BBB Accredited Business since

U.S. Card Systems, Inc.

Phone: (218) 825-0110 Fax: (218) 824-1551 View Additional Phone Numbers 17163 State Highway 371, Brainerd, MN 56401 http://www.uscardsystems.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

U.S. Card Systems offers wholesale merchant credit card processing, Check Conversion/Guarantee Programs and Gift Card/Loyalty Card packages. We have over 60,000 merchants and an "A+" rating with the BBB.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that U.S. Card Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for U.S. Card Systems, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on U.S. Card Systems, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1997 in MN Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 10/10/2003 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Brent Kramer, President Sherry Kramer, Vice President Eric Taubman, Etaubman@uscardsystems.com
Contact Information
Principal: Brent Kramer, President
Customer Contact: Eric Taubman, Etaubman@uscardsystems.com
Business Category

Financial Services Merchandising Service Business Services - General Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies Credit Card Processing Service Credit Cards & Plans

Refund and Exchange Policy
Please call us at 866-872-2737.
Alternate Business Names
US Card Systems
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, US Card Systems, Inc. is a full service merchant card processor. They have transaction capabilities that include monitoring reconciliation compensation, automated transfer of merchant funds, installation, training, and resolution.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

U.S. Card Systems, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17163 State Highway 371

    Brainerd, MN 56401 (218) 825-0110 (866) 872-2737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract isn't accurate My contract does not state that a rate review/reduction automatically triggers a contract renewal of 3 years. I signed a contract with US Card Systems on October 12, 2007. I was told that all of my terminal supplies and upgrades would be free of charge, I've never gotten any supplies free. Since then the rates have increased and I have seen junk charges accumulate on my monthly statements. In 2010 I contacted US Card Systems to review my rates and request an adjustment due to competitors trying to gain my business and quoting much lower rates. US Card Systems lowered my rates at that time. I was told that my contract would renew for one year due to the rate reduction which I accepted. In February 2013 I contacted US Card Systems to have another rate reduction and was told a rate reduction was not warranted, I accepted that and asked when my contract expires and I was told it expires September 20 2013 and would then go month-to-month. In September 2014 I received my statement that had an additional $150 fee for "service and maintenance." I called and was informed that it was a "one time mandatory fee to upgrade their systems." At which time I wanted to leave US Card Systems for another company. That is when it was brought to my attention that they had automatically renewed my contract for another year without my knowledge so if I wanted to leave it would cost me a $495.00 for an early termination fee. Fast forward to Sept. 2015 and another $150 fee, this time when I call US Card Systems they tell me it isn't their fee or problem and to contact Element. I contacted Element who apologized for the misinformation given the prior year and credited me $100. I then contacted US Card Systems and asked for an updated terminal that is chip compliant as well as a rate reduction since I've been a client since 2007 (8 years) and only had one reduction. The rep I spoke with was the same rep I spoke to in 2013 and I was very familiar with her tactics and unprofessional behavior. After explaining that they were already pretty low and stating that she could "go to bat for me" to get it lowered she couldn't do anything about the terminal. I would need to purchase a new terminal at $1000. The last five years I've had many companies try to sell me their services that offered lower rates and free terminals but I've never taken advantage of these offers. So it was very upsetting to hear that the company I've been loyal to since 2007 was once again trying to get as much as possible. This was very disappointing. I asked why they hadn't contacted me to inform me that I needed a new terminal and she stated I was on the list. I told her to forget the terminal and give me the rate reduction and she stated she couldn't unless I purchased a terminal. I informed her I needed to budget for the terminal and would purchase later after I received the rate reduction. She finally agreed to email me the paperwork for the rate reduction. While reviewing the paperwork I noticed she wrote in a 36 month renewal without my knowledge. I called and questioned it and she stated that is their policy when they give a rate reduction. I informed her that it isn't stated in the original contract and they cannot just add contract extensions because they feel like it. I crossed out the 36 months and left the contract expiration date of September 20, 2016. and returned to her. She called me and stated that she couldn't submit the contract that way but she could "go to bat for me" if I purchased the terminal. My response was I've been a customer since 2007, I've never received free supplies or an updated terminal and only one rate reduction. My current contract doesn't expire until 2016 and I am not extending it and hung up. I feel US Card Systems are unreliable and very unprofessional. They are scammers trying to get their clients for anything they can. Good thing their competitors beat their rates with a free terminal and will buy out the contract that I never renewed. I would not recommend their services.

Desired Settlement: Rate reduction without extending my contract. And my terminal replaced with a chip compliant terminal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/24) */ We have spoken with ******* and have reached the following agreement that is acceptable for both parties. We are making some significant rate reductions for the merchant moving forward and also providing them with a free loaner Vx520 EMV Smart Chip credit card terminal to use while they process with U.S. Card Systems. ******* will be contacting the BBB to let them know she was very satisfied with how we handled her concerns. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept their response and I am pleased that they were able to meet my requests for a rate reduction as well as provide the terminal.

11/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We discontinued there service and they charged me 250.00 termination fee with out a signed contract or my consent. We discontinued there service and they charged us a 250.00 early termination fee. They called me on the phone previous to this and I stated that I would like a copy of the contract that i Dan ******* the 100% owner of Dan's shop inc signed.They can not provide copy of contract because i never signed one.

Desired Settlement: i would like a refund of the 250.00 or a copy of a signed contract with Dan ******** signature

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/11/20) */ We spoke with Dan ******** regarding his complaint against U.S. Card Systems and have come to the following agreement. The processing agreement and 48-month Rental Agreement was signed by an employee of Dan's Shop, Inc. that is no longer with the company. Dan will contact the BBB to retract the complaint registered previously and U.S. Card Systems has agreed to waive/reimburse the $250.00 Early Termination Fee and we will also cancel their remaining balance of the Rental Agreement that had 34 months remaining. Once Dan has contacted the BBB, we will complete the terms of the agreement reached by Dan ******** and U.S. Card Systems. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on U.S. Card Systems, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart