BBB Accredited Business since

24 Restore

Phone: (763) 753-8080 Fax: (763) 753-2505 View Additional Phone Numbers 6615 141st Ave NW, Ramsey, MN 55303 http://www.24restore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 24 Restore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for 24 Restore include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on 24 Restore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 01/01/1994 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Derek West, President Tami Hawk, Office Manager Greg Swanson, Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tami Hawk, Office Manager
Principal: Derek West, President
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration Water Damage Restoration Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Products & Services

According to information provided by 24 Restore, this company offers fire and water damage restoration, vandalism cleanup, complete construction/reconstruction, mold remediation, and carpet cleaning.

Industry Tips
Carpet Cleaning Tips Remodeling your home

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

24 Restore has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6615 141st Ave NW

    Ramsey, MN 55303 (763) 753-8080 (763) 780-0505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is not only about repair issues but also service and warranty issues. I signed on with 24 Restore after a fire that occurred on 1/3 of the side of my house 4/18/15. They agreed to have repairs done by July 2015. After 3 different carpenters, wrong sized windows and door, electric outlets that didn't work and other problems, they finally finished the work this past April 1 year later. Since then, the new siding was falling off, and a large dent in the frame around the back garage door was noted. After several requests they did send someone out to repair the siding, but the dent in the garage door remains. I have requested that I get copies of the warranties for the work and products on my house but to date have not received any. In fact I was told that I'm not privy to the warranties ,that they will hold them and I'm to call if any problems. Currently I was told that they will not be responsible for the dent in the garage door frame as it was probably caused by me hauling in lawn furniture and therefore not covered by warranty. This dent was most likely caused by their workers who kept saws, doors, windows, building materials in the garage. The idea that it was my fault is not acceptable. This company has been nothing but problems from beginning to never ending. Their cleaning process ruined area carpets, shrunk clothing and drapes, and misplaced several valued articles which they have refused to make restitution for.

Desired Settlement: At the very least I would like the door frame on the garage siding repaired. I would also like copies of the warranties on products used and workmanship. I do feel that it's only right that they pay restitution for the articles that they destroyed by their cleaning process.

Business Response:

August 19, 2016

 

Better Business Bureau of MN & ND

220 S River Ridge Circle

Burnsville, MN 55337

 

Re: ****** (11599367)

 

Our company was hired by Ms. ****** on 5/17/15 to repair her home following fire damage. The initial process was completed by 5/28/15. However, the repair process was not able to start immediately due to approval delays by Ms. ******'s insurance company. 

On 5/20/15, Ms. ****** signed Change Order 1 to commence with reconstruction. The completion was estimated at 90 days from insurance approval. The insurance company did not approve the scope of work until 6/11/15. 

There were delays in the project that were out of our control. The initial patio door was delivered incorrectly. It took several months for ******** ****** to replace the door. Meanwhile, the remainder of the work was completed. During this time, Ms. ****** was out of town and there were delays in getting the final punchlist from her. 

On 5/2/16, Ms. ****** and Chris ******** from 24Restore completed a final walkthrough. Ms. ****** signed Change Order 4 stating she was satisfied with the work and she was given a discount on her final bill. She paid the invoice as she was apparently satisfied with the work completed. 

On 5/22/16, Ms. ****** called in with a warranty issue regarding an outlet which was not working and some siding which was coming off the house. 24Restore immediately called in an electrician to repair the outlet and the siding was repaired prior to 6/13/16. At that time, Ms. ****** was sent an email requesting she let us know if she was not happy with the work completed. She did not respond to the email. 

On 7/26/16, Ms. ****** called our office about the damage to the metal door trim. 24Restore sent out an employee to inspect the damage and it was determined that the damage was not caused by 24Restore and would not be covered under warranty. A letter was sent to Ms. ****** as attached to this letter. 

As to the claim of damage to clothing and other contents, Ms. ****** signed a Release of Liability for Cleaning and Laundering which is also attached to this letter. 

Please let me know if you have any questions or need any further information. 

Sincerely, Tami ****

Consumer Response:  I am rejecting this response because: much of it is untrue. On 4/18/25  I contacted 24 Restore on the advice of my insurance agent.  They came out to my house promptly initially stated that they would have the re-construction done by July 2015. After signing agreement I found out from the contractor assigned that he had 42 other jobs at the same time as mine.  It appeared as though he was completely out of control from the beginning.  He ordered the wrong size windows and patio door as well as the wrong color.  Re-ordering took quite awhile as a result.  When the door was installed they still couldn't seem to get it to fit even after getting 3 of their carpenters to work on it.  I pursued ******** ******* and the contractor to get it in correctly.  ******** sent their own people to do the job and it finally got done right.  There was a long wait again to get the kitchen floor put in as they couldn't seem to find anyone to do the job.  The first carpenter was fired for doing poor work.  The boards on the deck were placed so wide apart that a heel could catch in the cracks.  The second carpenter hired never showed up.  The third carpenter seemed to know what he was doing but put the ceiling carside board going the wrong direction.  He stated that he was never shown pictures of how it had been placed previous to the fire. 

I refused to sign a "completion of work" order until the job was completed and still haven't signed the order to my knowledge.  I was told that I would be receiving a discount which was untrue.  Many of the things they charged for were never done.

 I never received a e-mail questioning if I was happy with the electrical repair.  The person that did repair the outlets was one of their own carpenters and not a electrician.  They did respond to my request to reapply the siding that was falling off but refused to repair the dent/hole in the door frame that was done by one of their own workers. 

Responsibility  for damage from their cleaning of household contents and clothing as well as missing articles was denied due to the fact that I signed a "release of liability" at the time of the fire while still in a state of shock.

In summary, It took a year for 24 Restore to complete the re-construction of one room.  I would never recommend them to anyone!


12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage to carpet on their part, failure to provide reasonable estimate, time frame, work no completed, not returning phone calls. A certified, return receipt letter was submitted to 24Restore about our complaints. They were called to dry out damage caused by a leaky toilet. In the drying their equipment malfunctioned and ruined our carpet. We were to get an estimate that arrived late, a day before they wanted to send out someone to begin work in the bathroom. The work in the bathroom was to involve removing old fixtures but they are still in my garage, two different persons came, and what the tile did had to be some removed to set the vanity. The tiles removed are not having to be put back in by myself. The person to set the vanity did not come with any help and my husband had to help him carry it and install the plumbing to the sink. All the old fixtures remain with us. There were numerous calls to the company with no response from our person, Kyle ******, "working" with us. Finally my husband talked with the manager and he had our person call us. We sent a letter to them stating they owed us $1974, $1874 for carpet replacement and $100 for retuning a piano that sat in the water. We reduced their cost to doing our bathroom, as my husband had to do some of the work that was to be done by 24Restore. 24Restore has the numbers and letter sent to them with all the numbers and break down. We have found other persons to finish the work that needs to be done. We have ended the services of 24Restore but would like to get our money from them and pay them for the work that was completed in our home. If you would like a copy of our letter please contact us or 24Restore.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have 24Restore pay us the money for the damage to carpet and piano and we would pay them for the work completed by their company for the bathroom.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/22) */ Re: Case ********: ************ To Whom It May Concern: Our company was hired by **** ******** to perform water damage mitigation and repair services. Unfortunately during the course of the mitigation and repair services. Unfortunately during the course of the mitigation portion of the work, our dehumidifier leaked, damaging the carpet and piano. We have accepted responsibility for the damage and were willing to compensate Mr. ******** for the expense incurred as he was unwilling to allow us to complete the work. We had a breakdown in communication internally and did not issue a check to Mr. ******** due to confusion in the amount owed. We are not willing to send a check to Mr. ******** and wait for him to send a check back to us. Rather we would be willing to issue a check for the difference between what we owe him and what he owes us. If we can come to an agreed upon price, we can issue a check immediately. Sincerely, Tami **** Office Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/11/02) */ Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2015/12/04) */ Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/12/04) */ We have accepted their response and are sending a check today. ***copied and pasted from email.

11/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The companies itemized bill is inflated. Charged 8 hours than they were here. The itemized bill charges 2 hours per monitoring visit to our home. the total hours charged is 9 hours. 10 hours if you include the service call fee. the company came in for 10 minutes to monitor and left. I don't think they should charge 2 hours for 10 minutes of monitoring. Monitoring included, running downstairs, looking things over and leaving. The entire bill seems very inflated and padded, but specifically the hours charged concern me. The companies rate and material schedule says that monitoring costs $45-70 per hour, but now where do I see that it says the charge for monitoring is to be 2 hours each monitoring time, especially when monitoring only took 10 min.

Desired Settlement: I have paid the bill, but I would like the company to refund $700 that I have paid because of the 9 hours charged for service calls when they were only here for a total of 1.5 hours (at most). 8 bogus hours were billed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/10) */ RE: Case ********: **** ***** Dear ******, In our files, this job is under the name ******* *********, so all attached documentation will include that name. First, we did not charge Ms. ********* and Ms. ***** for any extra hours. the hours charged under industry standard include reasonable travel time to and from the jobsite. Our employees were documented for just under 18 hours for this job. We pay our employees based upon time-sheets which include GPS locators. We charged Ms. ********* and Ms. ***** only for 9 of those hours. All amounts charged were according to industry standards and to the Rate and Material Schedule given to M.s ********* and Ms. ***** on the initial day of the job. In addition, we gave Ms. ***** and Ms. ********* a customer courtesy credit in the amount of $313.83 when the bill was paid on 11/5/15. I have attached copies of the following documents: Contracts signed (including Rate and Materials Schedule); Estimate; Invoice; Accounting Detail which shows amount collected as payment in full; and Employee Time Summary. I can provide further detail of employee time if you would like at a future time. We do not feel we owe any additional money to Ms. ********* and Ms. *****. Sincerely, Tami **** Office Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company says that they charge based upon the industry standard, but are not specific. Does the industry charge for travel time to the jobs? Where does the industry standard say they can charge for time not here. 2 hours of travel time charged does not seem reasonable for a 10 minute visit. Again, the literature states that the charge for monitoring was to be $45-70 per hour, but not that the monitoring included travel time. Yes, I did pay the bill in full, but why should my complaint be dismissed for paying the bill? The courtesy credit was explained to me as being made for paying the bill immediately in full. The credit was not noted to be related to the overcharging for travel time. Travel time is a cost of doing business. Had I known the charges were for travel time, I could have hired a different company closer to my home. None of the signed documents state that the company is charging for 2 hours of travel time each time they came to the house. I continue to disagree with the company's position. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/11/19) */ RE: Case #********; **** ***** (******* *********) Dear Ms. Carlson, We have received the response from Ms. *****. We are still in disagreement that we owe her any money. Our records are very clear that we have almost 18 hours of employee time into this job where Ms. ***** and Ms. ********* were only charged for 9 hours according to the first billing. Since the response, I have had an opportunity to speak to all parties involved and found out that the credit of $313.83 given to Ms. ********* and Ms. ***** included the removal of 3 hours of labor time. This means that we only charged for 6 hours on a job where we had 18 hours of labor. I checked our records and Ms. *****'s assertion that we were there for only 10 minutes per day is false. On the first day, we had two employees there for over 2 1/2 hours. On the second day, our employee was there for 45 minutes. On the third day, our employee was there for about 15 minutes, but this is not uncommon for a mid job monitoring. On the fourth day, our employee was there for approximately 30 minutes. On the final day, our employee was there for 45 minutes. Our GPS records confirm these times. Also, industry standard allows for travel time as we have expenses incurred related to getting to a job. We have given all of the discounts to Ms. ***** and Ms. ********* that we are willing to give. Sincerely, Tami **** Office Manager

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not only do the installed gutters look poor, 3 other companies found improper install and multiple instances of sloppy work. 24Restore refused to fix aesthetic issues following their install of my gutters due to pitch of gutter runs. They only agreed if I would waive any and all claims against them. I had 3 other companies inspect my roof. All three found that not only do they look poor, but that the gutters had been improperly installed. 24Restore did not use roof straps or wedges with the angled fascia on my houses. Without that proper support, the gutters are at risk of sagging and / or failing with the weight of snow, ice or heavy rains. The 3 other companies also found numerous instances of sloppy or inadequate work. I have tried to resolve this issue with all levels of the company and have been told keep them as they are or we will make any adjustment as long as you waive all warranty claims. By fighting me on the aesthetic issues, they forced me to get additional inspections which revealed greater issues.

Desired Settlement: I want to hire another company to replace the improperly installed gutters and deduct the amount that I pay the new company from what I owe 24Restore.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/12) */ The business and I have come to terms, part of the agreement was that if they fix their issues - which they have, then I would withdrawal or close my case with the BBB.

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sub standard mitigation and remodeling project service provided by this company. On may 28th 2015 we entered into a project agreement with 24 hr restore. Our basement had flooded and we required extensive remodeling.We were told the project would be completed in 2 weeks.Day after day we waited for people to show up while rearranging our work schedules. We were given one excuse after another for not showing. First it was they got stuck in traffic(really)!Secondly they were experiencing trouble at other sites and the list goes on and on.When someone finally did show up they could not answer any questions because they did not speak english. After six weeks of dealing with horrible customer service they had only sprayed our bathroom ceiling and painted the bathroom walls of which I had to hire another company to re-do. When I would call to complain they would say that there were problems with the new crews.I also made 24 hr aware that we care for adults with disabilities and are in need of bathroom facilities.I believe we made every attempt to be patient and understanding but this bad service bordered fraud. We were billed with inflated invoices for work not done or partially completed. 2600.00 to rip out flooring (are you kidding me).When I called to discuss the invoices offering to meet more than half way the parties responsible would not even come to the phone. If you value your property, time,and or sanity I would not recommend this company for anything and in all honesty I feel they should pay us for months of lost time and frustration.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that someone contact us to discuss this matter. In addition I am requesting a lien release from 24 hr restore along with an explanation for their gross inability to provide any type of service

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/22) */ Re: Case ********, **************** To Whom It May Concern: We performed water mitigation services and partial reconstruction services for Mr. *******. Part of the mitigation was to be paid by Culligan and part by Mr. *******'s insurance. We only performed drywall installation for reconstruction due to conflicts with Mr. *******. Mr. ******* has refused to pay us for the work we performed without a 40% discount on the entire job. We are unwilling to accept this payment. We informed Mr. ******* that we would file for court. He stated he would file a complaint with the BBB. Attached please find copies of the invoices and the court filing paperwork. Sincerely Tami **** Office Manager

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 3 or 4 emails Alex ******* does not respond Job not completed after a month past given completion date of 9/11

Desired Settlement: Signed contract in Aug with approx complettion date of 9/11 they started and did our garage roof and siding but did nor complete we have left several messages for Alex ******* and he des not respond it is a month past expected date and still not done

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/10/29) */ ***Corresponding documents attached. RE: Case #********: ******* and ******* ********* To Whom It May Concern: We were hired by Mr. and Mrs. ********* on 8/26/2015 to replace the siding (and underlayment) and roof on their detached garage. They were in danger of having their homeowner's insurance cancelled if they did not repair the garage. We started the work immediately and the majority of the work was completed prior to 9/21/15. As the majority of the work is exterior, there were delays due to weather which caused the estimated completion date to go past the date originally given of 9/11/15. The only things that have not been completed at the time the complaint was filed are the following additional items: 1. The siding and roof were damaged by the company hired by Mr. and Mrs. ********* to remove the trees near the garage. We offered to repair the damage with Mr. and Mrs. ********* or the tree company paying for our additional work. It was decided on 10/19/15 that the tree company would perform the repairs and we provided them with information on the paint and shingles used. 2. The electrical wiring in the garage was not compliant with code. As such, it would not pass inspection so we could not install the lights. The code upgrades of the wiring was not in our scope of work. Mr. and Mrs. ********* had the option of hiring their own electrician or having us hire an electrician and bill them for the additional cost. They notified us on 10/19/15 that they wanted us to hire the electrician and we had someone out to replace the wiring on 10/21/15. At this time, we have only billed and collected from Mr. and Mrs. ********* a total of $2500 on a job that was estimated (without the electrical upgrade) in the amount of $5104.51. As the project we were hired to do is now complete, we will be billing them for the remainder of the original contract plus the cost of the electrical upgrades. I have attached a before and after photo for your review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Sincerely, Tami **** Office Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/11/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not start work until over a week after signing contract at this time they only did the shingles (without a permit) It was at least 2 week later that they started the siding and only had forcast of rain for 2 or 3 days and only had light rain on 1 of these days. The only damage from the tree removal company was 1 shingle off and a couple small smuges which were able to wipe off with soap and water. We had on several times asked for the shingles that were extra and not left for us to be returned. After siding was on and painted we noticed the paint job was already peeling and blistering and they had to come back to fix that and this is when they finally returned the shingles on 10/20. We were never given the option of hiring an electrician but were told he had one coming out on 10/21 and he had to repair a couple minor wires which only took about 30 minutes. Upon finally completing job the project manager never came out to do walk thru as stated in contract nor did he contact the city for inspection so we contacted the city on 10/30 to set up an inspection. On 10/30 24 Restore sent someone out to get a check from us and we told him we were not paying until after the work has been inspected by the city and they tried to tell us we had to pay now and we did not and just sent the guy away. The project manager had very bad or no communication thru out the project and never returned any phone calls or emails. We were told at the time of signing the contract that this was a small job and would only take 2 or 3 days to do, and it took about 6 weeks in total. Several times we left phone messages asking when they were going to come and finish the project and never received a call back In completion we were not pleased with their serves

10/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Completed the mitigation to satisfaction. Did not follow through on reconstruction. In May 2015 we contracted with 24 Restore for mitigation (dry/clean water damaged areas), and for reconstruction in three bathrooms. After mitigation we met with their project manager to discuss bids and a proposed schedule. They never showed up and did not return calls or respond to email. After a lot of wasted time we hired another contractor. This project is quite basic and should require less than two weeks to complete. It is now late August and we're just starting.

Desired Settlement: Perhaps they can replace the time (precious summer days) I've spent calling and waiting for them to honor their contract AND the time to find and hire a new contractor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2015/10/22) */ Re: Case ********, *** ****** To Whom It May Concern: We performed mitigation services for Mr. and Mrs. ****** in May 2015. Our reconstruction project manager met with them on June 23, 2015 to determine what work needed to be completed. The estimate was completed and approved by their insurance company on June 29,2013. Our project manager met with them again on July 3, 2015. At that time, Mr. and Mrs. ****** needed to pick out their vanity and flooring selection. On August, 17, 2015, Mr. and Mr. ****** decided they would not have us do the work for their home. Unfortunately, there were several issues which contributed to the breakdown in communication and the delays in their project. In June 2015, we were extremely busy due to the storms that we4nt through our area in late May and June. Also, the project manager assigned to their job had to leave employment with our company due to family issues. We regret that these issues happened and we regret that they affected Mr. and Mrs. ******. Sincerely, Tami **** Office Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2015/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I regret that other customers were given priority, I regret that I don't recall any storms, I regret selecting 24 Restore and spending time waiting for them to contact me. Bottom line they didn't do the job as contracted, they didn't call or return calls, and they have admitted no fault (just regrets).

4/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with 24Restore in April 2014 to repair water damage on our home at ***************, S, Maplewood, MN. They gave us an estimate of 3-4 weeks to complete the project. We paid 50% down at the start of the project, with 50% due on completion. There were multiple delays in the job, with several due dates given and not met. With assurance that ************** (estimator) and ********** (project manager) gave to us and the buyer we sold the house contingent on replacement and finishing of the patio door prior to closing. These were the remaining items on the bid. We closed on the house on 10/10/2014. The patio door was installed and stained, but not completely finished at that time. We made an addendum to the purchase agreement that the buyers would deal with the remaining details directly with 24Restore. We requested an invoice for the second half payment (which is due upon completion of the job), and lien waivers for all materials and labor in the entire job on 10/12, 10/15, 10/27, and 10/28. We have not received either an invoice or lien waivers. On 11/7 we received a phone call from our realtor stating that she heard from the home buyer's realtor. She was told that someone from 24Restore went out to the property at 514 Deer Ridge and told the new owners that the bill has not been paid. The new owners are now concerned about the possibility of a lien being placed on the property. On the enclosed disc are 24Restore's bid, the first half invoice, a second invoice showing a past due amount (when it was not even due because the job wasn't finished yet,) a timeline summary of the experience, and copies of e-mails that we have saved in correspondence with the company. As we look back over this there are red flags all over the place. We bought into each excuse and delay tactic along the way, giving the company chance after chance to make it right. On two different occasions they asked us to sign a "Customer's Certificate of Completion and Satisfaction" even though the job was not done. The first time on 7/1 we signed it with the notation of those items not done (installation of the patio door, staining and varnishing of the patio door, and carpet cleaning). The second time on 10/28 we told them we can not sign because the job was not completed prior to us selling the house. We do not know if it has ever been finished. In September they also notified our insurance company that all the work was complete, when it was not. At this time we request an invoice for the second half payment, and lien waivers for all materials and labor done on the estimate number ******************. We also request a copy of lien waivers for the new owners to protect them now and in the future. Sincerely, ************************* 11/8/2014 ***copy of disc date available on request.

