BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Above All Hardwood Floors, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Above All Hardwood Floors, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Above All Hardwood Floors, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 02/07/1997 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Susan Schurman, Accountant Chad Lemair, Owner/CEO Frank Rusnacko, Co-Owner/COO Angela Sniffin, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Susan Schurman, Accountant
Customer Contact: Angela Sniffin, Customer Service
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Carpet Installation Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Above All Hardwood Floors & Carpet, this company offers installation, finishing, refinishing, and maintenance for hardwood flooring.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Above All Hardwood Floors, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 16861 Welcome Ave SE

    Prior Lake, MN 55372 (952) 440-9663 (952) 479-5548

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Co.improperly inst. wood floor. Won't fix properly and is ignoring recommendations from a cert. floor insp. Upon complaint, referred to their lawyer. On the day of installation the installers realized that the floor was not properly inspected and we did not have the proper subfloor. We agreed to have a new subfloor installed for an additional $700 and the original pre finished floor. They got halfway done and we had to point out that there was a milling problem and the ends of boards did not line up properly, and there was a nail pushing through in the middle of the floor. We agreed to change to a site finished floor. After installation, they had to return to resand and recoat the floor due to air bubbles. Towards the end of summer, we noticed severe cupping and squeeze back from the floor. Above All Flooring owner came out, and his opinion was that our house was too humid. We have a new furnace and AC, and it runs regularly to reduce humidity. He returned a week later and took moisture readings. We agreed to leave it and see what happens. A few months later we didn't feel that what the owner said was correct. Our humidity readings on our thermostat were within mill and industry guidelines. After much research, we hired a cert. flooring insp. She did a full inspection. The general synopsis was that the sub floor and flooring was not properly acclimated. It also stated that the few readings they took were far shy of the industry recommended amount. The floor was severely cupped and because they didn't leave adequate expansion gaps around the perimeter of the floor, the flooring had expanded enough to push into the drywall. The recommendation was to wait until spring or fall when the wood was neutral, refinish it and see what happens. She also recommends that we have proper expansion gaps cut on the entire floor. We also talked to the mill. They were surprised by the installation technique and lack of industry standards followed. They also concurred with the inspector about the expansion gaps and the necessity of timing the floor resurface as to not cause the reverse problem if and when the boards contract. To complicate the problem, since this new floor also happened at the same time as a new kitchen remodel, we installed the cabinets on top of the finished floor. We sent a letter to the owner with a description of the problems as well as the flooring inspectors report. His response was to immediately turn it over to his attorney. In our letter, all we asked is that we get the floor that we paid for. We also wanted compensation for the time we had put into the problem and any additional expenses we would incur during the redo. Unfortunately, to fix the floor properly would include removing the kitchen cabinets, cutting expansion gaps and doing a complete refinish on the floor. We would have to time it correctly to capture the wood at the correct time. The attorney communicated that Above All was only willing to sand and recoat the exposed flooring and pay for the flooring inspector. They wanted to do it as soon as possible. They did not even consider anything that the inspector or mill had said about the proper time to do it. If we would have done it when they agreed to, it would have made it worse. They never acknowledged the extent of necessary repairs or what the professionals recommended. We notified the attorney that we rejected the offer to simply refinish the floor. The attorney stated that if we didn't accept this offer and filed a BBB complaint, we would risk them not paying anything. They also stated that none of the additional items were recoverable by MN law. What was surprising to us is, we did not initiate any legal action towards them. We wanted to handle it as customers who hired a company and they did not deliver what we paid for, not a legal proceeding. To top off the entire experience, we had a different flooring company come in to give us an estimate to fix everything. To our surprise, the sq.ft did not match. We were overcharged by approx. $1,500. Copies of all comm. and documents are available upon request.

Desired Settlement: Below is the requests we hade made to rectify the situation and us be satisfied customers. -The removal and reinstall of all cabinets necessary to complete the relief cuts along the perimeter of the and floor sand/recoat by Above All or their licensed and insured contractor -Relief cuts made to the perimeter of the floor -Sand and recoat entire floor to remove all uneven areas and squeeze back -$300 reimbursement for the certified flooring inspector -$800 for the time we have spent researching this issue and consulting the flooring inspector and mill, living with a less than acceptable floor, the inconvenience of removing/replacing all items from our cupboards , and being displaced during the repair. -Any further expenses we incur due to the repairs. -Any damages that occur during the repair are the reasonability of Above All Flooring -A warranty that if this repair does not fix the issue a complete new floor will be installed. Above All completely ignored the recommendations from industry professionals and they tried to intimidate us through their attorney to take a less that suitable offer. Due to this we no longer trust them and do not want them to return to our home. The entire amount for the project was $9,100. That included $6,510 cash and $2,590 barter. We are seeking a refund for the entire cash amount of $6,510 If you eliminate the $1,500 we were overcharged, it is only $5,000. Approximately the amount it will take to have all of the flooring issues corrected.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/08) */ Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 327A, on January 18, 2015, Above All Hardwood Floors, LLC ("Above All") offered to re-sand and re-finish the *******'s floor. The *******'s rejected the offer because Above All was not willing to pay for certain items (e.g. $800 in time they spent researching) as those amounts are not recoverable under Minnesota law; and, Above All was offering more than what would be required under Minnesota law. The *******'s reached out to Above All again on March 18, 2015 requesting resolution and Above All, again, offered to re-sand and re-finish the floors; however, the *******s again rejected it. Above All is, as it always does, willing to stand behind its workmanship; however, the *******s must realize that wood is a natural material and like all natural materials, it has imperfections that are accepted throughout the industry and the numerous satisfied customers of Above All. Above All only offered to re-sand and re-finish the flooring to try and resolve this matter with the *******s as there is nothing wrong with the flooring; and, the *******s have yet to produce anything to Above All to demonstrate otherwise. Further, the desired resolution sought by the *******s is well beyond what would be recoverable under Minnesota law. First, the *******s, under 327A, must allow Above All the opportunity to repair. Above All offered to do this, and the *******s have rejected it. Second, the *******s are not entitled to recovery for their "time." Third, the *******s are not entitled to reimbursement for the certified floor inspector. Fourth, Minnesota law is quite clear that the *******s, under no circumstance, are entitled to a return of the money they paid for the floor. At most, they would be entitled to reimbursement of the cost to repair; however, they would first need to demonstrate that there was something wrong with the flooring, which they have not done. Above All has tried, multiple times, to resolve this matter and go above and beyond what would otherwise be required. However, the *******s' insistence that they be compensated for items they are not entitled to has prevented this matter from being resolved; and, is what has lead to the filing of this meritless complaint.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Above All Hardwood Floors, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart