BBB Accredited Business since

Royal Star Furniture

Additional Locations

Phone: (651) 455-1931 Fax: (651) 552-9911 View Additional Phone Numbers 245 Concord Exchange N, South Saint Paul, MN 55075 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.royalstarliquidators.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Royal Star Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Royal Star Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Star Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 1992 Business started: 09/30/1992 in MN Business started locally: 09/30/1992 Business incorporated 09/30/1992 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Adrian Peterson, Owner/President Damon Peterson, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Adrian Peterson, Owner/President
Customer Contact: Damon Peterson, VP
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Furniture - Unfinished Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail Mattresses Beds - Retail Computers - Furniture Furniture - Childrens Furniture - Outdoor

Refund and Exchange Policy
Because of our low pricing, we are not able to offer refunds or exchanges, sorry.
Alternate Business Names
Royal Star Auto Sales Royal Star Liquidators Royal Star Liquidators, Inc.
Products & Services

Royal Star Furniture carries name brand furniture & home accents. No matter what you are looking for, we probably have it at Royal Star, including Living Room, Dining Room, Office and Bedroom furniture. 6 Month No Interest Financing available also!


Additional Locations

  • 1214 Vermillion St

    Hastings, MN 55033

  • 2067 Robert St S

    West Saint Paul, MN 55118

  • 245 Concord Exchange N

    South Saint Paul, MN 55075 (651) 455-1931 (651) 450-2222

  • 441 Villuame Ave

    South St Paul, MN 55075

  • 494 Villaume Ave

    South Saint Paul, MN 55075

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: * On March 25th my wife and I purchased over $2000 worth of furniture from Royal Star Furniture * The following week we received a call from them stating that delivery would occur that week. * With the new furniture set to arrive, I borrowed a truck and a trailer to remove our old furniture. * April 4th we got another call and were told that the furniture would arrive between 4 and 7 PM. * Later that day we got still another call saying that repairs on the furniture had not been completed and it would not be delivered at this time. *On April 7th we called to express our frustration. We had been eating off plates on our legs since we no longer had a kitchen table or chairs. We had been trying to conduct daily business, paying bills, preparing meals, and many other daily tasks without kitchen furniture. The living room was not much better since along with a kitchen set we had ordered a couch and a recliner. We, of course, had removed our kitchen set, couch and recliner when they first told us delivery was coming. That was in the week of March 28th. I had to get rid of our old furniture in advance to make room for the new furniture. When I called on the 7th, I spoke to a gentlemen named Paul. Paul said that he understood our frustration and agreed that compensation was appropriate. Paul asked for the invoice numbers of our purchases and said he would get right back to me. He never got back to me. Instead a delivery person called later and said delivery would occur that evening. There were flaws in most pieces of furniture. The delivery guys took pictures of the flaws in the recliner and the kitchen table on his phone and sent them to the store. The kitchen table was so out of whack that that when you pushed the two sides together it left a gap big enough to see through to the floor. The delivery people were in complete agreement that this was a serious problem. * On the morning of April 8th the delivery person called and said that Arlene from the store would get back to me after 4 PM that day to make this all right. Arlene never called. * On the morning of April 9th the delivery person called to see if Arlene had called us yesterday. My wife told him that she hadn't. He said he would call the store immediately. At 3:45 that afternoon the delivery guy called again saying that Pete, the owner, would talk to Arlene. Please remember that at this point we are still eating off our laps and trying to run a household without a kitchen set, a couch, a recliner and a bedroom set. Arlene finally called later that evening and said next Tuesday to repair it. She said she was sorry and she gave me her cell numbers to make sure we had no further problems. *On Monday, April 11th I called Arlene's cell phone in the morning but got no answer. I left her a message say that we were expecting Tuesday pick up and that I needed to have the table repaired both with the leaves in and with the leaves out. I also stated that we would deal with the other issue later. *On Tuesday, April 12 I called the delivery service at 9 AM to ask what time they would picking up the table so that I could plan my day. The delivery guy told me he needed about an hour to check on things and then he would get back to me. Later the delivery person called and said they weren't in this area on Wednesday so he wouldn't be able to pick up the table on Wednesday. By now I was totally disgusted and I told him that we weren't even talking about Wednesday, but rather it was Tuesday that Arlene had told me and that I had told him. He then told me that Tuesday would not work either and that he again would talk to the people at the store. We are still without furniture and still eating off our laps and trying to conduct affairs without furniture. *Arlene called later that day and said she had never heard her cell phone ring and had never heard my voice message from Monday. I asked her again for her cell number and it matched the number she had originally given me and that I had left the voice message at. * Arlene informed me that Will and Dick, different delivery guys, would pick up the furniture on Wednesday, April 13th at 10 AM. * At this point we had been operating without furniture for way, way too long and my wife and I were totally frustrated. * The table was picked up on the 13th. * The table was repaired and returned the next day with still no word from Arlene about the other issues and our request for compensation. * On April 19th Arlene called and apologized for not getting back sooner. She said she would talk to Damion, I have no idea who that is, and get back to me the next day. * On On April 20th Arlene called saying she had talked to Damion and they had little room to provide any compensation. She said they could come get all the furniture. I told her that I had already experience so much frustration and I did not want them to leave me without furniture again. I simple wanted compensation for this fiasco. *On April 25th Tom ******, a buyer for the company, called and said he had heard about this, but had been in the hospital. He told me he would dig into the issues and get back to me in a day or two. * On April 28th Tom ****** called back but I was not home. I called that evening, got his voice mail and left a message. * On April 29th Tom ****** called back and I was not home. I called him that afternoon, left a voice message and he returned my call. He told me he was sorry for the "poor communications." He said he wanted to apologize and send me a check for $100 for the lack of phone calls. I had previously told Arlene that we expected one quarter of the original bill, $500, to be refund for all of the problems we had been forced to endure. We sent an official letter dated 4-19-16 to Royal Star Furniture stating this demand.

Desired Settlement: As stated verbally and in the letter dated 4-19-16 we have requested and we expect compensation of $500 immediately which by the way wouldn't even begin to cover the inconvenience, frustration and disrespect along with the quality issues already stated. We purchased the furniture with credit card and without resolution of this matter, we will consider refusing to make payment when that credit card bill is due.

Business Response:

*** Hard copy attached ***

To whom it may concern:

On March 25th, 2016, Mr. ***** and his wife made a purchase at our *** ******** *** location in South St Paul totaling $1,487.20 plus tax. The items purchased were a solid oak dining room table with six chairs and reclining sofa with matching recliner. All of these item were located on our showroom floor for Mr. ***** and his wife to look over prior to purchasing and sold at less than half of their normal retail value. Upon completing the purchase, Mr. ***** signed the bottom of the sales receipt stating he acknowledges that "All Sales final- No exchanges or return" "All items sold AS-IS unless covered by a manufacturer's warranty" (please see attached copy of the sales receipt). There was some confusion on the delivery date between the sales person (Arleen) and the delivery company and, unfortunately, Mr. *****'s items were not delivered on the date he expected them. We apologized for the inconvenience. Mr. *****'s items were delivered on April 7th and the delivery company noticed that when the leaf was taken out of the table it did not close all the way. There was a slight gap (see attached picture). They contacted the store and we agreed that we would adjust the slides on the table for Mr. *****. They proceeded to leave the items at Mr. *****'s home so he was not without furniture as he states in his letter. A few days later the dining room table was picked up from Mr. *****'s home, repaired and returned to him the next day. A few days later management was made aware that Mr. ***** was demanding $500.00 in compensation for his troubles which according to him is 25% of his purchase. This is not correct, 25% of $1487.20 = $371.80. The amount he was demanding was, unfortunately, out of the question so management apologized and opted to offer him a full refund of his purchases and we would pick them up from his residence. Mr. ***** rejected the offer for a refund and continued his demand for $500 in compensation and threatened that he would write to BBB and Attorney General if he did not receive this amount.

February 19th Mr. ***** sent a letter to our *** ******** *** office again stating his demand for $500 in compensation or threating to turn the issue over to the BBB and Attorney General (see attached letter). He also stated that he checked with the BBB and Attorney General to determine that this is appropriate. (To demand $500 in compensation?)

After we received the letter with Mr. *****'s demands, our purchasing manager, Tom followed up with him stating that he would look into his issues. After getting all of the details from Mr. *****, the sales staff, and the delivery company Tom and the owner decided to offer Mr. ***** a refund of $100 for his troubles. Mr. ***** declined the offer stating that the amount was an insult to him. Again, Tom extended the offer of a full refund and to have the items removed from the *****'s residence since he was not happy. Mr. ***** declined the offer stating that he would be inconvenienced again by not having any furniture. Tom offered to let Mr. ***** continue to use our furniture until they selected furniture from another retailer and the day it would be delivered we would remove our merchandise one hour prior as to not inconvenience him any further, again he declined.

At this point we feel that we have made several good faith attempts to rectify the situation with Mr. ***** and he is unwilling to agree to any of them. We also feel at this time Mr. *****'s threats and demands for financial compensation or taking further action against us are on the borderline of extortion.
We will offer one last time to pick up and refund Mr. *****'s full purchase price providing that the items purchased are still in the same condition as they were when they left our showroom. If Mr. ***** declines this final offer, we will consider this issue resolved and have no further contact with Mr. *****.


Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because: They simply do not get it. They haven't gotten from the beginning and they still don't. 


Let me address their letter. We did make a purchase on March 25th, 2016. But the purchase was not for $1487.20 as they stated. It was for $2033.40 and this was explained repeatedly to Arlene and to Paul. We purchased a dining room table and six chairs. We purchased a sofa and a recliner. We purchased two lamp and a bed with a mattress. If you provide me the BBB address, I would be happy to make copies of the invoices and the receipts. 

Next they state that there was, "some confusion on the delivery date." There was "some confusion," there was enormous confusion which led to enormous frustration and upset on our end. We spent days eating off our laps and trying to conduct daily business of our household without the furniture mentioned above. Please see the timeline that was included in our original letter.

Our demand for compensation stems from the lack of delivery after I was told it would be delivered. Later when I told Tom how frustrating it was to live like this for all that time, he simply stated that he never told me to get rid of my previous furniture.  I agreed and told him that he didn't say that but they did tell me to expect delivery on assigned date. I there, believing them made arrangements to make space for the new furniture. I simply could not fit the old and the new furniture in my house. So, no he did not tell me to get rid of the old furniture, but based on their call of delivery, I did what any reasonable person would do. I made room. They just don't get it.

Next they talk about a "slight gap." It was not a "slight gap" and in fact both sets of delivery people were astounded by the size of the gap. By the way, the delivery people were always far more helpful than anyone at Royal Star, whether it was Arlene, Paul or Tom. 

"They proceeded to leave the items at Mr. *****'s home so he was not without furniture as he states in his letter," is another example of how they simply don't get it or else it is an outright lie. We got final delivery of table on May 13th. We made the purchase on March 25th. Most of that time we had no furniture. The when delivery finally came we had more confusion about pick up the table for repairs. We finally got that straight and then lost the table for the repair period. According to the delivery people the table repair was not "adjusting the slides" but rather trimming of boards on the side that would not allow the table to go together.

Then they state, "This is not correct, 25% of $1487.20 = $371.80." That could be so now lets do 25% of $2033.40 which equals $508.35. They just plain don't get it or don't want to get it and that is why things ended as they did. I never "threatened" anything. I did try to keep them informed but that was difficult. I was told by friends to check into BBB and the attorney general's off to see if one or the was an appropriate place to seek help. I did that. i went to both websites and determined that my issues were appropriate for submission. I inform Royal Star of that because I thought it was only fair to let them know that I had reached a point of extreme frustration and my patience were wearing thin. 

No, I will not return the furniture for a refund, in fact, I hope to never have to speak to anyone there ever again. That is why I stated in the letter that I expected immediate compensation because if I didn't I was turning this over to other people. I had had it!

Finally for them to even use the word extortion, for them to even suggest they made "several good faith attempts" and for them to suggest that I ever threatened is the most ludicrous thing I have ever heard. Throughout this long ordeal, I was polite, I was patient, I was respectful and never even raised my voice or made a threatening remark. On the other hand our patience was severely tried, our frustration was raise to an unbelievable level and all the time we got different stories with different dates from different people. I can't believe the gall they have and the amount of disrespect that they have shown.

Sincerely,
****** ** *****


10/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 7th I went to Royal Star Furniture to buy a chair. I found one and put $200 down on it. On 9-10 I realized the chair I picked out was not a rocker so I picked another chair and that chair got delivered. I paid the rest in cash($191.00) including tax and delivery($25.00) When I got the chair at home I sat in the chair for more than one hour.I started getting a back ache because my rear was falling through a hole at the back of the seat. I had only sat in the chair at the store for about 5 minutes. I didn't notice anything wrong until it was delivered.The back of the chair does not come far enough down to meet the back of the seat.I started calling the store. The manager or owners name is ****** ********. I tried to reach him for 6 days to no avail.The chair is un-sittable for me and I want my money back. They can have the chair.I have since called my *********** **** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) to dispute the $200.00 down payment. The rest I paid in cash.Today two delivery men came over to check out the chair. They sat in it and said "That's just the way it is." I told them I was contacting the BBB and to wait. Hopefully they can find their boss to tell him what I said. Product_Or_Service: chair (lazy boy type) Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Money back for the chair $191.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/10) */ We are currently in the process of working with the consumer and hope to have this matter resolved by Oct 17th 2014. If any additional responses are required please let us know.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Exchange sofa for another. *****BUYER BEWARE***** On 6/13/2014 we purchased a sofa for $595 from Royal star furniture. The item was payed in full on 7/15/2014 and delivered on 7/19/2014 The receipt states there is no returns or exchanges. The sofa is very uncomfortable and my Fiance has recently had an MRI performed and was diagnosed with bone spurs and nerve problems in her neck, that may require surgery. The sofa is very uncomfortable for me and my Fiance especially to sit on for any length of time. We have both made contact with the store and asked if we could exchange for another sofa, they told us no..we understand the policy, however we asked if they would return the item at a discounted price and apply that towards another sofa from there store, and still not willing to work with us. The sales lady Emma then told my Fiance to sell it on craigslist and also if anyone were to buy furniture from Royal star and that item does not fit into there home the item would be left at the home and that individual would be out that money and the delivery drivers will not bring item back to the store, leaving that customers stuck with a piece of furniture on there front lawn. Royal star is not willing to work with any of there customers on simple business practice's such as these. That is no way to operate a business, how they managed to stay in business for 35 years is beside me.

Desired Settlement: Refund or exchange for a different sofa.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ *** Hard copy Attached *** To Whom It May Concern: Mr. ********** came into our South St. Paul location and purchased a power reclining sofa and recliner on a layaway plan. All of the items purchased were displayed in our showroom and available for Mr. ********** to sit on and try it prior to making his purchase. Upon finalizing his purchase we required-that he sign the bottom of the receipt where it states "All Sales Final-No Exchange or Return" in bold red letters to ensure that customers are aware of our policy (see attached copy). The same day that Mr. ********** purchased his items we (in good faith pending-final payment) wrapped all of his items and removed them from our showroom so they were no longer for sale to any other potential customer. They were then transferred to our warehouse and stored for 32 days until Mr. ********** was ready to take delivery, While Royal Star Furniture greatly sympathize with Mr. **********'s situation, we make every effort on our part to ensure potential customers have the ability to try out items in our showroom before making the decision to purchase them. We even go a step further and train our sales staff to discourage customers from finalizing a sale until they are 100% sure. This is to prevent the situation we currently have with Mr. ********** today. I am not sure what Mr. ********** is referring to when he says our delivery drivers "leave furniture on a customer's lawn" if it will not & into their home and they are out their money. This has never happened or been the case since we have been in business. Unfortunately, we roust maintain our "All Sales are Final" policy to ensure our customers the lowest price -possible. There are .several expenses our business incurs while handling and storing furniture for a layaway plan. In Mr. **********'s case, we removed the items from our showroom, stored the items in good faith for over a month and missed out on potential sale of the items sooner. In addition, we-would have to sell his sofa as used for a loss_ I believe that our sales person was just trying to help out when she suggested to Mr. **********'s fiance "try and.sell it on Craigslist". 'There are several home-staging companies we work with who use Craigslist to sell items they have purchased from us with great success and even manage to make a profit. Mr. ********** was not forced into purchasing his soya. He had-the opportunity to try it our before he bought the item and was aware of our policies as his signature rotates on the receipt. Royal Star Furniture apologizes to Mr. ********** for his situation and frustration but feel we have done everything correctly on our part.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Star Furniture
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)