BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Contour Technology LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 644-7706Fax: (763) 477-7663View Additional Phone Numbers10 S 5th St Ste 1000, MinneapolisMN 55402-1011

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Contour Technology LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Contour Technology LLC's rating include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Contour Technology LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Contour Technology LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
11/04/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to deliver product within 10-business days and no response to the email address provided by Contour on the order confirmation.
As of October 26, 2013, I have not received the gel pack that I ordered. Contour has failed to provide a reasonable explanation for the delay therefore, my only course of action at this time, as a consumer, is to file an official complaint. In addition, at this point, I have lost all confidence in Contour to satisfy my future needs and I would not endorse Contour to anyone else at this time.
Contour Technology, LLC, has ignored the strings of below messages sent by me to the email provided on the shipment confirmation.

Today is October 25, 2013 and I still have not received the product that I have paid for in advance or a reply from Contour updating me on the status of my order. This is unacceptable business practice!
**************

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: ************** <**************@att.net>
To: ""contouroutlet@thecontour.com""
Sent: Thursday, October 24, 2013 4:42 PM
Subject: Shipment Status

As of October 24, 2013, I have not received the below order and contour has not responded to my emails. Please cancel my order and credit my card shown on the below billing if for some reason you cannot provide the product that I requested. It has been approximately 18 business days since I placed the order on September 27, 2013.
Thank You,
**************

----- Forwarded Message -----
From: ************** <**************@att.net>
To: "contouroutlet@thecontour.com"
Sent: Wednesday, October 23, 2013 2:28 PM
Subject: Shipment Status

As of today, October 23, 2013 my order still has not arrived and my below request for a status update has not been answered. I placed the order on September 27, 2013 and more than 10 business days has passed. Please update me on my order shipment status.
Thank You,
**************
To
* contouroutlet@thecontour.com



Hello, **************
Thank you for ordering from Contour Technology, LLC. Please allow up to 10-business day for delivery. If your package has not arrived within 10 business days please email contouroutlet@thecontour.com
Your order confirmation is below. Thank you again for your business.
Your Order #********* (placed on September 27, 2013 11:23:07 PM GMT+5)
Billing Information: Payment Method:
**************
***********************
Reno, Nevada, 89506
United States
T: ************Credit Card Payment
Credit Card Type:
Visa
Credit Card Number:
xxxx-****
Payer Email:
**************@att.net



Shipping Information: Shipping Method:
**************
***********************
Reno, Nevada, 89506
United States
T: *************Shipping Option - Standard Delivery

Item Sku Qty Subtotal
Contour Belt Gel Pads 4 Pack GP5000P4 2 $29.90
Subtotal $29.90
Delivery Charge $9.99
Grand Total

Desired Settlement
Provide the product that I ordered and improve customer service communicataion.

Business Response
From: ************** <**************@att.net>
Subject: Re: Order Status Request
Date: November 1, 2013 12:55:10 PM CDT
To: contour
Reply-To: ************** <**************@att.net>

Tia thank you for your follow-up on my order status.

I did received my order via USPS yesterday, October 31, 2013. Thank you for the additional set of gel pads.

Cordially,

**************

04/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fitness for free auto-ship program discontinuation after taking $29.99 payment and still offering deal online.
1) Ordered TheContour w/ hesitation however we tried and loved the unit and placed order #483488 w/ $29.99 replacement gel pads offer. (GP30D101C)
2) received belt w/o pads and no explanation, I had to follow-up and one order of replacement pads were sent.(8/4/2012) (rep Alix L.)
3) 2/8/13 program offer is a replacement set of pads every month just pay s/h which I thought was the deal however I did not receive pads. E-mail sent.
4) 2/11/13 customer care sent response saying program discontinued again w/o explanation or how consumers can get their money back or any compensation.
5) replied stating I would like a timely response stating that we love the product and willing to spend the money to get replacements however since promo ended and we were charged the $29.99 how do we get our money back? In the past correspondence theContour gets back to us in a matter of days, however the lack of communication is making this consumer lose faith in this company.
6) the fact that this promo is still being offered online as of 2/27/13 shows the lack of customer service to their customers and a placement of false advertisement. I have personally written a complaint to theContour.com stating the facts and asking for a refund or (2) replacement pad sets valued at $14.95 each to justify my purchase of $29.99.
7) I've stated that I do love the product and would like some kind of TIMELY communication is fair as to see what they plan to do for my order and others out there. My last resort is to file this complaint to BBB.org as I find this to be a hassle but necessary step to report to other consumers out there.

Please help, I would like to find out my next steps to get what's right and just. I feel that the lack of communication is again unacceptable and would like a resolution from theContour.com.

Desired Settlement
1) (2) sets of replacement pads $14.95 each

Or

2) $29.99 + tax refund to my card on file w/ notification of decision

06/03/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contour Technologies cancelled my order, which I did not request.
I purchased an Ab Contour Belt on 8/20/2012. I also purchased the unlimited gel pads at $7.95 a month for a membership fee of $29.95, which was taken out of my account on 8/31/2012. I received my first set of gel pads on 9/28/2012, in which $7.95 was taken out of my account. I have not received any gel pads since then. I just received an email stating that the pads are now available for $14.95 a set excluding shipping. I emailed Contour Technologies LLC to let them know that I had purchased the membership and was to receive the pads for $7.95 a month no shipping charges. Their response was to cancel my order. I did not cancel my order, I would like to just pay what I signed up for back in August of 2012. Is this a clever ploy to make me resign up and have to pay the $14.95 a set plus shipping charges?

Desired Settlement
I would like to continue to receive my gel pads at the price I was given at the time I purchased my Ab Contour. $7.95 a month, no shipping charges.

08/19/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered the contour ab belt and it was never delivered, but I was charged.
On 5 July 13, I ordered the contour ab belt and paid $139.90 via PayPal. I received an order confirmation email from Contour Abs thanking me for my purchase and was provided the order # of ****. In that same email my correct billing and shipping information was included. On 21 Jul, I requested the status of my order. On 23 Jul, I received an email back from *********** with the USPS Tracking # **********************. She stated that the package was delivered. I then pulled up the tracking # and found that my package was delivered to Valdosta, GA instead of Cabot, AR. I informed her that prior to me completing my order I had to confirm that all the information was correct. I corrected the shipping information then completed my order. Once I received the confirmation email with my correct information I felt confident that I would receive my product. She then asked me if I could have my mail forwarded to AR. I told her that I haven't lived at that address since 2008. I do not know who is living there nor can I go there from AR to retrieve my package. I asked her if she could PLEASE help me. She said that she would contact the local Postal Office on the shipping address on the package, but could not guarantee the outcome. I have requested status from Ms. Chronis, but have not received a reponse.

Desired Settlement
I'm just asking for the company to please send me my package to the correct address...the address that was sent to me in my confirmation email. If that is too much to ask then please refund me my $139.90. It's not fair that I have to pay for a product that I never received. I understand that there are often system glitches, but I am a customer and I have proof that the correct address was received by their company.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Ms. *************,
In researching your complaint we have, as you indicated, delivered the package to the address you have placed in your paypal account. Once you placed an order with us all of your billing and shipping information is stored in your paypal account. If in fact you did want a change of address after you had placed the order you would have had to notify customerservice@thecontour.com with the change. We ship from the paypal receipt which has the Valdosta, GA address. We have sent a letter to the address in Valdosta, GA in an attempt to retrieve the product.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ma'am,
I spoke to the resident at ********************* in Valdosta and she stated that she marked the package as wrong address and placed back in the mailbox. Have you received it?

Business' Final Response
Dear Ms. *************
Thank you for contacting the resident at your old address. We appreciate your help. We will track the package and as soon as we receive our warehouse manager will send yo an email requesting your address. Once we receive your address we will ship the Contour System to you. Sorry for this inconvenience.

05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to fulfill obligation to "pads for life" program.
I signed up for contour's pads for life program and paid a one time fee of $29.99 to receive gel pads for the ab belt on a monthly basis. I received the pads for about 2 months, then nothing for several months. I then received a email that gel pads are back in stock. I emailed the company to request my pads and was told sorry that program has been canceled. I have gone back and forth with several email and have got no results. When i entered this program there was no mention that it may be cancelled without warning. I entered this contract in good faith and i expect contour to honor this contract. If this should be unsucessful in reaching a agreement my next option is to seek leagal consult for a class action suit.

Desired Settlement
To receive 4 gel pads shipped to me every month for life.

05/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid $37.90 to join an auto ship program with this company lasted 4 or 5 shipments and they stopped shipping than discontinued the auto ship program.
Charged $37.90 PLUS $7.95 shipping for getting in to auto ship for gel pads for my contour ab sculpting belt.You had the option of every 30 days 45 days or 60 days.I originally was purchasing three 3 sets for $29.90 plus shipping and handling. Or somewhere in that ball park. My first shipment was shipped February 22 2012 then april 17th may 22nd July 6th and AUG 30. After that the shipments just stopped. What were doing was moving there manfacturing to China. After a few weeks of wondering where my shipments were I was told they were having manufacturing issues and they hope to be shipping soon but could not be given a time table.Called in Nov. and Dec. 2012 And Jan. 2013 Every time being told that the following month that they would be coming the following month and that if we were on autoship we would be the first to receive them when they do come in.All along they knew that wasn't true they discontinued the auto ship program Nov.4th 2012 and never let anyone know it.Ipaid more money for the pads this way then if I would have stayed the way I use to by 3 sets for $29.oo.It cost me 77.65 versus 60.00 because the program did'nt run long enough for it to become cost saving.And to boot they had $7.95 of my money that would have been for my mid October 2013 shipment they just refunded that this month. Are reward for waiting thee months for gel pads there now $14.95 plus $7.95 shipping and handling for one set of gel pads.This is a very shady way to do buisness maybe not illegal but shady.I called to see if I could get a refund for $37.90 they said no .

Desired Settlement
At the very least would like my $37.90 refunded especially after it cost me more to buy them because they ask you to get in the program than terminate after only 5 shipments than triple the price. Thankyou

05/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Discontinued the program that we paid 29.95 each to be members. This was to discount the price of the gel pads and include free ship and auto fill.
My husband and I purchased the contour abs belts and then joined their autofill program for a fee of 29.95 each which would give us the ability to purchase the gel pads for 7.95 per set of 4 pads. They were out of gel pads for a period of 3-4 months and because of that we never received our gel pads. When they got their new stock in, they discontinued the program we were on. We joined the program in good faith because we are retired and on a limited income. We would have never purchased the belts (my husband even purchase the back gel pads) if we had known that they were going to make us go without for months and then discontinue the program. I understand discontinuing it, however, most programs allow the members who are already on a program to continue receiving the benefits. I would prefer to stay on the program of receiving the gel pads for 7.95 as the belts did help our core strength, however with the price of the gel pads doubled we can't afford it. I have contacted contour twice and they did refund my son's membership which was started just before the shortage of gel pads. I asked that they refund all of our memberships and I was told no.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer to stay on the program of receiving the gel pads for 7.95 as the belts did help our core strength, however with the price of the gel pads doubled we can't afford it. If we can't continue receiving the gel pads for 7.95 for a set of four, we'd like to receive our 29.95 each refunded back to us for a total of 59.90

05/15/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order, got an email verification and never received it. Customer service said that their site was no longer available.
Ordered March 5, 2013. Email verification is pasted here:

From: Contour Technology LLC
To: ********@yahoo.com
Sent: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 2:38 PM
Subject: Contour Technology LLC Order Received

****************,

Contour Technology LLC would like to thank you for your order.

Your order was successfully submitted for processing.

For future reference, your order number is ******. Please check the information below for accuracy.

Ship To:
****************
**************
Canadensis, PA 18325
USA

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Qty Product Code - Product Name Price
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 GEL5000P4 - Garment Gel Pad Electrodes 4-Pack 14.95
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sub-Total: 14.95
Tax: 0.00
Shipping & Handling: 7.95
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOTAL: 22.90
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Should you have any questions please visit our website, www.thecontour.com for answers and support.

Thank you,

Contour Technology LLC
Customercare@thecontour.com
13

Desired Settlement
Send me the product that I ordered and that was confirmed.

Business' Initial Response
Dear ********, Due to the gel pads being in back order for such an extended period of time your order was cancelled on 3/13/2013. You were not charged for this transaction. Last September the manufacturer of these electrodes had significant problems supplying us with gel pads, therefore we went into backorder. Another gel pad manufacturer is now supplying gel pads and set-up a separate website for customers to order from, which is http://www.contouroutlet.com.

Please accept our deepest apologies for this inconvenience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I ordered the pads after they told me that they had become available.

My Coutour belt has been unusable for the entire time that the pads were not available. I was only able to use the belt for 3 months once I purchased it, because pads were not available. It was a very expensive item, and had I known that you could not get the pads that were necessary for the belt to function, I would never have spent the money on the useless belt. I would LOVE to have my money back for the belt and I will happily return it to Coutour and drop the complaint if they will refund my investment. If not, I think that the least they can do is provide one set of the disposable pads at no charge to make up for the inconvenience of not being able to use the product when the pads were unavailable.

Business' Final Response
Dear Ms. *******, as you requested a free pack of gel pad electrodes we have actually doubled your request and have mailed you 2 Free packs. This should last about 6o sessions with your Contour Ab Belt. Thanks you for your patience.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales, Product Sales - General, Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/03/2008Business started: 10/16/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mike Esson (Chief Operating Officer) Tom Bitz (Vice President of Finance)
Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales, Product Sales - General, Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Contour Technology, LLC, this company offers a contour belt system that uses electromuscle stimulation technology, and provides a program using diet/exercise guide, nutritional supplements, dumbbells and a workout DVD.

Alternate Business Names
Contour
Industry Tips
HEALTH CLUBS

If you choose to do business with Contour Technology LLC, please let them know that you contacted BBB for a Business Review.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Contour Technology LLC

10 S 5th St Ste 1000

Minneapolis, MN 55402-1011

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 10 S 5th St Ste 1000 

    Minneapolis, MN 55402-1011(866) 644-7706
    (612) 230-3800
    Fax: (763) 477-7663

  • 7600 69th Ave 

    Rockford, MN 55373-5400

  • PO Box 72699 

    Rockford, MN 55572-6099

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Minnesota and North Dakota. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Contour Technology LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (612) 230-3800 (Disconnected)
  • (800) 485-0128
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 10 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales

HEALTH CLUBS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.