BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Foundation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Foundation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Foundation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 2011 Business started: 11/04/1982 Business started locally: 11/04/1982 Business incorporated 11/04/1982 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Commerce
85 7th Pl E Ste 500, Saint Paul MN 55101
www.commerce.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 539-1500
general.commerce@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Brad Hewitt, President and CEO Richard Kleven
Contact Information
Principal: Brad Hewitt, President and CEO
Business Category

Financial Services Insurance - Accident & Health Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Investment Advisory Service Mutual Funds Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
Thrivent Insurance Agency Inc Thrivent Investment Management Inc
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, this company offers financial, insurance and investment services to their members.

Industry Tips
Financial Planning INSURANCE

Additional Locations

  • 625 4th Ave S

    Minneapolis, MN 55415 (800) 847-4836 (612) 340-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: STOP ALL MAIL FROM THRIVENT FINANCIAL COMING TO MY HOME ADDRESS. COMPANY REFUSES TO FOLLOW THE LAW ABOUT REMOVING ALL THESE PEOPLE NOT AT MY ADDRESS I HAVE MADE 14 CALLS TO THRIVENT FINANCIAL ABOUT MAIL COMING TO MY HOME FOR ****** ***** ****** **** ****** ************ ****** ****** **** IS PRESIDENT OF THE TRINITY RIVER CHAPTER THERE AT THRIVENT-SPOKE TO BOB ******** ANN ****** & LISA **** (ALL MANAGERS) KAITLYNN, MITCH ******* ALL CSR AND NO ONE CAN GET THIS MAIL TO STOP-AS OF X-XX-XXXX- I HAVE CONTACTED LEGAL THERE AT THRIVENT BUT DID NOT GET A CALL BACK

Desired Settlement: ALL MATERIAL FROM THRIVENT FINANCIAL TO STOP TO ALL THESE PEOPLE WHO DO NOT RESIDE AT MY ADDRESS- TO HAVE METHODS PUT INTO PLACE AND SHOW POLICIES FOR THERE CALL CENTERS THAT THEY ABIDE BY THE LAW WHEN APPLICABLE FOR REMOVING PEOPLE FROM THERE DATA BASE. SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR *************************** TO (CSR) IN APPLETON CALL CENTER, WHERE THE COMPANY / THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THE LAW AND WERE PRESENTED A CLASS OR REPRIMAND OF THERE WRONG DOING IN THIS MATTER AND DID NOT UNDERSTAND OR REFUSED TO REMOVE THESE PEOPLE FROM THE DATA BASE USING MY ADDRESS. BOB ******** AS A MANGER INDICATED HE TOO DID NOT DO HIS JOB AT REMOVING THESE NAMES FROM DATA BASE (2 PHONE CALLS AND HE DID REMEMBER SPEAKING TO ME THE FIRST TIME)-I WANT AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FROM HIM AS WELL FOR USE IN FUTURE CIVIL CASE THAT IS PENDING, THAT HE AS NIGHT MANGER HAS HAD A COURSE NO LESS THAN 12 HOURS FOR MARKETING COMPLIANCE AND VIOLATIONS OF THE LAW AS WELL AS TCPA SAFE HARBOR REUIRMENTS OF A WRITTEN PROCEDURE ISSUED FROM FCC.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2016/03/03) */ Please see the attached response. Insurance products issued or offered by Thrivent Financial, the marketing name for Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, Appleton, WI. Not all products are available in all states. Securities and investment advisory services are offered through Thrivent Investment Management Inc., 625 Fourth Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55415, a FINRA and SIPC member and a wholly owned subsidiary March 3, 2016 Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota Attention Taylor Keate, Mediation Coordinator 220 S. River Ridge Cir. Burnsville, MN 55337 RE: Case # 573.24566 Complainant: *** ****** Dear MS. ****** This letter is in response to the complaint received in your office on February 17, 2016, from *** ****** regarding mailings that were being sent to his address from Thrivent Financial. Thank you for the extension granted to March 3, 2016. Mr. ****** contacted Thrivent involving mailings he had been receiving at his address for individuals who did not reside there. Mr. ****** is not a member of Thrivent and is not in our system as either a former or prospective member, thus we have nothing in our databases attached to his name. Our records indicated Mr. ****** contacted our customer service area on the following dates: o December 2, 2015 - Mr. ****** contacted our call center for assistance, however the call was disconnected before our customer service representative (CSP) could get contact information for Mr. ******. o December 15, 2015 - Mr. ****** contacted our call center. The CSP attempted to assist Mr. ****** prior to transferring him to Bob ******* as an escalated call. The call was disconnected prior to Bob being able to obtain information necessary to research the matter. o February 16, 2015 - Mr. ****** contacted our call center multiple times before being transferred to Bob ******* as an escalated call. Bob was able to obtain additional information from Mr. ****** to research the matter further. o February 17, 2015 - Mr. ****** contacted our call center requesting to speak with someone in Thrivent's legal department. His call was eventually routed to Lisa ***** a manager in Thrivent's call center. Lisa arranged to call Mr. ****** back after having the opportunity to research the matter further on his behalf. At the direction of Lisa ***** Ann ****** called Mr. ******. The call ended abruptly. Mr. ****** called back asking for information about Thrivent's legal area. o February 18, 2016 - Mr. ****** called to speak to Ann ******* Later that same day he called again asking to speak to Bob ******** of Thrivent. For additional Important information, visit Thrivent.com/disclosures. ________________ BBB of Minnesota and North Dakota, page 2 March 3, 2016 Our review of the matter found there were two individuals in Thrivent's system with the same address as Mr. ******. The address for these individuals had been changed several years ago, however, due to a status change involving each of the members the address reverted to their prior address which is where Mr. ****** currently resides. One party's address had been updated in November 2015 when a piece of mail was returned to us. The other party's address was updated after Mr. ****** called to alert us of the matter. In the course of working with Thrivent's call center to resolve the matter, Mr. ****** spoke to Thrivent Senior Litigation Attorney Wayne Luck. Because of the frequency and the demeanor of Mr. ******'s calls, all of Mr. ******'s calls are now being routed to Attorney Luck. Mr. ****** was verbally informed the addresses have been updated for the individuals involved. A follow up letter has been sent making him aware of this as well (copy attached). If you need additional information, please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX; say "directory" and enter extension XXXXXXX. You may also contact me via e-mail at ************************* Sincerely, Kelly **** Compliance/Regulatory Analyst Member Relations March 3, 2016 *** ****** 2429 Bengal Lane Plano, TX XXXXX Re: Address issue Dear Mr. ******, Wayne Luck, Senior Counsel for Thrivent Financial, asked that I contact you regarding the issues you experienced with the Thrivent mailings being sent to your address. Our review of the matter found there were two individuals in Thrivent's system with the same address as yours. The address for these individuals had been changed several years ago, however, due to status changes the address reverted to their prior address which is where you currently reside. One party's address was updated in November 2015 when a piece of mail was returned to us. The other was updated when you contacted our office last month. We apologize for the confusion this caused you. You shared another piece of mail you recently received with Attorney Luck. Our records show a letter was generated after the address was changed. To protect against unauthorized changes, it is our process to mail a letter to the new address and the former address. Also, there may be some residual mailings that occur due to mailing lists that were generated prior to the correction taking place. We do not anticipate you receiving anything beyond 4-6 weeks after February 16, 2016. If you have additional questions involving this matter, please contact Attorney Wayne Luck at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, Kelly **** Compliance/Regulatory Analyst Member Relations CC Wayne Luck, Senior Counsel insurance products Issued or offered by Thrivent Financial, the marketing name for Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, Appleton, WI, Not all products are available in all states. Securities and investment advisory services are offered through thrivent investment Management Inc., 625 Fourth Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55415, a FINRA and SIPC member and a wholly owned subsidiary of Thrivent. For additional important information, visit Thrivent.com/disclosures,

10/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly called to be removed from their mailing list. I do not want to be contacted by this company ever again! I have received many various types of mail and I do not want them contacting me any more. I have called to ask that they remove my information and cease sending me mail and they continue to do so. It is borderline harassment as I did not sign up for it and I never wanted it.

Desired Settlement: Remove every piece of my information from your system and never send me another piece of mail as I do NOT want to be contacted ever again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/03) */ We provided this email response to the complainant on 10/3/2014: Hello Mr. *******, We received your complaint via the Better Business Bureau and have investigated the matter. We found that you were listed in our records as having an active contract relationship with Aid Association for Lutherans, now known as Thrivent Financial. This stemmed back to a major medical policy on which you were a covered child. This record should have previously been marked 'inactive'. We have made that correction and all mailings from Thrivent Financial should now cease. We apologize for your inconvenience. If any further problems arise, please contact me directly using the information provided below. Thank you, ******** A. (****) *******, FIC, ACS Compliance/Regulatory Analyst Thrivent Financial Member Relations ********************, Appleton, WI 54919-0001 Direct: ************ Fax: ************ Toll-free: ************, "Directory," ext. ***** Email: ************@thrivent.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Thrivent Financial for Lutherans Foundation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)