Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/17/2004

Restoration Professionals, Inc.

Phone: (651) 379-1990Fax: (651) 379-1991View Additional Phone Numbers505 Minnehaha Ave W, Saint PaulMN 55103-1573 Send email to Restoration Professionals, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Restoration Professionals is a locally-owned, family-operated licensed contractor specializing in one-stop emergency
 water damage repair, flood cleanup, fire damage restoration, mold remediation, industrial cleaning, painting, and carpet cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/17/2004

BBB has determined that Restoration Professionals, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Restoration Professionals, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Restoration Professionals, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our apartment got on and the insurance company send restoration professionals and crdn to come an told out our things.so they made a estimate for scope and they this estimate will change after they know what items are unsalvageable(damage).but ever after this they send us this estimate. Our insurance company paid $15000.00 and want take the of $11964.94 for us to left with $3035.06,the items that are damaged cost like $8000 to $9000.we really need some help with this please.we need money for the replacement of items.
Product_Or_Service: Insurance

Desired Settlement
We either get more or we get of the money because the insurance company ever inform us that we going to paid this service.

Business Response
Restoration Professionals is a caring, family oriented company. We understood that the ******* family was under-insured at $15,000 of coverage and took that into consideration before performing any work for the ******* family. We explained their limits to them as well and they hired Restoration Professionals and signed our service agreement. Our contents manager met with the ******** on a Saturday to go through their contents with them. He explained to the ******** which of their contents were restorable and which were not. The ******** authorized Restoration Professionals to restore many contents and they also requested that Restoration Professionals dispose of many contents that they wanted to replace. Restoration Professionals advised the ******* family that it would be more costly to replace those contents versus restoring them. The ******** were billed for the emergency pack out of their fire and water damaged contents, the cleaning/specialty restoration services of their contents, supplies used, climate controlled storage and the delivery/pack back of their contents. Along with this the ******** received a bill from a garment restoration company whose services were authorized by the ******** after they were provided with a price for services. The ******** were dissatisfied upon receiving Restoration Professionals bill for $11,818.83 which included the garment restoration invoice and the ******** refused to pay that amount. Restoration Professionals negotiated with the garment restoration company to give the ******** a discount and Restoration Professionals also gave the ******** a considerable discount making our final invoice $10,384.65. Restoration Professionals feels that we have been very reasonable and are looking to resolve this while being compensated for the work that was performed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is not case for being under insure or not,the case is any thing they cannot clear they will not chargeit in the bill but they still charging us the estimate since the beginning of the process.they hold on to damage item and send us list of but still the price remains the same. With garments we ever told they not to clean they them, but insist that they have on they and they to clean them and some of my white cloth are damaged. In this case they want us to be the complete losses. Which is so sad for paining insurance all this year's. They ever told us not to worry the things that cannot be cleaned will not be on this estimate, but that time they didn't told us we are under insured. We need your help to solve this problem in a good faith. Thanks. ******* family.


Final Business Response
We work with a standard pricing software that the insurance company uses. We have already reduced our pricing and we cannot go any lower. We are sorry that the customer had to deal with a fire and lost many personal belongings. We were hired to do a job and we expect to be paid for the work completed.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/17/2004Business started: 07/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5005
http://www.dli.mn.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2003, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Ed Strom (President)Customer Contact: Timothy Labey (Owner) Steve Johnson (Business Development Manager) Patty Miranda (Director of Marketing)
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning, Contractors - General

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Restoration Professionals, Inc., this company offers disaster restoration, including fire and water damage, mold remediation and other specialty cleaning services.

Hours of Operation

24 Hour Emergency Service

Industry Tips
Remodeling your home
Carpet Cleaning Tips

If you choose to do business with Restoration Professionals, Inc., please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Restoration Professionals, Inc.

505 Minnehaha Ave W

Saint Paul, MN 55103-1573

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 505 Minnehaha Ave W 

    Saint Paul, MN 55103-1573(320) 229-1990
    (651) 379-1990

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Restoration Professionals, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (651) 379-1910
  • (952) 224-0990
  • (612) 455-0990
  • (763) 746-0990
  • (320) 229-1990
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Remodeling your home
Carpet Cleaning Tips
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.