BBB Accredited Business since

East Central Energy

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 254-7944 Fax: (320) 396-4114 412 Main Ave N, Braham, MN 55006 http://www.eastcentralenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that East Central Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for East Central Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on East Central Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 14, 1999 Business started: 01/31/1936 Business started locally: 01/31/1936
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tina Lanhart, ECE Teresa Hasbrook, CS Mgr. Steve Shurts, Pres/CEO Gwen Thomas, Senior Vice President Jennifer Veeser, Communications and Marketing Manager (Elizabeth's)
Contact Information
Principal: Tina Lanhart, ECE
Business Category

Electric Companies Gas - Propane Oils - Fuel Internet Services

Products & Services

According to the information provided by East Central Energy, this company offers electricity services, including WildBlue satellite Internet service, propane and fuel oil.


Additional Locations

  • 412 Main Ave N

    Braham, MN 55006

  • PO Box 39

    Braham, MN 55006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a 500 payment for a past due bill and am threatened by a disconnect. They had a 350 penalty also when we have been paying down the bill In October we were past due. I was threatened to pay $700 or they would shut off the power. I was bullied into a agreement of 250 twice a month. We payed 250.. 100.. 100 and 150 that month for a 500 total as agreed. As Oct 30 they sent a disconnect notice even though they received the money required.

Desired Settlement: Fair billing. Accepting payments without disconnection threat.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ Dear *** ******** On November 3, 2014, we spoke and worked out a payment plan that included the removal of the deposit. We also explained our collection process that does not allow us to collect on accounts unless they are 60 days or more in arrears. On the phone that day, you indicated your satisfaction with this arrangement and our explanation of our collection process. Upon receipt of the notification from the Better Business Bureau, we tried to contact you November 10, 2014, by phone to ensure we had met your needs. We have not received a return call. We are always willing to work with our members. Please contact us if you need further assistance. ********** ***** ******** East Central Energy Special Services Supervisor

5/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: East Central Energy came onto our property to clear trees from overhead power lines. They cut down approximately 40 trees which they failed to remove East Central Energy came onto our property to clear trees from overhead power lines. They cut down approximately 40 trees which they failed to remove. some of these trees are as large as 30 feet long and 8-10 inches in diameter. I contacted them about the problem and they said it was my responsibility to clean the trees they cut down and left in my yard. I do not have the means to remove this many very large trees. This would be a 2 or 3 day project for one person to accomplish. Additionally it would be a dangerous job involving chainsaws and wood chippers for long periods of time. I think out of respect for their customers they would include removal of very large trees that they themselves cut down. Trees which an average homeowner would not have the ability to remove or clean up themselves.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come and remove the trees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ Our sincere apology for any inconvenience we may have caused your family. Vegetation management is a critical component for your local electric cooperative to ensure service reliability. We pride ourselves in our willingness and ability to work with members to reach mutually-acceptable solutions to control vegetation in rights-of-way. We cleared a number of trees this year at your location. We mulched the branches and smaller limbs. The trees we could not mulch, due to size, were left in a pile outside of the right-of-way. Members typically want the larger wood for their own use and our contractors are not equipped or required to haul wood. We are more than willing to work with you regarding the trees and do what we can to help within the parameters of your co-op's policies. An ECE contractor or employee will contact you within the next couple of days to discuss possible solutions. If you would like to speak with me, please call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******** ****** East Central Energy Member Services Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on East Central Energy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)