by installing a new door motor with only one door opener. Now, I found out that there is a wire failure in the garage power wire connection. That should be the root cause for the door opening problem back in April. So my old motor most likely was still good and it should not be simply cut down and replaced. I have been a royal customer to this service for more than 17 years. But clearly, the shop did not treat me with integrity and professionalism. I felt that I was betrayed by the shop. Therefore, I decide to fill a complaint to express my strong disapproval on how this business had handled my service call to the broader audiences so that people could avoid anything like this happened to them. On the other hand, after as a 17 years of loyal customer to this service, I believe that this is the time for me to move on and have another shop as my primary garage door service. On top of that, I believe that it's fair for me to ask for a one-time refund from this shop for what I was treated and how they handled the repair during their service. I am also asking this shop to provide one more garage door opener to me without additional charge because the new motor installed leaves me only one remote opener instead and I was told by the service man that all the openers (total of 3) for my old motor would be no long compatible to work with the new motor.

Desired Settlement: I believe that it's fair for me to ask for a one-time refund from this shop for what I was treated and how they handled the repair during their service. I am also asking this shop to provide one more garage door opener to me without additional charge because the new motor installed leaves me only one remote opener instead and I was told by the service man that all the openers (total of 3) for my old motor would be no long compatible to work with the new motor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/05) */ ***response has been scanned in and converted to text below (original document is available using the online complaint system). Attached is a copy of the letter sent to **** **** today. This matter has been addressed to his satisfaction per our phone conversation 12/3/14. Dear ****, I appreciate your willingness to talk to me regarding your concerns about our service to you April 7, 2014. Based upon your account of the situation, I can surely understand your point of view. In our phone conversation, I related as best I could what I thought had happened given the reality that the technician who did the work is no longer with our company. I can assure you that he had no intention of misleading you or selling you something that you didn't need. I know him to be not only capable, but an honest man. I believe that he may not have clearly communicated what he was thinking and what his reason was for the solution he recommended for your garage door opener. I apologize for this and have agreed to give you a refund of 10% on the new opener and have given you at no cost to you a second remote (which you said you could program according to the directions) which is compatible with your new opener. I thank you for your business over the years. We value your business and you giving us your feedback about our recent service. I hope you'll consider using us again to serve your future garage door needs.

1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service not provided. My garage door does not close when it is cold unless I hold the button down. (below 32 degrees) I specifically told the scheduler this---explaining that the door works perfectly when it is not cold. The repairman came out on a day which was above 32 degrees. I again stated to him that the door works perfectly when it is warm and that there is only a problem when it is cold. Even though it was warm and the door was working, he said he would take a look at it. He did 23 point maintenance check which I did not need done---again the door was in good condition when not cold. After paying $108 for a trip charge and the maintenance check (which was not necessary) the serviceman left. This was on November 13. A week later it was again cold and the door would not work. I called the company and was told by ***** that she could send someone out tomorrow or the next day and I would not be charged for the trip but I would be charged $24 every quarter hour to fix the problem. I stated to her that I had already paid $40 for a maintenance check which I did not need and felt that I should not have to pay an additional charge over and above the $40 to have the door fixed. I also stated that their work was supposed to be warrantied and my problem was not fixed. After talking to her for about 20 minutes she said she would talk to the owner. I did not get a call back from her so called again asking for her on 11/21. Again no call back so called again on 11/26. I spoke to a manager on this date with no better results. He insisted that the maintenance check needed to be done to identify the problem. I stated to him that there was no need for the check. I simply wanted the problem addressed and should not have to pay twice to have the work done. He said he would have the owner call me. I have not received a call from the owner and my door still does not work. I believe that the problem could have been addressed without the complete maintenance check. Product_Or_Service: fix garage door

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Since the work I requested done was never completed, and I received such poor service from the people I talked to (or didn't talk to) I would like a refund. It appears that this company is trying to extract as much money as it possibly can from its customers and I do not believe this is good business. They were not willing to work with me at all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/17) */ I have called this customer and we have made arrangements to talk again on the 23rd of December when she returns from a trip. I will advise you of our conclusion after this conversation. Thank you.

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairman replaced spring & "completed" 23 Point Safety check. Within less than 48 hrs. door had partially fallen off track & wouldn't close. On May 24th of 2013 a repairman from Metro Garage Door Co., Randy, came to fix our door which wouldn't open. He asked for a glass of water, and said the door needed a new spring and he would be done in 20 minutes. When he was finished (in about 20 minutes)he handed me the bill for $193.00 which shows a charge for a "1265 Spring" for $154.00 and a $39.00 charge for "23 Pt. Service". He also gave me a sheet titled "23 Point Periodic Maintenance and Safety Check for Garage Doors and Electric Openers". 19 of the items on the list had circled words in them as if he checked them off. Less than 48 hours later my husband hit the garage door opener to close the door and the door wouldn't close. Instead three of the garage door wheels fell off and the garage door corner on the side with the missing wheels dangled over my car. We called to have someone come out because we had to get the door closed (we have had thefts in our neighborhood). The serviceman this time was **** and he charged us $300.00 and said he had to but that we could call the office later. His receipt to us states "Door Stuck open", "Top Fixture, Hinges", "#3, #2 rollers came off track" "Emergency Call". This is also interesting as three rollers were off track, and this seems to say that only two were off (I took photos before **** came over). Also he moved one track before leaving which he doesn't mention. I wonder if that's what really needed fixing in the first place as our garage has settled a lot over the years.

Desired Settlement: I wanted $300.00 back as they caused my Garage Door to partially fall of. Now that they haven't paid and I have read over the bills and Safety Check in detail I would like $339.00 back for the repair visit and for the initial safety check charge, as I don't believe that the safety check was completed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/07/15) */ Per a phone call from the company, they have stated they have attempted to contact the customer multiple times to address her concerns, including leaving messages with a number to call them back at. The company has requested that the customer call them to discuss the concerns. The company can be reached at ************, if nobody answers then the company has requested that a message be left indicating the best number and time to return the call and someone will call back. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In the month following their service call I attempted to contact the owner at least 6 times. I left detailed messages, was assured that I would be contacted, at times even specifically promised "We will call you back today." or "We will call you back Wednesday." I was NEVER contacted. In my last conversation with the secretary ***** I tried to confront her with the fact that she had lied to me multiple times about calling me back and she got very defensive and accused me of not thinking she deserved a vacation. She also stated her boss was "out of the states." After a month of this run around this didn't sound honest either. I don't want to speak with anyone at that company now. I would just like my $339.00 back and I would like the BBB to have this complaint registered and available for people to see as no customer deserves this treatment. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/07/29) */ ***Response has been scanned in and converted to text below (full version is available using the online complaint system). I am writing in response to your complaint filed with the MN BBB, regarding our service on your garage door at the above address on May 24 and 26, 2013. First of all I want to apologize for the time it has taken to get connected with you to resolve your issues. Unfortunately, this incident follow up occurred at a time of several vacations and an injured employee being off work. So I apologize that our response, which ordinarily would have been much more timely, was delayed due to some behind the scenes staff absences. I was first made aware of your concerns on July 3, 2013 when I returned from vacation and made my first call to you that day at both your home and cell numbers. Unfortunately you have not returned any of my 5 calls to you since you were probably frustrated in our lack of response to you by then. If we had talked, I would have listened to your complaint first hand and been able to respond at that time as I am going to now. I have reviewed your records and gathered the internal information to better understand what occurred at your garage. Here is what I found. Our first tech replaced a broken spring on your garage door. The spring is what does the lifting of the door. He also did a 23 point service and adjust to your door total mechanism. He circled the items that pertained to your door. Items not circled were either not adjusted since they didn't need it or the part was not present. When your husband attempted to open the door two days later, the top rollers apparently jumped the track, probably because a set screw on the cable drum slipped resulting one side of the door not moving up as fast as the other and the roller then jumped out of the track. This is the situation the second tech found on the 26th of May. Since our warranty on service (as stated on your copy of the receipt) is for one month after the service date, we would normally have returned at no charge to you on the first normal work day to repair this situation. This would have been Monday the 27th of May. Because of your situation and your request for us to come on Sunday, we accommodated you using our emergency service rate which was $300.00. I believe the second tech told you to call the office to explain your situation and they would make any needed adjustment to your bill at that time. Which you did. Based upon my findings, which seem to be close to yours, we are returning your $300.00 for the emergency service on the 26th and as a good will gesture we are returning the $39.00 for the 23 point check service. I apologize that our response took as long as it did. We do appreciate your business and hope this communication will close this matter to your satisfaction. If I can be of further assistance, please call me at ************ M-F 8am. to 4:30 p.m. Thank you for your business and I hope you'll give us another chance to help you in the future with your garage door needs. Sincerely, **** ******** President, Metro Garage Door


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Metro Garage Door Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart