This business is not BBB accredited.

Hardwood Floors and More

Additional Locations

Fax: (952) 378-4584 View Additional Phone Numbers 952 Lawson Ave E, Saint Paul, MN 55106 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hardwood Floors and More include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Hardwood Floors and More include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hardwood Floors and More
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2011 Business started: 09/21/2011 Business started locally: 09/21/2011 Business incorporated 09/21/2011 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
James Leyhe, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: James Leyhe, Owner
Business Category

Floors - Hardwood Tile & Marble Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Resurfacing Hardwood Floor Contractors

Service Area
Entire Mpls/St. Paul Area And Suburbs
Alternate Business Names
AC/DC Hardwood Floors Hardwood Floors & More Hardwood Floors by McCormick
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Hardwood Floors & More, this company offers hardwood flooring and resurfacing.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hardwood Floors and More has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    344 Sunfish Ln

    Winsted, MN 55395

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 Angel Ave SW

    Watertown, MN 55388

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    952 Lawson Ave E

    Saint Paul, MN 55106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 153

    Minnetonka, MN 55343

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 153

    Watertown, MN 55388

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: James (Jamie) ***** is a fraud James will advertise that he is a contractor to do floors. He gave me a fake contractor license number. He came over to my house to sign an agreement/contract. I wrote out 3 different checks because the first one was made out to his "wife" and then he told me they just got married so to write out the check in her new last name. I ripped up the first check and after he left he came back 5 minutes later to have me write out a new check in his name because his wife didn't want it in her name. So I tore up the second check. I wrote a check out in his name and his last name didn't match his "wife's" new last name. After he left I had to google him due to having a suspicion. I found out that he has an extensive criminal history in fraud and theft. He claims to work for several different companies. He also uses a fake tax ID number on the contract he prints out. I immediately put a cancel on the check. I called him and told him that we were terminating the agreement. He told me he doesn't cash checks until the following week and that he would mail me the check back and for me to put a stop payment on that check. Well to find out he still cashed the check at a check cashing business. I have now been sued by the check cashing place because they gave James the money that day and the check didn't clear my bank. This business had been unable to find James due to not having an accurate address. The CEO of the company had told me James called up there a week later asking if everything with that check was ok. James cashed a check knowing the check had a stop payment on it. He is a fraud and so is his girlfriend. I will now be hiring a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: I am asking $800 for the check that he cashed along with $78 for the filing courts fees that I am charged for from the cash checking company.

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** has not finished the job that I paid him for. The litany of things that occured with ***** is very long and very dishartening. But the jist of it is that I paid him $3,850 which was $1,525 above his original quote to do a job and he has not completed it, and parts of what he did do are flawed and need to be fixed. I have missing pieces of quarter round shoe that need to be installed, one of which is 9 feet in length. He ruptured the water line on my fridgerator and sprayed water all over a fairly good sized area of floor consequently warping the floor, this needs to be replaced. There are multiple areas where the flooring was not secured down properly or sufficently and is popping up, compeltely unacceptable, this needs to be repaired or replaced. There are significant gaps or heaves in areas that need to be repaired or replaced. I have done so much for this guy out of sympathy for the unbeleavable amount of plight in his life of which he so willingly shared with me. I look back on this now and I truely beleive that it was shared with me to garner sympathy to get payment from me early, which I did do because I am a giving person, I have been competely taken advantage of. He will not take any responsiblity for completing the project, it has been very frustrating.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the $1500 so I can hire someone to finish the job, I do not trust this person at this point. The $1500 is the money that I graciously paid above and beyond his invoiced amount.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *********** acting as the "owner" of Hardwood Floors by McCormick came to my house to give me an estimate on a flooring job. He left a contract with me stating when the work would be completed, and asked for a deposit of 1/2 down, and I gave him a check for $425, which he cashed the same day. He showed up to do the job the next week, and spent approx. 30 minutes ripping up a large chunk of my hardwoord floors, then told me he was going to get a saw. He never came back. I tried calling him and texting him later that afternoon, but he would not return my call. He finally texted me later that evening and said the he was unable to do the job. He said in his text that he mailed me a check, but I have yet to receive any reimbursement. When my husband contacted him later in the week about our refund, he hung up on us. Product_Or_Service: Hardwood Floor Repair

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The $450 paid as half down for the job returned to me.

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took the prepayment without providing the services as agreed in the contract. cheating and find excuse not finishing the promised project. Refinish hardwood floor contract total $1796 signed and downpayment $1000 made on 7/3/2014. The project should be done on 7/6/2013 indicated in the contract. On 7/8/2014. The project only complete around 20%, saying that his tools has been stolen. On 7/9/2014 asked more money $350 to complete the project. On 7/10/2014 informed his tools broken again and the project can not be done. He said " I am out of my business. Sorry" and same time he start to work for other people. Obviously he is not out of his business. For more details, please call Minneapols PD Sgt. ******** at ************

Desired Settlement: I paid $1350 in total out of total $1769 he asked in contract. It is about 75% money I paid. But less than 20% project has been completed. my project has been delayed two weeks right now. It was livable space in the house before he start work. But, right now, it is not livable space now. I would like to have at least $1350 refund to me without counting the damage he made in the house and cost causing by time delay. I have all the pictures of the current unfinished job site pre request.

4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not fulfill written or verbal agreements. Left the job incomplete. Did shoddy work. Refuses all attempts to contact him. Changing address. ***** promised to remove baseboards before sanding, and did not follow through. Stain was applied to baseboards (and walls) separately from floors, resulting in doubling of stain near edges -- dark lines and blotches on floors. Stairs were not stripped of old finish, so the new stain (which did not match the floors either at the bottom of the stairs or at the top. He promised to stain under the refrigerator, but didn't do it. He said sanding would be dustless. It is not. There were patches of stain on the walls, and on the stair stringers. He removed a toilet without consent. He substituted stain products without consent. He required two more progress payments after the 1/2 down payment. In cash. Lastly, he disappeared without a trace halfway through the job, with the cash, and will not return phone calls or text messages. The floors are stained but not finished, the stairs are a blotched mess, and one room was not even started.

Desired Settlement: I would like 75% of the $2000 cash back.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Hardwood Floors and More
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart