BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 1451 92nd Ln NE

    Blaine, MN 55449 (763) 784-3000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dave's Floor Sanding was hired to refinish hardwood floors in our main floor bathroom, kitchen and the attached eat in dining room. They began their work on March 21, 2016 while my family was on vacation. Upon re-entry into our home we found the following: • Sanding and finishing was incomplete despite being told it would be finished. • Finishing the pantry floor when this was explicitly against our wishes. • Failing to seal off the pantry shelves causing food items, paper items, and all small kitchen appliances to be covered in dust and in some cases rendered useless. • Failing to adequately cover furniture and seal off rooms to lessen the settling of dust and reduce cleaning. • Allowing employee's to utilize equipment that wasn’t prescribed or suitable for the job (bagged vs. not bagged). • Ruining the base shoe in all contracted areas and permanently marking custom cabinetry. • Replacing the base shoe with a product that was an extremely poor match to our existing cabinets. Resulting in a re-do which took two months to complete and is still not a visible match to the original base shoe. • Finishing the floor at a lesser quality than expected (visible lines in stain, hair particles present, and areas of dust/grittiness underfoot). Upon hearing our complaints, Dave's responded by sending out the "best fixer" on their staff, Mike. Upon entry into our home, Mike confirmed that the finished product was not up to their standards and the only way to fix the floors would be to refinish them again. Re-refinishing the floors at that time (April/May) was not an option for our family and Mike said that Dave's would honor a "free future re-do". I told Mike that a refund of our initial $826 should be honored as well as a future re-do. Mike said he would talk to the office and suggest a refund. I also called the office and had a conversation with Jeff about receiving a refund. He confirmed that a refund of $826 was unconventional but, because we had encountered so many problems he would be willing to honor a full refund and a future re-do. I called Jeff at Dave's Floor Sanding almost on a weekly basis from May - July following up on our refund. He continued to string me along saying it was taking a while, he would look in to it, it was in the accounting department, not returning phone calls. My last conversation with Jeff took place on July 15, 2016 where he told me that they would not be honoring our refund. And if we wanted to pursue our promised refund we would have to work through lawyers. We trusted Dave's Floor Sanding with our refinishing project and they failed on several accounts; the final finished product, destruction of our base shoe, permanently marking our custom cabinets, customer service. Because of all these failures, Dave's Floor Sanding promised a full refund of our payment and has simply decided to not live up to their word.

Desired Settlement: Dave's Floor Sanding should refund our initial payment of $826 as promised.

12/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Floor sanding and refinishing resulted in the wood floors having a rippled look to them. Sloppy job with sanding and poly application. Dave's Floor Sanding was hired to sand and refinish our original wood floors in our living and dining area. The finished floor is now rippled/waved looking. There are also areas of adjacent floors with poly on them (not wood floors). Wood built ins were damaged towards bottom from the floor sander. We contacted them regarding the issue and they took over a week to return calls. A man was here to look over our concerns. We stated we would not pay for the services because of the damage they caused to our floors. We offered to let them fix it in the spring when we would refinish our bedroom and hallway floors. He demanded that we pay him. When we refused to pay for their mistakes/damages, he began to swear at us in front of our children (2 and 4). He was beyond unprofessional in dealing with our concerns/complaints with their services.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel Dave's Floor Sanding should receive payment for the floor sanding and refinishing. The service provided was sloppy, caused damage to our floors. Wood floors only have a certain number of sandings in the life of the floor. To fix the rippling may have decreased the life of our floors by decades.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/27) */ Our salesman did notice some slight wave in areas of the floor. Over all he said it looked good. We offered to fix it either now or a later date. We did ask for a partial payment of the balance due since they didn't want it to happen right now. They refused. Our salesman never swore at anytime. He was respectful of the situation. As wood floors go,they are not damaged or lessened by decades. The one complaint we have is no one likes to be assaulted by a customer. Such as you did to our salesman outside your house as he was trying to leave,giving him no choice but to call the police. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are not "slight" waves in areas of the floor. There are waves throughout the entire floor. I do not want the same company that initially damaged our floors to sand them again. They had their chance to do the work correctly. We should not have to pay for their negligence in form of both damaged floors that now have a decreased life span, and cash payment for a service that wasn't done correctly. The salesman absolutely began swearing when we refused to pay him on the spot as he demanded. He threatened to put a lien on our property. There was zero professionalism or customer service. The salesman also claims that he was assaulted which is also ridiculously untrue. When the police arrived, we explained what transpired.

9/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wood floor refinishing job done poorly and left unfinished with instructions to 'put furniture over stains to hide them'. Repeated requests ignored. I have a rental property that has a large living room with oak flooring which needed sanding and refinishing. Dave's Floor Sanding was recommended to me by a friend who knew the owner's son, Jeff, and gave me a business card with his number on the back. On May 22nd, I spoke to Jeff and gave him the dimensions of the room, for which he quoted a price of $1 per square foot to sand, remove stains or stain to mask them and refinish with 3 coats of polyurethane. The room totals 264 square feet, but I agreed to pay him $300 total for taking the job. On May 24th, while I was at work, he arrived at the house at approximately 7pm to begin working on the floor. I spoke with him over the phone and left specific instructions to speak with me once he had finished sanding so I could decide if staining the wood was necessary and, if so, how dark. At approximately 9:45pm, he arrived at my office, stating that he had already finished sanding and had applied the first coat of polyurethane. He assured me that the floor looked "awesome" and promised to return in 24 to 48 hours to lightly sand and apply the next coat of poly. He then told me how much a job like that normally costs and said that he needed "about $500" because he had a helper to pay and the job wouldn't be worth doing for less. I reminded him of his quote, but agreed to meet halfway at $400. I gave him $200 in cash and promised him the balance once the job was completed. He agreed to this and left. The next day, I went to the house to see how it turned out and was appalled by what I found. He had simply made a couple passes over the entire floor with a sander and brushed on a coat of clear polyurethane over it, stains and all! One of my renters told me that he pointed out the stains to Jeff and mentioned that I wanted to inspect it before any poly was applied. The response that he was given was to "just put rugs and furniture over the stains and you'll never see them." I attempted to call him three times that day, without success or reply. I called again the next day, and the next, finally receiving a text message stating that he would drop off some stain and polyurethane and "call it even". After replying that this was not what we had agreed upon and numerous failed attempts to contact him over the next couple of weeks, I decided to contact the shop that he worked out of and speak to a supervisor. The individual took my name, address and phone number, promising to look into the matter and take care of it as soon as possible. After a week of nothing heard, I called again, this time asking to speak with the owner directly. I was expecting to hear surprise, embarrassment for his company name and reputation, an apology and a promise to finish the job as soon as possible at a discount. I guess I was expecting too much, because he simply stated that it "must be one of his side jobs" and denied any knowledge of the job or responsibility for it's completion. The only help that he offered was to "give him your number and tell him to call." Meanwhile, my renters have had to tolerate their furniture in the kitchen, the clutter of trash left behind, and now over 3 months of unfinished work, for which I have felt an obligation to accommodate them each with a $50 per month break for the hassle. I was given their business card with his number written on the back. My decision to hire them was based on their reputation. Jeff works for Dave's Floor Sanding and arrived in a company vehicle. He used equipment and material purchased & owned by Dave's Floor Sanding. He pointed out the company's reputation as well as his own. In every way, HE REPRESENTED Dave's Floor Sanding! How is the company NOT liable? I don't own a large company, and I'm not a big-name contractor with deep pockets, so it must not be very important to them that I am fairly accommodated or satisfied. But this is simply ridiculous and downright rude. This is NOT how I believe a customer should be treated.

Desired Settlement: Originally, I was only asking that they take responsibility and FINISH the job CORRECTLY and COMPLETELY, as promised and at the agreed upon (negotiated) price. But I have been extremely patient and feel that I have been taken advantage of. I expect them to finish the work that was agreed upon and honor the ORIGINAL quote ~OR~ refund the $200 that I paid AND reimburse me $300 for lost rent.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/17) */ Re: Better Business Bureau Complaint regarding Dave's Floor Sanding Your File No. Office File No. ***** Dear Mr. *******: The complaint you issued to the Better Business Bureau with regard to Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. has been referred to my office for response. As I understand your complaint, a "friend" provided you with a business card with Jeff ***'s personal telephone number on the back. You contacted Jeff ***s at that personal number and Jeff ***s as a favor to your female friend that he is acquainted with verbally agreed that he would work on your floors. The work was performed by Jeff ***s, as you note, after normal business hours. At no time did you contact Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing Inc. and ask Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. to perform any work. No paperwork of any kind was provided to you in the name of Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. The only payment made by you was to Jeff ***s. Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. received no payment or compensation of any kind from you and never had reason to expect any compensation from you. Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. is owned and operated by David ***s. Had Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. been hired to perform work on your floors, Dave's Floor Sanding would have first reviewed the work with you, measured the floors and provided a written quotation for their services starting at $3.45 per square foot. If the floor required extra attention, sanding, staining or the removal and re installation of trim or quarter round additional charges would have been quoted. Your stain selection and finish selection, e.g. oil or polyurethane, and finish, e.g. satin, semi-gloss or gloss would have been made at that time. You would have been asked to sign the written proposal accepting its terms and conditions quoted by Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing Inc. with one-half of the quoted price as a down payment and the balance due upon completion. Finally, Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc would have scheduled the work during its regular business hours over several days. None of this happened. No transaction was conducted by you with Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. as you attempted to get a "deal" by personally contacting Jeff ***s and seeking a favor from an acquaintance of your female friend expecting to pay a nominal $1.00 per square foot. You attempted to use Jeff ***s' connection to Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. for your personal benefit. When you were not happy with the results of your personal transaction with Jeff ***s you contacted Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing Inc. seeking to further capitalize on the connection with Jeff ***'s to Dave's Floor Sanding. However, Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing Inc. could not locate you as a customer because you were not a customer and it did not have any paperwork for your floors as it had not been hired by you to perform any work and most important, Dave's had not performed any work for you. Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing Inc. did not contract you it and it has no obligation to you and no responsibility to remedy the unsatisfactory results of your private transaction. If you have any questions, please contact me. Sincerely, Richard L *****

12/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor quality of finished floor installation after two seperate attempts. Poor quality acknolwedged by representatives from Daves upon inspection The floor was purchased and installed in September per the reccomended availibility of installers based upontheir schedule. The floor was finished by a dedicated "finish" crew and the result was terible. We immediately contacted Daves salesman named ****. **** assured us they would take care of the problem and acklnoleged that the problem sounds like "mouse hops" visually and physically the floor is wavy no matter what angle you look at it. Daves sent out an inspector to look at the floor whom immediately agreed the floor final finish was "not acceptable" and went as far as to kneel down to admit waving his hands across the floor to feel the ridges. I phoned **** and we agreed that their was an issue. **** arranged for another crew to come out to finish the floor this time cross sanding the floor. We agreed to the 2nd attempt and hired movers to move out all our funiture and we left town. Orignally we where told the problem may have been the piece of sanding equipment, then we where told it may be because the oak is soft and has too much end grain in it and perhaps that was the problem? We left town and a scedulaer called me to let me know the refinishing may take an additional day. I said no problem take as long as you need to get it done right. At that time he informed me that the reason it was wavy was because we "pushed" them to get it done in 3 days. I will stand by my word that under no circumstances did this discussion take place. When we returned to see the newly finsihed floor it was clearly dissapointing as it is now significantly worse than it was before with significatnly more waviness. I immediately called **** and he once again agreed to send an additional rep out to see the floor. Once again the rep immediately acknowledged the floor was not acceptable and was very dissapointed to see the result. I phoned **** and he said he would talk to **** for a resolution. This orignal call took place on 11/10/14 **** told me he needed a few days and I would here back. No response. The next call I placed was 11/17/14 **** apologized said **** was in but would not give a "straight" answer. said give him a few days. No response.Next call 11/24/14 **** responded still could not get a straight answer from Dave on asolution and I told **** we would like a refund of $3500.00 to cover the cost of what we paid them so we could hire another contractor. **** offered to re-do the floor and I at this time will not allow them back in our house. **** agreed and said we would work something out. My last call with **** was Monday December 1st. **** apologized and said **** would not give him an answer. Said we would hear in a few days. I informed **** on Monday I would file a complaint Friday if no response. At this time we are seeking a total tear out and re-do due to the admitted comments by Daves personal that the qualityn of the wood may be the issue or $4500.00 to cover the cost of another contractor and the moving expenses associated with moving out and moving back in for the 3rd time.

Desired Settlement: Seeking a total tear out due to quality of materials as mentioned by Daves inspectors. "Too much end grain" or $4500.00 to cover re-finishing by another contractor and related 3rd time moving expenses.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of communication on project. Rude behavior/legal threats by management. Billed for services not delivered/double charged for service provided. 9/11 **** ***** of Dave's Floor Sanding(DFS) bid floor refinish at property & was directed that carpeted room on the 2nd fl may or may not be refinished based on the conditions with carpet pulled and was informed room would be bid for tear out & as a refinish but if we decided NOT to refinish that a fee of $300 would be charged for removing carpet. Requested to be put on schedule for Mon 9/30 & requested proposal broken down per room, told I would receive 9/12. 9/17 bid faxed over after email inquiry 9/26 left VM for **** of areas to be refinished starting 9/30, sent text when did not get call back **** says VM not rcvd, I call again, go over scope, request updated proposal. 9/30 Owner of property(Owner) met ***** at property at 9am, went over scope, ***** states job will be done Thur 10/4 informs Owner 50% required. Call **** looking for updated proposal, leave VM. 10/1 ***** requests deposit again, updated proposal not rcvd. Owner tells ***** to replace 10 boards & ***** quotes $10/board straight replace-$20/board "laced in," he is directed to straight replace boards on 1st fl. 10/2 Owner tells ***** to use "High Traffic" poly & to refinish floor in carpeted room, & patch floor w/laced-in boards. Send text to **** requesting call. Owner guesses at 50% deposit & calls in $3375 to DFS. **** calls me I inform him of requested board replacement & poly upgrade & request new price, he quotes me $6801 over the phone & he will visit property next afternoon to check in. ***** leaves 3 stain color samples for us to choose from. 10/3 Owner informs ***** of stain color. 4pm **** meets Owner at property, informs him job will not be completed until Wed 10/9, when questioned why job is behind **** tells Owner that he is not in charge of scheduling & not his job to stay up to date on projects. I contact DFS & spoke to **** who listened to me, apologized & offered to discuss issues with their owner to see if something could be done for us. Receive 2 invoices in mail w/same date & invoice # in amounts of $6801 & $7034. 10/5 receive call at 10:30a from **** saying they would be at property later & to have property unlocked. Owner at property from 11a-1:15p DFS has not shown, leaves door unlocked, after not hearing back from DFS Owner returns to property at 5:15p to lock property at this time does not observe signs of poly having been applied to floors. I leave a VM for ****, call is not returned. 10/6 call **** again, no answer 10/7 (8a) call **** again, no answer, (9a) call DFS **** answers, I tell him I am done dealing w/him & ask for manager. Speak w/*** who talks over me & gave excuses, frustration builds he states he is hanging up, I regain my composure to ask further questions he rudely answers then hangs up before I am finished. Owner calls DFS speaks to **** confirms invoice amount $6801 & requests call from owner of DFS, **** ******, states we will not pay balance of invoice until call back has been rcvd. Calls a 2nd time, **** still not available. Project is completed end of day by *****. 10/10 No call from **** or invoice. Receive email from DFS stating we are past due & to pay immediately or face mechanic's lien. I respond back that Owner left message requesting call from **** prior to payment again requesting **** call us. Response rcvd that this will not stop lien & collections informed "that is not part of the agreement that has been followed" (we never rcvd contract OR signed anything), informed **** will not call us & forwards invoice of $7034 showing deposit, I respond requesting invoice in quoted amount of $6801 which still included $288 for a room that was not done, responded back that total is per quote given to us onsite by ***** (this never happened). Owner & I go over invoice at home & find charge for a bedroom that had NOT be worked on as well as an additional charge of $300 to remove carpet which was included in room refinish price quoted. 10/11 received notice of intent to lien property addressed to me at my employer

Desired Settlement: A phone call from the owner,*************** ONLY. Dismissal of $288 charge for "Sand & finish up stairs bed rm & closet on right w/other work" that had not been done. Dismissal of charge of $300 for "remove & dispose carpet in bedroom" that was included in the $710 charge for "Sand & finish w/3 coats of oil based poly in upstairs bed rm closet". Dismissal of mechanic's lien filed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. is more than willing to work with you to resolve the issues on your job! Dave's Floor Sanding & Installing, Inc. commenced work on Monday September 30th and completed the job on Monday October 7th; there has been confusion on the customers part about the work performed, Monday September 30th ***** spoke with homeowner and question was posed when he would be done, which he replied the Thursday October 3rd or Friday October 4th which did not include the finishing coats. For a job of this scope it would never have been possible to complete in such a short period of time, there is 3 to 4 days minimum in sanding and 1st coat, not including the 2nd and 3rd coat. There has been question whether we showed up on Saturday October 5th which has been confirmed on multiple occasions that we were on the job and work was completed for that day, as for the communication between the owner and the workers and locking the doors all we can do is apologize! In regards to your concern with the billing, if made aware of the issues we could have discussed them, if we did not do a room it is easy to remove from the billing but it was never brought to our attention. The sand and finish with 3 coats of poly in the upstairs bed room for $710.00 is as stated on the proposal no carpet included in price! Carpet is an extra charge on top on the work being performed. All pricing and terms are on the proposal/contract which they received from **** on Friday September 13, 2013, as stated in the small print on the proposal/contract "customer to remove all staples, tack boards, and nail heads when removing your own carpet or vinyl flooring. Floor should be free of all carpet backing, vinyl and glue to avoid additional charges. - TERMS: We require 50% down payment before starting the work and the balance of total upon completion of the work. A service charge of 1.5% per month (18% APR) will be added to all overdue accounts. " The lien is satisfied once payment is made in full, the balance of the $300.00 for the carpet removal is still due. In regards to the issues with **** and not returning phone calls, it was made clear on multiple occasions that **** is the estimator and the schedule is out of his hands after the estimating is done, he does not over see the job after the fact; the office runs the schedule and deals with the customer till the job is completed. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) During the quoting process, we explicitly specified that DFS was to remove the carpeting and we were assured by **** that the price quoted included removal of the carpet. Upon review of the quote, there was an approximate $300 higher fee for the room in question, which - by all outward appearances, to us as customers not fully versed in the hardwood refinishing world - would cover the removal, disposal and additional work we had discussed with the estimator. We were not, at any point, made aware of an ADDITIONAL charge to remove the carpet from the premises and dispose of, neither by ***** onsite or **** the estimator, knowing full well from the time of the initial job site visit that this service was to be performed. Had we, at any point, been informed that it was not included in the price, we would not have authorized that expense as we could have very easily removed/disposed of the carpet for free ourselves. *****, the installer never spoke of any additional fees for carpet removal or disposal when Owner met with him to show the full scope of the project and the quote did not have that as a line item. Therefore, as we were never provided with a price for this service it was never authorized for DFS to take care of and as such would be unauthorized work. Given the direct conversation with the estimator, ****, on the matter of carpet removal; the approximately $300 up-charge for that space; no additional conversations of cost or authorization provided for additional work beyond the patching of boards (which has been paid in full), we ask that DFS remove the charge for this unauthorized work, sign and return to us an unconditional lien waiver for the adjusted amount of the invoice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/28) */ Daves Floor Sanding stands their ground on their previous response, there is no average cost calculated! Our costs are typically based on a square foot cost, in rare cases the price is up charged based on the work and condition of floor. $2.95 per sq ft for natural, $3.45 per square foot for stain, $1.00 per square foot for carpet removal and disposal which includes nails, staples, tack strip and pad. Glue is charged out per square foot price is determined by the amount of glue and type of glue, radiator's are charged out as a per radiator charge ($20.00 per radiator). The bedroom in dispute is charged out at $490.00 for sanding and finishing, $200.00 for glue and pad removal (this charge is based on the pad being stuck or glued to the floor which is not uncommon) and 1 radiator at $20.00 for a total of $710.00, we cannot have a built in cost for performed work. If the carpet in dispute would have been part of the bid it would have stated in the work description, if it was not listed then the workers would not have known what work was to be performed. From the stand point of a company that works on 30 to 100 jobs a day we would be unable to complete the job properly if we did not know what we were suppose to complete, therefore it must be documented on the proposal or bid prior to work commencing. The property in dispute has already been submitted for collection and a lien has been filed, in to resolve the lien the balance will need to be paid in full!


Customer Review(s)