BBB Accredited Business since

Gardner Fence Systems

Phone: (218) 444-4381 Fax: (218) 243-3223 21132 Gold Coast Rd NW, Bemidji, MN 56601 http://www.gardnerfence.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Gardner Fence Systems is a vinyl fence distributor. We sell all types of vinyl fence nationwide and world wide. We work with trained and dependable independent installers to complete your projects. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gardner Fence Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gardner Fence Systems include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gardner Fence Systems
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 1995 Business started: 06/06/1988 in MN Business started locally: 06/06/1988 Business incorporated 01/27/2007 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tim Hins, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Tim Hins, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Fencing Instruction Wholesalers & Distributors

Method(s) of Payment
We accept most major credit cards, bank wires, ACH, Pay-Pal and fax-a-check.
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Gardner Fence Systems, this company offers wholesale distributing of vinyl fence products and accessories.


Additional Locations

  • 21132 Gold Coast Rd NW

    Bemidji, MN 56601 (218) 444-4381

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fence did not perform as advertised and the company has not cooperated in resolving the issue. They have not responded to written correspondence. In March, 2012 we ordered fence from Gardner Fence Systems for use in our horse pastures (Invoice #*****). Based on both their ads and several conversations with them we were assured that their product would work well for us. Initially we were satisfied and purchased more for an additional pasture. However in October, 2014, one of our horses leaned over the fence trying to reach hay on the other side of the fence and broke or severely crimped several sections of the fence. We contacted Gardner. Gardner disclaimed liability in the matter saying that this situation was outside of their liability. We had to replace those broken rails on our fence to protect our animals. After several attempts to resolve this issue, we purchased replacement rails at a discounted price. We drove over two hours pulling a 16 foot trailer to pick up the fence. While there, the company who manufactures the product for Gardner told us directly that the fence would not withstand horses leaning on or over a rail and that they had told Gardner this on several occasions. The manufacturer suggested that we put a hot wire along the top rail to keep the horses from reaching across. This contradicted all that we had been told by Gardner Fence Systems. Most of their ads show horses and refer to the safety features of the product for horses. We have since emailed and written Gardner Fence Systems to no avail. They just do not reply. We know that the written correspondence was received since it was sent registered mail. The original customer was my wife, ***********, and she was the contact point for Gardner Fence Systems.

Desired Settlement: We want full re-imbursement for the replacement costs of the broken fence rails and transportation cost for the trip to pick-up the product. We want assurance that any future rails broken will be replaced at no cost to us.. Also, we want to require Gardner to change their advertising for this product so that future innocent buyers are not mislead as we were. This fence is not as "safe" for horses as they advertise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/11) */ 1. Product application The fence ordered by the customer was to create a "custom" 1-rail fence system. This by itself is not a horse fence system. Our horse fence systems are 3 and 4-rail fence systems that contain tens of thousands of horses around the world. This customer has ordered multiple times and they declared they would be adding horse wire to the custom fence system they ordered "again"- Please see our notes from their lead submitted 03/07/12- FROM CUSTOMER 03/07/12 - want another one-rail fence 648 feet long (81 posts, 41 16' rails.) 3 corner posts, 2 end posts & 76 pass through posts = 81 total. No gates. We will be addidng horse wire ourselves again. 2. In Regards to communication- Gardner Fence has replied to all correspondence that we have received. Customer sent a letter complaining about broken rails I have copied our e-mail reply to them below. Which the did receive because they followed the instructions to get the material. 2-9-15 FROM GARDNER FENCE TO CUSTOMER "We received your letter with the pictures of your 1 Rail fence. In looking at the pictures you provided we have determined it is not a warranty issue. Our warranty is against any manufacturing defects. Here is the link to our warranty. http://www.gardnerfence.com/warranty/ However, I understand your experience has been frustrating and we do appreciate your business so we would like to split the costs with you. This is a one time only offer as it is not a warranty claim but a good will gesture. You can pick up the rails again in Corsicana for $xx.00 each x 12 = $xx0.00 which leaves us each owing $xx0.00. If you would like them shipped to you, the freight is $200.00 and we will also split that with you. I hope this solution is agreeable for you. We appreciate your business." Customer then went to the factory and picked up the materials and paid for them at the time of pick up. We considered the issue closed at that time and did not see the need for additional communication at that time Regarding Electric wire- We do recommend that if you have aggressive horses or are experience maintenance costs to add hotwire to your fence system. We have pictures on our website and facebook page showing our vinyl fence systems with hotwire attached. The majority of customers with our 3 or 4-fence system do not need any hotwire attached...but with a "custom" 1-rail application and the issues the customer is having, then yes electric would be recommended. Regarding advertising- Our fence is safe for horses, however it is not horse proof. We do proudly advertise our fence as "safe" for horses. We have safely contained thousands of horses for 27 years and counting. The Gardner Vinyl fence system is much better for horses then the injuries suffered in a incident with a metal or wood horse fence. We do not advertise our fence as "horse proof" or anything of that nature. Regarding desired resolution- As demonstrated in the offer email that was copied above, Gardner Fence has made an extraordinary effort to keep the customer satisfied by offering them replacement parts at a special discounted price as an attempt to alleviate their frustration. We will not be reimbursing any additional money for product purchased or travel that has already occurred. We will not replace future broken rails at no cost. We will still advertise our fencing as safe for horses...because it has been demonstrated to be safe over many years. As a sign of attempted continued goodwill, we will continue to offer the same discounted replacement part pricing offer that they accepted previously through the remainder of 2015. (as detailed in our 02/09/15 e-mail reply).


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gardner Fence Systems
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)