Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2011

HOM Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (763) 767-3600Fax: (763) 767-3761

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service31
Total Closed Complaints40

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (40)
05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two Crown Power recliners - CAT-400/01 from Hom Furniture on April 7, 2015 - "as-is". One was missing the power pack and was sold at $97.00. The other had the power pack when I purchased it and I was charged $197.00 for that chair on clearance. When my daughter and son-in-law went to pick-up the chairs on April 11th, the power pack was not included. I went back to the store later that day to get the power pack and was told that it was lost; however, they did have a power pack that they would send to my home via UPS. I have since called to follow-up and was told that they were checking on it and they never called back. This is not acceptable and not the level of service I would expect.
Product_Or_Service: Crown Power Recliner
Order_Number: Invoice *********
Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement
I want the power pack or I want a refund of $100 plus related sales tax within the next two weeks, bringing the price of the second chair in line with the first chair.

Final Consumer Response
The power supply has been received as requested and completes the chair purchase as sold to me. Thank you.

12/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HOM advertised a rocker recliner as in stock online and available for pick up. I was able to complete an online transaction to purchase the item.
On 11/27/XXXXX I completed an online order for a Victory Rocker Recliner, SKU: XXXXXXX. The price of the chair was listed on sale, stating "now $69.99". The recliner was listed as in stock and available for pick up as early as 11/28/2014 or delivery. I chose pick up and chose 11/29/2014 as the pick up date for the Onalaska WI HOM Furniture location. After taxes the total of my purchase was $73.84. I paid by Mastercard. The charges were reflected on my credit card account on 11/27/2014, the date of the purchase. My order was listed as complete with an order number, XXXXXX.

I called Customer Service and spoke with a representative, **** on 11/28/2014. I was asking for pick up options. **** stated that it was a door buster only item and I would not be able to get the recliner that I ordered and paid for. He stated that he didn't understand what the confusion was. When I explained that I already was charged, **** said the most he could do for me is contact accounting to get me a refund. I asked to speak to the manager. **** stated she was busy and would call me back. I asked to wait and speak with her when she becomes available. **** stated that he couldn't have me on hold, waiting. He stated the manager would call me back in a few minutes. After almost 3 hours, there was still no return call.

Desired Settlement
I want the recliner that I ordered and paid for. HOM advertised the recliner as in stock and available online for $69.99. They charged me and said the order was complete. I expect them to honor this sale as I honored my payment. This situation has further consumed my time and energy, which has left me very frustrated. HOM needs to do the right thing.

Business Response
The purchase that the consumer made was an error on HOM Furniture's part. HOM Furniture was running a special on this particular recliner for Black Friday's sale but was only designated to be a door buster as we had limited inventory. Being that this particular item was showing available for online purchases and for the price that it should have only been allowed in-store,HOM Furniture has ordered more from the vendor and intends to fulfill all of the orders that were placed online in error. I have emailed this consumer to let her know that she will receive this particular item for the price she purchased it at, however the item is not in stock being that HOM Furniture oversold. The consumer will be updated when it is available and will be scheduled for a pick up date of her choosing.

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had purchase a sectional couch and it had some flaws in it and the repair home guard service guy came out to look at it and said he will order
this was back in April of 2014 , it is now going on August and still have not gotten the parts . the repair guy came out and tried to fix teh couch but parts were not in so he did the kitchen table ,it has been a month since he came out and still nothing the parts were in the coon rapids warehouse and never made it to Hermantown store . customer service ************* said they will replace it with a new chase, and love seat and ottoman the couch and corner seat will get the replacement parts. we set up the date for July 30th my one day off and now I'm being told July 31st when nobody is home and I'm working for the next 10 days , I'm asking for a full refund including the home guard $2601.52 ********said they would not and only do the $2281.53back and not the home Gaurd this is frustration and I feel I'm getting a huge run around parts are in parts are not in. I'm really upset and I have showed that on the phone to them. taking a day off and making arrangements for the replacement parts and than i get it wont be there .and when they want to bring it is a day I have to work . this has taken so long for the parts to come in and than when CS ******** said she will make it for july 30th and replace the items was ok but finding out that still the ottoman is in coonrapids and trying to set up another day and time is frustration I have no more time and want a full refund including the home guard. and Will take my bussiness else where.I wont wait another day. to me this is a nothing but frustration and pain .

Desired Settlement
FULL REFUND OF WHAT I PAID including the home guard couch was 2,281.53 and home guard was 319.99 total owed back is $2601.52

Business Response
HOM Furniture has been in contact with the customer and has since replaced the customer's right arm facing corner chaise, armless loveseat, and storage ottoman. HOM Furniture has also replaced the seat cushions on the customer's left arm facing loveseat and corner piece. The service was completed August 7th, 2014. HOM Furniture has also provided the customer compensation for the scheduling miscommunication and has since reached out to the customer both 8/11/14 and 8/14/14 to follow up and ensure everything has been resolved.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 2 couches, and a credenza from Hom Furniture on December 29, 2013 with the understanding that if the 2nd couch did not fit we could get the love seat. The furniture was delivered on January 7, 2014. The recliner on one of the couches did not work when we got it, so we called and told them it really didn't fit anyway so we wanted the love seat instead, they did the exchange within a normal amount of time. We noticed within a short time that the love seat had a clunking noise and on April 5, 2014 a service person came regarding the love seat. The guy came out and said he could see it had a defect and he would recommend replacing the love seat. Within a normal amount of time they called us and told us that they were going to order a new base for the love seat and would call us when it was in to set up a time when they could fix it. In a couple weeks they called and said it would take until the middle of May for the part to come in. On May 20th I called to ask if the part was in and they told me no tomorrow it is scheduled to be in. On June 1st I called and they said no they didn't know when it would be in. I asked them if I could just return it, we were already having problems with our couch too, and we hardly ever sit on it, they told me I could return it but they would charge me a 30% restocking fee, which would be over $1000, and then I could only get credit for it. I told them I am not paying $1,000 for a defective couch. They told me that's all they could do. So today June 3, 2014 I called to let them know that my couch has problems when you reclined back it doesn't lock into place, it rocks back and forth, so someone is coming out on Friday afternoon. So now I have 2 pieces of furniture that has not worked correctly from day 1. I bought the extended warranty, but I know that these problems will continue and I don't know how much time they think people have to be home for repair people and delivery people.
Product_Or_Service: Couch and Love seat

Desired Settlement
I want a 100% refund including what I paid for the extended warranty. I do not want this defective furniture. I work hard for my money and want quality products which I did not get.

Business Response
HOM Furniture has followed up with the customer to discuss their current concerns and apologize for the delays in receiving replacement parts from the manufacture. HOM Furniture followed up with the customer immediately after the exchange took place 1/7/14 and confirmed with the customer that everything had been resolved to their satisfaction. HOM Furniture was notified 4/5/14 of the concern with the customer's loveseat and promptly had a Service Technician inspect the loveseat and order the necessary replacement parts to resolve the current concern. HOM Furniture has offered to replace the customer's loveseat rather than wait for replacement parts which are due in within a week. The customer has requested that they return their existing furniture to select new furniture. Although our Service Technician did not find a warrantable defect in the sofa and was unable to reproduce the customer's concerns on the sofa we have agreed to allow the customer "in-store" credit to return their existing sofa and loveseat and select a new sofa and loveseat. The customer agreed to this solution and will be in to HOM Furniture shortly to select a new sofa and loveseat for the exchange.
Sincerely,
HOM Furniture
***************
*******@homfurniture.com
************

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2012 we purchased a sectional sofa from Hom Furniture, since we purchase it we have had to have 3 service calls to fix the sofa...The first time was for broken wood on the back cushion, the other two times have been because the material on the cushions keeps coming apart. We offered to return this one and pay extra to get something that is not defective but they said they would have to charge us a 45% restocking fee. I see no reason we should have to pay a restocking fee or be inconvenienced with having to have someone stay home from work for the forth time so they can send someone out to fix it. There is clearly something defective about the material.This is now our 4th service call as the material is again coming apart. They said the tech reported above normal use. This is ridiculous. We have no children, at most my wife sits in her spot 3 hours a night, it was the second service call. The tech agreed there is something wrong with the material. So far they have replaced a section twice, and replaced the cover once. Now we are waiting for the 4th service call. I stated this is unacceptable as there is something clearly wrong with the manufacturing process on this item, 4 repairs in 18 months for something that just starts coming apart at the seams for no reason. A credit with a 45 percent restocking fee is clearly unacceptable.
Product_Or_Service: sectional sofa

Desired Settlement
I would like either a full refund or a store credit without a 45% restocking fee.

Business Response
HOM Furniture has been in contact with the customer and has agreed to provide full in store credit for the 2 piece Barkley sectional so that the customer can return their existing sectional and select a new sectional that will better meet their needs. The extended warranty that the customer purchased is a "fix to new" warranty and their current concern is repairable however HOM Furniture understands the customer's hesitation with moving forward with the repair and has agreed to honor their request to return their sectional for credit to select a new sectional. The reason a restocking fee was suggested is the customer requested to return their sectional without first having a Service Technician out to their home to verify that a warrantable defect existed. The customer did agree this solution is acceptable.
Sincerely,
***************
Customer Care Supervisor
*******@homfurniture.com
************

Page 1 of 4
07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased an extended warranty, was told many times they can't do anything for us. They wanted to refund us the warranty money. I need product fixed.
Purchased couches in 2012, I'd like to say October if I find the exact receipt which I will. When we ordered the couches we ordered two corner sectionals and 4 middle pieces. When we got the ordered we were out of the country and had family here for the delivery. When we came back we realized it was wrong. We tried several times to get a hold of someone and always got the run around. Even though the couches don't look nice in our home cause its now two sectionals in one living room we made it work. We have purchased all our furniture from HOM, and even with this hiccup in our purchase we continued to have a good relationship and purchased more. Everyone makes mistakes and we are people of reason. However when the furniture started to have problems. No one seemed to want to help us anymore. Everyone wants to help when you purchase your furniture, but when they talk you into purchasing your extended warranty and something goes wrong THAT department DOESN'T care anymore. We called with complaints of marks on the furniture they came and semi fixed it and then we have self formed dents on the furniture. And they used heat to make them come up so it would be softened out again. When the dents reappeared they told us to use a blow dryer to take the dents out. They would reappear again in another day. We also complained about the leather just sitting down. They told us they would come and have someone add more so that it wouldn't be so flat. NO ONE EVER CAME OR CALLED BACK. Finally today a tech came out and he told us that the blow dryer worked I mentioned when I called this time that I am aware it works for the time being and it goes back to its dents. Overall no one seems to want to help find a permanent solution for the 7000 dollar furniture we purchased that first came out wrong, second has manufacture defect and no one seems to want to help even with my warranty. One customer service representative offered to give me back 250 dollars from my warranty/insurance I purchased. What is the point of getting that if you give it back to me when you can't help me. I have seen people purchase furniture for less then 1000 dollars from cost co and it lasts them 10 years. Mind you I have no kids under the age of 26. We are a total of 3 people in this household. I have never felt so sad with the customer service I receive from a company that I have put so much money into. I have never purchased furniture from any of their competitors such as Ashley, Basset, slumberland and etc. This poor experience has gotten me to this. I just need help with this furniture its not even presentable. I have a 1.2 million dollar house and furniture that has dents and is two sectional pieces rather then one. Its honestly a shame I even put to rest the fact that they delivered wrong pieces.

Desired Settlement
I either want someone to fix this and bring me the right pieces now because my treatment has been unacceptable. Give me a refund to the store to purchase something else very similar, or get replacements with the right pieces of initial purchase. NOT MY FAULT that the sales person was more worried about getting the commission then making sure the right pieces were ordered. Even if I was out of town and it was past the day of return it wasn't my fault.

Business Response
HOM Furniture has reached out to this customer to further discuss their concerns 6/22/15, 6/24/15, and 6/30/15 and has not currently received a response. In the customers complaint they indicate that the furniture they received 10/3/12 was the incorrect configuration whereas when they original placed their order they ordered 4 armless pieces and two corner pieces. Initially the customer received delivery of 4 armless pieces and 3 corner pieces which is what they stated they should have received, this delivery took place 10/03/12. As a result of the customers request shortly after the delivery the customer returned two of the armless pieces and received delivery of one additional corner piece which would create two sofas, this delivery took place 10/17/12. Beyond this second delivery date to change the configuration as requested by the customer HOM Furniture was not notified.
In response to the customer's product concerns currently there is not a warrantable defect present. The customer's furniture is displaying signs of normal wear and tear that is indicative of furniture that has been used for 2 1/2 years. Loss of cushion resiliency is to be anticipated with use and anything up to 20% loss of foam resiliency is not considered to be a warrantable defect, there is no visible impression in the customer seat cushions. In addition, some wrinkling and relaxing will occur in leather with normal usage. The customer indicated that there are dents forming on the outside back of the sofa, this is happening as a result of something being pushed up against the leather. With that being said we recognize that the customer is unhappy with their furniture and although a defect does not exist we would like to provide options. HOM Furniture has agreed to provide a full refund of the original purchase price of the HOM Guard warranty totally $615.98 and provide an additional discount off of a future furniture purchase as a goodwill gesture. I have attached photos of the customer's furniture for review as well. HOM Furniture will continue to try and reach the customer to further discuss.
Sincerely,
Tiffany *******
*******@homfurntiure.com
************



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all I exchanged the pieces and it was wrong at that time. Second off I received one phone call. Today! I can show you the pictures of the back of the furniture which has not been hit by something. It has been placed against a wall and not even push up to the wall. The dents are not because someone is pushing off of them or hitting them. The person that came to fix this told me thy could add more cushion and the guy that came more recently said he can stretch it. I didn't buy warranty so that you can just reimburse me for it. I would really appreciate it being fixed or new ones sent. I really would appreciate some help because we are long time customers.

Final Business Response
I have been in contact with the customer and we are currently working towards a solution.

Sincerely,
Tiffany *******
HOM Furniture

05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
poor quality, defected product
I had purchased a sofa back in 11/09/14 from Hom Furniture. After I took it home and opened it I found out that the bottom frame was split. I immediately contacted the store and they came to my house and replaced the damaged piece. Less than two months later the same problem reoccurred so I contacted my sales rep(***) which stated to me that they have had a lot of issues with them and they no longer sell them in the store. She suggested replacing it with a different model. I told her that I will stop by on Sun and look at other models. I did show up on a Sunday and had a conversation with *** who apologized about the inconvenience and asked me to look around for a different model. I found this particular one that I liked but was out of my budget. *** spoke to the manager to see if he can match the price or get me closer since I have had the same issue twice. She came back after 5mins and said that he can take off $100. the price was still high to me so I told *** that I will let her know. A week later I went to Doc86 which is owned by HOM as well. I ended up picking this sofa that I like. They didn't have the color I wanted so the sales person suggested contacting the warranty dept. After I called them they stated to me that they will not let me exchange the sofa but will send someone to fix it. I honestly do not want this sofa anymore because its falling a part and has poor quality. the manager of the store refused to help me and said that my only option is to let them come to my house to see it and they will fix without the replacement option. I don't believe that they are being fair with me keeping in mind I spent almost $1100 worth of poor quality/ Lemon furniture

Desired Settlement
I want this sofa replaced with the one I picked at Doc86 and a refund of the difference back to my AMX.

Business Response
In response to the customer's concern HOM Furniture has allowed the customer to return their existing sectional for a full in-store credit to apply towards a new furniture purchase that will better meet their needs. HOM Furniture sent a Service Technician to the customer's home who found the only manufacture defect that existed with the sectional was with a loose right side facing leg on the chaise. This is something that could be easily restored by a Service Technician. With that being said HOM Furniture recognizes that the customer was set up with the expectation that they would be allowed to return their sectional for in-store credit. HOM Furniture has discussed with the customer that they may return their existing sectional for a full in-store credit to be applied towards a new furniture purchase.
Sincerely,
***************
Customer Care
tohotto@homfurniture.com
*************

05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upgraded our bed and that didn't work out for us and Hom won't let us return it.
Went through Two beds through Hom that were defective. WE upgrade about $1100 more into a new bed. That beds not working out for us and Hom Furniture won't do a return on the bed/

Desired Settlement
I would like my entire refund on Bed that we just bought.

Business Response
In response to the customer's complaint HOM Furniture has agreed to take back the customer's non-defective mattress and provide a 70% credit to the customer to assist them in purchasing a mattress that will better meet their comfort needs. HOM Furniture sent a service technician to the customer's home April 11th, 2015, at which time a mattress inspection was conducted and a 3/4" body signature was measured. The customer's mattress was found to be performing within manufacture standards and no warrantable defect was found. Body signatures are normal and more evident in a pillow top or plush mattress, this means the mattress is conforming to one's body and personal sleep patterns. In order for a warrantable defect to be present an impression of 1 1/2" or greater must be measured. With that being said HOM Furniture recognizes that although no warrantable defect exists the mattress is not currently meeting the customers comfort needs. As a courtesy to the customer HOM Furniture has agreed to take back the customer's existing mattress and provide a 70% credit that can be applied to a future mattress purchase that will better meet their needs. HOM Furniture has discussed this option with the customer; who will think about this and contact HOM Furniture should they choose to pursue this option.
Sincerely,
***************
Customer Care
*******@homfurniture.com
************


04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a bed from home furniture a few years back. That bed ended up being defective and having a large slope in it right where I lay to sleep which created allot of back issues and sleepless night because of the lack of support. With three visits from the warranty specialist and contracting the BBB. They finally replaced the bed. Since I've Gotten this bed and a couple years have pasted,this bed is doing the same thing. slopping so there is a hole where I lay and I'm getting the same symptoms I had before. lots of back problems and no sleep. when looking at the bed its very noticeable where the problem is but yet they came to measure it with a one ounce block of wood and a string and it doesn't meet the defective standards. I payed allot of money for this bed and feel that customer satisfaction should be a factor in this manner. this is serious. its affecting my health in a bad way. home furniture has rules that in order to meet the warranty a customer must have the mattress covered so it is spot free. I'm just wondering if this is so they can re-sale these defective beds. pretty sure the one I have is not of good quality.i'm asking them to replace the bed or refund my money so I can purchase one else where and they are telling me they can come back again and again to measure it with the wood block. I need some satisfaction NOW,not in months to come. I need some sleep and not to get up in the morning feeling like I've been run over. please help!!! thanks,**********************

Desired Settlement
if they can't replace the bed with a non-defective one then I would like a refund.

Business Response
In response to the customer's complaint HOM Furniture has agreed to take back the customer's non-defective mattress and provide a 60% credit to the customer to aid them in purchasing a mattress that will better meet their comfort needs. The customer purchased their Serta Bellagio king mattress July 6th, 2012. The customer contacted HOM Furniture February 24th, 2015 at which time they reported an impression in their mattress and discussed their comfort concerns. HOM Furniture sent a service technician to the customer's home March 3rd, 2015, at which time a mattress inspection was conducted which revealed a 3/4" body signature in the customer's mattress. The customer's mattress was found to be performing within manufacture standards and no warrantable defect was found. Body signatures are normal and more evident in a pillow top or plush mattress, this means the mattress is conforming to one's body and personal sleep patterns. In order for a warrantable defect to be present an impression of 1 1/2" or greater must be measured. Serta has established guidelines that staining voids their manufacture warranty, this guideline was established not only for the safety of those that will be handling the mattress but also because the moisture caused from the stains has a tendency to prematurely breakdown the mattress. With that being said HOM Furniture recognizes that although no warrantable defect exists the mattress is no longer meeting the customers comfort needs. As a courtesy to the customer HOM Furniture has agreed to take back the customer's existing mattress and provide a 60% credit that can be applied to a future mattress purchase that will better meet their needs. HOM Furniture has discussed this option with the customer; who will think about this and contact HOM Furniture should they choose to pursue this option.
Sincerely,
***************
Customer Care
tohotto@homfurniture.com
************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i would like at least an 80% refund if not a full one. I need a bed that I can sleep in and would like the refund to purchase that bed.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a couch based off the recommendations of the sales person. After 3 years, no replacement parts available.
In late 2011 my wife and I purchased the San Marco couch and chair set from HOM furniture. We were assured by our rep that the couch would last as long as our previous couch (10 years) and would be able to withstand our pets and children. Our first piece replacement occurred within 3 months when the left seat had to be fully replaced. We were reassured that if, for whatever reason, the fabric broke down again, replacement parts were available. In 2014, tearing began on both the couch and the chair. We finally contacted HOM in December 2014, only to find out they no longer carried the piece nor the replacement parts. ******** at HOM took on our case and, after having to call her back multiple times despite promises of calling back, she offered 30% in store credit. Wanting to talk with the supervisor, we were placed on hold and eventually routed to voicemail after hours.

Had we been told up front by the sales person that the piece may not be carried in the future, or been told that the piece actually would not put up with typical wear and tear, we would have opted to purchase a better piece. At this point, we do not want to purchase from HOM.

Desired Settlement
We understand business is business. We do not want in store credit. We are asking for a 50% refund from our entire order, as we now have a couch and chair that will never be repairable.

Total paid - 1117.36
Refund requested - 558.68

Business Response
In response to the customer's complaint HOM Furniture has agreed to provide the customer a 50% cash back refund as requested as a goodwill gesture. The customer received their furniture 8/15/11 and is two and half years out of the manufacture warranty. Unfortunately, we are unable to guarantee that replacement parts will be available indefinitely from manufactures as styles and fabrics change on a very regular basis. HOM Furniture has agreed to accommodate the customer's request to allow a partial refund, the customer has agreed to this solution.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Upholsterers, Patio Equipment & Supplies, Furniture - Unfinished, Furniture - Outdoor

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.