BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Minnesota and North Dakota
Sign up for our monthly consumer newsletter!

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/1978

Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction

Phone: (763) 544-8761Fax: (763) 544-87669621 10th Ave N, PlymouthMN 55441-5098 Send email to Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/18/1978

BBB has determined that Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: A fire occurred at Meadow Creek Condominiums the evening of 12.19.2011. The fire caused major smoke, water, and fire damage to 8 units.
Lindstrom has completed subpar work and made poor if any recommendations for the work required. To date we are 231 days from the fire and I am still unable to keep a simple t-shirt in my unit without it picking up smoke odor.

I cleaned out my unit as requested by 12.27.2012 for restoration to begin. From that point on I have had to continually monitor and request rework or additional rework.

Lindstrom has yet to replace the two bedroom screens and living room storm window that were damaged during the fire. They have also yet to resolve the odor issues in my department.

I was advised the unit was ready. After review I found multiple surfaces within the unit that were not wiped down completely. After rework I was advised it was complete. I had painters come in. My painters complained of going home and smelling of smoke so strong that their wives clearly noticed it. After additional work I had carpet installed. After additional work I replaced the appliances due to the poor cleaning Lindstrom performed. They clearly only wiped down the exterior of the units. I still have the supposedly cleaned microwave sitting in my garage that smells like smoke.

To date I have had to have Lindstrom come back to fix the door they removed and replaced. I was unable to deadbolt the door after their work.

I had to remove screws from the strike plate to close the door. The screws were not anchored to anything and could be removed by finger.

I have had to request Lindstrom come back and repair the whole punched through my wall from a bedroom door knob by their work crew.

Lindstrom recently replaced the common area ceiling and during the process covered my door in paint, wall texture, or other without cleaning it. I emailed a complaint about this on 8.4.2012.

I had to email them repeatedly when promised wall replacement was halted and the small test session was only patched.

Lindstrom has not completed fire and smoke damage restoration from a 12.19.2012 fire adequately or in a timely fashion.

The unit recently sat for 12 days of no work with the dishwasher moved, kitchen cabinet moved, the living room carpet torn up in the corners, and 4 inch holes drilled through the subfloor. Lindstrom finally returned to complete the work after a complaint email from me.

My unit has received less than adequate work. Lindstrom should be competent enough to recommend what is necessary to resolve the smoke odor issue I face. Instead I sit with a unit that cannot be lived in due to the damage it will cause to personal belongings. I have lost over $7,300 while Lindstrom does poor quality work and makes poor or no recommendations to the Associations insurance company.

It is clear that Lindstrom does not have the knowledge or experience to do a job of this magnitude. They have made continues errors and still have not resolved the issue.

Business' Initial Response
Lindstrom Cleaning and Construction continues to seek a resolution to the challenges faced on this project. Lindstrom's continues to work everyday with the Association, insurance company and unit owners to reach a mutually accepted solution.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Lindstrom destroyed my deck while replacing my sophets. They nailed and screwed their scaffolding to my deck.
I hired Lindstrom's to rid my home of black mold in February 2011. Lindstrom's sub-contracted the sophet work out to spanish speaking men. I am a flight attendant and was out of town when these men made their first attempt to install the sophets. When I returned home I was told the men had installed them wrong and would have to redo them. Again, upon their second attempt to install the sophets I was out of town. When I returned I noticed that the men had destroyed my gutters with their hand saws that they had used while installing the sophets. I reported the damage to Lindstrom's. Their solution at the time was to paint the gutters. Their sales represenitive named Les said that painting gutters was common procedure and they did it all the time. Later Lindstrom's decided to refund me the cost of replacing the gutters. The sub-contractors had to return a third time because again they had installed the sophets wrong. Again I was out of town when they arrived. I returned from my trip while they were working on the back side of the house. I looked out my patio window and noticed several holes in my deck. These holes are in a straight line directly in the area the workers were. I walked onto the deck and saw the workers had nailed and screwed their scaffolding onto my deck. I brought witnesses over to my home so they could see the damage and witness what these workers had done. I also notified Lindstrom's. In September, 2011 I hired a contractor to power wash and fill the holes on my deck. His name is Loren Riemer. Loren explained the holes could not be filled because rain drops would push the fill out of the holes. Loren also told me replacing the boards would not work either as the new boards would never match the old boards.
In January of 2012 Mick Gingerich came to my home to inspect the damage that had been done to my home. Mick agreed to deduct the gutter damage, hardwood floor damage and other miscelanous damage from my bill and said that we would discuss the deck at a later time.
On 1/20/2012 I phoned Mick and he told me the holes in my deck were knot holes. Mick said the holes from the scaffolding would have been smaller holes that would have disappeard over time.
The holes in my deck are knot holes that were pushed through by the workers Lindstrom's hired as they secured the scaffolding with nails and screws to my deck. There are also smaller nail holes. These holes are in a straight line directly under the eaves of my home. I have witnesses that saw the scaffolding secured to my deck with screws and nails. Also, I have witnesses that can verify these holes did not exist before these men screwed and nailed the scaffolding to my deck.

Business' Initial Response
Lindstroms has addressed, prior to the homeowner's letter to the Better Business Bureau, all of her concerns except for the issue with the deck. In a meeting with Mick Gingerich on January 6th, 2011 the homeowner provided a list of items with dollar values that she felt would resolve her issues in lieu of Lindstroms doing the actual work. We agreed to give her full credit for all of the issues but we do not agree with her concern with the deck. Lindstroms is working with the homeowner to resolve this issue. Mick Gingerich left a voice mail on 2/9/12 asking to have a contractor of her choice provide her with an estimate of what she feels needs to be done to the deck. The homeowner called and left a message for Mick that when she returned to town next week she would take care of that. Once she provides Lindstroms with an estimate we will work with her to come to an equitable resolution just as we did with her other concerns.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept Lindstrom's response because holes do not heal on their own. Lindstrom's drilled holes in my deck and while doing so they knocked out knot holes and put other holes into my deck.
Lindstrom's phoned me asking me to get a bid for repair of the floor of my deck. Repairing the floor would not fix the problem as the new wood would never match.
Lindstrom's claims the reason the wood would not match is because I did not maintain my deck. That statement is not true. Whenever a person adds a board to a deck there will be a sharp contrast as the new board will not match the older boards.
Lindstrom's claims there were two boards that were damaged on my deck. There were eight boards damaged on my deck. Lindstrom's applied and tore down my sophets three times before the job was done accurately. The scaffolding was nailed and screwed and renailed into my deck each time Lindstrom's attempted to apply the sophets.
I did get a bid for the repairs on my deck and discovered that no work could be done on the deck because the deck no longer meets city code. The city said the deck would have to be torn down and rebuilt. The cost of rebuilding the deck is 15,325.74. I mailed Lindstroms this estimate last week.
I have not heard from Lindstrom's since I mailed them the estimate.
Again,I stress that the holes Lindstrom's put in my deck are still there. They did not disappear nor did they heal.
Sincerely,
Cindy Studer

Business' Final Response
Since receiving the Homeowners "bid for repairs" to her deck Lindstroms has been in contact with her by phone and on site. Lindstroms has also been in contact with the building inspector for the City of Excelsior. We will continue to work toward a resolution for her deck concerns.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Hail Repair, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Home Repair & Maintenance, Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists, Contractors - General, Building Envelope Restoration

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1978Business started: 01/01/1936
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N
Saint Paul, MN55155-4344
(651) 284-5005
http://www.dli.mn.gov

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500
Saint Paul, MN55101-6013
(651) 539-1500
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us

Contact Information
Principal: Charles Lindstrom (CFO)Customer Contact: Gary Hennen (President Operations) Mike Lindstrom (C.O.O.)
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Hail Repair, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Home Repair & Maintenance, Insurance - Fire & Flood Specialists, Contractors - General, Building Envelope Restoration

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction, this company offers general contracting services, specializing in storm damage, water damage, fire damage, and insurance restoration services.

Alternate Business Names
Lindstrom Restoration
BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.
Industry Tips
Remodeling your home
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Fire Protection
Home Improvements

If you choose to do business with Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction

9621 10th Ave N

Plymouth, MN 55441-5098

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9621 10th Ave N 

    Plymouth, MN 55441-5098(763) 544-8761

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lindstrom Cleaning & Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.