Desired Settlement: At this time we request an invoice for the second half payment, and lien waivers for all materials and labor done on the estimate number ******************. We also request a copy of lien waivers for the new owners to protect them now and in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2015/03/04) */ Re: Case ********: ********************** Dear Ms. *******, We were initially contacted by Mr. and Mrs. ******* on April 14, 2014 regarding damage repairs resulting from previous ice dams at their home. Between April 14 and May 20, 2014 Mr. and Mrs. ******* were indecisive about whether or not to hire our company to do the repair work. On May 20, 2014, we closed the file as a job not sold. On June 9, we were contacted by Mr. and Mrs. ******* and give the go ahead to proceed with the work at their home. The work started on June 18, 2014. The majority of the work was quickly completed. However, the patio door they selected was on back order and did not arrive until October 2014. It was installed right around the time they sold the home. However, due to factors unrelated to Mr. and Mrs. ******* and their schedule, we were unable to finish the door and the touch up work to the home prior to the closing of the sale. We entered into an agreement with Mr. and Mrs. ******* that we would work with the new buyers to finish the work. Once the work was finished, Mr. and Mrs. ******* stated they could not sign the certificate of completion and that we needed to get that from the new buyers. This certificate was needed by the insurance company for them to release the final payment. This is what was explained to the new buyers, not that Mr. and Mrs. ******* were not paying, but that we had to have a signed completion document in order to be paid. We are willing to work with Mr. and Mrs. ******* in providing lien waivers once they have paid the balance due. They have received copies of the outstanding invoices as well as monthly statements showing the balance due. **********, the project manager on this job has been out of the office due to several personal issues. He is not due back until later this month. As he has further information on the job that is not currently available to me, I will talk with him upon his return and update the BBB with any information that may have been left out. Sincerely, ********* Office Manager ***corresponding document attached. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 22, 2015/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response given by 24Restore includes distortions of the truth. They have not given us the invoices or lien wavers that we have requested. Please see our response attached. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2015/03/25) */ ***************, This is the first time we are seeing the invoice number ********* dated 11/26/2014 with the balance due 12/26/2014 with a note that finance charges apply if paid after 30 days. The other invoice number ********* is dated 6/30/2014 with a due date of 7/30/2014 with a note that finance charges apply if paid after 30 days. The agreement was that final payment would be due upon completion of the job. Considering that we were never notified of completion of the job (which was presumably done after we sold the home), we do not want to pay finance charges based on either of those dates. If the job is indeed done, the invoices should be dated on the date that we are notified that the job is completed, with no finance charges applied for 30 days after that date. Is the job done now, so that clock can start ticking? We request a meeting with a representative of 24Restore where we can exchange final payment in exchange for lien waivers for all materials and labor involved in this job. We have lost faith in the company, so don't want to send a payment, then hope to receive lien waivers later. We are available to meet on March 25 after 3PM, March 26 after 3PM, or anytime on March 27. We prefer to meet at a neutral location near the job-site. What date and time works for 24Restore? Are you willing to meet in the Resource Center at ****************** in Woodbury, MN? ********* Matt did not give us a copy of the invoice dated 11/26/14. Today is the first time we have seen it. We have been requesting it since October. We agree to pay the invoice amounts of $2986.98 plus $1514.24 for a total of $4501.22. This is in addition to the $2886.98 that we paid previously. This brings the job to a grand total of $7388.20. As you stated below, no finance charges will be paid. We would like to meet at **********************************. Since Friday morning works for both of us, what time is best for you? We need lien waivers from each material supplier and from all laborers involved in the job. *********************** ***copied and pasted from 2 emails. Final Business Response /* (4000, 30, 2015/04/09) */ We did meet on March 27, did apologize for our former employee, account was paid, lien release taken care of, and account closed.

2/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged $840.00 for time spent to put together an estimate for a restoration job that I must pay or go with their bid I had water damage in my kitchen in October and they did the removal of my floor and 2 cabinets. They dried it out and was paid by my insurance co. They came out in November to see what I wanted restored and said I signed a contract. This was before the bid came in at $13000.00 then at $9000.00 to put the old cabinet back in. I told them in January I wanted to get other bids and they said I had a contract to go with them and it would cost $840.00 for their time to put the bid together and would have to pay this if I didn't go with them. I was not told of this prior on November 26th.

Desired Settlement: I want to get out of the contract that I supposedly signed and get my own bids and not have to pay this to force me to go with them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/03) */ Re: Case ********: G******** Dear Ms. *******, I am in receipt of your second notice as received by mail over the weekend. As I explained over the phone, we did not receive any previous notice in this matter. The allegations made by Ms. **** are totally inaccurate. We did not charge her any amount for estimating the repairs, even though it is allowed under the terms of our contract. The only amounts our company charged to Ms. **** are for the mitigation work we completed in November 2014. As such, we are requesting that you remove this complaint from our file as false. Sincerely, ********* Office Manager ***corresponding documents attached.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are several repair deficiencies, uncompleted work and personal property damage. Overall bad and incomplete service. Company was hired in March 2013 after a fire in my home. They were slow in returning my clothing and ruined several items which I have not been reimbursed for. The demolition was fine however the remodel has been a nightmare. My home was to be completed on 6/15/13. It is still not completed. You can see all the tape lines in my drywall all over the house. Does not appear they did a final coat of mud. My grout in my backslash in the kitchen is crumbling. They did not finish my trim work. They restarted my home on fire and did not repair the fireplace correctly or inform me of the incident. They did not clean the soot under my fire place so when I lit the pilot I got soot on my new carpet. They did not change the filters in my air exchange unit. They broke several window cranks. They put a large scratch in my wood floors, installed a new jacuzzi tub that is to big for my water heater to support and installed the motor on the wrong side. They broke my bathroom cabinet door and glued it back together and it recently broke. They messed up my bathroom electricity in my basement bathroom. There are several scratches and gauges in my furniture. The exhaust for the dryer was not properly attached. There have been two plumbing issues with the dishwasher and the upstairs bathroom. They sent a plumber out and did not find out what was wrong but I had water pouring out of my kitchen can lights. Sloppy paint and stain job throughout my house. Vinyl in my bathroom is bubbling. Project manager is slow to respond if he responds at all. The house was to be completed and move in ready on 6/15/13. We moved in but it was not completed. I put my own kitchen shelving in just to unpack my kitchen. I had missing personal items and The president of the company, project manager and another person came out to my home and they corrected a couple things and the drywall was supposedly "fixed" but still looks horrible. Project manager did not communicate things with me. I had asked for several meetings and they never occurred. I never was able to view my non salvageable items. After this much time and hard feelings and failure to correct problems, I would like to get bids from other contractors and have someone else complete the work.

Desired Settlement: As stated above I would like to get bids from other contractors to repair the damage caused by 24 Restore and I would like to be compensated for my damaged personal belongings.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/05/20) */ Here are our responses to the issues raised by Ms. ********: l1. We received the call on March 4, 2013 regarding the fire at Ms. ********; residence. All laundry for the family was completed and returned to her within one week. Ms. ******** has never provided any information regarding any damaged laundry items. 2. Ms. ******** completed a walk through with **********, the assigned Project Manager, on May 29, 2013 and was satisfied with the work with the exception of a small punch list. We completed the punch list. We have always been willing to review and take care of any warranty issues, such as drywall, grout, and trim work. 3. There is no correct side to place a Jacuzzi motor. 'The installation of the Jacuzzi tub passed the plumbing inspection by the city. The tub was approximately the same size as the previous tub and was installed in the same location. If there was an issue with the hot water heater, it was pre-existing to the fire. 4. We did not start the house on Fire. While we were working on the residence, the ?replace was covered with poly. One of the workers accidentally flipped the switch on the gas fireplace* The wood was singed. We noticed the damage when we uncovered the fireplace and repaired the damage. Nothing else was damaged in the house. We cleaned the Fireplace. S. We did not touch her basement electricity. Ms. ******** was in the process of finishing her basement before the fire occurred. The basement was not covered in the scope of our work and we did no work in the basement with the possible exception of some cleaning. 6. The dishwasher was purchased by Ms. ********, We offered to come out and look at it but she declined our offer. 7. The upstairs bathtub overflowed. We had a plumber go out (at no expense to Ms. ********) and he put a camera down the drain just to make sure there were no issues with the plumbing. No issues were found. If there had been any issues, we would have corrected them. 8. Ms. ******** and her family moved in on .lune 15, 2013 as promised. At that time,'there was the punch list to complete, but it was completed shortly after the move in. All of the issues Ms. ******** is claiming to exist at this time have occurred after the walk through punch list was created and completed. We are still willing to take care of any warranty issues. 9. We do not know how the window cranks were broken as there was no obvious damage to them ' which could be attributed to any single cause. This is a 15 year old home and likely the damage was caused by normal wear and tear. However, we died replace the window cranks at no cost to l Ms. ********. 10. Ms. ********'s non-salvageable contents have been stored at our shop. All she has ever had to do was to call our office and make an appointment to come in to inspect the contents. We have given Ms. ******** numerous occasions to meet with representatives of our company. We also have given her the opportunity to have another company inspect our work. We have been willing to pay reasonable rates for mutually agreed upon repairs. If Ms. ******** was unwilling to allow our company to complete the repairs. We are attaching copies of several email conversations with Ms. ********. As you can see, we have been unable to get Ms. ******** to accept any solution proposed by our company. We continue to be willing to do whatever it takes to make reasonable corrections for any warranty issues she has with her home. Please feel free to Contact our office at with any questions you may have. Sincerely, ********* Manager Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My initial complaint to the BBB was filed on 2/3/14 and I have e-mails asking them to meet with me several times but they never have. My responses them: 1. It took weeks to get my clothing back from them. I talked to ********** about a bag of clothing they shrank when I was living in the condo and her had an employee come pick it up. It was also brought up at a meeting with ********** and ********** at my home with ****** ***** present. **** acknowledged it was their error and I have yet to be reimbursed. 2. They have not been willing to meet with me or come to my house to look at the drywall. I have made several attempts. 3.The Jacuzzi tub is approximately the same size HOWEVER there are 2 sets of jets in the tub where my old tub only had 1 set therefore it takes double the water to fill it and I run out of hot water. 4. The wood on my fire place was more than singed it was black. They attempted to fix it twice but have been unsuccessful. The wood is much darker and bubbled in spots. I received a quote from Stiller Trim Work in the amount of $1,550 to replace it. They never thought to inform me the homeowner of this I had to find out on my own. Bad customer relations. 5. I fixed the electricity. 6. I pulled the dishwasher out and fixed it. 7. No one was home when the plumber came. I believe he forgot to install the overflow and did this when he came to inspect the plumbing. It is fixed now. 8. We did move in on June 15th and the home was not complete and I had to sign a certificate of completion in order to move back in. I had to complete a lot of work they didn't do and there was a punch list and it was not all completed as they claim. 9. Non issue. 10. 24 Restores Solutions are that I pay them my $1,000 deductible plus whatever "verbal" agreement they had with the insurance company they State Farm did not pay them $1,500 and then they would complete the rest of the work. However I do not feel I would owe them any more money than what is in my escrow account $2,884. my deductible is eaten up by the damage to the fire place and my personal belongings and I'm not sure what 'verbal" arrangement they had with State Farm. In this business you get things in writing. I was not informed of this nor should I have to pay it. The other option was to have me pay for my "upgrades" which I have an e-mail from **** the project manager stating they GAVE me upgrades now they are trying to charge me for them when I never signed any change orders or agreed to any of it. Not to mention my final inspection failed because 24 Restore did not ventilate my gas dryer so from June 2013 to February 2014 all of the gas fumes were coming back into my home. I had brought the fact that I smelled gas to ********** attention he said he would send someone out and apparently never did. In the end if 24 Restore is willing to give me the remaining money in the escrow account of $2,884 I will hire a drywall company to fix my walls and whatever else I can do on my own, remove my complaint with the BBB and walk away. Business Response /* (2000, 24, 2014/06/24) */ I wanted to inform you that I have settled with 24 Restore out of court. All matters have been satisfied and your services are no longer needed. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Please confirm receipt of this e-mail.

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My plumbers referred me to 24 Restore for water damage (a burst pipe)All they did is run machine's for 3 days and did not extract any water from the carpet and charged me $2331.33. I checked with ******* if this was handled correctly and they said no, water must be extracted as the fan's can't do it and I was really ripped off. He said they operate under no standards so I'm confused that they have a okay rating at the BBB.Could you please assist me with this?Thank you so much.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like half my money returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ This is an unfounded complaint from someone who clearly just doesn't want to pay there bill. Our tech who did the work has been with the company more than 8 years and has done over 2000 water damaged home in his career. I have more than 40 photos documenting the water loss from start to finish. Additionally I have moisture readings for the subfloor and all affected areas. Extraction of the carpet or not extracting the carpet would have made little to no difference in the drying outcome of the affected area. Water in a wood subfloor is bound water and cannot be extracted. In addition if we would have extracted there would have been an additional charge for doing so not reducing the bill but increasing it. Even the adjuster agreed to our estimate as I have a receipt that he paid our exact estimated amount. If money was returned it would have to be paid back to the insurance company. If this money was returned to the owner of the property it could be considered insurance fraud. We only charged for services that we provided, nothing more and nothing less. I don't believe calling a company that was never at the home during the time of loss can accurately interpret what should have been done on the job. I would be happy to send our photos and drying reports to any expert in the county for their honest opinion and if they believe we overcharged I would be happy to refund the appropriate amount of money back to the insurance company. I (**********), the company owner, met with the homeowner on site 2 weeks after emergency service for more than an hour and not one thing was mentioned to me about the bill for not extracting. I would have loved to talk about any issues on the performance of my people. In a customer survey completed by the homeowner said that 24Restore was professional, knowledgeable, prompt, reliable, friendly,clean, and organized. in addition said we communicated effectively and kept her informed during her project. What changed? Plumbing bill not covered by insurance? Deductable taken from insurance? I'm not sure but paying 1500 dollars for not extracting when it wasn't needed at the time and for which she was not charged, is nothing more than unfair and unreasonable. I don't believe that this complaint should go against our company rating as it is clearly a case of using the Better Business Bureau to extort money from businesses for work completed. I would be happy to provide any and all documentation you might need to support our position including but not limited to photos, moisture readings, certificate of satisfaction, customer satisfaction survey, emails from the insurance adjuster stating paid same as billed, and a statement from our experienced technician who performed the work at the house.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 24 Restore would not respond to multiple attempts to contact them. Also grotesquely violated out privacy. We attempted to reach our project lead at 24 restore multiple times, left multiple messages. Finally 3 days later we finally get a call back to which they stated they didn't have my number, but yet they were able to reach my partners.. Also, most importantly, while doing their cleaning of our house after a grease fire we contacted 4 different representatives of 24 Restore and informed them of two closets that were not to be entered or cleaned. We also left notes hanging on the doors of the closest. They disregarded out notes and verbal requests and entered the closets anyway. We feel extremely violated and disrespected. When I called to complain and work out a form of compensation for their incompetence, we were told they were no longer interested in completing the job. I would not suggest 24 Restore to anyone! Please if you are reading this DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY. They are as unprofessional as any company I have ever worked with.

Desired Settlement: This is an insurance claim and I am not sure what compensation they can offer. And how can you compensate such a horrible violation of ones privacy?

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/01/10) */ This letter is in response to the complaint ñled by Mr. ******. Our company was_contacted by Mr. ****** on October 3, 2013 following a grease fire in their residence. They hired our company to clean the structure and contents at their residence. Between October 3 and October 11, Mr. ****** made a request that the contentsjn two closets in the residence not be cleaned. We agreed to not clean those contents after advising Mr. ****** that they may have some residual odor issues due to the grease fire. He was ok with that possibility and we advised our cleaning crew not to enter those closets. On October 11, 2013, our carpet cleaning technician went to the home to clean the carpets and other soft items such as upholstery. He was not advised to exempt those two closets from his cleaning. This error was totally unintentional and when he entered the closets, he only moved the items on the floor and cleaned the carpet, as was his usual practice. During the weekend and on Monday, Mr. ****** contacted our office but requested only to speak with **********, owner of the company. Mr. **** was not available to speak with Mr. ****** and he left a message on Mr. ****'s voice mail. On Tuesday, following his return to the office, Mr. **** spoke with Mr. ******. lt was explained that the cleaning ofthe carpet in the closet was not an intentional violation of his privacy and it was mutually agreed that we would not complete any ofthe structural repairs to the residence. The conversation ended on a cordial note as did the conversations relating to the return of Mr. ****** contents which were stored at our facility. Please feel free to contact our if you have any further questions.

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having a leaky sink drain repaired, 24Restore came out to check for mold and dry out any moisture left in the cabinet. They overcharged us. Called this company to come out to check bathroom cabinet for any moisture or mold after having the leaky drain repaired previously by a plumber. This was not an emergency, however, they came out on a Saturday without indicating that we would be charged an $190 "emergency fee". The one man "crew" took an hour to drill several holes in the base of our cabinet and set up a fan, dehumidifier and a wall cavity dryer. We were charged $300 and paid at the time. Two days later he came back and picked up the equipment. We later received an additional bill for $518.74. Even though we were given a price sheet listing all their services, we were given no estimate and certainly were given no indication that we would be charged over $800 for this service.

Desired Settlement: Reduce bill to half of amount charged.$409.37 instead of $818.74.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/19) */ We are in receipt of your letter of November 6 regarding the above complaint. Here are the facts as to what occurred: We received the job on the afternoon of Friday, August 23, 2013. Mrs. **** was contacted by phone by our Production Manager, *************** to set up an appointment for our crew to come out. We always make every effort to go to mitigation jobs on the first day of report as the damage increases for each day. From the initial report, we were unaware that it was an ongoing problem as we were told both by the plumber and the homeowner that it was a failed drain assembly in the bathroom'. Mrs. **** requested that we come on Saturday, August 24 at noon. Our Emergency Coordinator, ************* was the person who responded to the **** residence. He has been with our company for 5 years and has responded to numerous jobs over that time. He found that the leak had been going on for some time and initially suggested that the vanity be pulled as it was very wet and would likely never dry properly. **** stated that she wanted to try to save the vanity. He informed her that it would take several days to dry if it would dry at all. He went over all paperwork with her, including the pricing list, which Mrs. **** signed. He collected a $300 equipment deposit and explained that it would be applied to their final bill. Mrs. **** was informed that no one would be coming the next day (Sunday, August 25) as it would take at least two days for the vanity to show signs of drying. On Monday, August 26, ***********, one of our Water Technicians who has been with the company for over 7 years went to the residence to monitor. Mrs. **** told him that they wanted to stop the drying efforts and she signed a release of liability and a certificate of satisfaction. ******************* Romsey, MN 55303 OFFICE: 763.753.8080 TOLL FREE: ************ www.24resrore.com FIRE WATER STORM ENVIRONMENTAL ________________ ________________ On September 18, an invoice was sent to Mrs. **** in the amount of $818.74 for the two days of drying.`She was also sent a customer totals estimate which detailed what she was being charged for. Her S300 equipment deposit was applied to the invoice, leaving a balance due of $518.74. A basic breakdown of what the charges were is as follows: emergency service call (She was charged $190.36 for an afterhours call due to her request we come on Saturday. We offered to reduce it to a regular call of $126.91 but she refused, wanting it to be removed completely.); equipment setup, takedown and monitoring ($133.60); apply anti-microbial ($1.68); drill holes ($5.30); 1 airmover for 2 clays ($58.02); 1 dehumidifier for 2 clays (5142,00); and 1 injectadry wall cavity dryer for 2 days ($287.76). This complaint is not about the quality of service provided by our company, but rather only about the amount Mrs. **** wants to pay to our company for the work completed at her residence. As shown by the paperwork, we were totally open on the first day as to the costs involved and the time involved. We were told that if We did not agree to reduce the price (we offered a discount of $100 which was not acceptable to them) to the 50% they stated in their complaint, they would report us to the Better Business Bureau and to the Attorney General's Office. At this time, we have referred the matter to our collections department as we are not able to come to any resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on 24 Restore
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart