BBB Accredited Business since

Heinen Contracting, Inc.

Phone: (612) 327-9186 Fax: (866) 601-1868 View Additional Phone Numbers 10100 Hillside Ln W, Minnetonka, MN 55305 http://www.heinencontracting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Heinen Contracting has been in business for almost 20 years. We have done residential and commercial projects, new construction, remodels, rehabs, specialty concrete, retaining walls and in recent years begun specializing in NEW GARAGE CONSTRUCTION.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heinen Contracting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heinen Contracting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heinen Contracting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2008 Business started: 05/01/1996 Business started locally: 05/01/1996 Business incorporated 05/19/1999 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Greg Heinen, President Joanna Heinen, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Greg Heinen, President
Business Category

Garage Builders Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Parking Stations & Garages - Construction Patio & Deck Builders Deck Builder Plumbers Siding Contractors Basement Waterproofing Construction & Remodeling Services Basement - Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Geothermal Heating & Cooling Fence Contractors Windows Windows - Egress Concrete Construction Forms & Accessories Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Building Contractors Contractors - General Basement - Contractors Basement - Finishing Contractor - Remodel & Repair Floor Coverings & Installation Floors - Garage

Service Area
Heinen Contracting, Inc. provides their services in AFTON, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BELLE PLAINE, BETHEL, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLOGNE, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CRYSTAL, DAYTON, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMBURG, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HANOVER, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MAYER, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA BCH, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA BCH, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA BEACH, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW GERMANY, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NEWPORT, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTHFIELD, NORWOOD YOUNG AMERICA, NOWTHEN, NYA, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, OTSEGO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RANDOLPH, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROGERS, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, SPRING PARK, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WACONIA, WATERTOWN, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE & WOODBURY, MN. Twin Cities and Surrounding Areas
Alternate Business Names
HCI
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Heinen Contracting, this company offers general contracting, new garage construction, remodeling, new construction and specialty concrete.

Industry Tips
Foreclosure Services Remodeling your home Storm Damage Repair/Restoration

Additional Locations

  • 10100 Hillside Ln W

    Minnetonka, MN 55305

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired the contractor to build a 2.5 car garage. Faulty electrical work and concrete work. Per our bid, he built a 2.5 car garage, which he stated was 24' by 24', 6' wall height.They did hand framing of the attic trusses and increased the pitch to 10/12 for a 6'6" clearance in the interior room. They hand framed the upper structure for full depth living area, installed a new exterior door for upper area with half light window, and installed a new window, 3'x4' gable end of attic. His electrician installed a new 20amp electrical to the house and put in an additional 2 lights and 4 outlets in upper attic area. **** had to redo the concrete apron due to the mix that was used over the winter. He told us he had to redo other properties in addition to ours. Our garage build took 1 year to complete. When we signed the contract with **** Heinen on 9/3/13 and paid 50% down, it stated that the work would start on 9/15/13 and would be substantially completed by 10/31/13. They did not get the permit pulled in advance so that they could start on 9/15/13. THe work did not start until the end of October! Concrete was poured late in the season and most of it had to be redone or replaced. It is still cracking and crumbling. The garage floor was not sloped toward the door and so we had puddles of stagnant water throughout the winter and mold that grew all over the garage walls, our cars, bikes and tools in the garage. At that time and after persistently asking for months, **** installed two passive vents. At the beginning of the build, he started building wood stairs at the back of the garage (lower level) that were not in the original plans (see attached). We luckily caught the problem and he had to backfill the area. He wanted to charge us for his mistake. This continued throughout the entire project whenever something went wrong. When they excavated a large portion of our backyard (our house sits up on a hill), they did not install erosion control. They were cited by the city of St. Paul and we received complaints from our neighbors. They never rectified the problem. We ended up building a retaining wall ourselves one afternoon after work to stop the erosion on the west side of our garage. Currently, the garage floor is cracking, when it rains water pours out the side of the retaining wall (not the drain), our garage is not 3 ft from the property line as originally contracted for and as indicated by the survey, and the apron is once again crumbling. In addition to these issues, the most pressing concern was that when it rained we were unable to access our garage and there is no lighting for security due to a break in the electrical line going from the house to the garage. The electrician had been out a few times and had just replaced the GFCI. The problem has continued to occur (a total of 7 times). The electrician and **** have never tried to rectify the problem. After **** failed to return our calls or emails, we hired another electrician to fix the problem. **** had claimed the problem was due to our "cheap lights" from Menards in the upstairs of the garage. We replaced these lights last year with a product from Home Depot because one of ****'s subs had broken one of these lights. The replacement did not fix the problem. Further, **** sources all of his materials from Menards. In addition, when we started the project with ****, we specified that we were going to use the upstairs as a gym year-round and would need electrical access accordingly. The electrical he was installing should have been sufficient to power that space, but that was not the case.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that **** Heinen reimburse us for the electrical repair, compensate us for the crumbling concrete, and refund the charges for the retaining wall that does not drain properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/01) */ See attached Timing: Firstly, to say this garage took a year to complete is untrue, as evidenced by the building permit final inspection on garage portion on February 18, 2014. Additionally the claim of not starting until the end of October is untrue as the framing was signed off on November 1, 2013. That was done after all the site prep and concrete work. The permitting process was dragged out by the City, due to the special hand framing of the trusses and was treated the same way as a variance, meaning they require extra time to review, as well as additional information, plans and trips to the City by me or my staff. You were notified via email what was happening. As far as I could tell, this was not an issue, as I committed not to charge you extra for this extra permitting work or for working in winter conditions that the time setback caused to happen (Free item) Your garage was in full use by you in late November, before the first snow, with only a few items, like your SPECIAL ORDER siding, which took 6 weeks to get in. Concrete: Never at any point was concrete redone or replaced, besides the apron. The original flaking surface of the apron was the fault of the concrete supplier and I was reimbursed by them for this mistake. There are no "defects" whatsoever in your garage build, as evidenced by the inspector sign off. The inspector has noted that these customers have been problematic through this entire process as well as on other projects they have been working on apart from me. Garage Floor: The initial garage floor was perfectly flat because that is the way you ordered it. I give this as an option for everyone. Some people like it sloped and some do not. Your garage is built into a hill, thus the water. Your neighbor has the exact same floor as you and I have not received one complaint from them about water or pooling. You did not have vents in your original contract and refused to pay for them. I came up with multiple solutions that cost little or nothing, and you did not like any of them, therefore taking months for you to decide what you wanted to do. It is not my fault that you made bad choices and ignored advice that I offered. Stairway in the back: We mutually decided on a stairway in the back and apparently this was a misunderstanding on my part about what you wanted. As soon as you notified us, we rectified it immediately, WITHOUT a charge. There was NEVER an attempt to charge you for this. This is a non issue. There was miscommunication, the problem was remedied, free of charge and immediately. Erosion Control: The slant of your hill is at a 45 degree angle towards the alley. You did not contract us to install sod or a retaining wall. It was never our job to get this done. It was your responsibility to have this done. This would be landscaping job, which is not what we do. You would need to hire ________________ ________________ someone else to redo your entire yard. There was a significant amount of rain for a couple weeks in a row, and this was the only reason a problem was created causing an issue for the neighbors and the City. If you recall, we had a RECORD amount of rain that year, and it was an issue across the state for everyone. The retaining wall YOU build is YOUR responsibility. I was not hired or paid to do a retaining wall so requesting I pay because it doesn't drain doesn't make sense. Garage floor cracking: Concrete cracking is normal. This is also the second layer of concrete that has been added to appease your need for a sloped floor that you did NOT originally request or PAY for yet. Property Line: The garage was actually moved because we did our due diligence to find an error in the original survey. Your lot is the only lot on the block that is irregular, which caused confusion to the concrete subcontractor. Your garage is currently MORE than three feet from the property line, as PROVEN by a SECOND survey that was needed. This survey company marked the exact spot where the garage needed to be and that is exactly where it sits. Apron Crumbling: The apron is not crumbling, as is was before. The previous issue was severe and everywhere, that is why we tore it out and replaced it. This is only in one spot by the joint at the entrance of the garage, and is very small. I was never notified of this as something you wanted dealt with, yet you are claiming I am ignoring your request to fix this. You have never asked. Electrical Issue: This is the main reason for this negative review and your request for refund. This complaint is your attempt to use the BBB as a tool to get something for free. My regular electrician, of over 100 projects, who has never had a complaint from anyone, somehow offended you by calling you "Girls" when you first met. This is the main crux of the problem. The electrician and myself, have been out several times to fix problems that are either related to you buying cheap materials that WERE faulty, or the underground line that was faulty due manufacturing defects or a problem before burying. There were several other subcontractors that were working on this job site at the time who could have caused damage to the line prior to it being buried. We attempted to troubleshoot this issue several ways prior to doing the main line correction. You were able to tell your new electrician all of the things we had done, which is why someone else was able to diagnose and repair in one attempt, NOT because they were somehow more knowledgeable than my electrician. My electrician also changed lights and locations and gave you great advice on what to do for lighting solutions for your walkway. He was scheduled, and on his way driving there multiple times, only to have you cancel the meeting at the last minute because you did not want to work with him. I explained it was up to us to replace the lines up to the garage. I have emails and text messages from you confirming that it ________________ ________________ was our responsibility to replace the line, only to have you say you did not want him to come based solely upon the earlier "Girl" comment. I have this in writing from you. I told you I would replace the line for free with a bigger one, that you did not need to go to someone else. You simply WOULD NOT allow him to come and do it. I should also note that there has been other electrical guys working there as evidenced by the List of activities for that address done in the same time frame. YOUR CURRENT BILL: $9,148.00 I have done a ridiculous amount of extra work that you ordered and have not yet paid for. I was trying to make you happy and you said you were on a limited budget. I always strive to make my customers happy, even if it means losing money on a job. There have more "extras", communications, trips out and basic time spent on this job than any other contractor would ever have put up with. I have gone above and beyond what was in our contract or what you have paid me for in an attempt to please you. I have finally reached my breaking point and simply have other paying customers who deserve my time and attention. I cannot keep going back to deal with you. You realize I am done playing this game, so you have finally written this review to try to keep me going. At this point you owe me, and if you would like to pay for additional services, I will consider working with you or refer you to someone else. I have already given you names of other people you can call. ________________ ________________ Ryan, I have saved a chain of emails from all the correspondence on this project. I have attached the email verifying the size of the circuit and locations. I can provide the entire string upon request. ***************** <************@gmail.com> 11/25/13 to Melissa, me Hi Greg, Melissa wanted to confirm the electrical going in is as follows: -In the lower garage there should be interior lights and the garage opener -We should have a light on the back of the garage and the front of the garage on the exterior in addition to the interior lights -Additional 2 lights and 4 outlets in upper attic area -New 20 amp electrical to house Thanks, ***** Additionally, upon request I can provide the detailed inspection report from the City of St. Paul showing the dates and comments of all of the inspections that took place during the construction. Please let me know if you would like this. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our project has been paid in full since 10/3/2014, and the contractor's response is in retaliation to our complaint. We want to negotiate reimbursement for the electrical repair and not the upgrade. We are open to reasonable negotiation and the contractor has yet to show us that he is. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Per our contract and previous communication, we have paid in full and don't owe any additional amount. We are open to negotiation on the amount you would reimburse us for the electrical repair. We gave Ken multiple chances over the past year to repair his work, and he merely replaced the GFI. We then gave him 14 business days to produce a detailed description of the repair work he would do and we received no response. Therefore, we have given you the opportunity to fix the problem before going elsewhere. Attached is a quote from Josh, which is what we requested from Ken. Josh got this to me by email the same day I asked for it. It is less than what we paid with***************, but it likely more closely reflects what you would have paid Ken to do the repair. Like I said, we are open to negotiation on the amount we receive from you and/or Ken. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/07/13) */ Per your contract, you owe a MINIMUM of $2000 for ONLY the change orders that took place. See your current invoice. We are ALSO open to negotiation of the amount you owe, but do not owe you for any additional electrical work on the following grounds: There was another electrician on the property and doing work with the lines at the same time as Ken. See attached permit activity for your property. You are unfairly accusing Ken of doing faulty work when the line was exposed and accessed by your other electrician. (Ken has a perfect record of workmanship with me and all my other clients) You are asking Heinen Contracting to pay, and we were the responsible party for this contracted work, yet you never at any time gave Heinen Contracting or ***************** a written request to do repairs, or put a date on it, as you are claiming in your most recent communication. You state "We gave Ken multiple chances over the past year to repair his work, and he merely replaced the GFI. We then gave him 14 business days to produce a detailed description of the repair work he would do and we received no response. Therefore, we have given you the opportunity to fix the problem before going elsewhere. Attached is a quote from Josh, which is what we requested from Ken. " This is untrue as evidenced by text we exchanged on May 21, 2015. You simply refused to allow ***************** (Ken) to come. A mere 7 business days later, you had another electrician pulling a permit for the job. Again, I restate, you did NOT allow Ken to come and fix, upgrade, or repair any work, which you would have needed to do through me. You cannot say you contract Heinen Contracting to do something, and then go hire someone else to do the work and expect me to pay. If you hold me responsible, then you have to allow me to work with whomever I choose. And give me ample time to complete the work. ***************** did have a permit to work on this line and would have been able to do so with no additional expense to you. You made no reply to my last text, and request to take care of this for you (attached). Your claim that I am responsible to pay your new electrical contractor is unsubstantiated for the above reasons. I will happily negotiate your remaining bill.

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not done on time, deliveries delivered without assistance of contractor when he said he would be at the site. Poor communication. Garage had delay after delay with excuse after excuse. Mother Nature was always the biggest complaint from contractor. We will be tomorrow and tomorrow never comes. It took 7 months to build a 28 x 39 garage.

Desired Settlement: I believe that I should be compensated because my contractor did not always follow thru with what he said. I had changes to the contract ( because he was inept) and did not always keep me informed. He over charged for work that was not always performed and / or shoddy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/01) */ If I am not mistaken, we came to a resolution with this customer on Friday evening. I am sure this was filed at the height of his "upset", but we got him calmed down and came to a mutual agreement, probably just shortly after he filed this. I am actually holding his final payment in my hand at this time, which he would not have paid if he were still upset. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I went through his billing and I was over charged. Beside his shoddy workmanship everything that went wrong was the framers or roofers fault, not his as the GENERAL CONTRACTOR. Isn't he the responsible party? At this point I would pay Angie's list to put a complaint out just so others won't get burned by him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Heinen Contracting, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)