BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2004

Metro Garage Door Company

(612) 605-9419View Additional Phone Numbers8175 Lewis Rd Ste A, Showroom, Golden ValleyMN 55427-4495 Send email to Metro Garage Door CompanyView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Metro Garage Door Co. has been providing affordable, same-day service to your community for over 35 years. We install and repair all styles of garage doors and openers, offering quality residential and commercial services at a competitive price.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2004

BBB has determined that Metro Garage Door Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Metro Garage Door Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Metro Garage Door Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Service not provided. My garage door does not close when it is cold unless I hold the button down. (below 32 degrees) I specifically told the scheduler this---explaining that the door works perfectly when it is not cold. The repairman came out on a day which was above 32 degrees. I again stated to him that the door works perfectly when it is warm and that there is only a problem when it is cold. Even though it was warm and the door was working, he said he would take a look at it. He did 23 point maintenance check which I did not need done---again the door was in good condition when not cold. After paying $108 for a trip charge and the maintenance check (which was not necessary) the serviceman left. This was on November 13. A week later it was again cold and the door would not work. I called the company and was told by ***** that she could send someone out tomorrow or the next day and I would not be charged for the trip but I would be charged $24 every quarter hour to fix the problem. I stated to her that I had already paid $40 for a maintenance check which I did not need and felt that I should not have to pay an additional charge over and above the $40 to have the door fixed. I also stated that their work was supposed to be warrantied and my problem was not fixed. After talking to her for about 20 minutes she said she would talk to the owner. I did not get a call back from her so called again asking for her on 11/21. Again no call back so called again on 11/26. I spoke to a manager on this date with no better results. He insisted that the maintenance check needed to be done to identify the problem. I stated to him that there was no need for the check. I simply wanted the problem addressed and should not have to pay twice to have the work done. He said he would have the owner call me. I have not received a call from the owner and my door still does not work. I believe that the problem could have been addressed without the complete maintenance check.
Product_Or_Service: fix garage door

Initial Business Response
I have called this customer and we have made arrangements to talk again on the 23rd of December when she returns from a trip. I will advise you of our conclusion after this conversation. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Repairman replaced spring & "completed" 23 Point Safety check. Within less than 48 hrs. door had partially fallen off track & wouldn't close.
On May 24th of 2013 a repairman from Metro Garage Door Co., Randy, came to fix our door which wouldn't open. He asked for a glass of water, and said the door needed a new spring and he would be done in 20 minutes. When he was finished (in about 20 minutes)he handed me the bill for $193.00 which shows a charge for a "1265 Spring" for $154.00 and a $39.00 charge for "23 Pt. Service". He also gave me a sheet titled "23 Point Periodic Maintenance and Safety Check for Garage Doors and Electric Openers". 19 of the items on the list had circled words in them as if he checked them off. Less than 48 hours later my husband hit the garage door opener to close the door and the door wouldn't close. Instead three of the garage door wheels fell off and the garage door corner on the side with the missing wheels dangled over my car. We called to have someone come out because we had to get the door closed (we have had thefts in our neighborhood). The serviceman this time was **** and he charged us $300.00 and said he had to but that we could call the office later. His receipt to us states "Door Stuck open", "Top Fixture, Hinges", "#3, #2 rollers came off track" "Emergency Call". This is also interesting as three rollers were off track, and this seems to say that only two were off (I took photos before **** came over). Also he moved one track before leaving which he doesn't mention. I wonder if that's what really needed fixing in the first place as our garage has settled a lot over the years.

Business' Initial Response
Per a phone call from the company, they have stated they have attempted to contact the customer multiple times to address her concerns, including leaving messages with a number to call them back at. The company has requested that the customer call them to discuss the concerns. The company can be reached at ************, if nobody answers then the company has requested that a message be left indicating the best number and time to return the call and someone will call back.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In the month following their service call I attempted to contact the owner at least 6 times. I left detailed messages, was assured that I would be contacted, at times even specifically promised "We will call you back today." or "We will call you back Wednesday." I was NEVER contacted. In my last conversation with the secretary ***** I tried to confront her with the fact that she had lied to me multiple times about calling me back and she got very defensive and accused me of not thinking she deserved a vacation. She also stated her boss was "out of the states." After a month of this run around this didn't sound honest either. I don't want to speak with anyone at that company now. I would just like my $339.00 back and I would like the BBB to have this complaint registered and available for people to see as no customer deserves this treatment.

Business' Final Response
***Response has been scanned in and converted to text below (full version is available using the online complaint system).


I am writing in response to your complaint filed with the MN BBB, regarding our service on your garage door at the above address on May 24 and 26, 2013. First of all I want to apologize for the time it has taken to get connected with you to resolve your issues. Unfortunately, this incident follow up occurred at a time of several vacations and an injured employee being off work. So I apologize that our response, which ordinarily would have been much more timely, was delayed due to some behind the scenes staff absences. I was first made aware of your concerns on July 3, 2013 when I returned from vacation and made my first call to you that day at both your home and cell numbers. Unfortunately you have not returned any of my 5 calls to you since you were probably frustrated in our lack of response to you by then.

If we had talked, I would have listened to your complaint first hand and been able to respond at that time as I am going to now. I have reviewed your records and gathered the internal information to better understand what occurred at your garage. Here is what I found. Our first tech replaced a broken spring on your garage door. The spring is what does the lifting of the door. He also did a 23 point service and adjust to your door total mechanism. He circled the items that pertained to your door. Items not circled were either not adjusted since they didn't need it or the part was not present. When your husband attempted to open the door two days later, the top rollers apparently jumped the track, probably because a set screw on the cable drum slipped resulting one side of the door not moving up as fast as the other and the roller then jumped out of the track. This is the situation the second tech found on the 26th of May.

Since our warranty on service (as stated on your copy of the receipt) is for one month after the service date, we would normally have returned at no charge to you on the first normal work day to repair this situation. This would have been Monday the 27th of May. Because of your situation and your request for us to come on Sunday, we accommodated you using our emergency service rate which was $300.00. I believe the second tech told you to call the office to explain your situation and they would make any needed adjustment to your bill at that time. Which you did.



Based upon my findings, which seem to be close to yours, we are returning your $300.00 for the emergency service on the 26th and as a good will gesture we are returning the $39.00 for the 23 point check service. I apologize that our response took as long as it did. We do appreciate your business and hope this communication will close this matter to your satisfaction. If I can be of further assistance, please call me at ************ M-F 8am. to 4:30 p.m.

Thank you for your business and I hope you'll give us another chance to help you in the future with your garage door needs.

Sincerely,

**** ********

President, Metro Garage Door

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/26/2011Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: arget installation date 9/23/2011. Cannot get anyone at company to respond when I call to inquire on ETA of my door.
9/9/11 signed contract for Garage door *** Paid *** deposit. Salesman said he already checked and door can be installed 9/23/11. No one has called us about the door and I have called the company twice and both times told someone will call to schedule door installation, but they never even look up my order, this is a pat answer. I believe they just take the money and don't fulfill the contract.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/07/2011Problems with Product / Service
10/09/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Door & Gate Operating Devices, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1985Business started: 07/01/1978Business started locally: 07/01/1983
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5005
http://www.dli.mn.gov

Construction Codes and Licensing Division
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5012
http://www.doli.state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Doug Robinson (President)
Business Category

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Door & Gate Operating Devices, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - General

Products & Services

According to information provided by Metro Garage Door, they offer 24-hour emergency residential and commercial services * Broken spring and cable replacement * Service on all brands of garage doors and openers * Sale and installation of new garage doors and openers * Preventative maintenance services * Panel repair

Hours of Operation

Services are available 24/7 (emergency rates apply during non-business hours). Business hours are Monday - Friday from 7:30AM - 4:30PM and on Saturday from 8:00AM - 4:00PM.

Service Area

Proudly serving all Counties in the Greater Twin Cities Metro Area, including Hennepin, Carver, Scott, Anoka, Washington, Dakota, Ramsey and portions of Wright County.

Alternate Business Names
Ace Garage Door Company, Ridge Door Sales & Service
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Remodeling your home
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home

If you choose to do business with Metro Garage Door Company, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Metro Garage Door Company

8175 Lewis Rd Ste A

Golden Valley, MN 55427-4495

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8175 Lewis Rd Ste A
    Showroom 

    Golden Valley, MN 55427-4495(612) 605-9419
    (612) 276-3891

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Metro Garage Door Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (651) 674-3375
  • (612) 276-3891
  • (612) 276-3902

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (952) 854-0472
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.