BBB Accredited Business since

Earl Johnson Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (507) 345-3223 Fax: (507) 345-6003 126 E Cherry St, Mankato, MN 56001 http://www.earljohnsonfurniture.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Earl Johnson Furniture, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Earl Johnson Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Earl Johnson Furniture, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Todd Johnson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Todd Johnson, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Furniture - Childrens Furniture - Outdoor

Alternate Business Names
Johnson Furniture Inc Earl
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Earl Johnson Furniture, Inc., this company is a retail company providing a full line of furniture and mattresses.


Additional Locations

  • 126 E Cherry St

    Mankato, MN 56001 (507) 345-3223

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our couch was under a 1 year warranty and Earl Johnson and Flexsteel would nor honor the warranty We purchased a Flexsteel couch in December 2013 from Earl Johnson Furniture. The couch had a one year warranty. After six months the pillow backs started to rip and large strands of thread came loose from the pillow back and are haninging loseley. We contacted Earl Johnson and they asked us to send a photos. We sent photos and **** ******* agreed that the couch looked terrible and the hanging threads were not normal. He contacted flexsteele and told me they wanted us to send a "seat case" so they could see if the material was flawed. We didn't have an issue with the seat cases just the pillow backs. **** called me and said they voided the warranty because they found dog hair on the seat cushion. **** told me he lied to Flexsteele and told them we didn't have a dog. We do have a dog and he sheds. He does not sit on the couch. We also do not have an issue with the seat cushion just the pillow backs. I feel they tricked us into sending the seat cushion just to get out of the warranty. I even questioned **** on this and told him i wanted them to look at the pillow back. He said they couldn't because the pillow backs don't detach. The issue is with the pillow backs wripping and thread coming loose.

Desired Settlement: I would have taken a replacement or would have been happy if they sewed the pillow backs and somehow fixed the one where the thread is coming loose. However, now I want a refund so I can buy a totally different couch. I don't want to continue to work with either of these companies. I feel they are very dishonest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/15) */ The date of purchase is 12-5-2012, not December 2013. Flexsteel only has a 1 year warranty on fabric. We sell a lot of Flexsteel furniture, so I tried to see if there was a reported issue in Flexsteel's system of having a problem with that fabric. They sometimes will help us out beyond the warranty period when there is. They told me they had no problems or issues with that fabric. After seeing pictures from **** of the problem, I asked to pick the pieces up to have them sewn. **** asked if Flexsteel would come out and look at the problem. Manufacturers rely on the business to inspect and forward the problem to them. They do not make house calls. We were scheduled to pick up the pieces and she called that day and canceled. Flexsteel then wanted a seat casing sent in to them for inspection of the fabric. The backs on the sectional do not come off, so they could not be send in. When they sent the seat casing back to us, Flexsteel did let us know the warranty is void based on dog hair. Flexsteel will not replace or recover the sectional, so I told her we would sew up the problem areas for her.That's when she said she figured Flexsteel or Earl Johnson Furniture wouldn't take care of it. I told her that's far from the truth. One of the reasons we have been in business this long is because of our customer service. She didn't want to hear any more and hung up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 3 of the six pillow backs on this couch are ripped. On the pillow back that gets the most use, the fabric is coming apart and long threads are hanging from the pillow back. **** at Earl Johnson has pictures of this. There is clearly something wrong with this couch. When Earl Johnson delivered a bed on January 10, 2014, we had the delivery person look at it and take pictures. We NEVER heard back from **** or anyone at Earl Johnson. We had to call back 2x to get anyone to look into this. **** did offer initially to sew the pillow back, but when I sent him picutres of the material coming apart, he agreed that wasn't right. He couldn't believe how bad the pillow back looked and said he would contact Flexsteel. He NEVER offerred to sew the pillow backs when he called to tell me Flextsteel, "wouldn't help us out". The couch looks like it's 20 years old - not 2 - and has looked this way for several months. I want the pillow back that has the material separating and coming apart to be replaced - somehow - that is what people see when they look at the couch and it keeps getting worse as we sit on it. In addition the pillow backs would have to be sewn. If this is not possible, I want some kind of refund. I spent several thousand dollars on this couch and I'm embarassed at how it looks in our family room and it continues to get worse. The ripped pillow backs are one issue but the material coming apart on the pillow back is a bigger concern. **** has never addressed how this can be fixed. The ripped pillow backs are on the three seats that get the most use. CLearly the quality of this couch is very poor and wasn't worth the thoursands of dollars we paid for it.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Earl Johnson Furniture, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)